Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join five new characters as they struggle to survive in The Walking Dead: 400 Days
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    89
    The ending’s a bit too simple (Wait, if they’re hiding from people, why would they do that?) and I don’t love the characters like I loved Lee and Clem, but the action and drama show that Telltale still has it and isn’t satisfied to pump out exactly what the developers did last year.
  2. 86
    Should you pick up 400 Days? Yes! What are you, crazy!? This is a phenomenal new experiment in storytelling that redefines the types of stories that can be told in video games.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    84
    400 Days is a nearly constructed collection of short stories that follow the macabre sentiment established by The Walking Dead. Will its cast be part of the eventual second season? Or is 400 Days merely intended to establish a mood and setting? Do the choices I made really matter in the grand scheme of Telltale’s story? I have no idea, and that's precisely what makes it so attractive and potentially valuable.
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    As this DLC ups the shock factor, it makes it clear when season two rolls around that Telltale has no boundaries, and you should prepare your emotions accordingly.
  5. You could see 400 Days as a great dessert after an exquisite meal. Or maybe as an appetizer for a second course, because we were left wanting much more, even though this DLC does not quite reach the same heights as the original series. [September p.90]
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    70
    The individual stories are crafted with the same level of care as the main series, but divorced from a larger, more personal tale, these scattershot scenes show their hand as unused B-sides. More ambitious, but less focused than Season One, 400 Days feels like its setting: a serviceable pit-stop on the way to a (hopefully) brighter future.
  7. Aug 18, 2013
    70
    If you go into 400 Days expecting the same intense, emotional, roller coaster of a ride that Season 1 produced then you could be disappointed. With characters leaving almost as quickly as they are introduced there’s no time to get any sort of attachment, particularly when playing as a different person in each chapter. Keep your expectations in check however and there’s still plenty to get out of 400 Days, with an ending that could tie into the next season, this is still a worthy chapter in the series.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This game picks up right where the 1 season left off for me-and that's with an amazing set of stories. I felt right into the game with theThis game picks up right where the 1 season left off for me-and that's with an amazing set of stories. I felt right into the game with the first story I chose. In this episode of 400 Days, you can choose which character story you want to start off with and go on from there. The comic book graphics seem to look even better than Season 1. And the control mechanics are the same as before. It was over before I started which wanted me begging for more. But, that's what I like about this Walking Dead game. It makes you anxious for the next episode to play. I loved everything about 400 Days and look forward to more episodes in the future. I give this episode a 10/10. Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    I almost feel like I robbed Telltale when this is just £3.99. These 5 characters, as well as a few others, are very well presented. You get toI almost feel like I robbed Telltale when this is just £3.99. These 5 characters, as well as a few others, are very well presented. You get to know them, and the epilogue is a sign of what to expect in Season 2. A good one at that. The echoes of your choices from Season 1 will pan out here, which is really cool to see. I have good expectations from telltale for Season 2. 400 Days shows that even without Lee and Clem, they are still capable if delivering characters you can get emotionally attached as well as an intriguing, enticing story. Collapse
  3. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    A stort but sweet Dlc that will hold you over for season 2. worth the price of admission! my only problem with the DLC is some of the storysA stort but sweet Dlc that will hold you over for season 2. worth the price of admission! my only problem with the DLC is some of the storys were a little too short lasting 15 min almost but i enjoyed what i played and can't wait for season 2. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    You'd think 15 minutes for each story wouldn't be enough but damn they pulled it off.
    Due to the episodes length, you're thrown into
    You'd think 15 minutes for each story wouldn't be enough but damn they pulled it off.
    Due to the episodes length, you're thrown into situations much faster then in Season One and must act quickly. You won't fall in love with the characters like you did Lee and Clem but this DLC is done great and perfectly sets up for Season 2.
    Already regret some of the choices I made but wouldn't have done it any other way.
    Also just for the price its worth picking up.
    I love you TellTale.
    Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    I am a huge fan of the 5 part series. Each chapter was epic. In 400 Days I felt like the the short stories were interesting but lacked theI am a huge fan of the 5 part series. Each chapter was epic. In 400 Days I felt like the the short stories were interesting but lacked the personal investment that the others had. There were a couple interesting new mechanics and I like how it all wrapped up. In previous chapters I haven't had the urge to go back and replay them to see how they pan out... in 400 Days it encourages more replay... but the second time around its a little disappointing to see how little changes based on your choices. It was $5... so no regrets at all. If you're a Walking Dead fan, get it for sure. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    After loving the original I had to buy this. but I feel that they have made a mistake making a 5-in-1. Don't get me wrong this game is goodAfter loving the original I had to buy this. but I feel that they have made a mistake making a 5-in-1. Don't get me wrong this game is good but I didn't like fact that each story got me really into it then it suddenly stops. I feel they should have made a full episode for each character.
    I wouldn't say this game picks up from where the first left off, it takes place at the same time as the first but it does set the story up nicely for the 2nd game.
    But I'd say they have improved greatly on the animations, graphics and control system.

    This addition is worth the money but has left me thinking that they could have done more. But overall it is a good solid DLC.
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    What was the point of this? TWD was all about developing a personal connection to the characters. 400 Days is a measly 10 mins with 5What was the point of this? TWD was all about developing a personal connection to the characters. 400 Days is a measly 10 mins with 5 different characters and by the time the credits roll you don't give a damn about any of them. This was nothing but a Telltale Games money grab while people wait for Season 2. Absolutely pointless. 10/10 for Season One. A big fat ZERO for 400 days. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews