• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Last of Us Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 8585 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of aTwenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of a rough military quarantine, but what begins as a simple job quickly turns into a brutal journey across the country. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Last of Us - Story Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece, that breaks the self imposed barriers of gaming narrative and ensnares the player with intelligent gameplay and brilliant A.I. Anyone wanting to tackle the same themes will have to be compared to Naughty Dog's work in the future, and it won't be pretty.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    100
    Naughty Dog has proven itself again as one of the most accomplished development teams in the world. With The Last of Us they have given us a consistent and interesting world that is supported by practically all of its game mechanics. From the rich complex combat system to the sublime sound design, this game immerses the player in one of the most visceral plots in this generation. Maybe the AI could have been better, but, overall, this game proves how far the craftsmanship of making video games has come.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    As a game, The Last of Us will occasionally falter. Imperfect underwater mechanics and careless friendly AI that insists on blocking your path or causing unnecessary firefights can irk, but they are very minor niggles and should be treated as such. Because as an experience, The Last of Us is powerful, emotionally draining and absolutely one of the finest games of this generation. [August 2013, p70]
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    97
    The Last of Us is a really different game, mixing traditional adventure, survival, action, stealth and constant exploration. The resources are most important. The best graphics on PlayStation 3 are back in the hands of Naughty Dog, also the atmosphere, and two unrepeatable and unforgettable characters. Overwhelming.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    With The Last of Us developer Naughty Dog switches from the easy entertainment that is Uncharted, to the more serious stuff. Despite their differences, both games prove to be of unprecedented high levels of quality, from a studio that controls their ability to create games into the smallest detail. Thanks to its unique pace and adult story The Last of Us has become an experience that has no equal.
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    The Last of Us merges very good gameplay with a peerless story and unequaled production values. While it just misses transcendent status you won't find very many games that are more worth the investment of your time.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    60
    There is no risk of failure in a game like this. There is only the risk of having the play the same section yet again. In a survival game, that’s anathema. A survival game without meaningful death isn’t a survival game. It’s just a game.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    The Last Of us is without a doubt one of the most compelling, enjoyable and emotional games I've ever played. It evokes so many emotions andThe Last Of us is without a doubt one of the most compelling, enjoyable and emotional games I've ever played. It evokes so many emotions and once a shaky start after the prologue is over it only gets better and better. I rely felt like I was going through the pain and sometimes joy that the characters were experiencing and when a game can do that you know its doing something right. It is simply a marvel of storytelling and should not be overlooked. Its Naughty Dogs best work to date and I'm sure we've still got allot more to see from them. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten gamesI don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2015
    10
    To all the people that claim "The Last Of Us" is not at all worth the time to play or that it didn't "live up to the hype", take a breather.To all the people that claim "The Last Of Us" is not at all worth the time to play or that it didn't "live up to the hype", take a breather. You clearly went into playing this game with the wrong mindset. You played the game for the sake of playing it, i.e. to finish it and put it on your shelf filed under "Games I Played For The Sake Of Playing". That was a mistake.

    To those that went through the game and enjoyed it and rated the game so highly did so purely because they didn't race through the game. We took the time to indulge in the developer's penchant for creating a story not only worth telling, but for the player to experience. A world worth taking your time in. Characters worth listening to. If you played this game only to finish it and to not bother with again because you felt compelled to see what the hype was all about, then you could very well knock a few points off the score and berate the game's flaws (yes, I love the game but even I know the flaws are woefully apparent). But play through, I mean - experience - it again and you'll see this is a game far beyond a cover shooter or stealth game or a game reliant on choice. Having said that, the gamers that have compared this game to Telltale's masterpiece "The Walking Dead" shouldn't be so hasty. That is the most inaccurate comparison. The two games differ not only in tone, but characters, too. As well as narrative and setting. And comparing the Infected to Zombies? Please. Check the facts beforehand.

    To say "The Last Of Us" transcends its medium is a bit of a push. But this is a great game. From the shocking intro (whine all you want about the pace, the game was designed that way) to the climactic ending and all that happens in-between is a testament to when developers care about a game, great results can be achieved.

    This is Naughty Dog's finest game yet.
    Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This,this game is a masterpiece. I don't care what you think otherwise but this 50$ or £40 is the best you'll spend/or would spend inThis,this game is a masterpiece. I don't care what you think otherwise but this 50$ or £40 is the best you'll spend/or would spend in 2013/2014 Naughty Dog outdid themselves with this, it is even better than a classic for the PS one 'Crash Bandicoot'.Although the start is very hard to swallow with the slowness and the death of his daughter,but that over comes itself with the bondage that him and Ellie grow over the course of this magnificent game. The detail here is mind blowing it pushes the PS3 to the limit,i'm glad i chose this console over the XBOX 360 becuase even though if i had an XBOX 360 i would go out my way and buy a PS3 and this game,and i would play it over and over,but i have already done that and i saved some money also.All pf this was based on the Single Player,now onto the MP or what it's called in the menu 'Factions'.This game wouldn't need that game mode,it would still get those 10/10's 5/5's and 100./100's but with that stealth/survivor mode it makes the game so more fun and adds much replay value.In that mode you start with nearly nothing and it makes you open little red tool boxes with the tools part and crafting materials so you can help your team win.You going have to choose between the rebellion side and the Firefly side which are mentioned in the single player and Joel must help the firefly leader to deliver a 'Package'.But in here you don't come close to do stuff like that,you have your own 'clan' that you must need to feed and expand by doing good in your matches and then you collect 'food' to make sure your survivors are healthy well fed and not hungry.

    If you are wanting to buy this masterpiece of a game i recommend doing it now,this moment,run.
    And if you have an XBOX buy a ps3 and this game or buy the game and go to a friend that has a ps3 push him out the way and play it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This game made me cry more than 25 times. The story is epic, the gameplay is incredibly good (probably the best one I have ever seen), theThis game made me cry more than 25 times. The story is epic, the gameplay is incredibly good (probably the best one I have ever seen), the graphics are realistic just like the real life would look, and the characters are very interesting and don't give you headaches. Please, make Naughty Dog (the developer) a favor and go buy this game, or in a year or more than a month, you will be crying for not getting this game (unless you never knew about it). Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    This is an absolutely great game that grabs ahold of you from the opening scene and doesn't let go. Graphics are amazing, gameplay is polishedThis is an absolutely great game that grabs ahold of you from the opening scene and doesn't let go. Graphics are amazing, gameplay is polished and the soundtrack sets the tone for all of it. The only minor complaint I have is that "the infected" don't play a large enough role. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2017
    0
    un juego ciertamente aburrido no hay mucho que decir es malo hay muy poco por explorar hay mejores opciones que jugar ciertamente no loun juego ciertamente aburrido no hay mucho que decir es malo hay muy poco por explorar hay mejores opciones que jugar ciertamente no lo recomiendo te vas a aburrir mucho Expand

See all 1778 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.