• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of a rough military quarantine, but what begins as a simple job quickly turns into a brutal journey across the country. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece, that breaks the self imposed barriers of gaming narrative and ensnares the player with intelligent gameplay and brilliant A.I. Anyone wanting to tackle the same themes will have to be compared to Naughty Dog's work in the future, and it won't be pretty.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    100
    Naughty Dog has proven itself again as one of the most accomplished development teams in the world. With The Last of Us they have given us a consistent and interesting world that is supported by practically all of its game mechanics. From the rich complex combat system to the sublime sound design, this game immerses the player in one of the most visceral plots in this generation. Maybe the AI could have been better, but, overall, this game proves how far the craftsmanship of making video games has come.
  3. As a game, The Last of Us will occasionally falter. Imperfect underwater mechanics and careless friendly AI that insists on blocking your path or causing unnecessary firefights can irk, but they are very minor niggles and should be treated as such. Because as an experience, The Last of Us is powerful, emotionally draining and absolutely one of the finest games of this generation. [August 2013, p70]
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    97
    The Last of Us is a really different game, mixing traditional adventure, survival, action, stealth and constant exploration. The resources are most important. The best graphics on PlayStation 3 are back in the hands of Naughty Dog, also the atmosphere, and two unrepeatable and unforgettable characters. Overwhelming.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    With The Last of Us developer Naughty Dog switches from the easy entertainment that is Uncharted, to the more serious stuff. Despite their differences, both games prove to be of unprecedented high levels of quality, from a studio that controls their ability to create games into the smallest detail. Thanks to its unique pace and adult story The Last of Us has become an experience that has no equal.
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    The Last of Us merges very good gameplay with a peerless story and unequaled production values. While it just misses transcendent status you won't find very many games that are more worth the investment of your time.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    60
    There is no risk of failure in a game like this. There is only the risk of having the play the same section yet again. In a survival game, that’s anathema. A survival game without meaningful death isn’t a survival game. It’s just a game.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    This is a really funny game, you will pass hours in front of the ps3 without notice it. You really have to try this. Brilliant history, the atmosphere is unique and the gameplay is really fun. If you want to pass a really nice time try this one, you won't regreat it. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    2013. For a good couple of years as a dx11 pc gamer I had once again placed my ps3 at doorstop level (aside from the odd multimedia stream here and there) always ready to catch a glimpse of the next console exclusive. Then The Last of Us was released.
    WOW!!!
    This game far exceeded every expectation I had for an end of cycle first party sony release and IMO surpassed the fine efforts of valve on HL2 in using computer technology to convey story in a way completely unique to this industry. Every moment you experience is a part of this story and the strongest character is expressed through level design. Subtle cues of audio and visual effects texture art and animation stir emotions in ways the player may have thought to be exclusive to the realm of film production. On top of this excellent singleplayer is a fantastic multiplayer that for me, really evoked a sense of play seemingly forgotten by much of this industry. Well done naughty dog and sony for helping to make this magic possible.
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us are, until now, the best game of the year. But he is also better than any game of 2012. So, it's one of the best games ever. The story is awesome, the relationship beetwen Joel and Ellie is very good. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    A real masterpiece; the story telling is so mature and breath-taking. I am glad i have bought this piece of art because i would have miss one of the best games ever made (and in the top 3 of this generation). Sony spoils its customers so well; Sony (and Naughty dogs here) are giving the PS3 the final it deserves (there's still "Beyond two souls", an other exclusive, to be released) and make us have an early glimpse of what the PS4 will offer us; and we are glad to be on this wonderful trip. Thanks so much for all of this. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    Let me start this review by describing something that makes my day. The small percentage of reviewers (in this case about 10%) that are hell-bent on completely bashing this game. I can see if you don't feel the same as people who rave about it. You are certainly entitled to your own opinion and I will always support that. However...when you take a game that (in the opinion of myself and the majority) is impressive both visually and in its gameplay, and give it a zero? Lol Not a 5, 6, or 7, but a 0! Are you serious? The reviewers who actually sound angry are the ones that amuse me the most. THIS GAME is so bad that it made you angry?!! You are showing your glaring ignorance or bias, or BOTH! Check out some of the negative reviewers and click on other reviews they've written. You'll notice that all their other submissions are for Xbox or PC. I'd be willing to bet that most haven't even really played it. Is it that important for you to bash anything Playstation? How truly sad your existence must be. Like what you like and be happy with that. Why should it bother you so much that others like something? Live and let live my friends.

    While there is no such thing as a perfect game, NO MATTER WHAT SYSTEM YOU HAVE. This is one of the best all-around games that I've played in a while. You will especially enjoy it if you are a fan of the genre.
    Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    To be honest, this game is completely overrated game ever. The graphic is great, but the gameplay is boring that can even make me sleep, and the story suck. they were saying best game ever even this game didn't release, even the zombie's design suck his head is like walnut. I have no idea why the people say this is best game ever, the truth is, it is most overrated game ever. Expand

See all 1595 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.