Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Unfinished Swan is a videogame about exploring the unknown. The player assumes the role of a young boy chasing after a swan who has wandered off into a surreal, unfinished kingdom. The game begins in a completely white space where players can throw paint to splatter their surroundingsThe Unfinished Swan is a videogame about exploring the unknown. The player assumes the role of a young boy chasing after a swan who has wandered off into a surreal, unfinished kingdom. The game begins in a completely white space where players can throw paint to splatter their surroundings and reveal the world around them. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 100
    There are very few games which are able to buck trends with aplomb and do it this gracefully. Pick it up when you can and give it the time it deserves.
  2. 90
    The Unfinished Swan is a fairy tale told beautifully through the cooperative effort of the game's graphics, sound, and intuitive gameplay. Polished beyond belief, its hard to believe that this Picasso is going for a PSN price.
  3. Absolutely enchanting from start-to-finish, Swan is a real treat and a prime example of why bigger isn't always better. [Holiday 2012, p.77]
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    82
    A beautiful, intense but short surprise. A great experience anybody interested in games should buy, taking into account that its opening sequence feels way better than the rest of the gameplay, and that most players will only go through the story once, that is 4-5 hours tops.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    The power of The Unfinished Swan – not unlike a Terry Gilliam film, coincidentally – lies in its engagement with our imagination, in its ability to remind us of that capacity for whimsy and fantasy. If your life could use a little less logic and a little more fascination, The Unfinished Swan should not be missed.
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    70
    The Unfinished Swan is a beautifully crafted, unconventional, sophisticated and provocative game denying the gameplay stereotype by a constant surprising of a gamer. The game is resisting to deplete all of its interesting themes in quite possibly the most annoying way - it ends itself in the middle of the road, at the place where the gamer is willing to submit to it completely.
  7. Oct 16, 2012
    50
    Beautiful visuals, clever ideas and a pleasant story can't make up for a shallow and overly linear gameplay. Condensed in an experience that lasts about an hour and a half, The Unfinished Swan can't show its true potential nor can it satisfy the player. We really wish things were different, but you can go ahead and ignore what could otherwise have been an indie masterpiece.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    This is the most intuitive unique game that's come out since Journey. You're in an all white space and to figure out where you can go you haveThis is the most intuitive unique game that's come out since Journey. You're in an all white space and to figure out where you can go you have to throw paint randomly out there until stairs, hallway, etc are revealed. It's a blast figuring out these puzzles. I recommend this to anyone who likes fun. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest downloadable games of all time, imo. The graphics and art style are impossibly amazing. The gameplay is so simple but soOne of the greatest downloadable games of all time, imo. The graphics and art style are impossibly amazing. The gameplay is so simple but so clever, puzzling, creative and dynamic. The gameplay constantly changes drastically from chapter to chapter (maybe too quickly: just as you get used to a mechanic it changes). The music is some of the best out there, as well. Wonderful! The only gripe is that the game ends kinds when you dont expect it; and the white-canvas levels are scarce. Buy it now. Thank me later. Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    Unfinished swan is representative of its own theme
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    The Unfinished Swan (TUS), what is it? The game starts off with a blank screen. I thought the game had frozen and tried all the buttons. IThe Unfinished Swan (TUS), what is it? The game starts off with a blank screen. I thought the game had frozen and tried all the buttons. I fired an ink ball. Black on white, but what more? It's after hitting a corner that I understood. From this first-person view, the goal is simply to advance. I hereby introduces you the first Mirror's Edge like in history!

    Unlike its model, TUS is more about thinking than running. The title is full of crazy and innovative puzzles (creating platforms, use of light to progress...). It also benefits from an amazing art direction with unique and beautiful sceneries like the one above. The story is entertaining as well, almost moving, and reinforces the mysterious and fascinating aura that springs from TUS.

    True, it's quite short and the controls are a pain sometimes. But it does have a few challenges that add to the overall value for completionists. And think about it : you enter a paint shop and see a masterpiece at 7
    Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    7
    A good but not great game. It has some very creative ideas but it doesn't do alot with them.The story has some charm but it doesn't really goA good but not great game. It has some very creative ideas but it doesn't do alot with them.The story has some charm but it doesn't really go anywhere. It can be very pretty sometimes and it it's very unique but it just seemed to be missing that extra something that would have made it great. It's also over before you know it without that much reason to go back. Not a bad game but I would have felt much better paying $10 or less for it. Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    A wonderfully executed concept. I really enjoyed it, but right when it started getting interested, it ended. Also, it seemed like they couldA wonderfully executed concept. I really enjoyed it, but right when it started getting interested, it ended. Also, it seemed like they could have fleshed out the game more. It feels a bit empty. I would love to see more experiences like these if they were fully fleshed out. Bottom Line = Beautifully designed, charming, and simple, but too short and feels too empty. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2014
    4
    This was an okay game I guess. The idea looked interesting and the story, when presented, sounded wonderful and like something I'd definitelyThis was an okay game I guess. The idea looked interesting and the story, when presented, sounded wonderful and like something I'd definitely want to play and would be interested in. So, just to be sure, I got the demo and I'm glad I did.

    Despite how wonderful the game sounded the camera movement was disorienting and confusing, not intuitive at all and the actual character movement was just as bad. I will grant it the graphics were decent (nothing compared to Journey as everyone says, I'd much rather look and listen to Journey) but the music was completely forgettable and what can be remembered is only how bad it was.

    To be perfectly honest, the game play is slow and gets boring rather quickly. There is only so much ink you can splatter around before you're just bored and things get sort of frustrating because if you don't splatter it with ink you can't see it... and that's just sort of lame. BUT that's the whole game it seems... there are worse games because this is at least bearable but it's still just.... boring.... really boring...
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.