The Last of Us PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Last of Us Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 8148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of aTwenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of a rough military quarantine, but what begins as a simple job quickly turns into a brutal journey across the country. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece, that breaks the self imposed barriers of gaming narrative and ensnares the player with intelligent gameplay and brilliant A.I. Anyone wanting to tackle the same themes will have to be compared to Naughty Dog's work in the future, and it won't be pretty.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    100
    Naughty Dog has proven itself again as one of the most accomplished development teams in the world. With The Last of Us they have given us a consistent and interesting world that is supported by practically all of its game mechanics. From the rich complex combat system to the sublime sound design, this game immerses the player in one of the most visceral plots in this generation. Maybe the AI could have been better, but, overall, this game proves how far the craftsmanship of making video games has come.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    As a game, The Last of Us will occasionally falter. Imperfect underwater mechanics and careless friendly AI that insists on blocking your path or causing unnecessary firefights can irk, but they are very minor niggles and should be treated as such. Because as an experience, The Last of Us is powerful, emotionally draining and absolutely one of the finest games of this generation. [August 2013, p70]
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    97
    The Last of Us is a really different game, mixing traditional adventure, survival, action, stealth and constant exploration. The resources are most important. The best graphics on PlayStation 3 are back in the hands of Naughty Dog, also the atmosphere, and two unrepeatable and unforgettable characters. Overwhelming.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    With The Last of Us developer Naughty Dog switches from the easy entertainment that is Uncharted, to the more serious stuff. Despite their differences, both games prove to be of unprecedented high levels of quality, from a studio that controls their ability to create games into the smallest detail. Thanks to its unique pace and adult story The Last of Us has become an experience that has no equal.
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    The Last of Us merges very good gameplay with a peerless story and unequaled production values. While it just misses transcendent status you won't find very many games that are more worth the investment of your time.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    60
    There is no risk of failure in a game like this. There is only the risk of having the play the same section yet again. In a survival game, that’s anathema. A survival game without meaningful death isn’t a survival game. It’s just a game.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game easily has one of the most compelling stories in the history of video games. Throughout it's entirety, this game has an ever growingThis game easily has one of the most compelling stories in the history of video games. Throughout it's entirety, this game has an ever growing emotional connection with the player, because we relate to the character and, in many ways, shows us the severity of consequences to our own actions. The survival aspect of this game is also very apparent. Low ammo mean conserving, low medical supplies mean making you bullets count and make shifting weapons is necessary in surviving. Game play is a bit glitchy at times, but compared to the massive about of good that is this game, it can be overlooked. Overall this game has some of the most strongest characters to ever be created in a game, one of the most perfectly set stories for what it achieves to comprehend and awing atmosphere to which will leave you starstruck as you see a world crumbling around you. It is not only one of the most defining game for PS3, but also for any game console of it's generation. Thank you so much for all that you do at Naughty Dog Studios. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten gamesI don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    A true masterpiece. This game checks all the boxes: gameplay is very convincing (as far as stealth games go), graphics and sounds areA true masterpiece. This game checks all the boxes: gameplay is very convincing (as far as stealth games go), graphics and sounds are incredible, the story is very very well explained and dialogs are top-notch. A fantastic game that every PS3/PS4 owner must have. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This,this game is a masterpiece. I don't care what you think otherwise but this 50$ or £40 is the best you'll spend/or would spend inThis,this game is a masterpiece. I don't care what you think otherwise but this 50$ or £40 is the best you'll spend/or would spend in 2013/2014 Naughty Dog outdid themselves with this, it is even better than a classic for the PS one 'Crash Bandicoot'.Although the start is very hard to swallow with the slowness and the death of his daughter,but that over comes itself with the bondage that him and Ellie grow over the course of this magnificent game. The detail here is mind blowing it pushes the PS3 to the limit,i'm glad i chose this console over the XBOX 360 becuase even though if i had an XBOX 360 i would go out my way and buy a PS3 and this game,and i would play it over and over,but i have already done that and i saved some money also.All pf this was based on the Single Player,now onto the MP or what it's called in the menu 'Factions'.This game wouldn't need that game mode,it would still get those 10/10's 5/5's and 100./100's but with that stealth/survivor mode it makes the game so more fun and adds much replay value.In that mode you start with nearly nothing and it makes you open little red tool boxes with the tools part and crafting materials so you can help your team win.You going have to choose between the rebellion side and the Firefly side which are mentioned in the single player and Joel must help the firefly leader to deliver a 'Package'.But in here you don't come close to do stuff like that,you have your own 'clan' that you must need to feed and expand by doing good in your matches and then you collect 'food' to make sure your survivors are healthy well fed and not hungry.

    If you are wanting to buy this masterpiece of a game i recommend doing it now,this moment,run.
    And if you have an XBOX buy a ps3 and this game or buy the game and go to a friend that has a ps3 push him out the way and play it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is one of the best games I have had the honor to play. With the beautiful environment and relationship between Joel and Ellie,The Last of Us is one of the best games I have had the honor to play. With the beautiful environment and relationship between Joel and Ellie, the intense gameplay, the enjoyable combat and the depressing and emotional story of Joel and Ellie this game would have to be one of the best games of the console generation. Probably one of the best games of all time. Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2017
    9
    The Last of Us è un capolavoro in quanto a storia, personaggi, ambientazione,immersione che lo elevano a capolavoro senza tempo.
    Vanno però
    The Last of Us è un capolavoro in quanto a storia, personaggi, ambientazione,immersione che lo elevano a capolavoro senza tempo.
    Vanno però detti anche i difetti tra i quali si annota un gameplay abbastanza monotono e ripetitivo e non troppo entusiasmante. VOTO 94/100
    Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2014
    0
    One of the best playstation exclusive titles ever created. The story, the characters, the gameplay,the graphics everything in this game isOne of the best playstation exclusive titles ever created. The story, the characters, the gameplay,the graphics everything in this game is just perfect. But I have also never seen such a cliche story line, and have experienced similar third person gameplay. The multiplayer gets annoying at times and constant online crashes harm my experience . Also trying to upload this review for three days with constant failings makes me wonder if naughty dog is against me. Expand

See all 1746 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.