• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2013
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6482 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Esse jogo fantástico, dou um 10 muito merecido. tudo feito em mínimos detalhes. compra obrigatória pra quem tem PS3.
    A inteligencia artificial foda principalmente da Ellie as vezes vemos inimigos sendo meio burros mas nada que comprometa.
    O gráfico o melhor que já vi nos consoles, o o ponto mais forte do game sua historia "fodástica" onde da empolgação emoção raiva e etc. o
    Esse jogo fantástico, dou um 10 muito merecido. tudo feito em mínimos detalhes. compra obrigatória pra quem tem PS3.
    A inteligencia artificial foda principalmente da Ellie as vezes vemos inimigos sendo meio burros mas nada que comprometa.
    O gráfico o melhor que já vi nos consoles, o o ponto mais forte do game sua historia "fodástica" onde da empolgação emoção raiva e etc. o segundo melhor jogo da minha vida o primeiro shadow of the colossus.
    Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    This game is incredible. Everything about The Last Of Us" video game is so well done that it scares me. If you have to pick a game to buy I strongly recommend The Last Of Us
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game easily has one of the most compelling stories in the history of video games. Throughout it's entirety, this game has an ever growing emotional connection with the player, because we relate to the character and, in many ways, shows us the severity of consequences to our own actions. The survival aspect of this game is also very apparent. Low ammo mean conserving, low medicalThis game easily has one of the most compelling stories in the history of video games. Throughout it's entirety, this game has an ever growing emotional connection with the player, because we relate to the character and, in many ways, shows us the severity of consequences to our own actions. The survival aspect of this game is also very apparent. Low ammo mean conserving, low medical supplies mean making you bullets count and make shifting weapons is necessary in surviving. Game play is a bit glitchy at times, but compared to the massive about of good that is this game, it can be overlooked. Overall this game has some of the most strongest characters to ever be created in a game, one of the most perfectly set stories for what it achieves to comprehend and awing atmosphere to which will leave you starstruck as you see a world crumbling around you. It is not only one of the most defining game for PS3, but also for any game console of it's generation. Thank you so much for all that you do at Naughty Dog Studios. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games ever. If you give this anything under 9 you arent a gamer. Simply the story mode is outstanding and breath taking. The graphics and gameplay are very good which is a bounus to its greatness. The fact that you get so attached to characters is impecable. This game is the gateway to many great games. I played almost every good game from diffrent genre and consoles.One of the greatest games ever. If you give this anything under 9 you arent a gamer. Simply the story mode is outstanding and breath taking. The graphics and gameplay are very good which is a bounus to its greatness. The fact that you get so attached to characters is impecable. This game is the gateway to many great games. I played almost every good game from diffrent genre and consoles. In conclusion if you havent played the last of us yet. Play it right now! Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    This game is the result of the talent and experience at Naughty Dog, the characters, story and gameplay is produced by entertainers that know what their crowd likes. The character movement and looking around is slow to compensate for the detailed graphics, but this works with the smooth gameplay. I think some will still prefer the variety and fun of Uncharted, this is more jaw clenchingThis game is the result of the talent and experience at Naughty Dog, the characters, story and gameplay is produced by entertainers that know what their crowd likes. The character movement and looking around is slow to compensate for the detailed graphics, but this works with the smooth gameplay. I think some will still prefer the variety and fun of Uncharted, this is more jaw clenching and focussed. Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Este es sin dudas mi juego favorito hasta la fecha: "The Last of Us" es arte en su más pura forma, con una campaña totalmente completa y extensa y con el modo cinematográfico que tiene Naughty Dog de contar una bella historia dramática. Pero "The Last of Us" no es solo eso: verás que no queda nada del mundo que conocemos, será todo simplemente oscuro y te la apañas para sobrevivir en unEste es sin dudas mi juego favorito hasta la fecha: "The Last of Us" es arte en su más pura forma, con una campaña totalmente completa y extensa y con el modo cinematográfico que tiene Naughty Dog de contar una bella historia dramática. Pero "The Last of Us" no es solo eso: verás que no queda nada del mundo que conocemos, será todo simplemente oscuro y te la apañas para sobrevivir en un mundo que ya no existe. Gráficos excelentes, personajes sólidos y una emocionante historia ¿Que mas pedir? Este juego tiene emociones a más no poder. Totalmente bueno y recomendable. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This game is full of cliches, but even so the campaign is the best story that I've played, I'm a big fan of the online gaming, but the first time that I played the campaign of this game I get very impressed I've completed this campaign 4 times, I think that this game is better than GTA V, I'm not a fanboy, I know that GTA V has a lot of things to do, but GTA gets boring when you've playedThis game is full of cliches, but even so the campaign is the best story that I've played, I'm a big fan of the online gaming, but the first time that I played the campaign of this game I get very impressed I've completed this campaign 4 times, I think that this game is better than GTA V, I'm not a fanboy, I know that GTA V has a lot of things to do, but GTA gets boring when you've played for a month. The multiplayer is different, it's not a COD o an Uncharted, the maltiplayer was the thing that I fell in love. Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    The last of us is a masterpiece and an fine example of how games can have an outstanding story, incredible gameplay, unbelievable graphics and some of the most tense combat ive ever played, to be honest its hard to find faults and yes the friendly AI can be a pain in the ass and break the immersion but Naughty Dog did that on purpose so if you want to go stealth your teammate wont give youThe last of us is a masterpiece and an fine example of how games can have an outstanding story, incredible gameplay, unbelievable graphics and some of the most tense combat ive ever played, to be honest its hard to find faults and yes the friendly AI can be a pain in the ass and break the immersion but Naughty Dog did that on purpose so if you want to go stealth your teammate wont give you away which is alot better than allowing your teammates to be spotted so that is actually a positive, and the enemy AI really makes up for as they are very clever and will really test your strategic mind. Overall the last of us is quite simply a masterpiece and while ive said this about many other games ive reviewed i only review games on this site that i think are masterpieces so im not just giving every game a 10/10 and calling it a masterpiece, but this game really is so my score: 10/10 Expand
  9. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this game it has a nice story in the relationship between the characters and the acting was good.Also it has some very nice music in the game its defiantly one of the best games i have played if you haven't played it yet i highly recommend you do.
  10. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Get this game! Never before have I been so entranced by cut-scenes in a game. I loved every aspect of this game: the writing, voice acting, direction, graphics, audio, game mechanics...and the story! Oh, the story! I actually choked up at various points of the game. It is beautiful thing...a work of art...a masterpiece of imagination. If they just took the cut-scenes and added a fewGet this game! Never before have I been so entranced by cut-scenes in a game. I loved every aspect of this game: the writing, voice acting, direction, graphics, audio, game mechanics...and the story! Oh, the story! I actually choked up at various points of the game. It is beautiful thing...a work of art...a masterpiece of imagination. If they just took the cut-scenes and added a few action scenes to connect them, this would be a brilliant movie! Best game I've ever played! Expand
  11. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Um dos melhores games da historia. Pena que os fanboys que não possuem esse jogo vem cá, dão negativo e comentam um monte de merda, chupa quem não tem e...vão se foderem.
  12. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    in short..best game I played this year..i would give it an 9.5..it's not PERFECT...but story really got me..it deserve a 10.The last of us is in my top 3 games of all time and my 2013 GAME OF THE YEAR..and everyone should play this game..xbox&Pc players..shame that is not a multiplatform..to everybody see how amazing this game is
  13. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    I've heard mixed reviews on this game ranging from "it's too boring and slow moving" to "this is the greatest game of all time". I can now say, after playing through the bulk of this game, that I completely understand both sides of reviews. For those of you who want an adrenaline rush of game play with constant action, go elsewhere for your gaming experience as this is not the game forI've heard mixed reviews on this game ranging from "it's too boring and slow moving" to "this is the greatest game of all time". I can now say, after playing through the bulk of this game, that I completely understand both sides of reviews. For those of you who want an adrenaline rush of game play with constant action, go elsewhere for your gaming experience as this is not the game for you.

    However, those of you who enjoy imaginative immersion in a well-crafted storyline, realistic/believable characters, beautiful artwork and game design, exploration, and solid game play, look no further. The environments are mesmerizing, the character movement is gorgeous, the dialogue and voice acting is superb, the mix of stealth/scavenging/shooting within the twists and turns of the games story is as excellent as video games come.

    The game basically plays as a 3rd person shooter (think Resident Evil 4+5) with stealth elements (think Splinter Cell) and crafting (again, think Resident Evil 4+5). Additionally, as you traverse the lengths of the storyline, you will find yourself in a myriad of settings ranging from (but not limited to) the outskirts of the city refuge to a deserted town and all the way to the wilderness, university campus, and sewers. Each new area and chapter in the game flows along the tide of TLoU's amazingly executed storyline - and the characters you play as become increasingly unique, realistic, and dear to your heart. I cannot tell you how astounded I was throughout my first play through. I can honestly say that the enjoyment of this game remained throughout the second play through as well.

    *I believe my total play through time for the game was roughly around 18 hours or so. I suppose it would depend on how quickly you are attempting to finish - my style included quite a bit of exploration and a steady pace throughout to soak up the beauty of the game.

    Definitely within the top 5 best games I have ever experienced. Well worth the price of a ps3 for this game alone. I would highly recommend for post-apocalyptic enthusiasts.
    Expand
  14. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This game is mind-blowing on all possible points. Many times games have to sacrifice some gameplay to focus on storytelling, or vice-versa, but this game incorporates equal parts to give you a stellar immersive experience that makes the gamer feel like a part of the story in every way. Along with those excellent facets is also the graphics; for the current console generation, this game isThis game is mind-blowing on all possible points. Many times games have to sacrifice some gameplay to focus on storytelling, or vice-versa, but this game incorporates equal parts to give you a stellar immersive experience that makes the gamer feel like a part of the story in every way. Along with those excellent facets is also the graphics; for the current console generation, this game is incredibly well-made and above all, simply beautiful to play. Expand
  15. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    The fact that anyone writes a negative review of the game, makes me believe Humanity has no hope, haha. This game is a masterful creation, the story captivates you and the game play is fun enough, very Uncharted like, still the story itself is worth the price. The graphics and voice over are flawless. This is the swan song of the PS3 and it is a great one.
  16. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This game defines what a masterpiece is. It sets an incredibly high standard for future video games, not only from Naughty Dog, but from all game developers. The Last of Us shows us what the PS3 is truly capable of when pushed to it's fullest potential. It runs incredibly smooth on my PS3 Slim, and the graphics are jaw-dropping. Throughout the game, you really feel a connection to theThis game defines what a masterpiece is. It sets an incredibly high standard for future video games, not only from Naughty Dog, but from all game developers. The Last of Us shows us what the PS3 is truly capable of when pushed to it's fullest potential. It runs incredibly smooth on my PS3 Slim, and the graphics are jaw-dropping. Throughout the game, you really feel a connection to the characters. You get to know them, and you get to feel them. The story keeps you craving more, and its gameplay is nothing short of addicting.

    Then, just to make the game even better, they throw in some incredible multiplayer. There isn't a whole lot of variety, with only three game modes and not too many maps, but I think the simplicity helps the multiplayer succeed more. More maps would be nice, but three game modes is enough for the time being. All three are very fun, and they're all more enjoyable if you work as a team, especially when playing Interrogation.

    I experienced a couple of bugs with the game, but none directly impacted my gameplay. One was just somebody running through a wall (just a random NPC), and the other was a multiplayer glitch, where the one of the Survival Skills wouldn't unlock. The latter of the two glitches has been fixed, and the first isn't a big deal.

    In summary, this is an incredible game, with what is probably one of the best single player experiences I've ever had. Once you're done with the single player, there's a highly addicting multiplayer to keep you amused. This really is a must own game for everyone with a PS3.
    Expand
  17. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This game just blew me away a 10 out of 10 for sure. This story line is one of the best ever naughty dog already proved they can make great games like the Uncharted Series, The Last Of Us is truly amazing no developer can make a game this good. The story line is fantastic it attracts you into the game making you watch every single detail carefully, the game is also depressing gets me evenThis game just blew me away a 10 out of 10 for sure. This story line is one of the best ever naughty dog already proved they can make great games like the Uncharted Series, The Last Of Us is truly amazing no developer can make a game this good. The story line is fantastic it attracts you into the game making you watch every single detail carefully, the game is also depressing gets me even more into the game. This game wow they made one of the greatest games in history to me this deserves to get game year Expand
  18. Ogr
    Oct 13, 2013
    10
    This is one of the Games that made me dreaming of it many nights. The characters of Joel and Ellie are way more interesting to me than a lot of characters from comparable "Hollywood-Movies" and Series.
    The atmosphere is just great, the story is deep and the graphics are on top of the PS3-Games.
    The gameplay itself is as good as the Uncharted-Series for example, but this game is more
    This is one of the Games that made me dreaming of it many nights. The characters of Joel and Ellie are way more interesting to me than a lot of characters from comparable "Hollywood-Movies" and Series.
    The atmosphere is just great, the story is deep and the graphics are on top of the PS3-Games.
    The gameplay itself is as good as the Uncharted-Series for example, but this game is more about the whole feeling you get. 10/10!
    Expand
  19. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    The Last Of us is without a doubt one of the most compelling, enjoyable and emotional games I've ever played. It evokes so many emotions and once a shaky start after the prologue is over it only gets better and better. I rely felt like I was going through the pain and sometimes joy that the characters were experiencing and when a game can do that you know its doing something right. It isThe Last Of us is without a doubt one of the most compelling, enjoyable and emotional games I've ever played. It evokes so many emotions and once a shaky start after the prologue is over it only gets better and better. I rely felt like I was going through the pain and sometimes joy that the characters were experiencing and when a game can do that you know its doing something right. It is simply a marvel of storytelling and should not be overlooked. Its Naughty Dogs best work to date and I'm sure we've still got allot more to see from them. Expand
  20. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Simply The best game I played in PS3 Thank you Naughty Dog For This amazing Game I put in my mind its a film a story not a game At some times I was on the verge of tears Thanks again Naughty Dog and thanks Neil drakman and Bruce Starle for the best game i played in my life
  21. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    AMAZING! That's all you need to know. From beginning to end this game gave me an adrenaline rush through my entire body. Best real life looking cut-scenes of all time and gorgeous graphic I never felt like stopping to play this game. You felt as if you want more. Definite game of the year to me.
  22. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the most beautiful game ever invented, I love Naughty Dog, only this guys can do games like these. They have shown with Uncharted trilogy, and now with The Last Of Us, I think that nor GTA V can overcome it or anything game. only to another game from ND can be overcome it. I've said. Expand
  23. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    this may just be the single greatest game of this generation maybe even ever, the story is great the game play is pretty much perfect and the story is one of the best, it puts the survival game back on the map after Resident Evil has moved away from the genre, the story is heart wrenching from the start and the bit where you play as Joel and Ellie separately was one of the highlights ofthis may just be the single greatest game of this generation maybe even ever, the story is great the game play is pretty much perfect and the story is one of the best, it puts the survival game back on the map after Resident Evil has moved away from the genre, the story is heart wrenching from the start and the bit where you play as Joel and Ellie separately was one of the highlights of the game practically everything thing in the game is flawless just once issue for me is how Ellie's AI doesn't always really work she can be 'hiding' where zombies or attackers can see her while you play as Joel and yet she doesn't get spotted or attacked and she will make noise, while you are sneaking around zombies and not get heard and this does take some of the tension away from the game but this is still possibly the best game to date Expand
  24. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    The last of us is the most realistic zombie game ever, even make you worry about it happenning someday. As a prepper, This story is the absolute reality about what would happen in a SHTF scenario. The game is linear but the beauty of the landscapes will make you forget about it. The gameplay is incredible. I definitely give it the best score. This is a new way of making games, innovativeThe last of us is the most realistic zombie game ever, even make you worry about it happenning someday. As a prepper, This story is the absolute reality about what would happen in a SHTF scenario. The game is linear but the beauty of the landscapes will make you forget about it. The gameplay is incredible. I definitely give it the best score. This is a new way of making games, innovative and let's see who can follow naughty dog. Worth every dollar you put in it. Highly recommanded Expand
  25. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    The last of us is a solid title
    with an excelent and deep plot
    an uncredible athmosphere and a perfect gameplay
    its a mix of the walking dead,uncharted and the road
    AND ITS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!
  26. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Truly a magnificent epic story telling. You are hooked on to it from start to finish. The characters are relatable, the story is simply beautiful. Cant get enough of this game.
  27. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    The Last of Us is the best zombie movie you've ever played.

    First of all, the no-consequence-for-dying argument has been flogged to an inconsequential death in regards to this game, so I will say this: seeking consequence in a video game is barking up the wrong tree. Combat with realistic consequences driving survival would be something like a war rather than a game and it would
    The Last of Us is the best zombie movie you've ever played.

    First of all, the no-consequence-for-dying argument has been flogged to an inconsequential death in regards to this game, so I will say this: seeking consequence in a video game is barking up the wrong tree. Combat with realistic consequences driving survival would be something like a war rather than a game and it would likely have little entertainment value.

    That said, I'm satisfied with calling TLoU an adventure game with survival as the central theme if it circumvents the tired old comparison of every survival-themed game with Dark Souls and Demon Souls. In fact, I'm happy to report that TLoU is nothing like either of those.

    The Last of Us is a captivating and immersive experience that is worthy of the "masterpiece" praises that it has received. Fast-paced at times and a slow-burn at other times, it manages to keep attention and not become completely boring or stale. It has its tropes, but they aren't damaging to the overall experience.

    Stealth is centered around being very quiet, as the zombies in this game are blind. It's a good idea and executed well for the most part, but it does make for some awkward moments with an AI partner. There are times when the AI will seem to stomp around at will without being noticed; meanwhile if you so much as break wind, the turbulence in your jeans will alert every zombie in the area of your delicious presence. It's not a mechanics issue or anything, it just looks like an odd contrast and it's one of the few things in the game that seems sloppy.

    Character development is so strong that it's easy to become invested, but at the same time it doesn't feel forced you. In fact, you might not even notice until you find yourself blowing through half of your ammunition on a relatively harmless mob just because they got a little too rough with Not-Ellen-Page.

    Multiplayer can be quite fun because it's quite a different approach, but at the same time multiplayer can be no fun at all because the differences fall apart. The focus is on collecting parts and supplies in order to sustain your clan of survivors and that doesn't necessarily correlate with kills alone. In fact, a support role is just as effective in collecting parts by crafting, healing, reviving, etc than those meant for a high kill count. However, you may often find that matches are overtaken by a haphazard run-and-gun approach that ruins the tactical slow-burn that it intends. This is being addressed with various combat balances but the MP still seems at risk for drastic dissolution of its population over time.

    Multiplayer also seemed drastically under-realized on release as it featured only two game modes (neither of which involved surviving hordes of zombies). It has since revealed plans to expand the game modes through DLC and has already begun to do so. On one hand, more game modes are a welcomed addition but on the other hand they shouldn't turn the game into an 80 dollar version.

    Overall, a great experience with nothing blatantly wrong with it. Multiplayer will be take-it-or-leave-it as usual, but single-player alone makes TLoU a great game.
    Expand
  28. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    The only thing i could say this is the best game i ever played! Masterpiece story, soundtracks, gameplay and graphic.10/10
    Thank you to everyone at NaughtyDog for making a truly life changes experience.
  29. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    The Last Of Us is not a game; it is art. I do not want to spoil anything about this simply astounding game. Close Metacritic, and buy The Last Of Us. Now. Or I will slap you silly.
  30. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Masterpiece
    For the umpteenth time Naughty Dog has surprised everyone by completely changing genre. Visually speaking The Last of Us is overflowing, so full of detail will leave you breathless in more than one occasion. The Last of Us is very sad and moving, a constant punch in the stomach when you least aspects.
    I really loved this game has given me so many emotions like few others.
  31. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This game is fascinating. i like everything about this game
    1- first game in which reality based infection is used
    2- START i awesome
    3- Each you play it u will have fun
    4- Real enjoyment is while playing SURVIVOR MODE
    5- I was fan of God of War but now of THE LAST OF US
  32. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    My favorite game I have ever played. Game looks beautiful and the controls fit the game perfectly. This game has my second favorite story of any game I've played (behind Heavy Rain). The atmosphere and gameplay are fantastic, makes the player feel like they're in a movie. Decently challenging with good AI. That being said, Ellie can be kind of annoying when she gets in the way duringMy favorite game I have ever played. Game looks beautiful and the controls fit the game perfectly. This game has my second favorite story of any game I've played (behind Heavy Rain). The atmosphere and gameplay are fantastic, makes the player feel like they're in a movie. Decently challenging with good AI. That being said, Ellie can be kind of annoying when she gets in the way during stealth sequences, but other than that, this game is perfect.
    A must play if you have a ps3
    Expand
  33. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    So I've been a gamer for 25 years. Created a Metacritic account solely so that I could rate this game a 10. It's unquestionably one of the very best games ever made, and I've been pondering whether it's the best single player game I've ever played. To be honest, I've grown weary of single player games over the last 2+ decades. It's often a struggle to finish a single player gameSo I've been a gamer for 25 years. Created a Metacritic account solely so that I could rate this game a 10. It's unquestionably one of the very best games ever made, and I've been pondering whether it's the best single player game I've ever played. To be honest, I've grown weary of single player games over the last 2+ decades. It's often a struggle to finish a single player game because I lose interest. I fill my limited gaming hours in a week with a staple of Battlefield due to the fact that playing with other humans is usually more stimulating than the rehashed, trite and unimaginative content to be found in most single player games.

    This game is one of those once in a decade gems, managing to pull together the epic scale and perfect pacing of Half-Life 2, the grandeur and wonder of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, the irrepressible spirit of adventure of Uncharted 2/3 and the emotional hook in your gut of Ico into a game that continues to resonate with me long after the end credits stopped rolling. The artistry and subtlety involved with the characterization alone is thesis-worthy. It is a game that captivated, riveted and wholly entertained me as a gamer from the first minute to the last, sans flaw.

    The Last of Us is a complete and special gaming experience and serves as a paradigm shift for storytelling in interactive media. Thank you, Naughty Dog.
    Expand
  34. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Wow. Just wow. Naughty dog have done it once again and created a real masterpiece that plays exceptionally, the world around you looks devastated, but gorgeous, the voice acting, characters, animations are astounding and the story really pulls at the heart strings at times! You have two main characters, Ellie, a little girl that looks innocent enough but grows into a real strong character,Wow. Just wow. Naughty dog have done it once again and created a real masterpiece that plays exceptionally, the world around you looks devastated, but gorgeous, the voice acting, characters, animations are astounding and the story really pulls at the heart strings at times! You have two main characters, Ellie, a little girl that looks innocent enough but grows into a real strong character, then there's Joel a man that has been affected by the infection but deals with it in such a realistic way that you start to feel a real connection with both characters. All in all another superb title rolls off the naughty dog conveyor belt and goes straight into one of the all time greats in video gaming history! Expand
  35. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    The Last of Us is the gateway to a whole new era of storytelling and interactive experience. Naughtydog has managed to justify almost all of this game's gritty and intense mechanics through story-telling and the emotional impact of taking a life in order to survive. It doesn't hurt that the actors were all perfectly cast and portrayed. Honestly, much better than most of the movieThe Last of Us is the gateway to a whole new era of storytelling and interactive experience. Naughtydog has managed to justify almost all of this game's gritty and intense mechanics through story-telling and the emotional impact of taking a life in order to survive. It doesn't hurt that the actors were all perfectly cast and portrayed. Honestly, much better than most of the movie performances I have seen all year. The Last of Us excels beyond a game and into an experience. I really hope non-gamers can learn to appreciate the impact a perfectly executed game can have and how important it is as a new medium. The Naughtydog studio is visionary and will forever leave me craving more of their style: flawless and impact-full storytelling, some of the best actors and talent in the business, stunning and engrossing graphics, and emotions and thoughts that will last long after you play the game.

    Oh yeah, and the multiplayer experience: Ridiculously amazing. Nothing is better than out-trapping and out-smarting your opponents. It is such a perfectly balanced experience (with the exception of the OP flamethrower) that you can easily pick it up and find immediate enjoyment. Playing in groups of four is an absolute blast and coordinating tactics with your friends to annihilate the opposing faction is beyond rewarding. It's good enough that Naughtydog gave us one of the most emotionally rewarding and mind-blowing single player campaigns available, but the fact that I can keep coming back to the multiplayer experience to nail-board bash my way to success is much appreciated.

    An amazing game. The best game. They better be working on The Laster Of Us because I have never been so satisfied and yet craving of more. If anyone can successfully pull-off a sequel and continue improving a series it's Naughtydog. Considering they made as near of a perfect game as they could... it's interesting to see where they will go to continue to push the gaming industry.

    If you have a PS3 and haven't bought this game: you have a serious problem.
    If you have an XBOX 360, you need to sell your system, buy a PS3, and buy this game.
    Expand
  36. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is without a doubt the BEST game I have ever played!
    The gameplay, the graphics, the design, the sound and music, the top acting voice acting, and of course...the story. All of these things go together in the best way possible. I felt like I was experiencing a combination of a book, a film, and a game, all at the same time.
    The tempo is varying and dynamic and you get to experience booth intense action and explore the beautiful world in with the story takes place.

    I recommend The Last of Us to anyone who has not yet played it!
    Expand
  37. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I've played games for the last 30 years so I know there are only a few games that can be remembered 20 years after playing them. But I know The Last of Us will be one of them. I've never felt such a level of empathy towards the characters of a game, I never needed to keep the characters alive so much (maybe my closest empathetic experience was with Heavy Rain, but that experience was veryI've played games for the last 30 years so I know there are only a few games that can be remembered 20 years after playing them. But I know The Last of Us will be one of them. I've never felt such a level of empathy towards the characters of a game, I never needed to keep the characters alive so much (maybe my closest empathetic experience was with Heavy Rain, but that experience was very different). It is worth to mention that I don't like zombies-alike horror films and I usually get bored watching (most of) action films. I don't know why, but maybe it's because I know that the main character will live, so there is no real thrill. Is the hero caged in a locked room? meh, he will find out a way to escape, I'm not afraid. Is the bad guy aiming at the hero? Something weird will happen and he will stay alive, sure. But there is something very different in videogames: you can die, so you have a reason to be tense. Of course, videogames typically suffer from a problem which was pointed out by Steven Spielberg: "The second you get the controller something turns off in the heart, and it becomes a sport." Well, maybe it's true for most of games. For instance, I'm thinking about GTA V, which is a great game indeed, but it's just a "game" in the sense pointed out by Spielberg: characters are not really touching (they are funny, but not touching), so it's a kind of great "sports" game: driving, shooting, flying, etc. Oddly, some of my best moments in GTA V were when I was driving through this huge world, perhaps in the coast highway during the sunset, and I felt that I was in a kind of long journey. Isn't it weird? However, The Last of Us is very different. After 4-5 hours playing or so, you will really empathize with the characters so much until the end in a level not reached by most of Mr. Spielberg films in my own case, by the way (Ok, The Schindler List was something very different). The Last of Us characters are very well defined, and you will share their suffering for a long time until you love them. They are touching despite they rarely show openly their feelings, which is a symptom of a great performance. In addition, you will feel nervous in dangerous situations because you can die indeed. So you have the best combination of films and videogames: "the characters are touching" "you really feel that you can die" "you really feel you are there." The previous formula shows the rare achievement of this game. My conclusion is that this is a rare experience you will never forget. Expand
  38. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This is truly one of the best game of this generation!! I Ioved every minute of the game! Can't wait to see what Naughty Dog can do with the PS4. I hope Uncharted 4 is their next title!
  39. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Simple put, this is possibly the best game I have ever played, and I've played a lot of games over the years. Everything about this game is 10 out of 10.
  40. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Wow! Just wow!
    Naughty Dog actually found a very interesting and unique way of reinventing the zombie apocalypse. The story is one of those that takes ahold of you with mutated claws and never lets go. The voice acting is superb, the graphics are just amazing and the motivations for everything you do is logical and immersive.
    There are very few games that I would ever give a
    Wow! Just wow!
    Naughty Dog actually found a very interesting and unique way of reinventing the zombie apocalypse. The story is one of those that takes ahold of you with mutated claws and never lets go. The voice acting is superb, the graphics are just amazing and the motivations for everything you do is logical and immersive.

    There are very few games that I would ever give a perfect 10 rating to but this is absolutely one of the best. Some critics have found it shocking and edgy to rip on this game because it is sooo popular but you would be wise to simply ignore them for the attention-seekers they are.

    This game is EXACTLY what the game industry needs more of although I do wish that it had been available for more than just the PlayStation.
    Expand
  41. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Firstly let me make one thing clear. There is absolutely NO reason that anyone should ever give this game a 0. That is reserved for incredibly broken or extremely offensive games that should never had been made. Anybody who did is obviously tampering with scores for a laugh. They may be trolling or simply hate the game but 0 is not a number for a game like the last of us*

    It is rare
    Firstly let me make one thing clear. There is absolutely NO reason that anyone should ever give this game a 0. That is reserved for incredibly broken or extremely offensive games that should never had been made. Anybody who did is obviously tampering with scores for a laugh. They may be trolling or simply hate the game but 0 is not a number for a game like the last of us*

    It is rare for me to find a game that moves me emotionally. Whether it be sadness or joy, this game has done it. Naughty dogs newest game is a pinnacle of storytelling, starting from a heart-breaking beginning to an ending that has been on my mind for weeks.
    Visually this game astounds me. The characters are so human and the environment, believable. The visuals enhance the fantastically violent nature of survival and at one time or another made me wince. This is not a negative factor however as it amazes me.

    The storyline granted is slightly cliché but just because someone did it before, doesn't mean it cant be done again. Not only was it done again but it exceeded any predictability with strong emotional connection to the characters and feelings of utter hopelessness at times. The gameplay is incredibly fun as no two battles need to be the same. Some argue that the game is linear but I argue back by saying "its not linear, you just chose not to explore". You have choices of weapons to modify and make and in doing so might help you or hinder you in the future. You need to plan ahead to survive.

    The soundtrack is beautiful and suits perfectly to the apocalyptic yet beautiful wasteland of America. The collapse of man of course caused by the cordyceps. basing a disease on a real life fungus adds to the believability that one day this could happen. The enemies in the game are split into hunters melee. gunners, Molotov throwers, armoured) and the infected. the infected change through grotesque stages, each more deadly than the last. they are creative and very fun to kill.
    The only problem I found in the game was made to counteract an even greater one. your allies are sometimes invisible to the enemy until you are exposed. This sometimes breaks immersion but was done so that the whole game doesn't become one whole escort mission which it definitely is not. Some people may say that the enemy A.I is braindead. Some people give this game a 0 for this one reason. Some people are stupid.

    My verdict is that this game deserves all the praise it gets because it deserves it. It isn't overrated and certainly isn't bad. this game will be remembered for generation. This is for the Ps3 what Mario was for the NES. I will give this game a 10 although I don't believe any game is perfect. But until then very few games meet this standard.
    Expand
  42. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is so much about story that it's impossible to write a full review without spoiling anything, so I'll write two reviews instead, one spoiler-free and one with spoilers.
    Here comes the spoiler-free one.

    Story-wise this game blew my mind away, it blew it so far away that it landed in Wisconsin, witch is pretty far considering that I live in Sweden. Anyways I don't want to spoil anything important in this review so let's just talk about the basics of the story:
    You play as Joel. A hardened apocalipse-survivor and the way the character is showed in this game is what makes the game really good.
    Yes you play as Joel, but in my opinion the main protagonist if the game is Ellie: A fourteen year old girl that is immune to the fungal-zombie infection. And a group called the fireflies think that the thing that makes Ellie immune can save humankind from infection.

    Gameplay in this game is very, very good, and the third person perspective just makes the game brilliant, 'cuz graphicly this game is something unique and with that I mean awesome. I love that this game is so extremely gory and this game is so good that it's actually the best game I've ever played. Well worth 10/10
    Expand
  43. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    There's not much I can say about this game that hasn't already been said, but for me it's one of the best I've ever played. At a basic level there are three facets that make up how to judge a game great from a bad one to me and they're not mutually exclusive; the gameplay, the story and the graphics (including the sound!). The Last of Us gets 10/10 for the latter two but it's only slightThere's not much I can say about this game that hasn't already been said, but for me it's one of the best I've ever played. At a basic level there are three facets that make up how to judge a game great from a bad one to me and they're not mutually exclusive; the gameplay, the story and the graphics (including the sound!). The Last of Us gets 10/10 for the latter two but it's only slight drawback was the gameplay. Only inasmuch as it did get a little repetitive. However, it was still a definitive 10/10 overall for me, largely because of the excellent story. It is something of a rarity that games inspire such immersion and relation to the characters. Like a good book it had me rushing home from work, desperate to find out what happens next. You could argue that the story arc is a little basic perhaps even predictable, but that doesn't hinder it. It is the pacing that makes it supreme. There's moments when you might feel that it's all going to be ok, or that you're safe, you're strong and have lots of supplies. Then the next you'll be struggling, grasping for control again. Furthermore, its the characters realism that really draws you in. In combination with those moments of complete panic and tranquillity you really get to know the characters. Aesthetically its excellent; immersive, detailed and at times quite beautiful.

    Overall, as I said, it's one of (if not the) best game I've had the pleasure of playing. As a gamer I always think that the best test for any game would be would you recommend this game to someone who doesn't/hasn't played a video game before? The Last of Us would be THE game I would recommend to those people, would be a reason why games can and are comparable to the finest works of literature or other art.
    Expand
  44. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story is delicious in many ways. However Tess (sniffle*) should have lasted a bit more during the game. Probaaaaably the best game of the year. Voice acting was incredible! Expand
  45. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O jogo perfeito, lindo em gráficos, a história te cativa desde o inicio,e os personagens sao marcantes, principalmente Ellie, talvez o único defeito seja a AI do jogo e outras texturas mal feitas que passam despercebidas, mas nada que tire o brilho do jogo. Expand
  46. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    The best game I've ever played in my life. Everything is perfect on TLOU. I'm eagerly awaiting the sequel. I'm impressed so far even playing the game three months ago.
  47. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    This game is another piece of brilliance from Naughty Dog. Having played Naughty Dog games since Crash Bandicoot and all of the Uncharted games, I sort of knew what was coming. The narrative is sort of a stretch from other ND games because it has a more serious and darker tone. For some game developers, changing the pace or going in a different direction, after releasing games of the sameThis game is another piece of brilliance from Naughty Dog. Having played Naughty Dog games since Crash Bandicoot and all of the Uncharted games, I sort of knew what was coming. The narrative is sort of a stretch from other ND games because it has a more serious and darker tone. For some game developers, changing the pace or going in a different direction, after releasing games of the same genre/ story, might be harmful. This is not the case here. ND is now becoming somewhat like Rockstar in the sense that they are putting out quality instead of quantity *cough cough IW, Treyarch*

    This game follows Joel and his sidekick Ellie, who must survive in a post apocalyptic world after a virus, has caused the citizens of the world to become more zombie-like. If you have ever played any past Uncharted game then you will feel right at home with how the controls and quick actions are added into the story. This game has you either play as a stealthy type of player or straight shooter, neither or bad nor good. However supplies are limited either way so you must play smart. Ellie is not only for looks, though that’s bad for me to say because she is still a child. But what I mean is that she isn't just some girl in the way, she can change the tide of encounters by getting involved with the enemy. This is a plus for the game because you are not just baby sitting some girl, she helps you so you'll never feel alone. Overall I must say that the single player is well done and brings another great story to the player.

    The online portion was something I wasn't completely a fan of but it was definitely something different and in a good way. The online portion of the game pitted you in a small group against another small team in various game modes. The combat seemed fair and balanced and also frustrating. The online component wasn’t the best from ND but it did supply some fun.
    Expand
  48. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Story: 10/10, it was so amazing to see the plot develop and the characters evolve, becoming one of the most heart wrenching tales i have ever experienced.
    Gameplay: 10/10, the combat was simply stellar, and personally, I don't have any problems with it
    Although I think Bioshock Infinite is a bit better as an experience (but not much better), I have to admit that as a pure GAME, The Last
    Story: 10/10, it was so amazing to see the plot develop and the characters evolve, becoming one of the most heart wrenching tales i have ever experienced.
    Gameplay: 10/10, the combat was simply stellar, and personally, I don't have any problems with it
    Although I think Bioshock Infinite is a bit better as an experience (but not much better), I have to admit that as a pure GAME, The Last of Us is better
    Expand
  49. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    The story in this game is without a doubt the greatest story ever to be brought to a video game, ever. That is obviously the selling point for any gamer. But there are some really big issues with gameplay that at times really let this game down. But I believe me, along with most people who played through this game overlook a lot of that stuff. This game is definitely in the top 3 games ofThe story in this game is without a doubt the greatest story ever to be brought to a video game, ever. That is obviously the selling point for any gamer. But there are some really big issues with gameplay that at times really let this game down. But I believe me, along with most people who played through this game overlook a lot of that stuff. This game is definitely in the top 3 games of the past generation of consoles. An absolute must have for any PS3 owner. Expand
  50. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Goods
    - Good and engaging story
    - Strong characters
    - Fun game play Go in attacking wildly or silently taking down)
    - Fun multiplayer
    - Intense at times and sad at times
    - Good visuals

    Bads
    - Nothing which effected my rating of the game

    Extras
    - Extremely difficult to stay on track as I ALWAYS scavenged everything in an area before I went to the next. LoL )
    - Crap ending IMO
    - Got kinda annoying when clickers one hit you as you're surrounded
    - IMO an extremely satisfying game which had me playing it for at least 3.5 play throughs, even though the stupid save glitch delayed me 5 hours as i had to replay the game over again because it didnt save!
    Expand
  51. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Every once in a long time a game comes along and completely shakes you with how amazing it is. No game has captured the themes as well as this game has done. This game has innovated the genre and upped the ante for storytelling and character development in video games. There is no game out there now that can completely satisfy everything you want in a game besides this one. This experienceEvery once in a long time a game comes along and completely shakes you with how amazing it is. No game has captured the themes as well as this game has done. This game has innovated the genre and upped the ante for storytelling and character development in video games. There is no game out there now that can completely satisfy everything you want in a game besides this one. This experience is well worth your money. If you have to pay 100$ for it, buy it anyways. Its worth every cent for one of the most memorable experience's in gaming and the best game you could buy on the PS3. Expand
  52. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    I've been playing video games since 1978 when I got an Atari 2600 for Christmas. In the past decade, I find it difficult to find a good game that really pulls you in and gets you hooked. As a huge fan of Fallout 3, I was really looking forward to Last of Us as my next 'end of days' game. Last of Us didn't disappoint. The linear storyline forces you along- you have no choice, but toI've been playing video games since 1978 when I got an Atari 2600 for Christmas. In the past decade, I find it difficult to find a good game that really pulls you in and gets you hooked. As a huge fan of Fallout 3, I was really looking forward to Last of Us as my next 'end of days' game. Last of Us didn't disappoint. The linear storyline forces you along- you have no choice, but to push forward. You can't go back, level up, and return to an area with amped up stats, perks, etc. You're scrounging for ammo and supplies and really have to put thought in to how you're going to get through that hunter-infested hotel ruin. It's impossible to play 100% stealth, so be prepared for brutal melee fights and edge of your seat shoot outs. I found myself hoping the next enemies were human, because the infected humans were absolutely insane and unpredictable. Although the game is linear, it offers a great deal of exploration. Ammo and crafting supplies are essential, but I wish the other collectibles offered a little more than atmosphere and an excuse to scour the area. I don't care about "achievements"- give me some sort of gameplay bonus. (Ideal game design would grant you something that would be fun to use in the next playthrough- could be a weapon, ability, or access to unavailable parts of a map) Key takeaway- PLAY THIS GAME. It is truly an experience that will suck you in emotionally and you'll feel what Ellie and Joel are going through. First playthrough is priceless- avoid all spoilers- and check this game out. Expand
  53. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. The story is phenomenal and the combat is tight, balanced, and satisfying. I personally believe this is a game every gamer needs to experience atleast ONCE. Easily a must own. Can't wait for the revised PS4 version.
  54. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Without a shadow of a doubt, the greatest game I have ever played. The story and gameplay are nothing short of amazing, the cut scenes and dialogue and the best I've ever seen.

    Nothing will ever give me the experience that this game gave me, The Last of Us is pure perfection.
  55. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    One word can only describe this game: AMAZING. This game was phenomenal. The story was absolutely perfect. The graphics are some of fhe best i have ever seen. Joel and Ellie are two of the greatest characters i have ever played as. The multiplayer is unique and strategic. I could go on forever about this game but the max characters is 5000 and id need way more than that.
  56. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    what can I say about this game???It was awesome the story was great and engaging the cutsces were beautifull and the voice acting the best in every game I ve played so far.Now the most important the gameplay was great overall the things I dint like were sometimes the AI and the button mashing that gets boring preety fast another thing i wasnt very into were the repetitive riddles.overallwhat can I say about this game???It was awesome the story was great and engaging the cutsces were beautifull and the voice acting the best in every game I ve played so far.Now the most important the gameplay was great overall the things I dint like were sometimes the AI and the button mashing that gets boring preety fast another thing i wasnt very into were the repetitive riddles.overall the last of us is for me the best game in 2013 and deserves the reviews it has been getting Expand
  57. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    The last of us, oq eu posso falar sobre esse jogo...
    GOTY, simplesmente um dos melhores jogos que ja joguei na vida, resolvi deixar de lado fazer a analise das partes técnicas do jogo pq pensei "Sera que isso nescessario?"
    A ambientação do jogo M-A-G-N-I-F-I-C-A, eu ja joguei muitos jogos pra pc no VERY HIGH e obviamente as qualidades de texturas são bem melhores e etc, mas o feeling
    The last of us, oq eu posso falar sobre esse jogo...
    GOTY, simplesmente um dos melhores jogos que ja joguei na vida, resolvi deixar de lado fazer a analise das partes técnicas do jogo pq pensei "Sera que isso nescessario?"
    A ambientação do jogo M-A-G-N-I-F-I-C-A, eu ja joguei muitos jogos pra pc no VERY HIGH e obviamente as qualidades de texturas são bem melhores e etc, mas o feeling que a ambientação desse jogo passa indescritivel, todo aquele ambiente de caos, todas as evidencias de vidas que ja passaram por ali, aquele cenário tão bonito que faz vc pensar "Como em um mundo tão bonito pode haver tanto caos"
    A modelagem dos personagens muito boa tb, a inteligencia dos inimigos muito boa, ja a dos companheiros bem bugada embora seja proposital, mas no geral aspéctos técnicos como eu disse, não importam nesse jogo, a história que esse jogo tem pra contar oq faz eu entregar o GOTY a ele, a história de um homem totalmente levado pela dor de perder uma filha a mudar tanto o seu cárater e a história de uma garota que nasceu nesse mundo e acha tudo aquilo normal, o relacionamento que construido entre esses 2 magnifico, e tudo ocorre de maneira tão natural que me deixa de boca aberta, a personalidade dos personagens MUUITO REAL, eles tem VIDA, eles fazem ESCOLHAS, e muitas vezes essas escolhas podem ser vistas por outros como escolhas cruéis ou erradas, mas eles são humanos, eles fazem pq seus corações pedem pra eles fazerem.
    O jogo emociona muito, vc REALMENTE se importa muito com aquele personagem, e vc quer o bem dele, e essa imersão toda que o jogo traz na história e GAMEPLAY oq definitivamente faz ele ser merecedor de Game Of The Year 2013
    TLoU mais que um jogo, um verdadeiro aprofundamento do que significa o termo SER HUMANO.
    Expand
  58. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    This game is perfect. I love how it's not your average zombie game it's a lot more genius with the fungal infection. The story had me hooked since the opening, this is a game where you grow attached to the characters in a heart beat. The graphics are Amazing and the game design for every were beautifully made. This game makes you under stand how it feels to struggle with surviving. TheThis game is perfect. I love how it's not your average zombie game it's a lot more genius with the fungal infection. The story had me hooked since the opening, this is a game where you grow attached to the characters in a heart beat. The graphics are Amazing and the game design for every were beautifully made. This game makes you under stand how it feels to struggle with surviving. The controls are smooth and the only glitch I found was when Ellie turned invisible after the truck crashed and you only see her floating backpack that was funny to see. The fun part for me was the Easter eggs. Expand
  59. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Definite quality, in-the-moment, challenging gameplay and an amazing story, The Last of Us offers something that is extremely powerful and immersive, in terms of experience of the player. Horrifying, heart-touching and deep at the same time, you know that the game is good if they deliver all these three qualities right out at the beginning. Aside from the rather questionable ending thatDefinite quality, in-the-moment, challenging gameplay and an amazing story, The Last of Us offers something that is extremely powerful and immersive, in terms of experience of the player. Horrifying, heart-touching and deep at the same time, you know that the game is good if they deliver all these three qualities right out at the beginning. Aside from the rather questionable ending that ultimately alludes a sequel (the ending could have rather been more expanding), the game would've definitely deserved 10 out of 10. Expand
  60. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    I had a xbox 360,and had no intention of buying a ps3(But i had great interest in Gow 3 and uncharted series).But unfortunately this game conjured me into buying a ps3.And you know what? it's worth it.
  61. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    At first I wasn't sure to buy a brand new copy of this game. I thought I should wait a little more until I could buy it cheaper or lend it from a friend. I don't know why I risked it instead. I swear every cent of this game is worth. The music made by Gustavo Santaolalla has trapped me. The graphics (obviously a better version of the uncharted Engine) are stunning and very detailed. TheAt first I wasn't sure to buy a brand new copy of this game. I thought I should wait a little more until I could buy it cheaper or lend it from a friend. I don't know why I risked it instead. I swear every cent of this game is worth. The music made by Gustavo Santaolalla has trapped me. The graphics (obviously a better version of the uncharted Engine) are stunning and very detailed. The history is deep and it feels like being part of the post-apocalyptic world. There are moments were I felt sorry for some characters and moments were I had fear. It remembered me once more why since my childhood always dreamed to be a game-programmer. Games ARE Art! And this one is a Masterpiece. Hint: There is a lovely making of the last of us documentary. (dlc, psn) Expand
  62. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us story from the start to the end glued me to my ps3 with tears in depth sorrow and wondering what happens next!! just 1 line for this new comer from naughty dogs:

    "at the dawn of the current gen. a masterpiece reign supreme against all"
  63. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog has created one of the greatest game this generation. It's not for everyone because of it's violence but story is one of the best and gameplay fun and smooth. Aiming is great unlike what some people say... Definitely a must-buy if you have a ps3. The multiplayer also is great but has a little problems and it should've included infected. But other than that a GREAT game.
  64. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    What an outstanding game, the story is so gripping I couldn't put the game down!. When I did put the game down I couldn't wait to get back on to play it! Its the only game that I've played and finished within 2 weeks and I have limited play time! Truly outstanding graphics, nice gameplay mechanics and simply the best story I've played this year!

    Note: I did not play the Online game
  65. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Some body say's before and I totally agree, "its masterpiece, that breaks the self imposed barriers of gaming narrative and ensnares the player with intelligent gameplay and brilliant A.I.".
  66. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Typical naughty dog, which to some means more a movie than a game. Those people are stupid, they balance it just right. You can actually play this game. It has a story, when it's this engaging so what? people do reviews these days like that's a bad thing. But if i want to watch a movie they say. Well go watch a movie then. We will all play this and remember it, unlike the dumb games whereTypical naughty dog, which to some means more a movie than a game. Those people are stupid, they balance it just right. You can actually play this game. It has a story, when it's this engaging so what? people do reviews these days like that's a bad thing. But if i want to watch a movie they say. Well go watch a movie then. We will all play this and remember it, unlike the dumb games where the story is and the gameplay is BANG! BANG! BANG! and all else. Yes this has banging in it, (sicko) but it's paced out well with other great moments. Expand
  67. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    What can I say, an utter masterpiece from skull to toe. The plot is decent, the gameplay is well integrated, the graphics can be called next gen!!!
    Really enjoyed. Hope developer can make more games at such high qualities.
  68. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    I've been a gamer for about 13 years now, I have played probably every game worth playing excluding the xBox exclusives (don't own it), THIS IS THE BEST SINGLEPLAYER GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED! EVER! And it will probably remain THE BEST for a very, very long time! I don't wanna spoil anything so i won't go into details much but this game will give you everything this genre has to offer! II've been a gamer for about 13 years now, I have played probably every game worth playing excluding the xBox exclusives (don't own it), THIS IS THE BEST SINGLEPLAYER GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED! EVER! And it will probably remain THE BEST for a very, very long time! I don't wanna spoil anything so i won't go into details much but this game will give you everything this genre has to offer! I can't remember when is the last time a book movie game had such strong emotional value as this game! I have never been happier to shoot a few "innocent" people in my life (you'll know what I'm talking about when you play trough it). The game manages to awake a sense of happines, anger, grief, excitment, accomplishment and so on. The game itself looks beautiful, its never boring, 90% of the time you're either hunting someone or being hunted, on a few occasions both. If this game was a movie, it would win more oscars then the Titanic and LOTR together.
    I would describe The Last of Us as a brilliant search and destroy with phenomenal characters, an absolutely tremendous story, packed with emotions and exciting moments.
    This isn't a shooter. You won't get anywhere in this game if you go guns blazing 24/7 although, a lot of times you can do it.
    Don't ruin this game by playing it on any difficulty under Hard it just isn't worth it.

    If you buy this game, you won't regret it. ever! I don't have a word in my vocabulary which describes the ammount of awesomness in this game.

    Story 10
    Main Characters 10
    Side Characters 10
    Enviroment design 10
    Combat 9.5
    AI IQ 9
    Character control 9
    ________________________
    Total 9.64

    I apologise for any wrong used phrases, wrong spelled words etc. English isn't my first language.
    Expand
  69. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    TLOUS excelente, não consigo encontrar defeitos. Obrigatório para proprietários de PS3. Uma história profunda que envolve o jogador do início ao fim.
  70. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    The Last of Us is an absolutely beautiful experience that anyone who can get a hold of a PS3 should try. The story is pulled off well, the characters are believable and the gameplay is stunning. I couldn't recommend this more.
  71. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    This is definitely a page turner. I just had to play it to the end to see what happened. This is beautifully rendered with characters that are endearing. Although I was not a fan of the constantly killing, it did keep me on the edge of my seat. There were several times in the game when my heart was wrenched from my chest, played with then stitched back in! I would definitely recommendThis is definitely a page turner. I just had to play it to the end to see what happened. This is beautifully rendered with characters that are endearing. Although I was not a fan of the constantly killing, it did keep me on the edge of my seat. There were several times in the game when my heart was wrenched from my chest, played with then stitched back in! I would definitely recommend this game for a mature audience. There is quite a bit of violence and shocking moments. Expand
  72. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    Simply put, this game is epic. From start to finish it's like an intense, deep experience whilst having a movie feel at the same time, it is unique with the way you get attached to characters. In the top 5 games I have ever played due to the quality of dialogue, atmosphere, general mechanics of game play etc etc..I could go on. You know you have played a truly decent game when you areSimply put, this game is epic. From start to finish it's like an intense, deep experience whilst having a movie feel at the same time, it is unique with the way you get attached to characters. In the top 5 games I have ever played due to the quality of dialogue, atmosphere, general mechanics of game play etc etc..I could go on. You know you have played a truly decent game when you are finished and think, "damn.. am I really finished?" Expand
  73. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    A beautiful looking game on every console. This was a very fun game that i enjoyed very much, It was pretty hard and challenging at some spots in the game, but keeps you gripping your seat because you can get super scared. the zombies in the game seemed mostly realistic the names were funny two for the zombies (The Clickers) lol for example. overall a great game and definitely worth getting.
  74. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game is simply gorgeous. It gives the sensation that is the best game ever for the PS3, and since the new gen consoles are here, it will be forever. Hopefully it's the beginning of a series, because anybody that played it would surely like to play a new TLOU story as soon as possible. Do not miss it.
  75. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    The Last of Us is my favorite Playstation 3 game. The gameplay and story are just perfect. Online multiplayer is engaging and extremely addicted. This is one of the best games ever made.
  76. May 6, 2014
    10
    The Last of Us is a masterpiece, it is easily the BEST game I have ever played. The graphics are absolutely amazing, the gameplay is flawless and the storyline....well the storyline is just perfected. I can't imagine rating this game any lower than 10/10 In my opinion.
  77. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    "Oh no, ANOTHER ZOMBIE GAME?!" That was what first struck me when I saw this game top the charts. I'm not ashamed to say I couldn't have been more wrong. There is nothing to dislike about this game. The story line is so diverse with emotional tragedies, drama, and comedy that you will lose yourself if you aren't careful. I wasn't careful. and completed the game in 2 days. The"Oh no, ANOTHER ZOMBIE GAME?!" That was what first struck me when I saw this game top the charts. I'm not ashamed to say I couldn't have been more wrong. There is nothing to dislike about this game. The story line is so diverse with emotional tragedies, drama, and comedy that you will lose yourself if you aren't careful. I wasn't careful. and completed the game in 2 days. The graphics appear next-gen, despite being ps3. Ellie and Joel are, to this day and forever, my favorite video game characters of all time. You will cry, laugh, and the ending will probably have you staring an inch from the screen. When it's over, you feel like a part of you has died. This is coming from someone who prides himself on maintaining an emotional middle ground and scoffed at the idea of another Apocalypse game. Holy was I wrong. Best game of all time. Expand
  78. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    ground braking, amazing, worth be played 10 times more, visually its astonishing, storytelling its a masterpiece, maybe the end is a little unexpected but does not change the feeling of truth about the all thing.
  79. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Simply put; one of the best games I've ever played! Entertaining throughout. Definitely buying a PS4 just for this game and of course the Uncharted series.
  80. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    this game is the game that you should play if you are only going to play one game this year. am that kinda guy who skips the story goes to the mutiplayer but this game i tried the story and have beaten this game 4 times and going back for another round its just that good. the looks in this game make me go who that's ps4 quality. just play in and ignore all the negative reviews they are lying
  81. Nov 13, 2014
    9
    EPIC adventure, the last of us, brings us, one of the best adventures that we can have in PS3, A very good worked game, it has a very charismatic characters, it shows how strong a friendship can be. with intense scenes that remind me scary games like Silent hill 1... the game is absolutely recommended!
  82. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    My god, that game took me on one hell of an emotional ride. Even the intro was a hard emotional hit. The cutscenes looked like real life, and the gameplay looked like really good cutscenes. I have to give Naughty Dog a huge applause for producing such a masterpiece. The gameplay was immersive, the voice acting was the best I've ever heard, the story was believable and realistic, theMy god, that game took me on one hell of an emotional ride. Even the intro was a hard emotional hit. The cutscenes looked like real life, and the gameplay looked like really good cutscenes. I have to give Naughty Dog a huge applause for producing such a masterpiece. The gameplay was immersive, the voice acting was the best I've ever heard, the story was believable and realistic, the sneaking system was good, the characters were very likable and realistic, and the enemy A.I. was simple yet effective. The only thing I can criticize here is the god-awful friendly A.I. We can all agree that the friendly A.I. sucked. When Ellie walked out right in front of an enemy and he didn't see her, I burst out laughing because that was so bad. Though I see why they made it so that the enemies don't see friendly A.I., since it's too dumb that it would walk right out in the open and expose your position. Stuff like this was quite game-breaking, and it sometimes kept me from getting "in the zone". Until the A.I. is dramatically improved, I can't give this game a 10. Expand
  83. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This game was made for grow ups and only real grow ups can feel the entire game without questioning that this is a masterpiece. It's so immersive been Joel and Ellie, that you will worry about then as family.
  84. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Naughty Dog have hit a home run with this one. So glad that Neil Druckmann and his team are taking over the Uncharted series, as if they produce anything close to the utterly outstanding gaming-experience which the 'The Last of Us' provided then then I'll be buying Uncharted 4 on release day...10/10.
  85. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    If the video game industry wants to place itself as a mainstream media like Hollywood, it should use this game (along with Ico and Shadow of the Colossus) as a benchmark. The Last of Us is an absolute masterpiece. Period. There is nothing like a game with a beautiful gameplay, outstanding characters, emotions and atmosphere, and rightfully demands a place in your heart.
  86. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    Firstly, I am a mom in her 40's who finished playing this game recently. Although I've been a casual game player for over 25 years across various platforms, I'm pretty selective about what I play and spend my money on.

    In my opinion, this has to be one of the best games ever. As a mother, I could identify with the loss of Joels daughter in the beginning (what a tense, standout opening
    Firstly, I am a mom in her 40's who finished playing this game recently. Although I've been a casual game player for over 25 years across various platforms, I'm pretty selective about what I play and spend my money on.

    In my opinion, this has to be one of the best games ever. As a mother, I could identify with the loss of Joels daughter in the beginning (what a tense, standout opening scene!) as well as Ellie's loss of her parents and friends. I thought she was a great female character, swearing and all! Joel was also an excellent protagonist, not only dealing with the loss of his daughter but also handling the responsibility of caring for Ellie. I loved the overall story, narrative and game play. Whilst the enemies were a bit predictable, the plot was not, and I enjoyed the various twists and turns along the way.

    I really liked the fact that they progressed Ellie from a girl who was barely allowed to hold a weapon at the beginning of the game to a character who ended up wielding knives, guns and a rather nasty machete to good effect at the end due to the changing circumstances and challenges of their situation.

    Game play is very immersive and atmospheric working out whether to go in guns blazing or try to sneak around or even silently stalk and strangle an enemy makes every scene a mini mental challenge, especially if your ammo or health is low. Some of the scenarios in the gloomier parts of some buildings are pretty tense and definitely make for a few heart- stopping moments!

    Overall, a memorable game and well worth every penny.
    Expand
  87. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    I'm going to keep this review short and sweet because you really need to play the game to understand its brilliance. I finished the game 3 months ago and I still mention it in every games conversation. This simply is a must have game. Naughty Dog have pushed the ps3 to its limits to create a beautiful looking game with a fantastic engaging story and unforgettable characters. You reallyI'm going to keep this review short and sweet because you really need to play the game to understand its brilliance. I finished the game 3 months ago and I still mention it in every games conversation. This simply is a must have game. Naughty Dog have pushed the ps3 to its limits to create a beautiful looking game with a fantastic engaging story and unforgettable characters. You really come to care for Ellie (the young girl you are protecting) during the game and this is something so many games cannot do.

    The controls work very well and really give you the feeling you are fighting for your life. The level designs are genius and look stunning. The story is exciting and moving, Once scene had me having to pause the game and just take ten minutes to think to my self as it was so upsetting. The zombies and monsters are terrifying, the clickers really are the things of nightmares. You really do feel like you are in an the middle of a zombie apocalypse, no game has ever felt this real. Once you pick up the pad you will not put it down until you have completed it.

    Oh and the ending! Wow, this game does not give you choices or alternative endings. You play as Joel and you are forced to see life through his eyes, you make his decisions not your own and these some times take you to dark, gritty places. You come out of the game feeling a true emotional response. Even a joy that the world you live in is not like in the game. I found myself happy to kiss my kids goodnight in the safety of my warm home. People who jokingly say they want a zombie apocalypse may think twice after experiencing The Last Of Us.

    The greatest game on the PS3? Buy it and decide for your self, you will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  88. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    Esse jogo foi um dos melhores que já joguei na minha vida, adorei a historia, adorei os personagens, e também a vida de cada um deles, e nunca vou esquecer desse jogo fantástico que é o The Last of Us.
  89. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Last of Us is a masterpiece, the relationship between Joel and Ellie is strong and make you really care about them, some moments i became sad and this is awesome, only few games make you feel inside of the story, soundtrack is amazing as the scenario, the cities and towns beautiful, the game in maximum difficulty is really interesting.
  90. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    10 out of 10 is not high another to tell you how perfect this game is the story is so deep you will not stop playing this games story for day's which you will need because of it's long story that hook's you from the beginning of a girl in her house looking for dad Joel the main character to the end spoiler spoiler spoiler spoiler. so again the ending Spoiler Spoiler makes the game even10 out of 10 is not high another to tell you how perfect this game is the story is so deep you will not stop playing this games story for day's which you will need because of it's long story that hook's you from the beginning of a girl in her house looking for dad Joel the main character to the end spoiler spoiler spoiler spoiler. so again the ending Spoiler Spoiler makes the game even thought it's not as good as Bioshock infinite and Gone home but it's the most emotional excluding (Gone Homes) ever Expand
  91. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    A great game and one of the best of 2013, but a tad overrated. The Last of Us hits me with it's great story and extremely well developed and memorable characters. The gameplay is fun and it keeps you alert at all times, the visuals are stunning, the atmosphere is intense, just everything about this game is amazing. If you have a PS3 buy this game, it's worth every penny.
  92. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    The whole game was amazing(especially the beginning)! Everything in this game was so well-organised and so good.The story was very good.The characters were also very good(Ellie was amazing).The graphics were very good and very real.Excellent atmosphere for this type of game.The environment was also very good and very real.The game has the perfect gameplay to be called a survival game and IThe whole game was amazing(especially the beginning)! Everything in this game was so well-organised and so good.The story was very good.The characters were also very good(Ellie was amazing).The graphics were very good and very real.Excellent atmosphere for this type of game.The environment was also very good and very real.The game has the perfect gameplay to be called a survival game and I like it very much.You explore the world to find ammo and components and you combine the components to create useful tools(melee weapons,explosives,...).The music was also very good.With less words, the campaign is excellent.I haven't played competitive yet because I borrowed the game from a friend of mine but It seems to be very good and very special.Of course I recommend everyone that hasn't played this game to buy it.This game is in my top 4 favourite games of all time!I hope that Naughty Dog will come up with a second The Last Of Us game some time. Expand
  93. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    The Last Of Us:
    +Best Storyline+
    +Best Characters+
    +Amazing Graphics+
    +Great Voice Acting+
    +Nice Sound Effects+

    The Last Of Us is absolutely one of the best games ever.
  94. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This was the best experience I had playing a game. PERIOD. The story is an emotional investment that is not to disappoint. Gameplay wise, the stealth mechanics are intuitive and responsive. Not to mention a surprisingly deep multiplayer mode. All in all, best game of my gaming career. A must see for any true gamers out there.
  95. PMG
    Jun 18, 2014
    10
    NaughtyDog has done it again. Creating a new spectacle as far as story and presentation goes, you really wanna see how the story ends. It is also a superb combat system, with risk and reward, stealth, unsteady aim, and deadly enemies. A true masterpiece, and with a fun multiplayer, the only word i truly feel descripes The Last Of Us, is complete. Like with Uncharted 3, you absolutely haveNaughtyDog has done it again. Creating a new spectacle as far as story and presentation goes, you really wanna see how the story ends. It is also a superb combat system, with risk and reward, stealth, unsteady aim, and deadly enemies. A true masterpiece, and with a fun multiplayer, the only word i truly feel descripes The Last Of Us, is complete. Like with Uncharted 3, you absolutely have to own this game if you have a PS3. Expand
  96. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    This is a very violent, dark, yet beautiful adventure brought in a very masterful way that few gaming companies (and writers) do. It´s not like Uncharted at all, where the action is in your face every five seconds: this game keeps a slow pace, and it kept my attention all the way through. I don´t think I felt so engaged to a pair of characters so much since Bioshock Infinite. Naughty DogThis is a very violent, dark, yet beautiful adventure brought in a very masterful way that few gaming companies (and writers) do. It´s not like Uncharted at all, where the action is in your face every five seconds: this game keeps a slow pace, and it kept my attention all the way through. I don´t think I felt so engaged to a pair of characters so much since Bioshock Infinite. Naughty Dog made a fantastic work into Joel and Ellie, and I absolutely loved Ellie´s development as, both a survivor and a badass female protagonist, a very brave teenager living in a cruel and rough world with Hunters and Bloaters on the way. Gameplay was ferocious, violent and intense, with lots of unique survivor horror elements, and I liked how Joel´s anger when he fights, combined with the context in the combat sections as well knowing the enemy, really made me hate the Hunters and Fireflies standing in my way, thus proving a very intense (and dramatic) gameplay experience. Now, it´s not without its faults: friendly A.I. was sometimes sloppy, and it had some glitches, like when an enemy was stuck in a chair or table after I strangled him, it would move in a very creepy way. But in the end, this was an emotional experience, with a very shocking ending, and I would definitely replay it again. Game of the Generation? That can be discussed a lot, but I could see this game go to a lot of people´s top Game of the Year list, and hearts. Expand
  97. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the greatest games I've ever played on my life, the story is great, the voice acting is some of the best, if not the best ever, the gameplay is dynamic, and different than most games, and the zombies are different than any other type of other zombies, the ending isn't a clichéd ending that a Hollywood blockbusters have, and the multiplayer is actually a lot of fun.
    This is a perfect game.
    Expand
  98. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    By far the game of the year, and maybe the best game of all time. The best graphics I've ever seen, great gameplay, a terrific story and characters, and a surprisingly good multiplayer makes this game a incredible farewell to the PS3. Anybody who writes a negative review is probably a Xbox fanboy.
  99. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    This game is one of the best games I've ever experienced. Beautiful graphics, a clear and an amazing story that won't get played confused about the plot. The voice acting is incredible. The story is so heartbreaking in some of the scenes. As in Tess. And the way Ellie bonds with Joel. I can't imagine anyone giving this a negative rating. ood job, Naughty-Dog.
  100. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    Well although there were lots of 10/10s,but the combat system compared to the one they showed before they released the game(I know the release will be different from before...)was so much more realistic,even though i never do get bored of the combat,but it's variety is not really that good and multiplayer is screwed by CoD and BF4,it took me 10 minutes just to find a group of people,andWell although there were lots of 10/10s,but the combat system compared to the one they showed before they released the game(I know the release will be different from before...)was so much more realistic,even though i never do get bored of the combat,but it's variety is not really that good and multiplayer is screwed by CoD and BF4,it took me 10 minutes just to find a group of people,and people wanted zombie mode but naughty dog said that it can't work because that the zombies would mess up some stuff.The new customization items,this is how i see it:you pay for a dlc so that you can pay more money for a dlc within a dlc,wow(eventhough I had the online pass code.) Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    97
    Flawless in its ambition and almost perfect in its execution. A brave and remarkable game quite unlike any other.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    The Last of Us is a great action-adventure game that manages to capture the feeling of post-apocalypse and survival. The story is alright but way too manipulative and borrows heavily from other, better, material. Still the segmented survival gameplay and the amazing audiovisual production makes the game an experience everybody should check out.
  3. Despite the breakneck pace of the prologue, it takes quite a while for The Last of Us to pick up some speed again. However, once the cold harsh winter arrives, the action (and story) ramps up. So much so, it puts most Hollywood productions to shame. [July 2013, p.76]