Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 11, 2012
    70
    At its core this is Konami's Ninja Turtles beat 'em up re-skinned for Matt Groening's cash. But whereas everybody gets a rad turtle in TMNT, one poor bastard in every four player posse gets stuck with Marge and a vacuum. [April 2012, p80]
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Mar 5, 2012
    70
    While it's far from an essential download, this beat-'em-up offers old-school fun to the hands of Simpsons fans. [Apr 2012, p.87]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 4, 2012
    70
    Just like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, The Simpsons Arcade Game is only for the most hardcore fans and nostalgic players who used to spent as much money on playing this game in the arcade as Homer does on donuts. [March 2012, p.99]
  4. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Mar 22, 2012
    66
    As a solo game, it's very repetitive. [Apr 2012, p.103]
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 28, 2012
    60
    Ten quid is a steep asking price. [Apr 2012, p.97]
  6. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    The Simpsons Arcade Game shows its age with its limited gameplay that gets old too quickly.
  7. Feb 15, 2012
    55
    The Simpsons Arcade is simply too old to entertain without reservation. Structured for arcade machines, it still presents an overwhelming difficulty.
  8. Play UK
    Mar 28, 2012
    54
    It's boring, the AI cheats and it's too expensive for something that can be finished in half an hour. [Issue#216, p.85]
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Say whatever you want. I really don't understand why critics are considering this hd port is a failure. Why would it be, really? It's the sameSay whatever you want. I really don't understand why critics are considering this hd port is a failure. Why would it be, really? It's the same old game which we spent hours and quarters playing. THE SAME. Better, actually; since it offers improved graphics and a couple of extra features. It's a great, classic game that filled me with nostalgia today. I'm in my 30s right now and I used to play this when I was 12. And I remember that I used to day dream about having this arcade game at home - which was made possible, today, after 20 years. This is something money can't buy, folks. Worth every cent and second. Will be playing this for a long, long time... Full Review »
  2. Feb 25, 2012
    5
    The game has not aged well at all. Being a fan of old school beat em ups like turtles in time or streets of rage, this can't even compare.The game has not aged well at all. Being a fan of old school beat em ups like turtles in time or streets of rage, this can't even compare. Bland repetitive enemies, uninteresting locations, and one button no combo combat make this arcade game a pass. Full Review »
  3. Soy
    Jun 28, 2012
    7
    It should just be considered a minor miracle they got the licensing issues ironed out to get this out after so many years. Sure the replayIt should just be considered a minor miracle they got the licensing issues ironed out to get this out after so many years. Sure the replay value is almost nil, but it's a fun blast to the past for those of us who sunk quarter after quarter in this sucker back in the day. $5 would've been a better price point, but it was still worth it for the nostalgia. HD-upgrade? Remember Turtles in Time: Re-Shelled? Yeah, let things be. Full Review »