The Simpsons Arcade Game PlayStation 3

Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    If such an arcade-cabinet had existed near my home 20 years ago, my parents would still be paying off the debts I would have accumulated by feeding it quarters. Even if you take into account the shortcomings, The Simpsons Arcade is along Turtles in Time as one of the best Beat 'em ups out there.
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    Thankfully, the source material is the finest of its kind, and adapts enough modern bells and whistles to make the game well worth your while.
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    For those not weaned in the coin-op heyday, The Simpsons Arcade might feel too repetitive and too short. However, for those of us who were, The Simpsons Arcade is an absolute blast.
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    79
    A noteworthy and beautiful game with no major changes or upgrades made to the original. It is a classic game and this port is very good news, but it may fall short in content taking its price into account.
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    75
    I don't regret my time with The Simpsons one bit and would have downloaded the game whether I was reviewing it or not. I'm sure plenty of brawler fans are in the same boat and won't be swayed one way or the other by reviews. However, if you've never heard of this game before now, it probably won't have the same sprinkling of magic dust as it does for longtime fans.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Say whatever you want. I really don't understand why critics are considering this hd port is a failure. Why would it be, really? It's the sameSay whatever you want. I really don't understand why critics are considering this hd port is a failure. Why would it be, really? It's the same old game which we spent hours and quarters playing. THE SAME. Better, actually; since it offers improved graphics and a couple of extra features. It's a great, classic game that filled me with nostalgia today. I'm in my 30s right now and I used to play this when I was 12. And I remember that I used to day dream about having this arcade game at home - which was made possible, today, after 20 years. This is something money can't buy, folks. Worth every cent and second. Will be playing this for a long, long time... Full Review »
  2. Feb 25, 2012
    5
    The game has not aged well at all. Being a fan of old school beat em ups like turtles in time or streets of rage, this can't even compare.The game has not aged well at all. Being a fan of old school beat em ups like turtles in time or streets of rage, this can't even compare. Bland repetitive enemies, uninteresting locations, and one button no combo combat make this arcade game a pass. Full Review »
  3. Soy
    Jun 28, 2012
    7
    It should just be considered a minor miracle they got the licensing issues ironed out to get this out after so many years. Sure the replayIt should just be considered a minor miracle they got the licensing issues ironed out to get this out after so many years. Sure the replay value is almost nil, but it's a fun blast to the past for those of us who sunk quarter after quarter in this sucker back in the day. $5 would've been a better price point, but it was still worth it for the nostalgia. HD-upgrade? Remember Turtles in Time: Re-Shelled? Yeah, let things be. Full Review »