• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6939 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of aTwenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of a rough military quarantine, but what begins as a simple job quickly turns into a brutal journey across the country. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece, that breaks the self imposed barriers of gaming narrative and ensnares the player with intelligent gameplay and brilliant A.I. Anyone wanting to tackle the same themes will have to be compared to Naughty Dog's work in the future, and it won't be pretty.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    100
    Naughty Dog has proven itself again as one of the most accomplished development teams in the world. With The Last of Us they have given us a consistent and interesting world that is supported by practically all of its game mechanics. From the rich complex combat system to the sublime sound design, this game immerses the player in one of the most visceral plots in this generation. Maybe the AI could have been better, but, overall, this game proves how far the craftsmanship of making video games has come.
  3. As a game, The Last of Us will occasionally falter. Imperfect underwater mechanics and careless friendly AI that insists on blocking your path or causing unnecessary firefights can irk, but they are very minor niggles and should be treated as such. Because as an experience, The Last of Us is powerful, emotionally draining and absolutely one of the finest games of this generation. [August 2013, p70]
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    97
    The Last of Us is a really different game, mixing traditional adventure, survival, action, stealth and constant exploration. The resources are most important. The best graphics on PlayStation 3 are back in the hands of Naughty Dog, also the atmosphere, and two unrepeatable and unforgettable characters. Overwhelming.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    With The Last of Us developer Naughty Dog switches from the easy entertainment that is Uncharted, to the more serious stuff. Despite their differences, both games prove to be of unprecedented high levels of quality, from a studio that controls their ability to create games into the smallest detail. Thanks to its unique pace and adult story The Last of Us has become an experience that has no equal.
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    The Last of Us merges very good gameplay with a peerless story and unequaled production values. While it just misses transcendent status you won't find very many games that are more worth the investment of your time.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    60
    There is no risk of failure in a game like this. There is only the risk of having the play the same section yet again. In a survival game, that’s anathema. A survival game without meaningful death isn’t a survival game. It’s just a game.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was a good game. meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten gamesI don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    I loved this game. I was gripped from start to finish like I never have been with any other game. Everything about it was great but most ofI loved this game. I was gripped from start to finish like I never have been with any other game. Everything about it was great but most of all the story. Ellie and Joel are such great characters (probably my favourite in game history) and the story is as good as any book or film. The control scheme was pretty much perfect (the cover system worked very well as did the melee controls) and I loved being able to customise your melee weapons and the incentives to collect things such as being able to upgrade your guns. Oh and the graphics were stunning, hands down the best I've seen on the PS3 and that's no easy feat, there's some great looking games on the console. Sure it's very linear but there's still just enough exploration and it makes a nice change not to have an open-world game with a million choices at every turn. I'll never forget this game, to me it's truly a masterpiece. Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    This game is perfect. The story is as engrossing and compelling as the best TV series and books and the simple interface reflects perfectlyThis game is perfect. The story is as engrossing and compelling as the best TV series and books and the simple interface reflects perfectly the setting of the game and the atmosphere within which you are consumed. Phenomenal game. Buy a console if you have to just to play this game. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    The best game I've ever played, a true masterpiece from start to finish. This took Uncharted's 2 spot as my favorite game of all time, NaughtyThe best game I've ever played, a true masterpiece from start to finish. This took Uncharted's 2 spot as my favorite game of all time, Naughty Dog continues to wow me with each game they craft, while playing The Last Of Us I felt as if it were just me and the game, nothing else mattered, it was the most immersive game I've ever played. I simply didn't want the game to end, the story, I've never felt this way about a game before. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2015
    9
    A stunning and amazing game, yet I wish the trophies in the game were more easily obtainable, as well as the story, it's a little bitA stunning and amazing game, yet I wish the trophies in the game were more easily obtainable, as well as the story, it's a little bit disappointing at times, but it completely makes up for that with every other element the game has to offer. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    An above average story with below average gameplay. If I knew that this "game" was going to be this bad, I would've wasted my $70 on someAn above average story with below average gameplay. If I knew that this "game" was going to be this bad, I would've wasted my $70 on some worthless charity. Expand

See all 1705 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.