The Last of Us PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2013
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 7797 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    This game is probably the best game ever released for the PS3. Naughty Dog did an astounding job on this work of art. The story between Joel and Ellie feels genuine and impacted me throughout the game. The voice acting is top notch and the gameplay is awesome. The graphics as well were amazing and get me excited for the PS4. The only thing that was kinda game-breaking in any way was theThis game is probably the best game ever released for the PS3. Naughty Dog did an astounding job on this work of art. The story between Joel and Ellie feels genuine and impacted me throughout the game. The voice acting is top notch and the gameplay is awesome. The graphics as well were amazing and get me excited for the PS4. The only thing that was kinda game-breaking in any way was the A.I didn't notice Ellie even though she was right in front of them, but that's explained by the developers so it's not a big deal. If you haven't bought this game yet, go right now and get it. You are missing out. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    this may just be the single greatest game of this generation maybe even ever, the story is great the game play is pretty much perfect and the story is one of the best, it puts the survival game back on the map after Resident Evil has moved away from the genre, the story is heart wrenching from the start and the bit where you play as Joel and Ellie separately was one of the highlights ofthis may just be the single greatest game of this generation maybe even ever, the story is great the game play is pretty much perfect and the story is one of the best, it puts the survival game back on the map after Resident Evil has moved away from the genre, the story is heart wrenching from the start and the bit where you play as Joel and Ellie separately was one of the highlights of the game practically everything thing in the game is flawless just once issue for me is how Ellie's AI doesn't always really work she can be 'hiding' where zombies or attackers can see her while you play as Joel and yet she doesn't get spotted or attacked and she will make noise, while you are sneaking around zombies and not get heard and this does take some of the tension away from the game but this is still possibly the best game to date Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    It's probably the most detailed game I've ever seen, design and level wise, and with that it's also one of the most immersive games I've played since Half life 2. But personally for me, it's also the single best AAA survival horror game in recent years.
    This game deserves all the praise it gets.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the most beautiful game ever invented, I love Naughty Dog, only this guys can do games like these. They have shown with Uncharted trilogy, and now with The Last Of Us, I think that nor GTA V can overcome it or anything game. only to another game from ND can be overcome it. I've said. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    AMAZING! That's all you need to know. From beginning to end this game gave me an adrenaline rush through my entire body. Best real life looking cut-scenes of all time and gorgeous graphic I never felt like stopping to play this game. You felt as if you want more. Definite game of the year to me.
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Simply The best game I played in PS3 Thank you Naughty Dog For This amazing Game I put in my mind its a film a story not a game At some times I was on the verge of tears Thanks again Naughty Dog and thanks Neil drakman and Bruce Starle for the best game i played in my life
  7. Ogr
    Oct 13, 2013
    10
    This is one of the Games that made me dreaming of it many nights. The characters of Joel and Ellie are way more interesting to me than a lot of characters from comparable "Hollywood-Movies" and Series.
    The atmosphere is just great, the story is deep and the graphics are on top of the PS3-Games.
    The gameplay itself is as good as the Uncharted-Series for example, but this game is more
    This is one of the Games that made me dreaming of it many nights. The characters of Joel and Ellie are way more interesting to me than a lot of characters from comparable "Hollywood-Movies" and Series.
    The atmosphere is just great, the story is deep and the graphics are on top of the PS3-Games.
    The gameplay itself is as good as the Uncharted-Series for example, but this game is more about the whole feeling you get. 10/10!
    Expand
  8. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    this game is a masterpiece. The graphics is so amazing and sounds are beauty, but the multiplayer is a little bad and the final, mmm
    Gameplay 10/10
    Graphics 10/10
    Sounds 10/10
    Multiplayer 8,5/10
  9. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    The Last Of us is without a doubt one of the most compelling, enjoyable and emotional games I've ever played. It evokes so many emotions and once a shaky start after the prologue is over it only gets better and better. I rely felt like I was going through the pain and sometimes joy that the characters were experiencing and when a game can do that you know its doing something right. It isThe Last Of us is without a doubt one of the most compelling, enjoyable and emotional games I've ever played. It evokes so many emotions and once a shaky start after the prologue is over it only gets better and better. I rely felt like I was going through the pain and sometimes joy that the characters were experiencing and when a game can do that you know its doing something right. It is simply a marvel of storytelling and should not be overlooked. Its Naughty Dogs best work to date and I'm sure we've still got allot more to see from them. Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Wow...just wow. Everything about this game is just fantastic. The story, the characters, the setting, the voice acting (Nolan North is so good that he's unrecognizable) really just everything. The only problem I really had was the ending but even that started growing on me after awhile. Multiplayer's ok but you'll get tired of it after awhile (for me it was like 2 maybe three rounds). ThisWow...just wow. Everything about this game is just fantastic. The story, the characters, the setting, the voice acting (Nolan North is so good that he's unrecognizable) really just everything. The only problem I really had was the ending but even that started growing on me after awhile. Multiplayer's ok but you'll get tired of it after awhile (for me it was like 2 maybe three rounds). This is in my top 2 favorite games for sure (number ones Mass Effect 2 if you're curious). Expand
  11. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This game just blew me away a 10 out of 10 for sure. This story line is one of the best ever naughty dog already proved they can make great games like the Uncharted Series, The Last Of Us is truly amazing no developer can make a game this good. The story line is fantastic it attracts you into the game making you watch every single detail carefully, the game is also depressing gets me evenThis game just blew me away a 10 out of 10 for sure. This story line is one of the best ever naughty dog already proved they can make great games like the Uncharted Series, The Last Of Us is truly amazing no developer can make a game this good. The story line is fantastic it attracts you into the game making you watch every single detail carefully, the game is also depressing gets me even more into the game. This game wow they made one of the greatest games in history to me this deserves to get game year Expand
  12. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    The fact that anyone writes a negative review of the game, makes me believe Humanity has no hope, haha. This game is a masterful creation, the story captivates you and the game play is fun enough, very Uncharted like, still the story itself is worth the price. The graphics and voice over are flawless. This is the swan song of the PS3 and it is a great one.
  13. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    It was the best game of my entire life.
    1.Awesome story
    2.Well constructed characters
    3.Wonderful places to play and Playing eerie environments
    4.The gameplay is varied and unrepeatable and Innovative
  14. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This game defines what a masterpiece is. It sets an incredibly high standard for future video games, not only from Naughty Dog, but from all game developers. The Last of Us shows us what the PS3 is truly capable of when pushed to it's fullest potential. It runs incredibly smooth on my PS3 Slim, and the graphics are jaw-dropping. Throughout the game, you really feel a connection to theThis game defines what a masterpiece is. It sets an incredibly high standard for future video games, not only from Naughty Dog, but from all game developers. The Last of Us shows us what the PS3 is truly capable of when pushed to it's fullest potential. It runs incredibly smooth on my PS3 Slim, and the graphics are jaw-dropping. Throughout the game, you really feel a connection to the characters. You get to know them, and you get to feel them. The story keeps you craving more, and its gameplay is nothing short of addicting.

    Then, just to make the game even better, they throw in some incredible multiplayer. There isn't a whole lot of variety, with only three game modes and not too many maps, but I think the simplicity helps the multiplayer succeed more. More maps would be nice, but three game modes is enough for the time being. All three are very fun, and they're all more enjoyable if you work as a team, especially when playing Interrogation.

    I experienced a couple of bugs with the game, but none directly impacted my gameplay. One was just somebody running through a wall (just a random NPC), and the other was a multiplayer glitch, where the one of the Survival Skills wouldn't unlock. The latter of the two glitches has been fixed, and the first isn't a big deal.

    In summary, this is an incredible game, with what is probably one of the best single player experiences I've ever had. Once you're done with the single player, there's a highly addicting multiplayer to keep you amused. This really is a must own game for everyone with a PS3.
    Expand
  15. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    So far the game is nothing short of intense and immersive. The feeling of being out in the unknown puts this game at the lead in the genre because of how it is depicted. It is a tragic world. As for the game, it doesn't confine itself to the survival-horror formula by putting more flexibility in taking out enemies. Story-wise, the game goes for the emotions. The intro itself was aSo far the game is nothing short of intense and immersive. The feeling of being out in the unknown puts this game at the lead in the genre because of how it is depicted. It is a tragic world. As for the game, it doesn't confine itself to the survival-horror formula by putting more flexibility in taking out enemies. Story-wise, the game goes for the emotions. The intro itself was a heart-breaker. The reason I proceeded to reviewing The Last of Us despite not having finished the game yet is because I've seen what I needed to see. It is one of those games that grabbed my attention throughout my game-time. Will possibly be one of the best games I played of all the video games I've played. Expand
  16. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This game is just perfect. So emotionall title with brilliant characters and fantastic story. Easy one of the best game i ever play and the best in this year. Must have!
  17. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    This game is mind-blowing on all possible points. Many times games have to sacrifice some gameplay to focus on storytelling, or vice-versa, but this game incorporates equal parts to give you a stellar immersive experience that makes the gamer feel like a part of the story in every way. Along with those excellent facets is also the graphics; for the current console generation, this game isThis game is mind-blowing on all possible points. Many times games have to sacrifice some gameplay to focus on storytelling, or vice-versa, but this game incorporates equal parts to give you a stellar immersive experience that makes the gamer feel like a part of the story in every way. Along with those excellent facets is also the graphics; for the current console generation, this game is incredibly well-made and above all, simply beautiful to play. Expand
  18. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    everything in this game is super mother awesome
    the grapichs
    the gameplay
    the story
    the grapichs
    the multiplayer
    the ending
    if you dont like this game you are a retard
  19. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    If you were in a time when the world is coming to an end, and there was a chance to save it why not give up that chance for the ones you love, despite on its costs? Naughty Dog dares to answer that question in making one of the most emotional, brutally violent, understandable experiences I've ever played and that is The Last of Us, one of the most critically-acclaimed games of 2013 thusIf you were in a time when the world is coming to an end, and there was a chance to save it why not give up that chance for the ones you love, despite on its costs? Naughty Dog dares to answer that question in making one of the most emotional, brutally violent, understandable experiences I've ever played and that is The Last of Us, one of the most critically-acclaimed games of 2013 thus far, and again, the best game on the PS3 this year. From the tragic moments of the prologue to the brutal action sequences, unexpected plot twists (deaths, betrayals, and change-of-minds), and the non-easy conclusion (which will not forgotten by those who will or had play it) it was worth playing it all for over (depending on your skill and profession) between 9 and 17 hours of campaign mode. The multiplayer is also a big highlight, as well, but nearly all of its shine comes from the single-player mode, which contains amazing performances (particularly of Troy Baker and Ashley Johnson as our two heroes), an impressive amount of gameplay mixed with an outstanding story, and one of the greatest video game scores of all time. Traveling with Joel and Ellie across the United States is one of the most memorable experiences I've ever had in gaming, and it has been a honor playing Naughty Dog's last love letter to the PS3. Thanks for what you done for this console, Naughty Dog. Now, I have a smile on my face. Expand
  20. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is an experience that is rarely witnessed in video games. I have never played a video game that has questioned the moral choices of the player, not in a Mass Effect way, but in a way that makes the player wonder if they agree with the actions of Joel and Ellie. And speaking of Ellie, she is one of the all time great female characters in all of media in my opinion: Brave,The Last of Us is an experience that is rarely witnessed in video games. I have never played a video game that has questioned the moral choices of the player, not in a Mass Effect way, but in a way that makes the player wonder if they agree with the actions of Joel and Ellie. And speaking of Ellie, she is one of the all time great female characters in all of media in my opinion: Brave, loyal, funny and arguably, the glue that holds the Joel and Ellie partnership together, something that is greatly questioned and emphasized in the game at a certain moment. In addition, the graphics are supreme, the motion-capture and voice acting is incredible, the tense and dangerous atmosphere and gameplay is a reminder of the early Resident Evil games, and the story is one of the all time greats in any form of media.
    In conclusion, a wonderful, heart-breaking and brutal experience that the people at Naughty Dog should be showered in praise for. This game is one of the all time greats and is a diamond in the crown of Sony and Naughty Dog
    Expand
  21. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    This is the best console game I have ever played. Great from beginning to end. It really has it all. Nice to see after the disappointingly short and easy 3rd installment of Uncharted. The character development is exceptional, the game-play fantastic, and well balanced. Very, very good.
  22. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game I've ever played on a ps3 alongside metal gear solid 4....remarkable game!!!

    The story is amazing,you will get attached to the characters from beginning of the game,whoever owns a ps3 system,this game is a must BUY,you will love it!!!
  23. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game, by far one of the best that I have ever played. Sure it may not boast the most intuitive gameplay but that is not to say that there is anything wrong with it. The soundtrack is flawless, the characters are very dynamic and real and the storyline is intriguing. This game easily deserves GOTY.
  24. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. best game ever, this is playstation 3 best game, naughty dog is reaaly good in making games, just like the uncharted series, joel and eliie make a really good team on his adventure, the game have some moments that are really exciting and they have many suspense scene Expand
  25. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played, PERIOD. It's been amazing to grow up with Naught Dog to see them only getting better and better. Is this their magnum opus? I guess we'll have to wait and see their future projects. However, this is my pick for game of the year and possibly for this console generation; it's just that good. The characters, graphics, story, music, and game play wereOne of the best games I've ever played, PERIOD. It's been amazing to grow up with Naught Dog to see them only getting better and better. Is this their magnum opus? I guess we'll have to wait and see their future projects. However, this is my pick for game of the year and possibly for this console generation; it's just that good. The characters, graphics, story, music, and game play were just all so outstanding. This game is the complete package. It will be always remembered as one of the best games ever made. Expand
  26. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    It's a Naughty Dog game, does anything else really need to be said? Expect excellence because this game will gut punch you out of your seat from the very opening scene, and never let you go.
  27. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    We really haven't seen a game with a good narrative like The last of us. It is an awesome emotional game that really touched me. The voice acting was Phenomenal
  28. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    Lets face it... you know this game is good. But you wanna know how good? I gave this game a 9, but instead of praising like everyone else I want to point out the minor flaw, repetition. It only took me a few encounters before I could exploit the enemy AI. Soon enough I began handling all encounters the same way. It didn't take away from the tension though. If your not burnt out onLets face it... you know this game is good. But you wanna know how good? I gave this game a 9, but instead of praising like everyone else I want to point out the minor flaw, repetition. It only took me a few encounters before I could exploit the enemy AI. Soon enough I began handling all encounters the same way. It didn't take away from the tension though. If your not burnt out on the zombie theme this game is for you. Naughty Dog has cemented itself as one of the best studios in gaming history this generation. Expand
  29. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    in short..best game I played this year..i would give it an 9.5..it's not PERFECT...but story really got me..it deserve a 10.The last of us is in my top 3 games of all time and my 2013 GAME OF THE YEAR..and everyone should play this game..xbox&Pc players..shame that is not a multiplatform..to everybody see how amazing this game is
  30. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Totally masterpiece. Writing, voice acting and especially the story was so awesome story is so emotional game-play is so good not boring not hard totally good. Characters is so deep so dark none of them is cliché good or bad characters
    Could be best game of all time
  31. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Months later and I am still thinking about this game and the emotional journey it took me on.

    Bleak and uplifting at the same time. Mature story telling at its finest.

    A masterpiece.
  32. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    No wonder why naughty dog is called the best developer.From story to multiplayer this game is mind blowing.Story is really touching and emotional. Characters are amazing especially ellie This games world is very well detailed and never will you feel that you have been in the same place twice. Game play is diverse Stealth,Flanking or straight combat and each action has consequencesNo wonder why naughty dog is called the best developer.From story to multiplayer this game is mind blowing.Story is really touching and emotional. Characters are amazing especially ellie This games world is very well detailed and never will you feel that you have been in the same place twice. Game play is diverse Stealth,Flanking or straight combat and each action has consequences crafting is really good .it feels so amazing i never even blinked throughout the game i was overwhelmed with sadness and i felt like i was there protecting ellie Graphics are amazing just what you expect however AI problems were there but not too frequently.MP is fun and amazing and has a lot of strategy involved. Really riveting MUST PLAY!!! Expand
  33. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Um dos melhores games da historia. Pena que os fanboys que não possuem esse jogo vem cá, dão negativo e comentam um monte de merda, chupa quem não tem e...vão se foderem.
  34. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Certainly a game to make history!! Gameplay, scene, plot and very attractive. A nice thing for me is the difficult level, from novice to hard, because some people just want to play and watch the storyline without the boring to try and try to get some stage. About the brief, if you like The walking dead, for sure this game is for you.
  35. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Simply amazing. This game delivers an experience like no other, with great script and story, compelling characters and a perfect soundtrack. It really compares to a great movie, and at times, it made me remember Children of Men. I love the way the story unfolds, specially on the killing and supply mechanism, totally make sense to kill almost everyone that crosses your path, and the supplySimply amazing. This game delivers an experience like no other, with great script and story, compelling characters and a perfect soundtrack. It really compares to a great movie, and at times, it made me remember Children of Men. I love the way the story unfolds, specially on the killing and supply mechanism, totally make sense to kill almost everyone that crosses your path, and the supply shortage provide a real feel to the situation. Really recommend this game and any other game by Naughty Dog. Please keep them coming! Expand
  36. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    Simply a masterpiece. This is the must play title of this generation. So well developed with high production value. This game will stick with you and will keep you talking about it for many years to come.
  37. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is pretty much perfect...to be honest I do not know any reason why you should not pick this game up but then saying that it has flaws...like every game.First of all the IA at times can be so annoying but then they can be your best friends by throwing brick or bottles at enemies,it can really help.Next? glitches,bugs this game...oh lord this game has a few.Like one I gotThe Last of Us is pretty much perfect...to be honest I do not know any reason why you should not pick this game up but then saying that it has flaws...like every game.First of all the IA at times can be so annoying but then they can be your best friends by throwing brick or bottles at enemies,it can really help.Next? glitches,bugs this game...oh lord this game has a few.Like one I got stuck inbetween a rock and a tree for abit i was then ready to restart.Then the game desides to let me move and after two seconds it kills me off....no enemies about nothing that could kill me i just died.However other then them things this is pretty much the perfect game for this gen witch is filled with brainless shooters and stupid game company's doing what they think is best for the players when it ruins our games.The Last of Us is like a breath of fresh air,it mixes great stealth and action with amazing characters that make the story (witch has been done many times before) amazing it really does because u actually care about Ellie.She is the heart and soul of this game without her the story and your immersion would just fall flat,Thankfully they did a amazing job on having you feel for this character same goes for Joel and pretty much everyone else.I can not tell you how many times i was nearly brought to tears....do yourself a favour pick this game up,you owe it to yourself. Expand
  38. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Get this game! Never before have I been so entranced by cut-scenes in a game. I loved every aspect of this game: the writing, voice acting, direction, graphics, audio, game mechanics...and the story! Oh, the story! I actually choked up at various points of the game. It is beautiful thing...a work of art...a masterpiece of imagination. If they just took the cut-scenes and added a fewGet this game! Never before have I been so entranced by cut-scenes in a game. I loved every aspect of this game: the writing, voice acting, direction, graphics, audio, game mechanics...and the story! Oh, the story! I actually choked up at various points of the game. It is beautiful thing...a work of art...a masterpiece of imagination. If they just took the cut-scenes and added a few action scenes to connect them, this would be a brilliant movie! Best game I've ever played! Expand
  39. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    "The Last of Us" is unlike anything I’ve ever played before. I’ve always found stories in video games intriguing and some of them even get me emotional, but for the first time ever, I feel like a video game has rivaled some of Hollywood’s greatest stories. From the very beginning, this game absorbs you in emotionally, I was literally crying within the first ten minutes. As the story"The Last of Us" is unlike anything I’ve ever played before. I’ve always found stories in video games intriguing and some of them even get me emotional, but for the first time ever, I feel like a video game has rivaled some of Hollywood’s greatest stories. From the very beginning, this game absorbs you in emotionally, I was literally crying within the first ten minutes. As the story progresses, there are multiple moments where I noticed myself tearing up and getting a lump in my throat. These moments don’t only occur during the cinematic cut scenes, but through normal game play, especially as you near the end.

    The story of “The Last of Us” is about survival as our heroes try to make it to the Fireflies, a resistance group, to find a cure for the infestation of plant-like zombies. Along the way they face the infected and other humans who, much like them, are trying to survive the harsh environment created by the infected outbreak. Through this journey, themes of survival, sacrifice, loyalty, fate, and hope are all tackled and handled very well to where by the end, you begin to question some of the decisions made by the characters.

    The game play is superb and the controls are solid. I had a weird time adjusting to the controls, but within a couple of hours, I couldn’t imagine myself playing it any other way. The game play on the other hand is quit satisfying. The melee, shooting, stealth, and cover system are all executed well. The great part about the game play is that it requires the player to think, rather than just rely on a couple of weapons or strategies. Ammo is very scarce and guns in general attract a lot of attention, so when playing you must be smart about using it. Weapons also break and you are required to make some of them yourself, however, the challenge is finding the right materials. This game is also pretty hard. The A.I. is incredibly intelligent as they react to your slightest mistakes and capitalize on it. So you’ll be in constant terror of enemies appearing out of nowhere and just ruining some of your progress.

    The characters, Joel and Ellie, are fantastically written. Joel is a hardened survivor, who has a lot of baggage and is very closed off emotionally, but also has a strong protective instinct. Ellie is a foul mouthed teenager, who, much like Joel, is all alone in this world and has to learn to grow and become more independent. There are so many little quirks to these characters that make them seem so very real and relateable. For instance, when nothing is happening and Joel is just scavenging around, Ellie will start whistling or humming. These little things make us fall in love with these characters. Their interactions are charming as they have a father daughter relationship and it great watching it develop. All the supporting characters are fantastic as well and one thing to really appreciate is that there are no blatant black and white character. Not even our heroes can be justified as “do-gooders” as everyone has a reason for what they are doing. The voice work is some of the best I’ve ever heard. The voice actors really put a lot of effort into making these characters radiate off the screen.

    Visually this game is amazing. The character designs and movement are pleasing to the eyes. The bleak and apocalyptic world that has been crafted is something to marvel at as there are a lot of little things to look out for. The architecture and environments all have a story to tell of what might have happened. It’s a world that we don’t want to live in as there is nothing that remotely resembles an ideal living location. However, when, we actually do see signs of beauty, much like how the characters react, we too get a sense of wonderment. The musical score is also beautiful. Most of the time it’s very subtle and almost not there, but when something is about to go down, it kicks in. Giving us feelings of sheer fear for our lives in the more survival orientated moments to a more emotional sensation in the intense story driven moments.

    Overall, “The Last of Us” is a truly amazing game that must be experienced by everyone and has become my personal favorite of all time. It is a game that isn’t revolutionary in its concept, but groundbreaking in its execution. From strong game play, to likable and relateable characters, to an intense story and emotionally draining experience, this game defies expectations and becomes a new standard for the industry. I give it an extremely high 5/5, an experience unlike anything else and the ending will leave you speechless.

    Having waited several months to write this review, I have come to the conclusion that “The Last of Us” is one of the greatest games ever made. From a storytelling perspective, it is a game that is as revolutionary to the industry as Mario was for the very first time so long ago. Naughty Dog has made a game that is going to shift the way story is going to be handled in video games. Much like how many games after “Uncharted 2: Among Theives” released became more cinematic and like a Hollywood blockbuster, “The Last of Us” is going to make developers want to create a more intimate and a more emotional experience with characters that are well developed and relatable.
    Expand
  40. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this game it has a nice story in the relationship between the characters and the acting was good.Also it has some very nice music in the game its defiantly one of the best games i have played if you haven't played it yet i highly recommend you do.
  41. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece! Its just like Half Life where everything just works and fits together perfectly. The story, graphics and gameplay work well together and I was interested right the way through the game. I'll definitely play it through again on a harder difficulty setting in the future. This game is worth getting a PS3 for!
  42. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Game of the year and of this generation.... Is you have a PS3 you have to get this game, if not, you need to get a PS3 to play it... :P

    The storey is great, the introduction, some events, the end.
    The two main characters are great!!
  43. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    The Last Of Us is an amazing game with an amazing graphics and a great story. The characters are great, I really fell in love with Ellie and this was actually the first game I cried during the game :D. So, the story is great, graphics are great, characters are great, but when it comes to the gameplay, it was nothing special, it was okay, but it was not smooth enough for my taste. The gameThe Last Of Us is an amazing game with an amazing graphics and a great story. The characters are great, I really fell in love with Ellie and this was actually the first game I cried during the game :D. So, the story is great, graphics are great, characters are great, but when it comes to the gameplay, it was nothing special, it was okay, but it was not smooth enough for my taste. The game is amazing, but it's a game so for me the gameplay is the most important thing and that's why I can't give it 10/10, but I'm really looking forward what kind of masterpiece ND will make for PS4, and if they make TLOU 2 with better graphics, it will probably get 10/10 from me. Expand
  44. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Really this game is masterpiece and eventhough it is linear experience; a lot of people is complaining about that the uncharted games were more fun this game is not for fun this is a work of art and for the people who thought it was going to be an uncharted with zombies and are "dissapointed" YOU this is the combination of all what we love about zombie survival horror in a game. I neverReally this game is masterpiece and eventhough it is linear experience; a lot of people is complaining about that the uncharted games were more fun this game is not for fun this is a work of art and for the people who thought it was going to be an uncharted with zombies and are "dissapointed" YOU this is the combination of all what we love about zombie survival horror in a game. I never thought that naughty dog was going to be the game deceloper that raise the zombie apocaliptic genre in gaming really, THIS IS THE GAME OF OUR GENERATION but sure it has their zombie movie cliches but sometimes you are like HOLY WHY HE DID THAT. It has mostly no bugs a great ending perfect for a sequel. I hope next year a new uncharted game So as tlou. Expand
  45. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Wow, I don't even know what to say. I just finished playing and I'm speechless. I am really reluctant to give any game a 10 but this will be the first. This game is the total package. The game does not break immersion. For me total immersion consists of 4 absolutes. Graphics, story, gameplay and sound. For a last of a generation masterpiece this game has the best PS3 graphics bar none. TheWow, I don't even know what to say. I just finished playing and I'm speechless. I am really reluctant to give any game a 10 but this will be the first. This game is the total package. The game does not break immersion. For me total immersion consists of 4 absolutes. Graphics, story, gameplay and sound. For a last of a generation masterpiece this game has the best PS3 graphics bar none. The story has gut wrenching edge of your seat feel. The gameplay mechanics is way above average for a third person action game. And sound is outstanding from the voice over to the pop of your weapons. Do not move on the PS4 without play this game first. Expand
  46. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Este es sin dudas mi juego favorito hasta la fecha: "The Last of Us" es arte en su más pura forma, con una campaña totalmente completa y extensa y con el modo cinematográfico que tiene Naughty Dog de contar una bella historia dramática. Pero "The Last of Us" no es solo eso: verás que no queda nada del mundo que conocemos, será todo simplemente oscuro y te la apañas para sobrevivir en unEste es sin dudas mi juego favorito hasta la fecha: "The Last of Us" es arte en su más pura forma, con una campaña totalmente completa y extensa y con el modo cinematográfico que tiene Naughty Dog de contar una bella historia dramática. Pero "The Last of Us" no es solo eso: verás que no queda nada del mundo que conocemos, será todo simplemente oscuro y te la apañas para sobrevivir en un mundo que ya no existe. Gráficos excelentes, personajes sólidos y una emocionante historia ¿Que mas pedir? Este juego tiene emociones a más no poder. Totalmente bueno y recomendable. Expand
  47. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog is one of the best game developer. The Last of Us is an impressive demonstration of how it can and should be done. It's one epic story-driven adventure. Beautiful graphics and environments, stunning cutscenes that almost make you forget that its a game. Smooth and responsible gameplay. There is unlimited ways to approach most of the combat sections and it never feelsNaughty Dog is one of the best game developer. The Last of Us is an impressive demonstration of how it can and should be done. It's one epic story-driven adventure. Beautiful graphics and environments, stunning cutscenes that almost make you forget that its a game. Smooth and responsible gameplay. There is unlimited ways to approach most of the combat sections and it never feels repetitive. The characters are possibly the best a game has had, voice acting/cutscenes and the way the story is told make this game feel incredibly real. I felt genuinely attached to what happened and really cared about the story. Expand
  48. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Perfect story Perfect single multi modes. Amazing graphics. Beautiful music. If you have PS3 and you don't have The Last of Us, why you have PS3 then?
  49. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    The best game ever. Simple............................................................................................................................
  50. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    This game is the result of the talent and experience at Naughty Dog, the characters, story and gameplay is produced by entertainers that know what their crowd likes. The character movement and looking around is slow to compensate for the detailed graphics, but this works with the smooth gameplay. I think some will still prefer the variety and fun of Uncharted, this is more jaw clenchingThis game is the result of the talent and experience at Naughty Dog, the characters, story and gameplay is produced by entertainers that know what their crowd likes. The character movement and looking around is slow to compensate for the detailed graphics, but this works with the smooth gameplay. I think some will still prefer the variety and fun of Uncharted, this is more jaw clenching and focussed. Expand
  51. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games ever. If you give this anything under 9 you arent a gamer. Simply the story mode is outstanding and breath taking. The graphics and gameplay are very good which is a bounus to its greatness. The fact that you get so attached to characters is impecable. This game is the gateway to many great games. I played almost every good game from diffrent genre and consoles.One of the greatest games ever. If you give this anything under 9 you arent a gamer. Simply the story mode is outstanding and breath taking. The graphics and gameplay are very good which is a bounus to its greatness. The fact that you get so attached to characters is impecable. This game is the gateway to many great games. I played almost every good game from diffrent genre and consoles. In conclusion if you havent played the last of us yet. Play it right now! Expand
  52. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game easily has one of the most compelling stories in the history of video games. Throughout it's entirety, this game has an ever growing emotional connection with the player, because we relate to the character and, in many ways, shows us the severity of consequences to our own actions. The survival aspect of this game is also very apparent. Low ammo mean conserving, low medicalThis game easily has one of the most compelling stories in the history of video games. Throughout it's entirety, this game has an ever growing emotional connection with the player, because we relate to the character and, in many ways, shows us the severity of consequences to our own actions. The survival aspect of this game is also very apparent. Low ammo mean conserving, low medical supplies mean making you bullets count and make shifting weapons is necessary in surviving. Game play is a bit glitchy at times, but compared to the massive about of good that is this game, it can be overlooked. Overall this game has some of the most strongest characters to ever be created in a game, one of the most perfectly set stories for what it achieves to comprehend and awing atmosphere to which will leave you starstruck as you see a world crumbling around you. It is not only one of the most defining game for PS3, but also for any game console of it's generation. Thank you so much for all that you do at Naughty Dog Studios. Expand
  53. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    This game is incredible. Everything about The Last Of Us" video game is so well done that it scares me. If you have to pick a game to buy I strongly recommend The Last Of Us
  54. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Esse jogo fantástico, dou um 10 muito merecido. tudo feito em mínimos detalhes. compra obrigatória pra quem tem PS3.
    A inteligencia artificial foda principalmente da Ellie as vezes vemos inimigos sendo meio burros mas nada que comprometa.
    O gráfico o melhor que já vi nos consoles, o o ponto mais forte do game sua historia "fodástica" onde da empolgação emoção raiva e etc. o
    Esse jogo fantástico, dou um 10 muito merecido. tudo feito em mínimos detalhes. compra obrigatória pra quem tem PS3.
    A inteligencia artificial foda principalmente da Ellie as vezes vemos inimigos sendo meio burros mas nada que comprometa.
    O gráfico o melhor que já vi nos consoles, o o ponto mais forte do game sua historia "fodástica" onde da empolgação emoção raiva e etc. o segundo melhor jogo da minha vida o primeiro shadow of the colossus.
    Expand
  55. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    This game is great. Combining survival elements with action adventure was a good pick for naughty dog. The graphics are fantastic and probablly the best looking game on PS3. First the characters are all very interesting and the acting is spot on. Gameplay is pretty good also. The story wasn't anything special but the characters make it so unique. And this game brings out the darkness inThis game is great. Combining survival elements with action adventure was a good pick for naughty dog. The graphics are fantastic and probablly the best looking game on PS3. First the characters are all very interesting and the acting is spot on. Gameplay is pretty good also. The story wasn't anything special but the characters make it so unique. And this game brings out the darkness in humanity. In this game their is no good guy. Joel is just like the hunters, he kills for a living. And this game has one of the most controversial endings to a game ever. The multiplayer is very good forcing you to use teamwork and your crafting items to defeat the enemy. In short this game is a masterpiece Expand
  56. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    awesome game i think that everyone should buy it it is probably the best game ever made and in my opinion should be awarded game of the year go buy buy it
  57. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    The Last Of Us is one of the best games of 2013 and I really don't know what will be the Game Of The Year. I just finished Grand Theft Auto 5 and I played Bioshock Infinite. Those 3 games I loved the best games this year but The Last Of Us just stuck with me and got me emotionally attached. Do yourself a favor and get this game the gameplay is solid and you will connect with the characters.
  58. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    This is basically PS3's last hoorah before the PS4 comes out and they sure didn't disappoint. This game excels in almost every way. The graphics are beautiful, the voice acting is well done, and the gameplay is excellent. I didn't think it was possible to actually care about video game characters until this. Be prepared to get lost in the story; all of the highs and the lows, theThis is basically PS3's last hoorah before the PS4 comes out and they sure didn't disappoint. This game excels in almost every way. The graphics are beautiful, the voice acting is well done, and the gameplay is excellent. I didn't think it was possible to actually care about video game characters until this. Be prepared to get lost in the story; all of the highs and the lows, the never-ending tension of what or who might be around the next corner, and the paralyzing fear of trying to sneak past a group of clickers.

    My only critiques would be that I found myself occasionally going the correct way when I meant to be exploring and would accidentally move into the next map and not be able to go back and explore further. Also, I found the final part of the game to be so difficult and frustrating that it basically disconnected me from the story and reminded me that it was all just a game. A bit of a letdown for how much real emotion I had invested in these characters. Still, this is a must play!
    Expand
  59. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    It has become one of my favourite games and I would love to write more about it, but I don't want to spoil anything, so I'll make it short: This game is a masterpiece and I loved absolutely everything about it.
  60. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, Naughty Dog have cemented their reputation as one of the industry greats with yet another fantastic game. The Last Of Us is beautiful, lengthy, emotional and unforgettable. The characters are so well crafted and the gameplay so tense, harsh and violent. If you have a PS3 you owe it to yourself to pick this game up because it will be right on GTA V's heels for GOTYAbsolutely brilliant, Naughty Dog have cemented their reputation as one of the industry greats with yet another fantastic game. The Last Of Us is beautiful, lengthy, emotional and unforgettable. The characters are so well crafted and the gameplay so tense, harsh and violent. If you have a PS3 you owe it to yourself to pick this game up because it will be right on GTA V's heels for GOTY awards for sure. Expand
  61. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog's second best game of all its releases. Only to be beaten by its best release Uncharted 2 Among Thieves. This game clearly has the best graphics, even better than Bioshock Infinite, Grand Theft Auto V and many other games that released later than this game. Its in game mechanics are amazing. The storyline's amusing and emotional. A great game worth buying. This was the firstNaughty Dog's second best game of all its releases. Only to be beaten by its best release Uncharted 2 Among Thieves. This game clearly has the best graphics, even better than Bioshock Infinite, Grand Theft Auto V and many other games that released later than this game. Its in game mechanics are amazing. The storyline's amusing and emotional. A great game worth buying. This was the first game i bought when i bought the PS3. Worth every penny. Guys u people should have this game in your collections list of PS3 games. This game is one to remember. Expand
  62. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    One of the best games available for the PS3. Big on story that draws you in. I expected a Resident Evil type of gameplay taking down hoards of undead but you actually wind up killing about 50x more people. It's a bit depressing, as almost every human encounter turns for the worse having humanity show it's dark side. It does make the story all the more compelling however. It will have youOne of the best games available for the PS3. Big on story that draws you in. I expected a Resident Evil type of gameplay taking down hoards of undead but you actually wind up killing about 50x more people. It's a bit depressing, as almost every human encounter turns for the worse having humanity show it's dark side. It does make the story all the more compelling however. It will have you on the edge of your seat all the way through. I thought I knew how the game would end, but I was surprised. Completed the game in ~14 hours. Expand
  63. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    An engrossing storyline in which you, as Joel, escort Ellie across America to find the illusive Fireflies.
    With it's engrossing combat mechanics and it's small but manageable crafting system, the game runs smoothly throughout it's campaign. I didn't once feel the controls were sluggish during my time with The Last of Us, and it certainly helps that the pacing is magnificent, allowing
    An engrossing storyline in which you, as Joel, escort Ellie across America to find the illusive Fireflies.
    With it's engrossing combat mechanics and it's small but manageable crafting system, the game runs smoothly throughout it's campaign. I didn't once feel the controls were sluggish during my time with The Last of Us, and it certainly helps that the pacing is magnificent, allowing meaningful breathers with wonderfully scripted conversations between the two characters.
    There is hardly any faults with the game, and it defiantly shows within the reception and acclaim that the game has received.
    Not to be missed by anyone that owns a playstation 3, as it is a journey that really hits the player hard
    I have no complaint with this game, It's story, gameplay, level design and attention to detail are what make this game one of the best that I have played.
    I will leave with no spoilers as you will not want to have this game ruined for you.
    Expand
  64. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is not only the best exclusive title of the seventh generation of video gaming, but also stands as a triumph as one of the greatest games ever made. Naughty Dog has brought together a game that is harrowing, beautiful, graphic and disturbing. An in-depth look at the human spirit and the will to survive despite the circumstances, The Last of Us stands as one of the mostThe Last of Us is not only the best exclusive title of the seventh generation of video gaming, but also stands as a triumph as one of the greatest games ever made. Naughty Dog has brought together a game that is harrowing, beautiful, graphic and disturbing. An in-depth look at the human spirit and the will to survive despite the circumstances, The Last of Us stands as one of the most in-depth and beautiful games ever conceived.
    Featuring a story that starts off safe, but builds into one of the grand achievements in video games, The Last of Us is memorable and stands tall above the competition, setting a bar of achievements that all other companies in any medium are going to have a hard time matching.
    Top of the line gameplay, characters and character development, a stunning score and beautiful visuals and a surprisingly realistic setting make The Last of Us not only the game to play in 2013, but the game to play if you have any interest in video games, period.
    Expand
  65. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    awesome game .The Last of Us is one of the best games I have ever played truly is phenomenal.all of Naughty Dog's games are awesome.Such an immersing world
  66. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Superbly enjoyable apart from the autosave...No....! Check it out. It's really a great linear game that often reminds me half-life 2. One of the best exclusive games I can think of on any platform. I'd advise being a shiv master. Not being able to open a door in this game can ruin a whole week for me literally. I have to start again...but I still love it.
  67. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Never in my life have I been so emotionally invested and attached in a game before. The only other game that can get there is Bio-shock Infinite. It never lets you forget that your in this apocalyptic world, people die all around you the game is pretty hard to play, its not forgiving. The story is just amazing I love the characters and actually feel some sympathy for them when somethingNever in my life have I been so emotionally invested and attached in a game before. The only other game that can get there is Bio-shock Infinite. It never lets you forget that your in this apocalyptic world, people die all around you the game is pretty hard to play, its not forgiving. The story is just amazing I love the characters and actually feel some sympathy for them when something goes wrong. The game-play is solid and it adds challenge to each encounter making you never feel at ease. Naughty Dog has proved again that they are one of the best developers. Expand
  68. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best games I have ever played. Naughty Dog has maintained it's firm lead as my favorite developer around. No spoilers, promise.

    The Last of Us is a post apocalyptic masterpiece. You play the game through the eyes of Joel, a hardened survivor who has seen too much for one person. Joel is not a hero and he's not a good person. He's simply a survivor. As you play through
    Easily one of the best games I have ever played. Naughty Dog has maintained it's firm lead as my favorite developer around. No spoilers, promise.

    The Last of Us is a post apocalyptic masterpiece. You play the game through the eyes of Joel, a hardened survivor who has seen too much for one person. Joel is not a hero and he's not a good person. He's simply a survivor. As you play through the game you will begin to relate with Joel and understand how he became the way he is. One of the greatest triumphs of this game is putting you in the survival first mindset.

    While secondary to the incredible story, cutscenes, and characterization, the gameplay of The Last of Us is fantastic. The game allows you the freedom to choose how to approach almost every engagement. The combat is gruesome and realistic, and only serves to engage you in the action more. The realism of choking an enemy to death reminds you that you are not just choking some random villain, this is just another person trying to survive. The game provides a fantastic illusion of existing in a real world, despite the fact that it is a linear game.

    I can't possibly end my review without mentioning the graphics. They are stunningly good. I did not think that current generation games would look any better than Uncharted 3, but they have improved their graphics again. While most of the sights you will see will be ruined cities, they all look absolutely fantastic thanks to the fantastic texture quality Naughty Dog stuffed in the game.

    Gameplay:
    9 out of 10
    Story:
    10 out of 10
    Graphics:
    10 out of 10
    Sound:
    10 out of 10
    Expand
  69. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Bought this game just because I had the money and I was at the right place and I finished the game a month ago and I keep thinking about it all the time.
  70. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    For me to a game be a good game there is a set :
    *Above them all Feeling .
    *1st History
    *2st-Good Soundtrack
    *3st- Carismatic Characters
    *4st-Gameplay
    The Last of Us have all of these qualities that make a game to be good or not
  71. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    An amazing game that left me thinking about it days after I beat it. The characters are fleshed out and are some of the must truly human characters I've seen. A must own for any ps3 owner.
  72. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome,whit more than 15 hours of gameplay and one of the better history i have ever see if you love games whit a good history and a good campaing...well this is your game
  73. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Incredible game, intense, great looking, full of action and good writing. Ellie and Joel are easily two of the best characters in video games, its just an amazing game
  74. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    When I say 8, I mean an 8.8/10. While I don't think this game is the most epic PS3 exclusive out there, it is am amazing game. It has great graphics, great gameplay, great story, the list goes on. While the game honestly didn't do anything new, it just does it so well. And on top of already a great game, they actually bothered to add multiplayer! As you can tell from my short sentences IWhen I say 8, I mean an 8.8/10. While I don't think this game is the most epic PS3 exclusive out there, it is am amazing game. It has great graphics, great gameplay, great story, the list goes on. While the game honestly didn't do anything new, it just does it so well. And on top of already a great game, they actually bothered to add multiplayer! As you can tell from my short sentences I love this game, then why didn't it get a 9 or 10? It's because after a while of the theme and nothing that new or innovative, it gets boring at about the half way mark. But despite that one flaw, it is a great game! Expand
  75. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    This is my first review for metacritic. And there's no better game to start off with.

    If the Last of Us isn't game of the year, demand a recount. This is one of the most enjoyable games for the PS3. The story, although often rehashed with the premise of surviving a zombie ridden world, TLOU provides a great story. Joel, is paired up with Ellie, a young girl who seems to be the key to
    This is my first review for metacritic. And there's no better game to start off with.

    If the Last of Us isn't game of the year, demand a recount. This is one of the most enjoyable games for the PS3. The story, although often rehashed with the premise of surviving a zombie ridden world, TLOU provides a great story. Joel, is paired up with Ellie, a young girl who seems to be the key to ending or at least surpress the spread of zombies. Ellie is immune, and a group called the Fireflies wants to get a hold of Ellie. That's all I'll say for now. The presentation or visuals, gritty, dark, perfect. You really get that feeling of wanting to survive. The sound, music fits right in with what's happening on screen, the voice acting is great. The clickers are as creepy as they look. I dare anyone to play this on their sound system at night, late night. The combat is where it shines. You are limited in ammunition and weapons in general. I really felt the need to move around and make sure my shots count. There's an excellent crafting system as well. You get to craft shivs), bombs, smoke bombs, and molotovs. The enemies, a rebel group of hunters, the aforementioned fireflies, and the zombies, which are called clickers. They come in different versions depending on how long someone has been infected. This might be my only real gripe about the game. There were many variations of clickers but I felt as if there should have been more. It's minor. Once you complete the game, you have the option to try it again on harder difficulties. I'm on new game plus.

    And then there's the online. This is a breath of fresh air! Warning, if you're a COD gamer, the online is not for you. The online is much slower paced and incorporates the crafting system found in the single player. Nicely done. Teamwork is the main key to the online. In one mode, supply raid, each team has 20 reinforcements or tickets. When a player dies, a reinforcement is used. The team that runs out of reinforcements loses. There's also a no supply raid (no respawn) mode and an interrogation mode. The downside is there are only 3 modes but there's much potential to have more. Interrogation was the new mode added recently.

    If you're looking for a great adventure/survival game, The Last of Us is the game to play.
    Expand
  76. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    I'd been looking forward to this game for months and when it was released i have to say i was disappointed, it didn't grab me from the start, i found it a bit linear and there was nothing new going on, and after a few plays it got put back on the shelf. I picked it up again last month and tried again and this time without any of the expectation i had last time i was completely drawn in toI'd been looking forward to this game for months and when it was released i have to say i was disappointed, it didn't grab me from the start, i found it a bit linear and there was nothing new going on, and after a few plays it got put back on the shelf. I picked it up again last month and tried again and this time without any of the expectation i had last time i was completely drawn in to Joel and Ellie's world, it has got to be the must captivating game i have ever played, and i've been gaming for longer than most gamers have been alive! I loved the characters and the story, it was all quite believable, the game play was excellent, i loved how you could explore some sections without coming across another living think (though you expect something to jump out round every corner!). By the end i didn't want to stop playing. Sequel? Probably, they wouldn't invest this much time and energy(cash!) into developing a game like this then not try to milk it a little more, but in a way i hope not as it can't hope to live up to the first! Expand
  77. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Before I begin, I must say that I was extremely disappointed with the ending.

    The Last of Us definitely was a great game, I actually watched Pewdiepie's playthrough so I didn't experience the game entirely. But I feel that a nine would be accurate, and if I had played through it might have been a bit lower too. Almost everything was epic; here are the drawbacks: -I didn't mind the
    Before I begin, I must say that I was extremely disappointed with the ending.

    The Last of Us definitely was a great game, I actually watched Pewdiepie's playthrough so I didn't experience the game entirely. But I feel that a nine would be accurate, and if I had played through it might have been a bit lower too.
    Almost everything was epic; here are the drawbacks:
    -I didn't mind the glitches that much, but they were plenty and were starting to get hefty.
    -Some gameplay was unnecessary in my tastes.
    -The ending was not to my liking.

    It was still a great experience though, I recommend it whole-heartedly.
    Expand
  78. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. It provides an unrivalled story experience which other developers will be hard pressed to match. It's story is leaps and bounds better than anything you have seen this generation or even the generation before it. The game play and story go hand in hand providing this deep and dark experience which definitely sets the mood for this game, it shows the dark truth ofThis game is amazing. It provides an unrivalled story experience which other developers will be hard pressed to match. It's story is leaps and bounds better than anything you have seen this generation or even the generation before it. The game play and story go hand in hand providing this deep and dark experience which definitely sets the mood for this game, it shows the dark truth of what people are really like through amazing character development throughout this experience. If you miss out on playing this game then you are denying yourself one of the games of this generation and maybe even one of the great games of all time. Expand
  79. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The game is great, i'm addicted on his multi player, this game was a surprise to me, i wasn't expecting something this good, i know ND is one of the best developers but i wasn't hyped at all, the game has a simple game play and great voice action, the campaign is amazing, i never felt so excited to know what were going to happen, only one aspect broke my immersion, the "invisibility"ofThe game is great, i'm addicted on his multi player, this game was a surprise to me, i wasn't expecting something this good, i know ND is one of the best developers but i wasn't hyped at all, the game has a simple game play and great voice action, the campaign is amazing, i never felt so excited to know what were going to happen, only one aspect broke my immersion, the "invisibility"of your allies when you are in stealth mode, but its rare to happen something odd. This is a "must play" game for ps3 owners. Expand
  80. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played. The story and characters are simply sensational. The relationship between Joel and Ellie is simply amazing and is on another level compared to other games. The story is gripping and makes you so emotionally involved. I cried about 7 times throughout this game because it simply made me care for everyone in the game. The gameplay is absolutely solidThis is the best game i have ever played. The story and characters are simply sensational. The relationship between Joel and Ellie is simply amazing and is on another level compared to other games. The story is gripping and makes you so emotionally involved. I cried about 7 times throughout this game because it simply made me care for everyone in the game. The gameplay is absolutely solid and fits the game perfectly. This is the best game of this generation and naughty dog have set a very high standard that i think will be near impossible to match Expand
  81. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    WOW......................................................................................................................... AMAZING. It's so sad that there likely won't be any other games near the scope of The Last of Us, it's simply too good. I feel so grateful that I had an opportunity to experience this game, the impact that it has on you is very strong, and so real. Best game of theWOW......................................................................................................................... AMAZING. It's so sad that there likely won't be any other games near the scope of The Last of Us, it's simply too good. I feel so grateful that I had an opportunity to experience this game, the impact that it has on you is very strong, and so real. Best game of the decade, no doubt. Expand
  82. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    The best game of this console generation, Period. Great Narrative, made me feel like i was really in a apocalyptic world. the interactions between the two protagonist and the plot itself is worth praising. Thanks Naughty Dog...Thanks.
  83. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    The most emotional, most diverse game of the year, and for me personally, it's so not the exit, as many say, GTA 5, but before the release of the second part TLoU! An ideal, balanced gameplay that does not get tired of the game and more than that really captivates, making it the replayability. The story that keeps you from start to finish with an open mouth on the number of unexpected andThe most emotional, most diverse game of the year, and for me personally, it's so not the exit, as many say, GTA 5, but before the release of the second part TLoU! An ideal, balanced gameplay that does not get tired of the game and more than that really captivates, making it the replayability. The story that keeps you from start to finish with an open mouth on the number of unexpected and exciting plot twists and events, forcing empathize with the main characters and secondary characters no less striking. It does not fit the word "good" or "great" here is the word "masterpiece" Expand
  84. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    It's been 20 years since society as we know has fallen.Could you be The Last Of Us?

    The storyline in this game is incredible and the characters are great.You play as Joel,a survivor that has been in this world since it all started and you have to escort Ellie,a 14 year old girl throughout the U.S. in search of the Firelies,a militia group determined to find the cure for the Cordyceps,a
    It's been 20 years since society as we know has fallen.Could you be The Last Of Us?

    The storyline in this game is incredible and the characters are great.You play as Joel,a survivor that has been in this world since it all started and you have to escort Ellie,a 14 year old girl throughout the U.S. in search of the Firelies,a militia group determined to find the cure for the Cordyceps,a fungus that infects humans turning them into zombie-like creatures that brought the world to a crysis.

    Ellie is the best character that i've ever seen in a video game and her relationship with Joel is great and at some points very touching.You will also meet some very interesting characters as you progress through the game.

    The Last Of Us has got the best graphics that i have ever seen in any game in my entire life.Characters,weapons, enemies and environments are all beautiful and astonishing to look at.The way that the characters move is also amazingly realistic,and the cutscenes are,just like the graphics,the best cutscenes i've ever seen in any game.

    This game also has the best voice acting i've ever seen in a game.Troy Baker and Ashley Johnson do an amzing job as Joel and Ellie,and all of the other characters and even the enemies are voiced by great actors.

    The gameplay in The Last Of Us is brilliant.While fighting the infect or humans,the controls feel responsive,and both gunplay and stealth are awesome.While stealth is important as it is necessary for resource management,it is no less fun than gunplay,that feels intimidating and very realistic.

    The developers have also come up with a very smart way to chose your guns.While on most game you can either carry as much guns as you want,or select only two for you to work with,on The Last Of Us you can only have two guns selected on your hot keys(or 4 if you get an upgrade),while the rest of your weapons are on your backpack and can be accessed by holding the X button,but you don't want to have to do that when there's a pack of infected runnig at you,which adds a lot more strategy to the game.

    Crafting in The Last Of Us is also awesome,as it allows you to craft many useful things like first-aid kits,bombs,molotovs,modded weapons and other useful objects to help you survive.And one very smart thing about it is how some items need the same materials to be crafted as others,what adds a lot to resource management.

    The Singleplayer will take you 12 to 14 hours to complete and you will love every second of it.There are many collectibles for you to grab through the game like artifacts,comics,optional conversations and many more to keep you busy after you finish the game.There is also a New Game+ mode in which you can replay the entire game with all the upgrades that you've unlocked in your previous gameplay.

    And as if all of that wasn't enough,The Last Of Us also features a very fun Multiplayer mode in which you have to build and take care of your clan,and they managed to put all of the great gameplay elements from Singleplayer into Multiplayer very well.The Multiplayer is a lot of fun, especially if you're playing with friends.

    The only downsides with The Last Of Us are the facts that the game is a little glitchy,there's quite a few visual glitches that will bother you sometimes,but it's nothing that compromisses the game as a whole.And the other downside is the fact that you can't use your guns early in the game on New Game+,but again,it doesn't compromisses the game at all.

    The Last Of Us is a true masterpiece in every aspect.It's the best exclusive on the PS3,the best game of 2013 so far,and it is the best game that i have ever played in my life since The Legend Of Zelda:Ocarina Of Time(1998).

    Final veredict :10/10

    Thank you,Naughty Dog!
    Expand
  85. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    I'm currently half the way first playthrough but there is absolutely nothing that could spoil pure 10 score for this game. Awesome graphics, incredible story and probably most balanced stealth gameplay in history make this game one of top games ever made.

    99% people with bad scores for this game are XBox trols because this is their only PS3 review after a lot of Box reviews. If you
    I'm currently half the way first playthrough but there is absolutely nothing that could spoil pure 10 score for this game. Awesome graphics, incredible story and probably most balanced stealth gameplay in history make this game one of top games ever made.

    99% people with bad scores for this game are XBox trols because this is their only PS3 review after a lot of Box reviews. If you already don't have PS this is one of the games which make worth to buy. Hope they will make PS4 version and give us cheap upgrade!!!
    Expand
  86. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    Review
    A masterpiece, a testament to Naughty Dog's ability to convey a fluid, cohesive and believable world that immerses you completely. While the gameplay has a few minor issues such as irrational AI patterns and sometimes intuitive cover systems, they never detract to the overall experience that is delivered. The Last of Us will allow you to embark on a journey, Ellie and Joel's
    Review
    A masterpiece, a testament to Naughty Dog's ability to convey a fluid, cohesive and believable world that immerses you completely. While the gameplay has a few minor issues such as irrational AI patterns and sometimes intuitive cover systems, they never detract to the overall experience that is delivered. The Last of Us will allow you to embark on a journey, Ellie and Joel's journey, both the characters are delivered with surgical precision to the point that you become completely invested in the story and gameplay creating a whirlwind of higher emotions such as fear, despair, regret, guilt and infatuation. The gameplay is strategic through the element of stealth and strategy as well as adapting dynamic AI that react to your behavioral patterns and actually surprise, flank and catch you off guard, countering and forcing you to adapt, something few games are capable of.

    Summary
    I would give the game a 9.8 with the few unpolished bugs holding it back from perfection, if the game seems like your style go for it. You will not be able to put this game down from the start and will be disappointed when it ends, leaving you craving more of the stark and desolate world.
    Expand
  87. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    There are many parts of this game that are great- the game play, exploration, and the visuals included (actually, I personally found the visuals stunning). By themselves, they aren't groundbreaking. If you wanted to nit-pick them, you could. But together, every part of The Last of Us tells a compelling and frighteningly human story that begs each of us to put ourselves in its world. WhatThere are many parts of this game that are great- the game play, exploration, and the visuals included (actually, I personally found the visuals stunning). By themselves, they aren't groundbreaking. If you wanted to nit-pick them, you could. But together, every part of The Last of Us tells a compelling and frighteningly human story that begs each of us to put ourselves in its world. What lengths would we go to in order to survive? Are emotional bonds worth the risk in a world where loss is all but certain?
    The Last of Us is an amazing game with an astounding narrative in its own right. But it truly shines when you let yourself be drawn into its world and try to understand both the humanity and inhumanity in the characters you play, as well as in the friends and foes that cross your path as you find yourself clawing your way across a dangerous wasteland.
    Expand
  88. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    incredible, masterpiece best game iv ever played by a long way the game playis amazing and the storyline is absolutely incredible, mind blowing, brilliant
  89. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Right after finishing the game, I started questioning myself: If this that I've played is called "Game", Then what the hell I've been playing for the last 10 years????
  90. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Yeah it's a 10. This game will really put you through it. The characters are best that I've ever come across in a video game and it isn't even close. The world design is brilliant and exactly what I would imagine in a post human environment. The story is also top notch and the developers really put their own unique stamp on the genre it really did seem plausible. The Uncharted gamesYeah it's a 10. This game will really put you through it. The characters are best that I've ever come across in a video game and it isn't even close. The world design is brilliant and exactly what I would imagine in a post human environment. The story is also top notch and the developers really put their own unique stamp on the genre it really did seem plausible. The Uncharted games were more lighthearted and fun (and also super great) but the Last of Us really reaches another level of immersion and gritty realism that I didn't think was possible with video games. It's something you just have to experience.

    Naughty Dog is head and shoulders above other game design companies and I can't wait to see what they do for PS4. I will buy all of their games for years to come.
    Expand
  91. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us has graphics that will blow your mind it has a storyline that will make want to see more and more.This game is the best video game i have ever played.this game is just incredible. This is a video game like no other. nothing can possibly be better than The last of Us.
  92. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time, definitely in Top 10 at least. I bought my PS3 for this game (and with the added bonus of other great games of course).
  93. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    I'll be brief. PLAY THIS GAME.

    Why should you? -It's narrative and characters are the first to ever feel "Human", rather than superficial and "videogamey" -Great pacing that always keeps you on the edge -Narrative and Characters feel very "weighty" and emotional. Never to soap-opera ish. Always feels like a well done Hollywood Apoclaypse drama (akin to the road) -Just outstanding
    I'll be brief. PLAY THIS GAME.

    Why should you?

    -It's narrative and characters are the first to ever feel "Human", rather than superficial and "videogamey"
    -Great pacing that always keeps you on the edge
    -Narrative and Characters feel very "weighty" and emotional. Never to soap-opera ish. Always feels like a well done Hollywood Apoclaypse drama (akin to the road)
    -Just outstanding production values all the way around
    -Very tense in moments.
    -Fantastic OST by Gustavo Santalla.

    I can go on and on. Please, if you have a ps3, or are considering purchasing a ps3 for this game, than please for the love of god do. You seriously won't regret it.

    Cons?

    Some I guess, It's not perfect, but nothing ever is:

    -After the incredible first 15 minutes, the first few hours are a bit of a drag and might feel slow. So don't get dissapointed if you find yourself a bit bored in the first few hours. It honestly picks up, I swear it does.

    -Never enough. Wouldn't have minded another level or 2.

    But please play this game. Support Naughty Dog, Playstation, because they honestly deserve every single penny.
    Expand
  94. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us can easily be, in my opinion, the best PS3 game that Sony has ever released. Naughty Dog's contribution to this gen console is above and beyond your basic third person action game. The world they've created with the Last of Us is believable as well as tense. Within the first five minutes you feel for Joel as this pandemic hits him especially hard and the game uses the momentThe Last of Us can easily be, in my opinion, the best PS3 game that Sony has ever released. Naughty Dog's contribution to this gen console is above and beyond your basic third person action game. The world they've created with the Last of Us is believable as well as tense. Within the first five minutes you feel for Joel as this pandemic hits him especially hard and the game uses the moment to tug at your emotions to where you want to put yourself in its place. The game is taut, filled with suspense, and makes you think of what people will actually do to survive day by day and you ask yourself, what if this was me. If you haven't played this game yet you are missing out on one of the best experiences that the PlayStation 3 has to offer. If you do not have a PS3 then buy one, because this game will not let you down. Expand
  95. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    When playing the last of us, it didn't feel like a video game. It was more like reading through a best selling novel. The story is one of the best ones ever existing in a game. The graphics are gorgeous and the character developing is flawless. The voice acting is very solid and I can say that the whole game feels like a cinematic experience. Ellie and Joel are the best characters I'veWhen playing the last of us, it didn't feel like a video game. It was more like reading through a best selling novel. The story is one of the best ones ever existing in a game. The graphics are gorgeous and the character developing is flawless. The voice acting is very solid and I can say that the whole game feels like a cinematic experience. Ellie and Joel are the best characters I've ever seen in a video game. Overall this game deserves the attention it gets. Expand
  96. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    It's a shame that Xbox only gamers can't play this game because it truly deserves game of the year title. The story is an emotional, most dramatic struggle to escort a young girl across the dangerous wasteland to safety. It's a game that adult gamers like me are always looking for, yet they are so few an far in between. Combat is tough with very little room for mistakes. Some might beIt's a shame that Xbox only gamers can't play this game because it truly deserves game of the year title. The story is an emotional, most dramatic struggle to escort a young girl across the dangerous wasteland to safety. It's a game that adult gamers like me are always looking for, yet they are so few an far in between. Combat is tough with very little room for mistakes. Some might be turned off by this who would rather play games that allows them to sustain massive amount of damage, but I believe in a genre game like this, the combat fits in perfectly. Naughty Dog was already the masters of great graphics, but this game really tops everything they've done so far from the graphics, texture and lighting, it's all marvelous. I don't do multiplayer, so I can't comment on that aspect. But basing the score on single player alone...it's an easy ten. Expand
  97. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    This game is without a doubt the best video game I have ever played. The games plot is phenomenal and it's characters are even better. The game play is intense and full of nail biting moments. The game's violence is so powerful and awesome (do not let a child play this game!). Full of emotion, excellent acting and absolutely gorgeous graphics, Naughty Dog have proven themselves that theyThis game is without a doubt the best video game I have ever played. The games plot is phenomenal and it's characters are even better. The game play is intense and full of nail biting moments. The game's violence is so powerful and awesome (do not let a child play this game!). Full of emotion, excellent acting and absolutely gorgeous graphics, Naughty Dog have proven themselves that they are the best video game developer. This game is an absolute masterpiece and a staple of greatness on video game history, this is more than gold, it's platinum. Expand
  98. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    when the game started out it was fantastic i loved how the beginning was done but after it started the game after that it got a lil boring and at some parts i had to push myself to play more but i'm glad i did cause once you get to the zombie parts it's worth going through the human fights which in my opinion are really annoying, it takes awhile to get used to the controls but once you getwhen the game started out it was fantastic i loved how the beginning was done but after it started the game after that it got a lil boring and at some parts i had to push myself to play more but i'm glad i did cause once you get to the zombie parts it's worth going through the human fights which in my opinion are really annoying, it takes awhile to get used to the controls but once you get the hang of them the combat system is not bad, although it takes way to long to switch one gun and it's frustrating when you're in the middle of a fight and you run out of ammo and have to run and hide just to switch guns, there is ALOT of sneaking so be warned and it is very very easy to be killed by the clickers you cannot even touch them without dying, but all around the story is very engaging and when you go through the whole thing you feel satisfied, the ending was a little weird i thought but you will see, overall a good game, give it 8 out of 10 Expand
  99. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    One of my favorite games this gen. I wish that I can give this a 10 but I can't. I honestly don't like the multiplayer, It's filled with campers. The single player however is amazing! Fantastic graphics, great gameplay, great characters, great story, beautiful voice acting. I like both Ellie and Joel. I can't wait to see what Naughty Dog has in store for us next gen :D
  100. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was a good game. meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    97
    Flawless in its ambition and almost perfect in its execution. A brave and remarkable game quite unlike any other.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    The Last of Us is a great action-adventure game that manages to capture the feeling of post-apocalypse and survival. The story is alright but way too manipulative and borrows heavily from other, better, material. Still the segmented survival gameplay and the amazing audiovisual production makes the game an experience everybody should check out.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 4, 2013
    90
    Despite the breakneck pace of the prologue, it takes quite a while for The Last of Us to pick up some speed again. However, once the cold harsh winter arrives, the action (and story) ramps up. So much so, it puts most Hollywood productions to shame. [July 2013, p.76]