The Last of Us PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Last of Us Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 7329 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of aTwenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of a rough military quarantine, but what begins as a simple job quickly turns into a brutal journey across the country. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece, that breaks the self imposed barriers of gaming narrative and ensnares the player with intelligent gameplay and brilliant A.I. Anyone wanting to tackle the same themes will have to be compared to Naughty Dog's work in the future, and it won't be pretty.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    100
    Naughty Dog has proven itself again as one of the most accomplished development teams in the world. With The Last of Us they have given us a consistent and interesting world that is supported by practically all of its game mechanics. From the rich complex combat system to the sublime sound design, this game immerses the player in one of the most visceral plots in this generation. Maybe the AI could have been better, but, overall, this game proves how far the craftsmanship of making video games has come.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    As a game, The Last of Us will occasionally falter. Imperfect underwater mechanics and careless friendly AI that insists on blocking your path or causing unnecessary firefights can irk, but they are very minor niggles and should be treated as such. Because as an experience, The Last of Us is powerful, emotionally draining and absolutely one of the finest games of this generation. [August 2013, p70]
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    97
    The Last of Us is a really different game, mixing traditional adventure, survival, action, stealth and constant exploration. The resources are most important. The best graphics on PlayStation 3 are back in the hands of Naughty Dog, also the atmosphere, and two unrepeatable and unforgettable characters. Overwhelming.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    With The Last of Us developer Naughty Dog switches from the easy entertainment that is Uncharted, to the more serious stuff. Despite their differences, both games prove to be of unprecedented high levels of quality, from a studio that controls their ability to create games into the smallest detail. Thanks to its unique pace and adult story The Last of Us has become an experience that has no equal.
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    The Last of Us merges very good gameplay with a peerless story and unequaled production values. While it just misses transcendent status you won't find very many games that are more worth the investment of your time.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    60
    There is no risk of failure in a game like this. There is only the risk of having the play the same section yet again. In a survival game, that’s anathema. A survival game without meaningful death isn’t a survival game. It’s just a game.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. It provides an unrivalled story experience which other developers will be hard pressed to match. It's story is leaps andThis game is amazing. It provides an unrivalled story experience which other developers will be hard pressed to match. It's story is leaps and bounds better than anything you have seen this generation or even the generation before it. The game play and story go hand in hand providing this deep and dark experience which definitely sets the mood for this game, it shows the dark truth of what people are really like through amazing character development throughout this experience. If you miss out on playing this game then you are denying yourself one of the games of this generation and maybe even one of the great games of all time. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten gamesI don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    3 Words only. Best. Game. Ever...

    Recommended for everyone best game ever created, its sad, and awesome! I will play
    3 Words only. Best. Game. Ever...

    Recommended for everyone best game ever created, its sad, and awesome! I will play forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Un juego increíble, la trama te enganchará desde el primer minuto hasta el último, el modo historia dura mas de 15 horas, con una jugabilidadUn juego increíble, la trama te enganchará desde el primer minuto hasta el último, el modo historia dura mas de 15 horas, con una jugabilidad excepcional, te enganchará, va mas allá de lo que prometía, el doblaje esta genial, los gráficos son excelentes, los escenarios tan inmensos para poder indagar de casa en casa, para poder investigar, descubrir, tiene momentos de mucha tensión y mas de una vez te llevarás algún susto, una vez mas los creadores de Uncharted vuelven a sorprenderme con un juego exquisito y que pone el broche de oro al catalogo de Playstation 3, compra obligada, juego fascinante, totalmente recomendado. No te arrepentirás. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    The last of us is something very special delivered in videogame form that has to be experienced, no matter what. The moment you start the gameThe last of us is something very special delivered in videogame form that has to be experienced, no matter what. The moment you start the game you know why. I have played quite a few games in my 35 years of existence, and this one is by far the best experience i have had in games. Everything in game just screams seriously high production values. The animation, the voice actors, storyline, everything is just way beyond and above of what one would expect of a game. Lets take the voice actors for example. Joel, voiced by Troy Baker, and Ellie, voiced by Ashley Johnson are simply amazing. They take their trade very serious, and you can hear it in every line they speak. The chemistry between the two is also something you rarely see in games. The way they grow and bond with each other is simply beautiful. Also, the "infected" are done in way you rarely, if at all hear in games. They don't go with the stereotypical zombie cow moans, but instead sound like real sick people in complete pain and agony.
    All this doesn't mean nothing of course if the rest of the game doesn't deliver, and rest assured, it does. The animations in this game are so lifelike it is crazy. Little things such as a little nod when Joel agrees with something, or when Ellie looks away in a dreamlike trance (the world as we know it is just an abstract idea to her, what little she knows comes from books, stories etc) when talking about how things were before the world went to crap really ad up.
    Graphics are outstanding, and probably the finest you see on the PS3, but then again this beast of a game from Naughty Dog, so it was to be expected. Everything, from the ruined cities, to the characters is done in amazing, lifelike detail.
    Story is done very well. It is a little cliche at times, but despite that it is a story well worth experiencing.
    and last, but not least, game play.
    Game play is a delight in this game. Bullets feel like they really hit a enemy. It has this heavy feel to it when they find their target. Another small detail in the gunplay is that when you go out of bullets against bandits or soldiers and continue to pull the trigger your gun makes this empty clicking sound. Nothing special about that, but the enemy hears this too. I was stunned to see a guy behind cover slightly rise from behind cover and surveying the situation and then said to another guy "he's out, lets f him up". That was crazy realistic and even though my behind was served to me on a silver platter, i could not help myself smiling. Only small problem in my opinion is that some guys can take a few too many bullets and that can distract from the illusion.Small problem mind you, but a problem nonetheless. Hand to hand and melee is also something not for those with a weak heart. It feels brutal and animalistic. Really the primal him or me feeling. And when Ellie comments after a fight with something like "geez Joel, what the F?" you wonder exactly who the monster was in this fight.
    So yea, this game is most certainly worth playing, even if you don't own a PS3. Borrow it from a friend or something, but make sure you experience it. There is nothing out there quite like it. It makes you smile, it makes you cry, it makes you despair and it makes you hope. 10/10
    Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2016
    9
    The last masterpiece of generation , closed with a flourish a generation , whose game but suffers from many problems of originality in hisThe last masterpiece of generation , closed with a flourish a generation , whose game but suffers from many problems of originality in his characters, you have one of the best stories of all time , the bullets have a value well overdue , definitely one of the best games ever! Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2014
    0
    One of the best playstation exclusive titles ever created. The story, the characters, the gameplay,the graphics everything in this game isOne of the best playstation exclusive titles ever created. The story, the characters, the gameplay,the graphics everything in this game is just perfect. But I have also never seen such a cliche story line, and have experienced similar third person gameplay. The multiplayer gets annoying at times and constant online crashes harm my experience . Also trying to upload this review for three days with constant failings makes me wonder if naughty dog is against me. Expand

See all 1738 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.