The Walking Dead: A Telltale Games Series Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 672 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a worldBased on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Walking Dead: Episode 2 - Starved for Help Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    This is a sad game that will weigh heavy on you long after you've completed it--it even wrung some honest tears out of me on a couple of occasions. But you'll suffer through the emotional swings because they're ultimately worth it. No matter how depressing, gut-wrenching, or flat-out horrifying The Walking Dead gets, you will want--nay, need--to finish it. It's just that good.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    93
    The Walking Dead: The Game is like a coloring book: we each have the same black and white sketch, but it's up to us to fill it in as we see fit. The relationships I've built, the emotions I've felt, the choices I've made – that's what makes The Walking Dead: The Game so endearing.
  3. Play UK
    May 27, 2013
    92
    A gaming experience that is truly unlike any other, The Walking Dead should be required playing for anyone who considers themselves a fan of our favourite medium. [Issue#231, p.76]
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead is a phenomenal title that will live long in the memory of anyone who experiences it.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 29, 2013
    90
    Believable dialogue from rounded characters who behave as you'd expect real people to. [Feb 2013, p.106]
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    90
    It deserves it as well, because The Walking Dead is a great game, one that truly pushes what can be done with a video game narrative that cannot be done in film or TV.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 108
  2. Negative: 12 out of 108
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    For 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful waysFor 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful ways to engross a player, but imagine if all films fit under the category of fun? We wouldn't have films like Schindler's List, Hurt Locker, Apocalypse Now, and the Godfather. Our medium has never had our own Citizen Kane, or it's own Godfather. Until now. If Spec Ops: The Line was the Apocalypse now of gaming, and Skyrim is the Lord of the Rings, The Walking Dead is the Dead Alive, and even that isn't doing it justice, as Dead Alive is the best zombie film ever. Look past the glitches, and we have a near perfect game. The puzzles are tricky and take a fair bit of though, the art style is the best use of cell-shading I've seen, the characters are well-written and have arcs, its atmosphere is very tense, and you have the urge to play it to the very end once you've picked it up. The episodes themselves were quite short, 3 hours at best, but the retail release actually makes it seem like one coherent game, instead of playing parts of a game months apart. Actions have consequences. The littlest choice has the hugest effect at the end of your game. Talk to another person who played this game and, most likely, his outcome would of been entirely different. All of this makes the Walking Dead compulsively playable, but not fun. It's not about the thrills of killing zombies, this game focuses on the realtionships between characters in a zombie apocalypse scenario, and makes you see how ordinary people can get along (and indeed fall out) in this scenario. Play it because you like Telltale, play it because you love zombies, play it because you love point and click adventure games, play it because you love substantial choice in games, play it because it's cheap, play it because you're sick of Halo, the bottom line remains the same: DO NOT MISS THE WALKING DEAD. Expand
  2. May 8, 2015
    10
    By far, the best game I have ever, and will ever, play. No other game has gotten me more connected to these characters, no other game has madeBy far, the best game I have ever, and will ever, play. No other game has gotten me more connected to these characters, no other game has made me feel and emote like this, **** it, in any other entertainment medium. There is just so much genius behind the game that I won't go through as that'll take a long ****ing time to talk about, just know this: This is the best game ever created and if you haven't played it, you better do that now. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Definitely an unique experience in the gaming realm. Often times great story telling is hindered in games by gameplay, especially of the RPGDefinitely an unique experience in the gaming realm. Often times great story telling is hindered in games by gameplay, especially of the RPG grind variety. That is of course assuming a great story is even in a game or if it is simply getting by on gameplay.

    The Walking Dead moves fast and the story never lets up. While one would assume it would be more like a traditional puzzle adventure game it does not play that way. The narrative is not slowed down. Like another great game this year, 'Journey' the story and feelings invoked stay with you long after the game is finished.

    I find it odd that Heavy Rain is often compared to this. I gave HR two hours, but it never really got past monotony. There could have been a good story, but no one I knew ever got to it. The Walking Dead does not require investment time before it gets good, it simply is good from start to finish.

    Few games I would describe as a must play for a gamer. This one is a must play.
    Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    It's not perfect as a game by any means BUT your bond with clementine and just awesome characters each pretty interesting this game is moreIt's not perfect as a game by any means BUT your bond with clementine and just awesome characters each pretty interesting this game is more then worth your money.I'm not saying much about this because you just need to play it to know.I more then understand why this game won game of year. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    This is definitely one of the greatest games I've ever played. It's very possibly that you might crawl up into a fetal position and sob if youThis is definitely one of the greatest games I've ever played. It's very possibly that you might crawl up into a fetal position and sob if you play this game, but still a great game. I gave it a nine though because the amount of language is overkill, otherwise awesome game. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    Season one of The Walking Dead games is a true cinematic experience with great comic book style graphics, a very touching story, and theSeason one of The Walking Dead games is a true cinematic experience with great comic book style graphics, a very touching story, and the mechanic of having every small decision affect the story. Just keep in mind that one of the chapters is kind of boring and there are some de-syncing glitches here and there. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    It baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and itsIt baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and its linearity and weak gameplay are really off-putting. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews