Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Dec 14, 2010
    90
    Despite some schizophrenic and disagreeable at times controls, with a few new console-centric additions to the already excellent life simulation gameplay, The Sims 3 does a great job of retaining the awesome aura of the PC game while appealing to the console gaming crowd.
  2. Nov 8, 2010
    90
    The developers need to be commended for their efforts and if you like sandbox games, this is unmissable.
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    90
    If you've been put off by lackluster The Sims ports in the past - as I have - I would definitely urge you to check out The Sims 3 on consoles. It's a really great port that doesn't sacrifice much in the transition, and it's going to be a lot of fun for anyone who hasn't already played the PC version. Combine that with EA's built-in content-sharing system that allows you to share unique Sims with other players, and The Sims 3 will easily provide you with hours upon hours of gameplay.
  4. Oct 26, 2010
    90
    Sims 3 for console is the first time the franchise has been presented as a near-match to its PC counterpart.
  5. Oct 26, 2010
    90
    With Sims 3, console gamers finally get a true translation of the gameplay that has made the PC entries such a hit. Engaging new content and intuitive design makes picking up the console port of EA's digital dollhouse a no-brainer.
  6. Nov 30, 2010
    87
    Really good fun. [Issue#199, p.93]
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This game has many pros but only one con. I may never see my ps3 again. You see, my sister is a casual gamer, which means she games justThis game has many pros but only one con. I may never see my ps3 again. You see, my sister is a casual gamer, which means she games just enough to where its fun to watch her play. But, now the tables are starting to turn. She giggled when ever they did something cute, took at least an hour to make and edit one character, and added some pretty lofty life goals that will take days of play time to accomplish. In short, if you're looking for a game for a female gamer, this game is perfect. That is the only con, this game is fantastic otherwise. Less of a game and more entertainment. Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    This game is fantastic! This is the best Sims has ever been on console... Karma Powers rock!!! I've played Sims 3 on the PC and I've playedThis game is fantastic! This is the best Sims has ever been on console... Karma Powers rock!!! I've played Sims 3 on the PC and I've played other versions of the game on handhelds. I've also played Sims 2 on console. By far this is the best translation of a Sims game from PC to console. They got it all right. There is a new feature in the game where you can use Karma powers. This changes the game dramatically. You can "get lucky" in a matter of minutes now. You can curse someone you don't like...and ...well...I'll save a few surprises. This adds a whole new level to the Sims unpredictability. This new Karma power stuff is new and available in only the console versions. Also for all trophy and achievement whores out there...you have plenty of awards. I would say about half are pretty easy to get...the other half will take some time. Good stuff EA! Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    The game is a lot of fun and very addictive for those without access to a capable PC. Be warned, however, as there are some sizableThe game is a lot of fun and very addictive for those without access to a capable PC. Be warned, however, as there are some sizable disappointments, one household per save being the biggest. That said, I have to disagree with the critics who complained about long load times. I find the load times to be completely acceptable, although perhaps a bit too frequent. The core gameplay is rich, but I think replay value might depend heavily upon future dlc, hoping we get any. All in all, a strong title that leaves a bit to be desired. Full Review »