• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2013
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    97
    Plenty of action and horror, Naughty Dog's post-apocalyptic tale is an amazing game.
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    92
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    95
    If you have a PlayStation 3 there is no reason why you shouldn't buy this game (unless you are not old enough of course). The story is incredible, the gameplay is fun, and the graphics and sound are amazing. Naughty Dog had a lot to live up to with the release, but they have delivered in spades. I just hope we don't have to wait too long for a sequel. This game is everything you were hoping for, and more. Go get it!
  4. Jun 16, 2013
    90
    With a well-thought-out mythos, a mildly original take on the zombie survival game that relies more on superb execution and storytelling than innovative mechanics, acting that's so good we actually see character development happen without even words being spoken, and Naughty Dog's impressive engine and top-notch production values, it all comes together to make for a wonderful reminder that not all big-budget action games need to be measured in headshots-per-minute.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    95
    As the credits rolled, I found myself missing my time with Joel and Ellie, yet completely comfortable with the thought that Naughty Dog has forged a new IP where there doesn’t need to be The Last of Us 2.
  6. 97
    It is a deeply emotional story driven game with an addictive element making it difficult to put the controller down. It is game you won’t forget and one that ultimately raises the bar for the genre. In the end it’s simply a fantastic game, a fantastic experience, and one PS3 owners can purchase with confidence.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    85
    The Last of Us delights with its artistic side but can tire you with its gameplay. It tells an interesting story but doesn’t leave much room for the player. It represents a new quality in the industry but openly borrows a lot of themes from literature, movies and other games. The most important thing however is the fact that several days after I finished The Last of Us, it is still in my head, causing strange uneasiness. I guess that’s what the developers were aiming for. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.62]
  8. 100
    In an industry where big, epic, and huge are the normal, it is refreshing to see the importance of the little things. In fact, I believe this is The Last of Us’ strongest suit. You will play this game and feel the overwhelming storyline, like the characters, and, after you have let it all soak in, some of your favorite moments will be the small things; the things you didn’t have your hand held through.
  9. Jun 26, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is the type of game that could only be crafted by a developer willing to take risks. Were Naughty Dog to have thrown its money at yearly iterations of Uncharted, it would likely still have found its audience, but with The Last of Us it has struck out in a bold new direction that asks some very big questions about some of the fundamental aspects of videogame culture and the relationship that exists between gamer and game.
  10. Jun 24, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is a masterful tale of two individuals who are both authentic and flawed. It creates one of the most memorable video game experiences I have ever played and I believe its the best game to come out in the last ten years.
  11. Jun 14, 2013
    100
    At the end of the day, one detail is all that matters about the The Last of Us: its single-player campaign. Naughty Dog has taken what it’s learnt from crafting the Uncharted franchise and spun that experience into a more down-to-earth, realistic adventure that shines with storytelling excellence, great combat, tense atmosphere and the highest quality in presentation, making The Last of Us one of Sony’s best exclusives for the PS3’s ever-growing library of great games.
  12. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    It cannot be said enough, however, that Naughty Dog's new best creation is complete, and when I say complete, I mean it to pay the highest of compliments. I do not want more from The Last of Us: I do not need more. As the last line was uttered and the credits ushered in the close, I was done. The Last of Us had achieved everything it needed to achieve in order to provide me with everything I wanted...And it ended perfectly.
  13. Jun 9, 2013
    96
    Three words: go get it.
  14. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    With a hauntingly beautiful game world, stunning visuals, and a wide variety of ways in which players can approach combat, The Last of Us is another exceptional game from the team at Naughty Dog...However, it's the studio's ability to make this past-pandemic world and its contrasting cast of characters feel so believable and credible that really makes The Last of Us stand out from its peers.
  15. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    Naughty Dog has delivered the most riveting, emotionally resonant story-driven epic of this console generation. At times it’s easy to feel like big-budget development has too much on the line to allow stubbornly artful ideas to flourish, but then a game like The Last Of Us emerges through the crumbled blacktop like a climbing vine, green as a burnished emerald.
  16. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    It’s easy to initially expect The Last of Us to be a game about killing zombies, surviving in a post-apocalyptic world, and exploring for supplies. Instead, it’s a game about two people, and the bond that forms between them—and that journey is far more exciting than any amount of infected monsters or food scavenging could ever provide.
  17. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is a deeply impressive demonstration of how it can and should be done. It starts out safe but ends brave; it has heart and grit, and it hangs together beautifully. And it's a real video game, too. An elegy for a dying world, The Last of Us is also a beacon of hope for its genre.
  18. Jun 10, 2013
    100
    Cutting your teeth on astonishingly good-looking and immaculately presented fluff pieces and then going ahead to produce arguably the darkest game of this generation – that's the sort of trick only the real heavyweights can pull off. Naughty Dog's game ain't begging for sympathy, it doesn't care if you like it or not. As such, it's a wake-up call for the medium, determined that the line isn't drawn between good and evil or right and wrong, but between you and the others.
  19. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    Despite a few issues, The Last of Us represents at the same time the complete maturity of the PlayStation 3 hardware and, above all, the perfect fusion between gameplay and narrative. Naughty Dog has created a masterpiece that will be a milestone in the video games evolution.
  20. 100
    I do not know if The Last of Us is the best game of this generation, given that it always depends on what you’re looking for in a game, but it's a true example of how to create a credible world with authentic characters in which we end up investing a lot emotionally.
  21. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is what we expected and more, much more. Naughty Dog delivers the game that made our jaws drop at E3: adult, honest and with an incredible attention to detail.
  22. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    With The Last of Us, developer Naughty Dog has not only created a modern classic, but also one of the finest gaming experiences of all time. The fact that they set a new bar for interactive storytelling almost seems like a bonus.
  23. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us brings you into a world where people die without grace, and explains to you the beauty of the extinction. It's strong, unique, brutal and, ultimately, unforgettable.
  24. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    The Last of Us is a deeply felt, shockingly violent game that questions what we're willing to sacrifice and, more disturbingly, what we're willing to do so save the ones we love. The conclusion offers no easy answers. You won't forget it.
  25. Jun 18, 2013
    100
    It effectively closes out this generation on a high note while simultaneously raising expectations for gaming storylines and their presentation in the next console generation.
  26. Jun 6, 2013
    100
    In atmosphere and narrative, Naughty Dog knows few barriers, and turning their talent and craftsmanship to such haunting and profound subject matter will ensure that the developer is poised to continue its dominance as a premier auteur development studio well into the next generation of console hardware.
  27. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    There's no denying it: The Last of Us hits almost every nail on the head. Its storytelling, its gameplay, its characters, and their journey in this bleak but almost sadly beautiful world that saw the downfall of the human civilization doesn't ever really try to shortcut its way to genuine emotions, opting, on the contrary, for the hard but humanely faithful path. The ambivalence of the human soul, the spot on portrayal of conflicting morals and the tragedy of impossible choices are all beautifully written and played. Plus, the multiplayer is far from being a gimmick; quite the contrary, in fact. It's very much a coherent and enticing experience on its own, with a brilliant meta-game idea, and a unique, multiplayer take on survival.
  28. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    I'd say that the kind of story that The Last of Us wants to tell can't be done in a mainstream video game, but I Am Alive and the Metro series manage just fine. Perhaps it's more accurate to say that it can't be done in the kind of game that's expected to sell three million copies.
  29. Jun 16, 2013
    80
    Despite its major victories and steps forward in storytelling, many of those same annoying video game conventions — the demand for action and high body counts, the lack of truly engaging and innovative play mechanics — continue to pull games like The Last of Us down toward the lowest common denominator.
  30. Jun 10, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece of storytelling and modern game design.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This game truly is phenomenal. Naughty Dog proves yet again why they are the kings of the PS3, and arguably gaming in general. The Last of Us gets everything right. The environments, the atmosphere, the gameplay, the storyline, the characters, the graphics. Everything. I really can't say enough how amazing this game truly ended up being. Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is one of the best games I have ever played. Imagine Uncharted 2/3, that looks better, sounds better, has more engaging characters and a more emotional plot.
    Imagine that with combat which encourages not just multiple playthroughs to try a different strategy, but reloading checkpoints to get your first strategy just right. But that doesn't really do it justice.
    If you are looking for a brand new and unique experience, this isn't perfect, but you should play it anyway. If you are looking for one of the best experiences to be found in gaming, you should definitely play The Last of Us.
    Full Review »