• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2013
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6029 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This game truly is phenomenal. Naughty Dog proves yet again why they are the kings of the PS3, and arguably gaming in general. The Last of Us gets everything right. The environments, the atmosphere, the gameplay, the storyline, the characters, the graphics. Everything. I really can't say enough how amazing this game truly ended up being.
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is one of the best games I have ever played. Imagine Uncharted 2/3, that looks better, sounds better, has more engaging characters and a more emotional plot.
    Imagine that with combat which encourages not just multiple playthroughs to try a different strategy, but reloading checkpoints to get your first strategy just right. But that doesn't really do it justice.
    If you
    are looking for a brand new and unique experience, this isn't perfect, but you should play it anyway. If you are looking for one of the best experiences to be found in gaming, you should definitely play The Last of Us. Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    You should realize right from the beginning, you are in for a dark, remorseless journey into survival. Your sympathy is for the two main characters, and some of survivors they meet along the way, but the dread of what is around the corner haunts you for them and like the stunning graphics that never cease to amaze, this game continues to enthrall you down to the last scene. The game play is flawless, and you know this because it never interferes with story and the combat....and Ellie will simply blow you away with her tough independence and fierce instincts....The PS3 deserves this game as a brilliant way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles...worth every cent and worth every play time minute. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Very good game. I love all of Naughty Dog's games, they are fun and have very good graphics. Go buy this game now and support ND for making better games on the PS 4!
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    I wouldn't call this game perfect, but it's pretty close for me. I wanted to rate this a 9.8. Since I cannot, I will give it a 10 because it is closer to a 10 than a 9. There IS the occasional glitch (as with most games), but the only thing that really takes me out of the experience is when Ellie will run out in front of the enemies and they will not see her at all! These moments remind you that you're playing a game and take you out of the experience.

    Other than that, the story is absolutely top notch, the acting is top notch. One of the most engaging experiences I've ever played. (and I've been gaming since around the age of 3 back in '83!) The combat is underpowered in comparison to other games, but I LOVE that. It really gives a sense of fear and dread as you move along in the game. It really emphasizes the need for stealth. I would recommend this game to almost anyone, except for those who just absolutely loathe stealth games. Even then, you should give it a shot at least for the story and acting. The first 10 minutes will make at least a tear come to your eye. If it doesn't, then you probably aren't human.
    Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2013
    5
    This game is kinda overrated. The game play is not that amazing really the gun play is very similar to uncharted (as you would kinda expect I suppose). The story line is not all that and the first couple of hours are pretty boring, I hate games that take ages to get going. The graphics are pretty good and so is the animation too. How many zombie games do we really need though This genre is massively over done, when are people gonna get over zombies geez...Also at the time of writing this there is a massive game breaking bug which makes you unable to save your progress and has affected TONS of people. Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2013
    3
    I have finished the game earlier this week, since then I had some time to reflect about it.

    After getting over my „fanboism“, cause I have been awaiting this game for quite a while, to look at it from a more neutral perspective, I must say that “The Last Of Us” is OVERRATED!

    Now bear with me, I'm not saying by any means it’s a bad game, it’s a piece of art, a masterpiece even, very
    beautiful, especially visually. But hearing “the best game of this generation” or “the best game EVER made” is very false to me. Let me try and help you to understand where I'm coming from:

    Once I have looked past the eye candy, I noticed the gameplay is very shallow and repetitive, the infected lack variety with only 4 types and the humans have a very flawed AI which is very exploitable (also doesn’t help that you keep on killing the same 5 guys cause there aren’t that many enemy skins). The Puzzles, if you could even call them that, are no challenge at all, and only require you to push a ladder from point A to point B or drag a dumpster around for a little while so you can climb on it. The game is far too forgiving, even on the hard setting, keeps on holding your hand, treating you like a little child, generating checkpoints after every minute and even giving you more ammo and med packs out of nowhere when you run out. It just seems overall like it was designed for the casual gamer, so parents and infants could easily beat it. In short, it offers almost no interesting challenges or compelling gameplay surprises.

    Now lets get to the story (which most people claim to be the strongest part of the game), its full of clichés from previous post apocalyptic zombie scenarios, and even at its best moments it never reaches the depth and feel a good movie could provide. It feels more like a budget tv-series with a very limited cast, so I really don’t understand when people claim to have cried while playing it.

    That all being said it still was a very enjoyable experience, which I’m glad I had the pleasure to go through. The best part about it truly where the visuals, some of the best I have ever witnessed in a video game, and the 2 main characters Ellie and Joel (even a later Villain) where some truly detailed and interesting characters which made out the main charm of the game.

    Video games where always about the gameplay to me, and I find The Last of Us has a lot of problems there. I think the whole “Let’s try to be a movie” approach of video games is really getting old.

    I still highly recommend it to anybody who likes video games, or art in general, I didn’t mean to sound too negative about it I just wanted to express why I think game sites giving it 10 out of 10s is complete ****

    But hey, its just my opinion.
    Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us, its a game that needs no introduction but had to show more than what we were expecting in order to not only keep up with the current generation & next generation games coming out but also live up to the par that Uncharted 2, and Uncharted 3 set for Naughty Dog. The game takes you on a journey that takes you throughout a world 20 years after a pandemic had arose. While keeping new ideas fresh the best thing that "The Last of Us" has going for it is excellent character development backed up with a truly memorable story. So if you are able to get your hands on a copy "The Last of Us" is a game that you do not want to miss out, and that is why it deserves a 9.8/10. Expand
  10. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Such an immersing world, great characters especially Joel en Ellie. Brilliant and such a fleshed out story i won't forget in a long time. Intense and incredible well put together gameplay mechanics. THE best game i have ever played.
  11. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    I really like this action-survival-horror -next generation game, forget all this MS haters...if I compare the graphics of this great game with GTA IV, Darksiders, Mass Effect 3, Skyrim, Hitman, the action, gameplay, are matchless. It's not a perfect game, not at all, not for all, but I like it and it's my kind of game.
  12. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Best game this generation along with Uncharted 2 and Red Dead Redemption Everything in this game is top notch Graphics Gameplay Storytelling ,Voice acting and soundtrack This game is one of the reasons why I have a PS3 .
    and when you see a dickhead like GladkyAndrey who rate this game a 3 then change his mind and rate it 0 you know that this game is a beeeeeeaast
  13. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Best games ever made.
    A 10/10 score is not enough for this game. Naughty dog has made many great games, but this one is the best and probably the best game of this gen.
  14. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    A gripping story about human survival and the re-ignition of love in a bittered heart. The voice acting is perfect, facial animations are top notch and the protagonist becomes a very 'real' person as the story progresses. The graphics are pretty much the best current consoles can offer. The art direction can best be described as 'dreary', perfect for a post-apocalyptic setting. I also love the sound design and the minimalistic sound track producing melancholic instrumental music that really gets you in the right mood. The story is thrust forward using ingame dialog sections, cutscenes and various items you find (such as pamphlets and notes). Overall, the fiction feels very 'real'. Thrillingly able to suspend my disbelief with a mature story.

    Gameplay:

    The game can be best described as a third person action adventure with lots of stealth elements, and a bit more exploration than you would expect from the creators of Uncharted. The game has a wonderful pace (absolutely not run and gun) and great stealth sections that will have you at the edge of your seat. The stealth reminds me a bit of Manhunt, in which rooms are like puzzles and it is for the gamer to find out efficient ways to get through the rooms. As in Manhunt, taking down enemies feels hefty and combat is raw and visceral. There is also a crafting system in place, in which you use recourses scattered throughout the levels to craft items like health packs and shivs. However, resources are scarce and some items use the same components. So you need to choose: do I want a health pack, or a molotov?

    The only downside to the game I found is the fact that sometimes your companions behave unrealistically during stealth sections, wanting to follow you around and obviously showing themselves while doing so. But it doesn't detract from the experience and luckily no alarms are triggered when it happens. Overall the companion AI is good; it is hard to make companions behave perfectly in stealth gameplay (how many games even try it?).

    Lastly, I recommend turning off all tips in the options menu so the game doesn't tell you what to do all the time, yet I found the normal difficulty setting challenging enough. Take your time with this one, try to find the hidden resources and be absorbed in the fiction. Uncharted 3 really was more of the same and a bit boring, this is refreshing and gripping. Like Red Dead Redemption and Mass Effect 2, this was a game that just did not bore me. 10/10 for the single player.
    Expand
  15. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This is a great game and if you own a Playstation 3 you should play it.

    The bad "User" reviews by GonzoGamer and Wilfogn Your other review are all XboX360 games. .
    So my question to you is is? Are you really that stupid, why would you go and give a bad review to a game of a console you don't even have..... You should pursuit a career in politics, you are picture perfect for the job.
  16. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    I was very impressed right away, with the cinematics, textures, lighting, etc.
    The mechanics of how Joel moves around has a bit of a Dead Space feel to it, which I found easy to pick up.
    My only complaint being that you cannot command your AI companions to be passive or aggressive.
    I often found myself yelling profanity at the television, when you're trying to sneak around Clickers and
    Tess is firing off rounds.
    Other than that, I feel that the storyline and characters are well developed, the game has a high replay value, and the environment is superbly designed.
    Expand
  17. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    First off, let me say that this game has one of the greatest moments in gaming: The intro. If you've played the game, you know exactly what I'm talking about.

    Secondly, I did give the game an 8, but I totally understand why everyone is giving the game a 10. It all depends on your expectations. Are your expectations weighted more towards the playing the game? Or weighted more towards
    going through an experience?

    For me, I was expecting a little bit of both, and I was very happy overall. The story, art, sound design and tension during gameplay is probably the best you'll ever experience. However, I don't believe the game is a perfect 10 for a few reasons:

    1. Immersion. Naughty Dog has built an AMAZING world that pulls us in right away. We get invested into it from the get-go. With an intro like that, EVERYONE gets completely glued to the game. I bet most critics went 10/10!" as soon as they finished the intro. It's that good. However, the downside to this is that when the game contains actions that don't make sense, it breaks the immersion. Most examples of this appear in combat sequences:

    1a. Your companions are ignored by enemy AI. This is forgiveable, because in such a crazy messed up world, the game would be way to hard to manage everyone.

    1b. Joel does NOT pick up ammo in a world where ammo is "scarce". This is a big one. When you see every human enemy blasting bullets in every direction while you only have 10 bullets, it's as if Naughty Dog is holding up a giant sign saying "HEY! We did this intentionally to artificially increase tension!". It does raise tension quite a lot, but it also doesn't seem to fit the mindset of a survivor.

    1c. Shivs. Why does Joel craft shivs that break when being used to stab people? The guy should just own a knife! (or a machete that doesn't break in 3 hits). It makes no sense, and in the world of The Last of Us... it'd be smart to own a knife. Those of you who have played the game know Joel has no excuse.

    1d. Enemies are ridiculously evil. Every enemy in this game (aside from one), was a one-note badguy. They would shoot you on sight, try to kill you for "survival", but then they turn around and go "You killed my friends!" For some reason it felt like we were supposed to feel bad that we were killing them, but on the other hand... screw them. They shot at me first! The first demo Naughty Dog showed at E3 felt like they initially wanted players to feel the moral weight of what they did to players, but... It doesn't work at all with the regular enemy AI.

    2. Puzzles were repetitive and simple. Let's face it, there are only 2 types of puzzles in this game. Drag a dumpter/palette/shelf to act as a stepping stone... or drag a wooden plank/ladder over a gap. Uncharted had much more interesting puzzles. I understand Joel is in the modern world, but I still think a little more could have been put into the puzzles we saw in this game. However, you could also consider every combat encounter a puzzle, as strategy played a very important part.

    3. A lot of forced walking around and looking at things. After that amazing intro, I didn't even notice I was spending so much time in scripted walking sequences. However, upon my second playthrough, I saw that the first hour of the game is basically walking sequences with a bit of stealth thrown in. Try a second playthrough, see if you felt the same way or not.

    Now, with all that said... how about the positives? These are the AMAZING things done by The Last of Us:

    1. Story. You will love the story. Nearly everyone will love the story.
    2. Graphics. Some of the best on the PS3. In the game you encounter some animals, and they look amazing.
    3. Sound Design. Clickers are extra creepy because of the sound they make. And gunshots can scare the crap out of you if you get spotted while sneaking around. It's great!
    4. Tension during gameplay. During sequences with the infected (especially clickers), tension may be through the roof. The sneaking elements mixed with the way clickers work makes for a good time. Throwing bottles and bricks to trick your enemies feels 10 times more satisfying than throwing rocks in FarCry 3.
    5. Grenades and Molotovs! They're so satisfying to use.
    6. Strategy during gameplay. In the game, Joel is able to use his "hearing" ability (see: wallhack), to gauge enemy positions. This makes every combat sequence feel like a puzzle ready to be cracked wide open. And once you complete it... it feels gooood.

    Overall, The Last of Us is a very good game. However, I have the feeling most critics wrote their reviews when they were still high off the thrill of the ending. After taking a second playthrough, it's much easier to see the game objectively, and to get a better picture of how The Last of Us is as a game. The thing I find the strongest is the tension during gameplay. It adds a lot to the atmosphere. However, the atmosphere can be broken by a few design choices.

    Thank you Naughty Dog for another amazing game!
    Expand
  18. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This is the first survival game in a long while that truly feels like a survival game. You have such limited ammo with your relatively underpowered weapons, that you must strategically plan out each encounter in order to survive. Most games suggest that you explore the environments, but The Last of Us actually forces you to. Without the necessary scavenged crafting supplies used to make health kits, upgraded weapons or booby traps, you simply won’t live through upcoming encounters. Expand
  19. Jul 10, 2013
    4
    I created an account for the sole purpose of attempting to save a few people some money; this game, while decent as an entire package, comes across to me as a venture into gaming redundancy. I will not be discussing the particulars of the story or game mechanics, both to avoid spoilers and to prevent this from turning into a term paper. While TLOU does manage to incorporate an average level of quality in each aspect, the game overall comes across as a dud, mainly because as I played this game I couldn't get rid of the overbearing sensation that I had already played this game's prequels and that each of these, either in their own way or as a whole, were much much better than this latest release:

    If you've played stealth-focused games such as Dishonored, Metal Gear, or Deus Ex you've already experienced far more advanced and enjoyable stealth mechanics.

    If you've played adventure-based games such as Far Cry or Bioshock you've once again enjoyed better battle and combat interface mechanics.

    If you've played puzzle-based games such as Prince of Persia or any other game that incorporates more than a ladder/plank combo...enough said.

    And by far the worst and most over-hyped category, the carbon copy mix of Zombie-Survival, Coming-Of-Age, with a dash of familial bonding, was the greatest disappointment for me, as most games I am willing to forgive almost all assuming the story can bridge the gap between a lack of mechanics and my enjoyment. In this case, for me, the gap was only widened.

    While I understand that all creations, particularly in the entertainment industry, rely and build upon previous ventures, the lack of creativity or any sign of originality in this game, to me, is unforgivable and undeserving of the seemingly fanboyish reviews it has received. This game is worth playing to kill some time or as an introduction to the genre if you are just entering the gaming scene, but in no way was it worth $60; wait for the GoTY edition it is almost certain to be developed into or borrow it from one of the multiple friends you have who have almost certainly already picked this up.
    Expand
  20. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    I don't want to spoil any of the story so I'll get right to the point; The Last of Us takes all the WORST parts of the Uncharted series (the stealth and sneaking) and stretches it out across 12 hours of gameplay. This is THE MOST overrated game I have ever played. I cannot believe people are trying to say this game is "the best game ever" and better than Uncharted 3, which was an utter masterpiece, or better than this years BioShock Infinite, which was another amazing game. I went to the midnight launch and beat the game in one sitting so I didn't have to deal with the horrible save-game bug right now that prevents you from saving your progress, so I'm not even factoring that horrible oversight into my review. Honestly though, save yourself $60 and put that money towards a next-gen console. The multiplayer is also incredibly generic and unbalanced. Whoever wins the first round wins the entire match because they can instantly afford a set of armor at the start of the next round which allows you to take twice as much damage before dying. I'm utterly shocked by the metascore the critics have given this game. What can you expect though, SCEA published games almost always have a full point or two higher metacritic scores than they deserve, who the hell knows why. Expand
  21. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    Game is overrated, I don't know what game all you are playing but this game is not the best as so many people seem to be saying. Beat the game in 7 hours and has no replayability. All you do in this game is sneak and strangle monsters. Graphics are ok, I see people saying there the best they have seen,wtf, if you think that then wow you are blind, the games graphics are okay and the sound and story is good, the controls are good. Just not worth the hype its been getting. No replayability. Uncharted is better than this game. Go rent it before you by it. Who knows maybe you will buy into the hype and get easily manipulated like the Masses. Ift his game was not made by Naughty Dog and made by a not well known Dev then I bet you that this game would get low scores. People that give good scores to a game for not being all that great makes the gaming community worse. You give a game a good review and its not good, Devs will just make the same crap and get away with it and take your money and laugh at you. This game does not suck but the overall score sure does. 6.5 out of 10 for me. Beat it now im returning it.. Expand
  22. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. All around amazing!! I just recommend to at least give it a try before you make your own decision. From start to finish this game is incredible, amazing story which is expected since this game comes from the same studio that developed uncharted (naughtydog). Visuals are fantastic, fighting and stealth kills are very unique and fun. I will not be surprised if this game wins a tone of goty awards. This is definitely my game of the year. Like I said before it is definitely worth playing for yourself. Expand
  23. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Truly a masterpiece!! This game gives me great hope where games can go from here,having played most games you fear "been there done that" not with The Last Of Us. Naughty dog have shown what great developers they are with Uncharted series,but with this game they have stepped into legendary category and Sony's flagship developers. Amazing game with great graphics (probably best looking game on ps3) and a great story arc. The story is the games real strength and how it emotionally draws you in,then throw in suspenseful set pieces with a gritty world and action violence and you've got a gem,and that's what Naughty Dog has given us,probably the ps3 last exclusive gem. Simply put YOU MUST BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  24. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Extraordinary game! Great story that makes you care about the characters of the game. The game play is effortless and continuously keeps you interested in what’s around the next corner. Love figuring out what’s the best line of defense for getting though enemy riddled areas. A must purchase!
  25. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    If you are coming into this game expecting to be blown away by a complete game, you're going to be disappointed. Nothing revolutionary, gameplay wise, but nothing misplaced, either. Just tried and true elements that feel comfortable, though you can debate whether that's a good thing in a game that's relying on you being drawn in. If this was a TV Show, it'd definitely be worthy of a higher score. The story is definitely quite good. The problem is that its about as interactive as a painting. They went with the 'Open Barn" design philosophy of multiple paths all leading to the same set pieces. This can be a fine choice, but when characters react as though you'd been in a running gun battle in the set piece, when you literally did not make a sound, it really breaks the immersion. This type of game is award fodder, because it's easy to call good because it has a good story, and does a bunch of stuff we're familiar with, but at the end of the day, it feels like they played it too safe, and it could've been even better if they'd been willing to reach. Expand
  26. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    the only people giving this a rating lower 8 are fake ps3 owners aka xbox fanboys... this is one of the best games ever made to date... its a masterpiece. This game is what a true survival game should be... you should be sneaking around and you should be thinking about is it worth it firing this gun.
  27. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    this is not a game.. this story is a real life.. i love this studio and thanks SONY for everything.. after the best game of history (uncharted 3) this.. and i don't now how of this two is better.. thank you ND... thank you sony.. hater please don't ruin the game with 1.. please it is a shame..
  28. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This game delivers everything you want and need in a game to make it a masterpiece a emotionally investing story and characters, stunning visuals, and tense and immersive gameplay! This is a must buy for anybody!!
  29. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    If you played The Walking Dead, you can skip this. If not, go play it instead of this.
    The Walking Dead has actual, meaningful choices unlike this game. You pretty much do what the game tells you to, and that works for something like Uncharted but not this game. The Walking Dead set the bar for the Zombie theme and this game is not even coming close to it.
    The gameplay itself is even
    worse. Horrible gun play, terrible and unreliable stealth mechanics, bad immersions because your companions can stand face to face with every enemy because they only can see your character. As a huge Uncharted and The Walking Dead fan, I can NOT undertastand how this game got this high score. Expand
  30. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    It made me cry game is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Characters ,graphics,history everything is great about this game everything
  31. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    I usually just sit and read reviews, but I felt compelled to give a short, accurate review. I am six hours into the game, and I must say, I've been getting quite bored of it. Ohhhh no, I'm in the dark and there are clickers walking around; now what.......um, it took me 10 minutes to navigate around them slowly. Wow, fun. Granted the visuals can be nice at times, but the gameplay, story, etc is nothing new. We've seen this before. I think the game is quite overrated if you ask me. I love Naughty Dog and they've done a good job again, but not a 10. I think the critics media followed suit because for it to score this high is a bit disturbing. Nonetheless, it is a good game. If you have $60, love Naughty Dog, and are looking for a good game to keep you going until the PS4, then go for it. This will take some time to platinum. If you're going to buy this based on the perfect 10's it's getting, I'm sorry to say, I think you will be disappointed. In the end, to each their own.....happy gaming guys. Expand
  32. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Naughty Dog is one of the best video game developers in the world, and they continuously keep producing masterpieces like this. This is a must buy for every PS3 owner.
  33. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    The Last Of Us is officially the best game I have ever played. The story is outstanding and brilliant the moment the game starts it hooks you in with the magnificent story. Naughty dog has done an absolute outstanding job with this game and it shows through out the game. The graphics is brilliant and stunning in beauty. The Game play is brilliant the best game play i have ever seen in a game and the controls is extremely smooth and easy to learn. If you have played all 3 uncharted games and thought they were good wait until you play the last of us you will not be disappointed.The last of us is the game to beat for game the year. If you loved uncharted I recommend strongly you play the last of us it will leave you hooked and glued to your TV screen for hours upon hours. I f you have an Xbox 360 trade it in get a PS3 and play this game no Xbox game will ever be as good as the last of us. If naughty dog created such and amazing game that even the critics have given it top scores I cannot wait to see what naughty dog has in store for us in the future. Expand
  34. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Awesome story
    Fun gameplay
    Tense feeling
    And very detailed graphics. Not so good lucking, but very detailed!!
    And Ellie is so lovely!

    Am must play for every gamer!
  35. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Although this games story isn't no more than 20 hours long. It is perhaps one of the best games of 2013. It just has alot of emotion in the story and makes the entire single player experience one of a lifetime. The main characters Joel and Ellie are developed really well. They feel very human and alive which makes the story pop out even more. I haven't tried multiplayer yet, but after finishing the story I already feel I got my moneys worth.

    If people don't like this game then joke is on them, because without a doubt in my personal opinion this is the best game in 2013.
    Expand
  36. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This is my first review on meta-critic and for a damn good reason! The Last Of Us is unbelievable, amazing, and epic and solidifies why I play games! This is one of the top games I have played in my entire life and got me very emotionally involved.. For once I am happy to say I receiveded more than what I payed for.. 10/10
  37. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    There is nothing bad I can say about this game. It was fun to play, it hit you where it counts, and it made you genuinely care for the characters. A perfect 10 out of 10 in my opinion.
  38. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Developer Naughty Dog has added "The Last of Us" to its pristine resume, which has become one of the more prestigious in all of video games. The PlayStation 3 game, which arrives in stores Friday, tells the heartfelt story of Joel and Ellie trying to survive in a world filled with death and woe. It's 20 years in the future, and the human race has been overrun by a parasitic infection that turns people into zombie-like husks that hunt other humans. There is no cure, and the goal for the few remaining humans is to survive.

    Joel is an experienced smuggler, an occupation that is strictly forbidden by his quarantine zone's military rule. He is employed by the Fireflies, an organization that fights against the military, to smuggle Ellie across the country. Joel isn't interested in what the Fireflies want with Ellie until details come to light that make this job the most important he's ever taken. The story of "The Last of Us" follows these central characters for a year, as their bond grows during their cross-country journey. This opens opportunities to not only explore the depth of these characters, but also show off post-apocalyptic versions of American locales. The trek begins in Boston and lands in Colorado and Salt Lake City, as well as a lengthy stay in Pittsburgh.

    Recognizable Steel City landmarks include the U.S. Steel Tower and the BNY Mellon Center Downtown, along with nods to the Strip District and Fort Pitt Bridge, but the breathtaking art is just background for the human elements on display.

    Joel and Ellie's storylines change throughout the game's 13- to 15-hour tenure. In a world overrun with horrific zombie-like creatures, the focus is almost always on the humans. The characters not the infected drive the plot. Much like "The Walking Dead" game and television show, the writers of "The Last of Us" realized that humans are much more intriguing than the mindless zombies around them. The gameplay keeps up with the presentation and narrative. Whether Joel is up against the infected or humans, stealth is key because ammunition is scarce. Quietly taking down foes is a key to success. When that fails, guns are needed, and Joel comes to acquire plenty of them. Being low on ammunition provides an added challenge to the game's combat, but that makes progressing all the more satisfying.

    Naughty Dog has created a console-defining masterpiece in "The Last of Us." It achieves the perfect balance between thrilling action and emotional storytelling. It arrived as one of the most hyped games of the year, and it delivers conclusively.
    Expand
  39. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    Really average game, painfully average for the score it's getting. I feel the only reason why it's getting such scores is the publisher, but that's alright.
    The gunplay is average, typical TPS fair. Really, if you're looking for gameplay innovation, it's not here. The whole "scarce ammo so you have to scavenge" thing is ruined by the fact that most of the enemies are guards, which drop
    ammo. The"zombies (they're zombies, don't lie to yourself)" are generally clumped in areas and not dangerous, outside of clickers. For puzzles we have crate stacking, ladders, moving massive objects to stand on (Joel is superhuman) and motors. You'll be seeing these a lot because they're repeated more than HL2's physics puzzles. The game has stealth, which is does just as well as any other TPS game with stealth, but the AI is stupid, making it easier. It's really linear, shamefully linear. I think this is what kills me most about the game, the atmosphere is really good, ND nailed it with that, but they went NOWHERE with it. It's another linear story game that takes no risks. Walk, get into scripted scene, fight guards or zombies, cutscene. For 12 hours, that's the game. It occasionally changes things up, but that's essentially the game. I won't spoil the story, but it feels like the left it up for DLC and expansions, which is shameful. If you like really average story based games, go ahead. If you want more, maybe just rent it. It does little wrong, but even less right. Expand
  40. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    For me this is another masterpiece game from Naughty Dog Studio. This time we are living in apocalyptic times which means...if you like walking dead or other zombie/survival movies you will love this game. Graphics are outstanding and characters, as always, absolutely brilliant. The best thing is the "reality" of atmosphere. Usually in apocalyptic games or movies there is an arsenal of guns and stuff here you have to think how to survive a battle. That's something new in games.
    If you considering to buy a new ps4 console, you have to play that game. It's definitely one of the best games on this generation.
    Expand
  41. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    How can anyone give this game a "60"? TLoU is one of the best games i've ever played.
  42. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    The hype leading up to my chance to play The Last of Us had me worried, as it seemed like I would be disappointed because I thought no game could live up to the expectations I had for it. I was wrong. Naughty Dog has succeeded in crafting what is undoubtedly one of the absolute best games of all time, an emotional tour de force that, while set in a post-apocalyptic, zombie-in-all-but-name-only-infested world, spends a lot of time exploring the humanity of enduring such an environment.

    Some reviews have criticized the actual gameplay, but I love it. The game rewards players who can think creatively and act stealthily over those who can shoot the enemies dead the fastest. By other metrics, the game makes no compromises: for a game running on almost 7-year-old hardware, the graphics are stunning, with the writing, voice acting, art direction, soundtrack, and level design all among the absolute best in the video game world.

    The game has kept me greatly on edge and had me in tears less than an hour into the game. It has kept me in awe of both the ugliness of many of the areas ravaged by the events of the game and the sheer beauty of those that nature has reclaimed in the absence of meddling from humanity, infected or not.

    Games like this and Bioshock Infinite make me optimistic about the future of gaming. The Last of Us is a true masterpiece, ranking among not only among my absolute favorite video games of all time, but among my favorite entries in any art/entertainment medium. It's often gritty and heavy, but it greatly rewards those who enjoy deep, sometimes tragic, character-driven storytelling: the same strategy that networks like HBO and AMC seem to be focusing on with their original content in recent years to much success.

    All in all, if the idea of a post-apocalyptic survival game doesn't completely turn you off, you owe it to yourself to play this game.
    Expand
  43. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This game is truly fantastic. It deserves every bit of praise that it gets but unlike other reviews I'm going to try and simply break down why. Firstly it's an action game, so it's a 1010 action game, not the greatest game of all time, out of every genre. So what's important in an action game? Action right? The gunning feels more realistic than any other TPS I've experienced so far, and every weapon is so unique to handle it actually feels like you're carrying a real assortment. What about AI? Humans will come up behind you in a matter of seconds to shoot you from behind, if they can't get behind you, they will throw a molotov at you with pensive precision. What about stealth? Clickers must be dealt with by crouching and not walking but creeping, if they hear a loud footstep they will come charging, and on contact you will die instantly. Not only is the challenge there but it feels so nerve-racking no matter where you go. Humans can also be dealt with stealthily, choking them to do, wasting no resources, or if you choose, move past everything, like something out of MGS. Combat it's there as well, numerous objects can be used as melee weapons, a bat will take a few hits down someone with a combo, whereas a blade might take just one to kill. You can even reinforce weapons with blades to cause one hit kills on Clickers. hear you asking about the rest... Graphics? It's Naughty Dog, so check. Music? Does the perfect job of building atmosphere instead of sounding like a Hollywood movie check. Story there is nothing I can say here that won't spoil things but as soon as it gets moving there is no pointless banter, just one breathtaking moment after the next. Longevity? Yes, there are comics, artefacts and firefly dog-tags to find, numerous difficulty levels and the ability to upgrade Joel in a slightly-action RPG fashion to your liking.

    What I'm trying to say is that as an action game, it has it all and then some. It improves on almost all facets of an action game. Whereas others are becoming more casualized and more scripted and shorter and shorter, ND takes us in the opposite direction, with a challenging, punishing, absolutely enthralling experience that does not let up until it is over. With an original multiplayer element to boot.
    I hope I have given a little more insight into why this game is so praised. Also kudos to Sony for letting ND do what they want it has paid in spades and so it should.
    Expand
  44. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Anyone rating this under 90. 2 word can characterize him. Lobotomy and sterilization. This game has all the elements of survival. If you are act first and think later kind of gamer then this game might not be for you. Patience and strategy and careful planning filled with mature content make this game GREAT
  45. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    Just completed the game in one sitting, took me 12 hours.

    The game is good. It's not great nor does it live up to the hype created around it. The graphics are very mediocre. Maybe it's just me because I'm used to FullHD resolution with AntiAliasing and Anisotropic Filtering on PC, but the game looked quite bad in some places. Low res textures, vegetation on most places is not an actual
    object, just some leaves painted on the texture. The game runs only in 720p which made it look even worse on my 24" fullHD monitor, aliasing was everywhere. Additionally you can see the frame rate dropping to around 15-20 FPS, especially during some places in the cities. This makes it extremely hard to navigate and aim.

    Like I said, I completed the game after 12 hours and... it hanged after the credits screen. I could go to start menu but couldn't load, save or quit the game, so I had to shut down the game through PS menu. Started it up again to see what bonuses I unlocked by completing the game and... my save was gone. So yeah, I'm quite pissed off right now, 12 hours for nothing. Nice quality assurance testing there.

    Now, onto the game itself. The story is nowhere near as driving and immersing as the one in "The Walking Dead", which I consider the best adventure game I ever played. There are a few good moments, but most of the time the game play is limited to running around buildings collecting items and shooting bandits. The cut scenes are awesome, the voices and animations are really good, but there's not that many of them. I wish the story was narrated better and didn't just skip through parts. The story is 100% linear, as far as I know, there are no choices in game you can make to affect the story, so there is no re-playability value what-so-ever. In the end I never got attached to any of the characters like I did in "The Walking Dead".

    I liked the character of Ellie, although because I couldn't make any choices on how to interact with her and Joel is an a-hole most of the time, I never made that "bond" which would make me miss her even outside the game. Throughout the game you can sometimes stop and talk to Ellie, but it is so rare event that it doesn't really add anything to the experience, especially that you have no control over what they talk about and it's usually just small talk about surroundings or recent events. The ending is disappointing, but I guess you'll just have to figure this one on your own.

    Developers advertised the game with the AI that is clever and it will try to outsmart you. Ha, what a joke. The AI completely ignores your companions, they can run in front of a bandit and the guy couldn't care less. Enemies actually try to take alternative routes to get you and flank you, but most of the time they just barge into the room and stand there thinking "now what?". Your companions are pretty much invisible when sneaking, so you don't really have to care about them unless they are grabbed by an enemy. This made me really detach from my character and I didn't really care for my companions much.

    There are also some design problems I do not really understand like weapon mechanics. Shivs are used to kill the clickers, but you lose them every time you use them, like ammo. Since when are knives one use only? Same with some of the melee weapons, steel pipes go bad after 7 hits. Some weapons are badly unbalanced, like the shotgun. In later stages of the game, where soldiers have bulletproof vests and helmets it can take up to 4 shotgun body shots to kill one soldier from about 4-5 meters away. To make it more ridiculous max ammo for the shotgun is like 16 rounds.

    Overall, it's not a bad game, but it isn't nowhere the GOTY and I think the 10/10 reviewers didn't play through the whole game. About half way into the game I was already tired of collecting the same items over and over again and playing hide and seek with the bandits on stages clearly designed for combat (scattered objects to use as cover which are placed so obviously, upon seeing them you know there will be enemies around). I was hoping for another experience like in "The Walking Dead" but unfortunately I am very disappointed.

    Positive:
    + Good script and game setting
    + Awesome, but rare cut scenes
    + Environments
    + Animations and voice acting
    + Ellie character

    Negative:
    - Graphics
    - Linear and very predictable story
    - Lack of interactivity with the characters
    - Dumb AI
    - Some game mechanics
    Expand
  46. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This game has an excelent history, the relation of Joel and Ellie are fascinating. The graphics are amazing too, considering the limits of PS3. It´s not an open world game, but its wonderful.
  47. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Riveting graphic, intense storyline and relentless awesomeness. Kudos to Naughty Dog for making such a great game of all times. Looking forward to see more games like this.
  48. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Wow, just wow. Naughty Dog has always been my favourite game developers, why? Because they always succeed with their games. And this game was no exception. Naughty Dog have worked really, really hard with the environment ,story and dialogues, not to mention how the characters move and react. I could see that in the beginning of the game, when the girl moved with quiet steps in the big house looking for her dad. Maybe not the best description but if you play the game, you will notice) I am absolutely speechless about this game. Every move and everywhere you go, you sort of jump in to the game. I haven't got this feeling since I played the Half-life franchise, which is a pretty old game.
    I understand why this game got over 50 perfect scores. This and three other Naughty Dog games is on my number 10 list, with this one going number 1 and Jak II: Renegade going number 2 I can only say that Naughty Dog, you just made another masterpiece!
    Expand
  49. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    This game is on my short list for perfect 10's. Few games come to mind that are close to this caliber of top notch presentation, amazing story, and superb game play. This is a true return to survival horror, a genre many fans felt disappeared after Resident Evil 4 (some say even before that). I honestly haven't even started to play multiplayer yet, but I only hear good to great things about it. I know it's a little late in the current gen to say this, but this is a system seller of a game if I have ever played one! Expand
  50. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Let's see... Do you like story-driven games with immersive voice acting/cut-scenes and great gameplay? If yes, then this game is for you. The Last of Us is one of the best games this gen and I recommend to every (real) gamer out there. Have fun!
  51. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Actually i dident wanna give this game a 10/10, why? well because this game is BRILLIANT! but no perfect! this game sets the bar for other games in the future, but it sets the bar high for itsealf as well.. normally in other games you would look past that the AI sometimes acts a bit wird, like not seeing your AI friend, though i must say it does not do that often!! but the game itself is such a high standart that you can't ignore it like in other games! this games is THE best narrative story game ever!! you get attach to this game like no other and you really feel their pain and love from the characters, the graph is stunning and the gameplay is fantastic! i would love to give this game perhaps 9.8, meaning it is so freaking good, but not perfect! but when you see Reviews from former Xbox loosers who rates it 0 or 4.. thats so dumb.. its so freaking dumb, and thats why i have to give it a full 10!! its like a film guy who loves titanic gets to review Resident evil.. dont.. this game is the best PS3 game, and possibly the best console game ever made! dont miss out! Expand
  52. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    In short, this is "THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE" A perfect masterpiece in every aspect. Great gameplay.... fun, intense, realistic, and challenging ! Brilliant story, filled with a lot of emotions that will keep you so attached to this game and its characters ! Outstanding graphics, amazing and realistic animations, and breathtaking cut-scenes ! A remarkable experience that you would never forget Expand
  53. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This is hands down the best game I've ever played. Awesome gameplay. And the story is by far the best in any game.
    It is also the first game ever that has made me cry.
    Naughty Dog gets everything right with this game. The voice acting, environment, characters, atmosphere and music is amazing.
  54. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Boy was I wrong in my initial review. This is by far the most stunning game I have ever played. Yes the game at times gets very repetitive (look for things sneak around repeat) and graphics (not design) are a bit outdated but can't really score it low because the level design, characters and game are just the best. I love how the characters emotions grow and change throughout the game.

    I really hope naughty dog work a bit harder on the game play next time and change it up so it isn't just about looking for materials for crafting and sneaking around. Otherwise the game is perfect. Best PS3 game by far. I thought Uncharted 2 would be my fond memory of my ps3 but The Last of Us gives us an amazing farewell to the current generation of consoles.
    Expand
  55. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Eu não sei o que eu posso dizer sobre este jogo, sem revelar nada, mas vou dizer-lhe que facilmente entre os dez primeiros jogos que eu joguei, e joguei um monte de jogos bons, também os personagens de Joel e Ellie são absolutamente brilhante, acho que Ellie tem uma premissa tão incrível, e Joel parece ter sido afetado pela infecção de uma forma bastante realista. A única b ad coisa que posso dizer sobre este jogo que, como bom como eu não acho que para todo mundo, algumas pessoas podem ser adiadas pela atmosfera e violência dentro do jogo, enquanto alguns vão amá-lo pelo mesmo motivo. Se você está pensando em comprar este jogo, então eu recomendo comprá-lo. Expand
  56. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    My real score would be a 9.5 but im just rounding it up. The graphics and story are 10/10 but the gameplay would be like an 8 for me. Also the friendly ai can get in your way sometimes but nothing too bad.
  57. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us um dos melhores jogos que eu já joguei. Imagine que Uncharted 2/3, que parece melhor, soa melhor, tem personagens mais cativantes e uma trama mais emocional.
    Imagine que com o combate que incentiva não apenas várias playthroughs para tentar uma estratégia diferente, mas postos de recarga para obter a sua primeira estratégia certa. Mas isso realmente não faz justiça.
    Se
    você ar e procura de uma experiência nova e única, esta não perfeito, mas você deve jogá-lo de qualquer maneira. Se você estiver procurando por uma das melhores experiências que podem ser encontrados no jogo, você deve definitivamente jogar The Last of Us. Expand
  58. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    O jogo incrível acredito que a partir de agora veremos mais jogos com a mesma alma de The Last of Us, não dei 10 porque os personagens secundários durante o jogo não alteram o comportamento dos inimigos.
  59. Jun 18, 2013
    6
    This game is not bad, but it's not a 10 by a long shot. The combat and movement are sluggish and frustrating at times. The story is predictable and while it looks pretty, there are definitely better looking games out for PS3 at the moment. The crafting and upgrade systems are shallow and disappointing, as is the looting, but then, one should be mindful that this is a shooter, not an RPG. Some areas have multiple, clever ways of dispatching enemies, but all too often the player is simply fighting off wave after wave of enemies, and it get boring quickly. There is very little ammo, which is fine for a survival/adventure game, but this game is predominantly a shooter, and then it gets very frustrating.

    Voice acting and music is great! But a game needs more than that. Rent, don't buy.
    Expand
  60. Jun 15, 2013
    5
    Okay...so a 5 is what this game gets. And YES...I played it, today actually, after spending $60 and kicking myself afterwards. This game is all hype. I bought PS3 JUST to play this game. (I'm an X-Boxer) So disappointed. This is not really a Survival genre game, but a Shooter mainly. It absolutely mimics Uncharted...couple of minutes looking around, picking stuff up...and then shoot shoot shoot for 30 minutes! Just some zombies thrown in, but not until like 2 hrs. in. If you want to buy this game with sweet memories of Dead Island or the Walking Dead (Telltale) in mind...please don't! This is Uncharted...period. Yes, the graphics are Beautiful! And I really do like the characters/storyline. I just think that a lot of us were mislead into thinking this game was something it's not. Shooter fans will love it! Quest lovers won't. Expand
  61. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    i am amazed at Sony for putting out a must own masterpiece at the end of every console cycle. The PS2 had God of War 2 and now PS3 has The Last of Us. I felt i was in a post apocalyptic world and that doom was right around the corner at every moment. The thrills and scares in this game are perfect, the graphics are mind blowing, and the acting and story just rival block buster movies to perfection. Please get this game ASAP and shame on the pathetic nintendo and xbot fanboys spreading hate on the reviews to lower the score... it is so stupid when everyone knows the last of us eclipses any crap from the other consoles Expand
  62. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    Now, I don't really buy games as much as I used to now that I'm older, though I do follow the gaming industry closely and tend to buy only the "best" games that come out. When I do play a game though, I take it seriously, and want something that hooks me with a good balance of challenge and reward, and great gameplay. Well with the hype this game had behind it and the scores how could I have been ripped off by another game like bioshock infinite (which blatantly dumbed down and removed gameplay)? Welp I was, and I've officially lost complete faith in gaming. This game is living proof that gaming is dead. It's been more than 8 years since the release of resident evil 4, yet this game doesn't even attempt to outdo gameplay standards set in the survival genre this game is (laughably) trying to claim it belongs to. In fact, it's gameplay should be completely unacceptable in the year 2013, but the unwashed masses who bought into the console craze "because of duh grafix!" will throw their hands in the air and claim this and every other overhyped game like it is "duh best game evarrr!!!". I'm sorry but if you only play games for the graphics, blood, and story, and you don't value gameplay you are not a gamer, and I am now convinced the mainstream console audience and the audience these games are aimed at are not gamers. This game is nothing different than the same old handholdy LCD shooter we've been seeing all generation long, cover based shooting, simplistic gameplay leading you from cutscene to cutscene, checkpoints every few steps, dull brown and grey graphics, ect. The only reason this game is getting so much praise is because of the hype behind it, people are like sheep and go right along with the hype, afraid to say anything that conflicts with common opinion. If the game wasn't made by naughty dog and had no hype behind it, it wouldn't be getting anywhere near the praise. Want proof? Look at all the good reviews, all they say is "best game evarrrrr", they won't give reasons though, and if they do they're related to graphics or some other element irrelevant to the game itself or how it plays. The game is also awfully glitchy considering it's made by "The best developer of this generation", what a joke, can't even get the save system right, me and my friend had to play it all in 1 sitting, not like it matters because games today are so short and simple. I seriously wonder how long it will be until they phase gameplay out all together and just go back to making FMV games, or QTE driven games, because mark my word, that's the direction these amateur developers who run the industry are setting gaming up to be headed in. R.I.P. gaming. Expand
  63. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    The Last of Us is that rare game that shows us what kind of potential the aging PS3 still has within itself. The Last of Us is a survival-horror game by Naughty Dog (creators of the Uncharted Series) that shows us just how bad life in a post apocalyptic world can be. With breathtaking graphics its hard not to call The Last of US one of the most visually stunning games of recent history. The visual elements aren't even the tip of the iceberg for this gem. Sporting a compelling story and memorable main characters The Last of Us certainly brings alot to the table. There are some A.I. issues at times usually at times of tension where you have to be stealthy to avoid enemies but, your A.I. companions just carry out like like they own the place.The Last of Us is also one of the few (if not only) survival horror to include a multiplayer mode. While I haven't spent a lot of time playing multiplayer it feels like a generic team deathmatch with vague objectives. Overall, The Last of Us is one of the best survival horror games released on the PS3 and I wouldn't mind revisiting in another iteration on the PS4. Expand
  64. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Story/premise: The Last of Us plot is unpredictable and truly terrifying, but it's about the two main characters, Joel and Ellie as they form a father/daughter relationship as they traverse through a post-apocalyptic United States claimed by nature. The story is dark and brutal, more so than any other game that I've ever played before. The infected in this game
    is something unprecedented
    in the post-apocalytpic genre, as the humans are mutated and infected by a fungus known as Cordyceps.

    Visuals: The visuals of the Last of Us is beautiful and stunning. The textures are so rich in detail. Everything from the foliage, to the characters, to the world's objects are rife with details that one would think it's impossible for an 8 year old hardware to pump such impressive visuals. It might not be a huge leap from how Uncharted: Drake's Fortune to Uncharted 2: Among Thieves was, but it is certainy a leap, nonetheless. But that is to be expected from a developer that pushed the boundaries of graphics ahead of any game on consoles. It safe to say that The Last of Us in some way surpasses Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, many would agree this is the best looking game on consoles, and I agree.
    Considering how Naughty Dog used every juice left in the PS3's aging hardware, it definitely is the best looking game on consoles.

    Gameplay: The gameplay is as I expected. Although to some it may not be fun due to the fact that the combat is supposed to be in a way realistic. Joel is a veteran, brutal and ruthless survivor, but that does not make him a super-solider where he could aim a gun with 100% accuracy, that's not to be expected from a game like The Last of Us.
    Joel wobbles and has a sense of weight as he aims with his guns that he acquires throughout his journey, and that adds a sense of desperation and tension to the combat, it's really fun and challenging at the same time. But, of course, you could always improve the aiming and lessen the wobbly-ness by upgrading your skills by acquiring supplements throughout the game's
    world. The crafting system is one of the best I've ever seen in a game, it's also all in real-time, so that adds another sense of tension as you have to be careful when to craft items. Fortunately, you're able to upgrade your skills to quickly craft an item. That being said, you're not able to upgrade all of Joel's skills at one-playthrough, so this encourages
    players to play again through the New Game Plus option that retains your skills and upgrades from the previous saved game.
    The close melee combat in the game is also brutal as you're able to pick up planks, pipes and hatchets and even upgrade them with spikes and barbed wires. It's effective to a certain extent, as the weapons you carried can break after a certain amount of hits than you've dealt to an enemy. The durability and strength of each weapon varies.
    The gameplay also gives you the option to whether go in guns-blazing, but that's kind of a bad idea as ammos are scarce or if a player prefers to play stealthly. I can say that the stealth aspect of the game is fun. Joel can go into a Listen Mode that gives a highlight to enemies near by that makes sound, that adds another way for you to plan your next move and strategize.
    You also have the ability to crouch this time around and the cover system is much more dynamic than what we're used to in the Uncharted games. Keep in mind that the Clickers are able to kill you in one bite, so you have to be careful, but you're still able to kill them with a shiv. Both the infecteds and the human conflicts and encounters are both equally challenging as the dynamic AI is unlike anything I've seen before.
    Ellie does occasionally help by throwing a bottle or brick at an enemy when Joel is in danger, she'd also come running to you to help you as she stabs an enemy to free you. The same goes to other secondary characters that'll join in the adventure for a awhile. Replayability in this game is what you'd expect from games like the Uncharted series, with a lot of collectibles to find. The game took me literally 25 hours to complete as I was scouring every nook and cranny in the game for supplies. This is definitely the longest game, Naughty Dog has ever made. Add multiplayer, and you've got yourself a game worth purchasing.
    Sound design: The sound design is astonishing and highly detailed in basically everything, but most of all is the terrifying sound of the Runners and Clickers that'll surely keep some players' heart pumping as they hear the clicking sound of a Clicker. Soundtrack is emotional and stunning.

    This game is a masterpiece and I can see why, with all the praise and perfect scores it garnered, this is one of the greatest game of this generation and probably of all time and one that'll surely be discussed for years to come. I give this game a perfect score. The ending certainly got me thinking for days, it was something unpredictable.
    Expand
  65. Jun 16, 2013
    1
    This game is not as good as some may say. if you like a slow game that is stealth based then maybe. dont buy this game if you want action or a fast pace. the graphics are better than uncharted but the rest of the game is worse. the controls suck and are sluggish. the combat is so bad that you almost have to play the game stealthy. not worth $60. maybe worth $30 for a used copy if you really want to play it. dont buy this game expecting alot other than good graphics and keep you hopes low so maybe you wont be disappointed. just my opinion but this game is WAY over rated. Expand
  66. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    I don't think I have ever played a game like this. Saying this game was great would be an understatement. The game has an amazing story and is also helped by its incredible gameplay and characters. You take the role of Joel in a post-apocalyptic world, your job is to take Ellie (who I believe is the character of this generation) to a rebel group "the Fireflies". During your journey you will find characters that you can love and also hate. Not only Joel and Ellie's love grow, your love for these characters will also grow. If you can play one game in your life PLAY THIS!!! Expand
  67. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    The Last of Us. Extremely favorable reviews seem to follow this game everywhere. But I cannot seem to figure out why. Graphics are OK. Nothing special, nothing new. I myself found FarCry 3's graphics much better. I am a huge fan of survival horror games but this is neither. It's just a stealth game with limited ammo, and the gameplay is clunky and repetitive. The story is boring and predictable and never really shines. The characters are drab and I forgot about them as soon as I finished the game. I had to force myself to finish it by the way. I am appalled at the good reviews this game has been getting. Do yourself a huge favor, Rent first! One of the WORST games I have ever played. Shame on you developers and critics alike. Expand
  68. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    After the first 3 hours or so, this game really opens up. It's boring til that point, but then becomes something you can't put down. The graphics are beautiful and the story is incredibly well-written. You feel a bond with them and genuinely want to see them succeed.
  69. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Look, without spoiling anything, I will just say this: The Last of Us is one of the best games of all time, no exaggeration. If you're a (real) gamer you will enjoy this. I don't recommend for those that don't pay attention to stories though, because Story is the best thing about this game. Buy this masterpiece!
  70. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Okay, this is the final review update. There is stuff mentoned some pricks may consider a minor spoilers.

    After the prologue, where you can already drool over borderline next-gen graphics, game slows to a crawl and stays there for some 4-5 hours about 1/4 of the whole game. During that time, not much interesting happens, you'll just learn about the game mechanics and weird and somewhat
    clunky control scheme.

    You may also notice a bunch of bugs and graphical glitches the game has quite a lot of those, especially when compared to Uncharted games.

    Eventually you'll meet the guy named Bill and things will slowly get better. You'll start to get the hang of stealth and combat and, more importantly, the story of Joel and Ellie will start grow on you. To be honest, caring about the main characters is the main drive of the whole game, because while stealth will get good, it never quite gets great and shooting on its own felt kinda crappy all the way till the end.

    The resulting mix of stealth and action does however feel very natural and not being for various AI cheats, The Last of Us would have passed for a great stealth game. But the AI cheats and that kinda undermines your efforts to stay hidden. Enemies sometims just start walking towards you for no reason, or some script will send them your way, or reinforcements will come from who knows where, already aware of your position, etc. The hearing mechanics that allows you to detect enemies behind obstacles if they are making noise does not work on those in "other areas" and it is not good when "nobody around" turns into "four guys right in front of you" just because you walked through some door or went up the stairs.

    AI cheating is probably the problem #1 I have with this game. There are various less important things there, actualy there is quite a lot of them TLoU certainly could use more polish on many fronts but I'd say that only the AI related stuff has serious impact on gamplay. (Ok, maybe some "levels" like hotel or campus could be shorter and the part in the snowstorm was boring pain in the ass.)

    Relationship between Joel and Elie is the meat of the story the events through the game are but a way to shape that relationship and the ending, while emotionaly strong, was quite predictable in its conclusion.

    At first I thought TLoU is a failed game that I Am Alive is a better choice with similiar atmosphere. But nah, the strengths of The Last of Us lie elsewhere. You have to endure some mediocore gameplay to get to the good stuff, but in the end it was worth it. It won't be a GOTY for me, but it is definitely up there.
    Expand
  71. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This game is superb. I'm at a loss of words when trying to figure out how Naughty Dog could come up with such a masterpiece, but yet again, when have they not? This is a must own for ALL gamers.
  72. Jul 3, 2013
    4
    What happens when you create a game where stealth is absolutely dreadful and combine it with retarded crafting system? The most OVERHYPED game of the year 2013. I've had my share of these games earlier and im just about sick of playing these "games" where you watch cut scenes every 5 minutes.

    First of all, how come you make medic pack from a rag and alcohol? That's right, you shouldn't
    be able to do it. Instead of putting lots of tiny details into the game or hiding looting items to smart places they have to throw items into our faces. Somehow i don't see how its possible to find everything so easily in police controlled state. Without forgetting there is some kinda virus lurking around and people are going crazy.

    Graphics aren't top class either and there just doesn't seem to be enough freedom of exploring in the game. This leaves the game dumbed down and ultimately a very boring experience.

    [Remember that by thumbing all opinions down you are supporting game makers and developers to make more cash in games for casuals, like this one.]
    Expand
  73. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us centers around a man and his companion, Ellie. They travel across the country in search of a cure for a virus that has threatened to eliminate mankind. The virus is a fungus, and over time it's victims become very grotesque and disturbing. There are 3 main enemies (not counting the military and other humans), they are "Clickers", "Runners", and "Bloaters". Bloaters being the toughest of the tough, and clickers being downright terrifying. Along the way they meet other survivors who are not trying to kill them, and trust me there are a lot trying to kill them, and you begin to develop feelings for these characters. Especially the two main characters. The gameplay was fantastic and left you with enough ammo to have fun, but not enough to make this game centered around action. This game is about stealth and although I went combat due to the amount of time it would have taken me if I would have been sneaky, I still found it to be an incredible game. That's why I give it 10 Clickers out of 10. Expand
  74. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Don't know how people can review this game red. I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion but come on! Zero?! I noticed that the reviewer who scored it this low also scored Battlefield 3 a 10 out of 10. I think multiplayer FPSs are probably more his cup of tea. I'm not a massive fan of that genre but I do know good gameplay, a strong narrative and great graphics when I see them. This game has got a few flaws I agree, but bad graphics is definitely not one of them (he surely must have been playing a different game). This is a slow paced, stealth orientated adventure game. You have to be patient and play strategically. The multiplayer might be a bit more fast paced but I wouldn't know as I haven't experienced that side of it yet. This is a game you take your time with, lose yourself in and you really will get the best out of it. On a side note, what about that prologue? In a word...stunning. As is the game overall. Expand
  75. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played in my life!!!!!! I will certainly play this again after i finish it.Those who gave it a negative review are just Xbox fanboys who are stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!
  76. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This game is sick, from the demo to the full release it deserves a 10 all the way! I'm tired of people saying this game is over-rated or not a survival game, because dieing has no adverse effects other then having to re-do a segment of the game. First off, you want to talk about over rated? Go look up some reviews for COD or Halo or Gears. I mean these god damn fan boys ruin gaming for all of us you can have your own personal opinion but please, you wouldn't know over rated if it smacked you in the face? Naughty Dog is possibly one of the best video game developers around every game they make is a top tier triple A blockbuster and idc what anyone says. And touching on the point of survival NOT EVERY GAME IS DAY Z OR STATE OF DECAY. I mean its absolutely foolish to say it doesn't punish you enough for dieing so its not a survival game? I mean really? Is dead space not survival horror? Is RE 4 not survival horror, i mean honestly people complain that current gen games are running out of creativity and then you don't make it like another game and every bi**hes its crazy. But for everyone out there who's not a fool, this game deserves your attention. Stunning graphically, combat and controls are perfect, I started playing last night and had a serious debate about calling out of work! Multiplayer is fun but not as good as the campaign if you haven't picked this game up yet DO IT, NOW!! lol Expand
  77. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. I woke up to play it this morning played for 10 hours, than started on a harder difficulty. Really great story, has an emotional weight laced throughout the game, and had great game play to boot with the addition of the crafting system. Definitely a must own, and game of the year. Story beats the Walking dead telltale series, and Infinite Story. If you can handle the tear jerking I highly suggest you get this game and experience the pS3s Swan Song. Expand
  78. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Gorgeous game that done almost perfectly. You just start playing and time disappears to you! Superb characters and storytelling. The toughest and bloodiest fightings feels very real. Unprecedented attention to details. Great graphic, especially interior lighting have never seen such great almost photo-realistic light! Must have for everyone that plays!
  79. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Here it is the beginning of the end film industry. None of the films made in the last few years, did not cause me so many emotions. If such high quality games will start to appear more frequently than once every 5 years, the movie has no chance!
  80. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog at it's Best!

    Brilliant Characters, Storyline and Gameplay Maybe to Hard for some, but the apocalypse is not for ****

    A Milestone!
  81. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Best game ever, I'm at the museum and I can't believe how so well made is everything... I don't get the bad critics, probably come from.angry xbox fans, there is nit other reason.
  82. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Game of the generation. I never thought I would give that title to a AAA title, but this game has it all. Great writing, amazing graphics, pitch-perfect gameplay, and loads of suspense. If Uncharted was a horror franchise it would be The Last of Us. Take all of the action/adventure set pieces of the UC franchise and turn them into suspense/horror. I was literally on the edge of my seat last night when I was playing this game. I think I'm pretty far in, and so far I'm completely blown away by how amazing this game is. If Naughty Dog could make this on the PS3, I can;'t wait to see what they do on the PS4. Collapse
  83. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    This game truly innovates at its own pace, the story is compelling, the graphics are stunning and the game design immerses you in a daunting post apocalyptic future.
  84. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Amazing game, great levels and story events, but it don't deserve a score that high. It's a stealth/action third person game like many others. I would compare it to Hitman: Absolution with poorer graphics and a better storyline.
  85. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    The best game i have ever played.
    Almost every part of this game is incredible.

    Beautiful graphics and environments, stunning cutscenes that almost make you forget that its a game.
    Perfect gameplay. Nothing is complicated, and its always varied. There is unlimited ways to approach most of the combat sections of the game, stealth, guns blazing, evasion. You can do it however you want,
    and it never feels repetitive.

    The characters are possibly the best a game has had, voice acting/cutscenes and the way the story is told make this game feel incredibly real. I felt genuinely attached to what happened and really cared about the story.
    Expand
  86. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    One of my top 10 of all time. Amazing game. This is how you tell a linear story a narrative that moves through the whole game seamlessly. There's only so much you can do with this genre/setting, but Naughty Dog keeps it fresh. Anyone writing crap reviews is angry over the save bug (fixed) or they're just not into a game that's about mood, story & characters. If you just want to shoot stuff and be OP, you're more than welcome to stay away. Expand
  87. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    There isn't a game that can be called "perfect", however there are games where the pros are so many and are so perfectly executed that there is no way a couple of flaws in the game are going to affect your entire experience while playing it.
    The Last of Us is one of those games where even if the game has his fare share of flaws they never seemed to affect the entire experience.
    The good
    things about the game are well... pretty much everything that you would consider to make an amazing modern game, everything is in there, the voice acting is incredible, the graphics and visuals are stunning.
    Meanwhile i was playing i couldn't avoid to just stop for a minute to look at every inch of detail that is being put on to the graphics, is just stunningly beautiful to just see how much effort was put into this specific department.
    Aside from that, the gameplay is just excellent.
    To me playing the last of us was an amazing experience, that not that many games out there makes me have for so long as the last of us has had me experiencing, the crafting system is clean, fast, easy, and rewarding, whenever i felt like i was in a foxhole because a hunter was coming straight at me, i just went and checked what i could craft that might kill him or at least distract him long enough for me to make my next move, and the end result was just him going up into flames caused by the just crafted molotov that i threw to him.
    The story is the huge thing about "The Last of Us" is just one of those stories that keep getting much more complex and at the same time much more interesting while you keep playing it through, without getting to a point where it becomes tedious or annoyingly complex like some other amazing games might happen to have.
    Every character is just extremely likable, even the ones that want you to feel mildly disgusted by them they just seem to have such an appreciation that comes from the player just on how well done they are for you to feel that way about them.
    This being made by the excellent voice acting the top notch animations both in cutscenes and in gameplay and of course the stunning visuals that are the most noticeable aspect of the game by many.
    So the story is excellent, the graphics are gorgeous, and the gameplay is fun and entertaining, well, how about the audio, the voice acting and the animations?
    Im pleased to say that each and every single one of those departments delivers such an awesome and dedicated job just as the others.
    The voice acting is amazing one of the best i've ever heard in any video game, is just flawless in most of the different situations that you hear it.
    You can tell when they're scared and shocked by something, even if in some cases it my recycle, like when you bash someones skull with a pipe and then you take cover, Ellie would say "holy s**t Joel!" and then you just go and shoot someone in the head and she would say the line again. But it's never something that breaks you out of the experience although is something obviously noticeable.
    The animations are are the most incredible animations that i've ever seen in a game in my life, and i've played pretty much 90% of games that have come out since the snes, is just flawless when i saw Joel's mouth cringe and his general facial expression showing a sign of struggle coming from a hunter trying to slit his throat with a glass shard, it just adds so much to the experience seeing the animations of this game perform flawlessly in combat or in different small chats that Joel and Ellie might have from time to time.

    In conclusion i think "The Last of Us" is the best game for the ps3 and one of the best games that i've ever played is just impressive how Naughty Dog just used every single tool from modern technology and managed to deliver an incredible experience that is gruesome, heartbreaking, and extremely violent in every single way possible, and at the same time just leave you with your stomach tight, your head still and your jaw dropped from playing such a masterpiece.
    Expand
  88. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Yet another amazing game from the studio Naughty Dog. Phenomenal voice acting, gameplay, soundtrack, immersion, atmosphere. The multiplayer is also very interesting with its tense, strategic, gameplay mechanics. You know you are getting your money's worth and more when you purchase a Naughty Dog game.
  89. Jun 18, 2013
    3
    First 15 minutes are great, after that the games has its moments (especially in the beginning) but then it starts to lose its charm. gameplay average third person shooting, solid brawling (good feel), kinda plagued with "gimme a hand" moments, graphic and sound are great, lot of really nice touches in the environment and animations of Joel and Ellie, good dialogues and not so great story (few WTF moments and taking the way too much risky road for the sake of actiony gameplay). Giving it a lower score to balance out other overhyped reviews. (imo it is 6-7/10) Expand
  90. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing. No game has ever provoked such desperation in me. I thrive to stay alive even though you get to repeat a section if you fail. This truly is a milestone in gaming. The amount of appreciation I have for naughty dog is at an all time high. Wizardry!
  91. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Surpreendente jogo, a volta do genero survival com uma imersão profunda nas hisotria e nos personagens. Um ponto positivo para o audio que impressiona muito. O melhor jogo de survival da geração.
  92. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I rarely give a 10 to any game, but since I started playing The Last of Us, I just cannot put it down. It is an awesome experience. Whoever says the graphics are not that good clearly have no idea what they are talking about and are just hating for the sake of hating, this game is gorgeous, nothing better out there right now.
  93. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    I have to comment on other's reviews on this game. Some say the beginning is boring and takes long to start bu really if you cant enjoy a good story and prefer action junkie games that is fine, no need for your comments.The multiplayer is amazing! Never have i seen a game push players to use stealth like this game I rated this 10 because for one thing, great facial expression. Nothing makes me feel better than putting someone in a sleeper hold and being able to turn the camera and see the perfeft expression, rather than most games where they pass out with this face And *short tiny unimportant spoiler) when the first important character dies, the FACIAL EXPRESSION URGHHH eminated real emotions :P anyways completely worth the money. Why are you still reading this you could've bought the game already and seen for yourself. ALSO if you can't appreciate a good game and prefer something like Dead Island, I pity your console. Expand
  94. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    I just finished this game on hard (about to start it on survivor), and it blew me away. Everything about The Last of us is crisp and clean. The gameplay is stellar and will have you're heart racing with intense moments around every corner. Needles to say, the voice acting and story are what really stand out about it. If you aren't moved by this game then there may be something wrong with you. Anyways, if you have a ps3 and don't have this game, go get it. NOW. You won't regret it. $60 well spent. Oh and the multiplayer is icing on the cake. I'm having loads of fun with it too. I can't wait until some of my friends get this to play it with me. Expand
  95. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog hit this one out of the park. Absolutely stunning. I have rarely experienced a video game that was so....satisfying. With an emotional, 20 minute introduction this game stole my heart and refused to let go. I laughed, I cried, I got angry, I got scared, I panicked, I loved and I hated. It was a of emotions that went out with a bang; the effects of the ending linger in me still.

    Right from the beginning it is apparent how much work went into this masterpiece. Every area, every object and every character is rendered in exquisite detail. Small things like a reflection in a glossy portrait to a bandage you freshly placed on a wounded body all add up to an experience that feels ultimately...real. You feel the desperation of this broken world .

    To complement this you are given, in true Naughty Dog fashion, an amazing cast of characters. Every character is unique with his or her own circumstances. You come to like character and hate them almost immediately. Joel and Ellie in particular portray a natural chemistry that you rarely see even in cinema. Ashley Johnson's performance of Ellie sinks it home, showing you just how amazing mo-cap can be.

    Almost overshadowing these strong points is a breathtaking score by Gustavo Santaolalla. Naughty Dog could not have picked a better composer. Gustavo's acoustic guitar chills you to the bone and each track is ultimate crafted to deliver each scene perfectly. The sound effects as well help blur the lines between reality and fantasy. The clicking sounds of a Clicker serves as an awesome example of small sound effects causing real emotion. You will panic. A lot.

    Overall it is just really difficult to put words into what this game makes you feel. If you have a PS3 and have not played this game, you are doing yourself a disservice. Even if it doesn't affect you the same way it has me there is no denying the experience being worthwhile. Do it.
    Expand
  96. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    The only thing I can really say about The Last of Us is that its something, as a gamer, your gonna want to experience. It has no Uncharted esc moments of epic superhero fun. In fact in this game you can't really say that you are playing as "heroes" and the people you are brutally killing, aren't always bad guys. Its the sort of game that sends chills up your back and keeps you up at night after you finish it. I can't recommend this enough to lovers of good games or good stories. Not only is this a definitive system seller for the Playstation is cements Naughty Dog as a system seller themselves. After seeing this sort of game I don't need to have an announcement or knowledge of what NG will bring to the PS4. Just knowing that they're gonna keep making games is enough to make me fork out my cash and put my faith in Playstation. Expand
  97. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I will mention only graphic here. While the graphic slowdown and jaggies occasionally happen, its just a reminder of how old PS3 is, not the lag of talent of Naught Dog team. The lighting and shadow casting are the best in games. But the most important thing is this game had presences the most beautiful apocalypse world ever made. Developers had taken great care on building every detail of the whole city to the smallest detail. The roads, trees, toys, books, posters and everything had been crafted and destructed perfectly to make you believe. Just travelling around the game is worth $60. I can't hardly wait to see this game and more Naughty Dog's games on PS4. Expand
  98. Jun 23, 2013
    1
    God damn it, The Last of Us™ is not only criminally overrated, but an actively bad game. The plot is bereft of any innovation, and is advanced only by long, LONG cutscenes which lead to MASSIVE 'cinematic' walking/running from point A to point B, stopping only to shift the occasional ladder or mash buttons in unfun quicktime events. This part of the gameplay (which essentially amounts to poorly rendered cutscenes and is obvious filler) is only broken up by further cutscenes or sudden outbreaks of chest-high walls, which precipitate another tedious bout of the game's stiff, unresponsive and awkward third-person shooter aspect.

    Do you see all the perfect scores this overblown, poorly designed travesty got? RIP gaming journalism. If you know anyone that considers this game more than a 5 out of 10, put them down. The infection has already taken their mind, and you're doing them a mercy they don't deserve.
    Expand
  99. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is simply a wonder to behold. Joel, Ellie and all ancillary characters are the most developed characters I've ever had the pleasure of encountering in a video game. This is not only the best game to be released during this generation of consoles but maybe the best piece of media as well. Bravo Naughty Dog. I can't get enough of this masterpiece.
  100. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is why I play video games, and is truly the PS3's mantra for games to come.. I've yet to ever post any type of fan boy esque review, but if there ever was a time, this is it. Sucker Punch has continued to provide my beloved console with gems (ie Uncharted) but this epic creation is on a whole new level. Almost enough for one to buy the console just to experience it. From its breathtaking visuals, it's writing, it's ability to make you feel and keep you glued in from setpiece to setpiece, it is perhaps the best video game I've ever played (30+ years of gaming). MGS4 set the bar a while ago and this has blown it out of the water. Don't even think about it. Go out and not only buy this today, but keep it as it will be talked about for years to come. God bless you Sucker punch and PS3. Expand
  101. Jun 17, 2013
    0
    Game of the generation. I never thought I would give that title to a AAA title, but this game has it all. Great writing, amazing graphics, pitch-perfect gameplay, and loads of suspense. If Uncharted was a horror franchise it would be The Last of Us. Take all of the action/adventure set pieces of the UC franchise and turn them into suspense/horror. I was literally on the edge of my seat last night when I was playing this game. I think I'm pretty far in, and so far I'm completely blown away by how amazing this game is. If Naughty Dog could make this on the PS3, I can;'t wait to see what they do on the PS4. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    97
    Flawless in its ambition and almost perfect in its execution. A brave and remarkable game quite unlike any other.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    The Last of Us is a great action-adventure game that manages to capture the feeling of post-apocalypse and survival. The story is alright but way too manipulative and borrows heavily from other, better, material. Still the segmented survival gameplay and the amazing audiovisual production makes the game an experience everybody should check out.
  3. Despite the breakneck pace of the prologue, it takes quite a while for The Last of Us to pick up some speed again. However, once the cold harsh winter arrives, the action (and story) ramps up. So much so, it puts most Hollywood productions to shame. [July 2013, p.76]