• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2013
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    97
    Flawless in its ambition and almost perfect in its execution. A brave and remarkable game quite unlike any other.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    The Last of Us is a great action-adventure game that manages to capture the feeling of post-apocalypse and survival. The story is alright but way too manipulative and borrows heavily from other, better, material. Still the segmented survival gameplay and the amazing audiovisual production makes the game an experience everybody should check out.
  3. Despite the breakneck pace of the prologue, it takes quite a while for The Last of Us to pick up some speed again. However, once the cold harsh winter arrives, the action (and story) ramps up. So much so, it puts most Hollywood productions to shame. [July 2013, p.76]
  4. As a game, The Last of Us will occasionally falter. Imperfect underwater mechanics and careless friendly AI that insists on blocking your path or causing unnecessary firefights can irk, but they are very minor niggles and should be treated as such. Because as an experience, The Last of Us is powerful, emotionally draining and absolutely one of the finest games of this generation. [August 2013, p70]
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    95
    If you have a PlayStation 3 there is no reason why you shouldn't buy this game (unless you are not old enough of course). The story is incredible, the gameplay is fun, and the graphics and sound are amazing. Naughty Dog had a lot to live up to with the release, but they have delivered in spades. I just hope we don't have to wait too long for a sequel. This game is everything you were hoping for, and more. Go get it!
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is a sobering conclusion to Naughty Dog’s relationship with the PlayStation 3. It is the studio’s finest game to date, marrying gameplay and fiction better than any of the Uncharted games. It’s sometimes haunting, sometimes beautiful, but more than anything else it feels real, and both you and Joel are very much vulnerable to it.
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    The Last of Us merges very good gameplay with a peerless story and unequaled production values. While it just misses transcendent status you won't find very many games that are more worth the investment of your time.
  8. 100
    It's not a big surprise the game is good. Surprising is it's even better than anyone would have thought. A beautiful and atmospheric game with many moments only Alzheimer will hide them from you. [Issue#231]
  9. Jul 4, 2013
    90
    As someone who was never a great fan of Uncharted or Jak and Daxter, I am genuinely amazed at how much I liked this game. If this isn't art, then I don't know what is. [Aug 2013, p.59]
  10. Jul 2, 2013
    85
    The Last of Us delights with its artistic side but can tire you with its gameplay. It tells an interesting story but doesn’t leave much room for the player. It represents a new quality in the industry but openly borrows a lot of themes from literature, movies and other games. The most important thing however is the fact that several days after I finished The Last of Us, it is still in my head, causing strange uneasiness. I guess that’s what the developers were aiming for. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.62]
  11. Jun 28, 2013
    100
    There was no violence for violence sake, everything felt like it was done with perfect context. The writers and those that acted in the game all deserve a lot of credit, it was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had with a controller in my hands.
  12. Jun 26, 2013
    98
    I was transfixed by the game, truly loved playing it. It is definitely my game of the year, if not my game of the PS3. That said, there were some very, VERY minor things that irritated me.
  13. Jun 26, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is the type of game that could only be crafted by a developer willing to take risks. Were Naughty Dog to have thrown its money at yearly iterations of Uncharted, it would likely still have found its audience, but with The Last of Us it has struck out in a bold new direction that asks some very big questions about some of the fundamental aspects of videogame culture and the relationship that exists between gamer and game.
  14. Jun 25, 2013
    95
    Thrilling survival horror with brutal combat, rich characters and stunning environments. [Aug 2013, p.57]
  15. Jun 24, 2013
    94
    It will live with us. Here, finally, is a videogame that will live with us. There are inconsistencies here and there, some lulls in its gameplay, but when The Last Of Us is good (winter), it's better than anything else this gen - we do not say that lightly. [Issue#232, p.62]
  16. Jun 24, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is a masterful tale of two individuals who are both authentic and flawed. It creates one of the most memorable video game experiences I have ever played and I believe its the best game to come out in the last ten years.
  17. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    I'd say that the kind of story that The Last of Us wants to tell can't be done in a mainstream video game, but I Am Alive and the Metro series manage just fine. Perhaps it's more accurate to say that it can't be done in the kind of game that's expected to sell three million copies.
  18. Jun 21, 2013
    95
    Much like the adventures of Drake, if you own a PS3, you need to own this game.
  19. Jun 21, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is truly what a game can aspire to. It’s a full interactive experience package.
  20. Jun 19, 2013
    98
    Something that plays well, makes you think, and keeps you playing to the end is, without a doubt, worth taking in.
  21. Jun 19, 2013
    78
    The amazing art direction and style are on double duty in The Last of Us, because the game’s designers did not think its universe through. Yes, monsters are not the focal point of this story, but only three types is too few for a campaign spanning 12 to 15 hours. There are also human bandits, but a few encounters – and you’ve seen them all.
  22. Jun 18, 2013
    100
    It effectively closes out this generation on a high note while simultaneously raising expectations for gaming storylines and their presentation in the next console generation.
  23. Jun 17, 2013
    93
    The Last of Us is a must-play title for any PS3 owner who's not squeamish about violence and depressing subject matter. It has flaws, but they don't detract from the overall experience, and at worst, the game could use a little more interaction.
  24. Jun 16, 2013
    90
    With a well-thought-out mythos, a mildly original take on the zombie survival game that relies more on superb execution and storytelling than innovative mechanics, acting that's so good we actually see character development happen without even words being spoken, and Naughty Dog's impressive engine and top-notch production values, it all comes together to make for a wonderful reminder that not all big-budget action games need to be measured in headshots-per-minute.
  25. Jun 16, 2013
    80
    Despite its major victories and steps forward in storytelling, many of those same annoying video game conventions — the demand for action and high body counts, the lack of truly engaging and innovative play mechanics — continue to pull games like The Last of Us down toward the lowest common denominator.
  26. Jun 16, 2013
    92
    Quotation forthcoming.
  27. Jun 14, 2013
    100
    The game hits all the right notes and proves that Naughty Dog really knows how to design interesting, gorgeous and enjoyable games.
  28. Jun 14, 2013
    100
    At the end of the day, one detail is all that matters about the The Last of Us: its single-player campaign. Naughty Dog has taken what it’s learnt from crafting the Uncharted franchise and spun that experience into a more down-to-earth, realistic adventure that shines with storytelling excellence, great combat, tense atmosphere and the highest quality in presentation, making The Last of Us one of Sony’s best exclusives for the PS3’s ever-growing library of great games.
  29. Jun 14, 2013
    95
    The Last of Us is a testament to game design. Naughty Dog continues to perfect their craft at immersive storytelling, while still delivering one amazing game to play.
  30. Jun 13, 2013
    95
    The world is full of one trick AAA games, so any big title that manages to shake up the clear-cut genre barriers should be considered a welcome exception. For all intents and purposes, The Last of Us is a breakthrough title. It's enjoyable as a full-on shooter, a stealth game, an action adventure and a stat-building RPG. It's about as good as it gets for the current console generation. [June 2013]
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 5956 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This game truly is phenomenal. Naughty Dog proves yet again why they are the kings of the PS3, and arguably gaming in general. The Last of Us gets everything right. The environments, the atmosphere, the gameplay, the storyline, the characters, the graphics. Everything. I really can't say enough how amazing this game truly ended up being. Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is one of the best games I have ever played. Imagine Uncharted 2/3, that looks better, sounds better, has more engaging characters and a more emotional plot.
    Imagine that with combat which encourages not just multiple playthroughs to try a different strategy, but reloading checkpoints to get your first strategy just right. But that doesn't really do it justice.
    If you are looking for a brand new and unique experience, this isn't perfect, but you should play it anyway. If you are looking for one of the best experiences to be found in gaming, you should definitely play The Last of Us.
    Full Review »