• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2012
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 76
  2. Negative: 5 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    This is the most intuitive unique game that's come out since Journey. You're in an all white space and to figure out where you can go you have to throw paint randomly out there until stairs, hallway, etc are revealed. It's a blast figuring out these puzzles. I recommend this to anyone who likes fun.
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    Unfinished swan is representative of its own theme
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    Once I figured out how to get out of the first room, the game was excellent. Lovely style, wonderful puzzles, engaging storytelling-- an extremely unique game. Highly recommended for Portal fans or for anyone interested in the First-person puzzle genre.
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    The Unfinished Swan is an astonishing game full of wonder and enjoyment. It's the best time I've had with a game all year and one of the most memorable. The story is Captivating and keeps you playing. Nothing about it is difficult. It is more for someone just looking to have a good time. I recommend this to everyone. It is about 2 to 3 hours depending on how you play but that doesn't detract from the game at all. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest downloadable games of all time, imo. The graphics and art style are impossibly amazing. The gameplay is so simple but so clever, puzzling, creative and dynamic. The gameplay constantly changes drastically from chapter to chapter (maybe too quickly: just as you get used to a mechanic it changes). The music is some of the best out there, as well. Wonderful! The only gripe is that the game ends kinds when you dont expect it; and the white-canvas levels are scarce. Buy it now. Thank me later. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    I'll just say I had a goofy grin on my face the whole time I played this. I felt like each of the main ideas was more creative and fun than many entire games I've played. I'm now on my third time through, enjoying all of the fun bonuses. I also love having people check it out when they come over... I just really enjoy watching that reaction when they first figure out the opening moments of the game. Strongly recommended! Collapse
  7. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    The Unfinished Swan is a beautiful game in which a boy named Monrue (can't spell his name) takes only one of his mothers unfinished paintings when he goes to the orphanage. he then takes on a journey in which he runs around a world throwing paint balls to find his way around. You collect balloons to get extra "toys" (hose, sniper rifle, etc.) Graphically the game is great. the controls are very simple, and there is almost nothing to com pain about, else then it is pretty short, but is a download game so it makes sense. overall I give this game a nine out of 10. Expand
  8. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Wow, wow, wow!! I like original games like I like original movies and music. I don't like seeing always the same thing over and over again, and man, this game was original! Never seen anything like it. Beautifu game too.
  9. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Este juego me hizo recordar que sigo siendo un ñiño en mi interior.Con una historia simple que asemeja a un cuento de antaño,lo cual es muy bueno por que da la sensación de estar leyendo un cuento,pero sigue siendo un juego claro,un gameplay que no deja de sorprender en ningún condenado momento,esta es una aventura que no te debes perder.
  10. Dec 5, 2012
    0
    I'll just say I had a goofy grin on my face the whole time I played this. I felt like each of the main ideas was more creative and fun than many entire games I've played. I'm now on my third time through, enjoying all of the fun bonuses. I also love having people check it out when they come over... I just really enjoy watching that reaction when they first figure out the opening moments of the game. Strongly recommended! Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    70
    The Unfinished Swan is a creative experiment that’s worth a play, even if some aspects feel incomplete.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    70
    The Unfinished Swan is a beautifully crafted, unconventional, sophisticated and provocative game denying the gameplay stereotype by a constant surprising of a gamer. The game is resisting to deplete all of its interesting themes in quite possibly the most annoying way - it ends itself in the middle of the road, at the place where the gamer is willing to submit to it completely.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    The Unfinished Swan isn't without its charms, and there were moments in the abandoned city, with the vines overgrowing walls and bridges in all directions, that I almost loved it. However, in its very short runtime The Unfinished Swan introduces too many different ideas and doesn't sufficiently explore or refine any of them-not even the bad ones. That might suit the theme, but it makes for a game that feels frustratingly incomplete.