The Walking Dead: A Telltale Games Series Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 605 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a worldBased on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    This is a sad game that will weigh heavy on you long after you've completed it--it even wrung some honest tears out of me on a couple of occasions. But you'll suffer through the emotional swings because they're ultimately worth it. No matter how depressing, gut-wrenching, or flat-out horrifying The Walking Dead gets, you will want--nay, need--to finish it. It's just that good.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    93
    The Walking Dead: The Game is like a coloring book: we each have the same black and white sketch, but it's up to us to fill it in as we see fit. The relationships I've built, the emotions I've felt, the choices I've made – that's what makes The Walking Dead: The Game so endearing.
  3. Play UK
    May 27, 2013
    92
    A gaming experience that is truly unlike any other, The Walking Dead should be required playing for anyone who considers themselves a fan of our favourite medium. [Issue#231, p.76]
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead is a phenomenal title that will live long in the memory of anyone who experiences it.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 29, 2013
    90
    Believable dialogue from rounded characters who behave as you'd expect real people to. [Feb 2013, p.106]
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    90
    It deserves it as well, because The Walking Dead is a great game, one that truly pushes what can be done with a video game narrative that cannot be done in film or TV.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 98
  2. Negative: 11 out of 98
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    For 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful waysFor 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful ways to engross a player, but imagine if all films fit under the category of fun? We wouldn't have films like Schindler's List, Hurt Locker, Apocalypse Now, and the Godfather. Our medium has never had our own Citizen Kane, or it's own Godfather. Until now. If Spec Ops: The Line was the Apocalypse now of gaming, and Skyrim is the Lord of the Rings, The Walking Dead is the Dead Alive, and even that isn't doing it justice, as Dead Alive is the best zombie film ever. Look past the glitches, and we have a near perfect game. The puzzles are tricky and take a fair bit of though, the art style is the best use of cell-shading I've seen, the characters are well-written and have arcs, its atmosphere is very tense, and you have the urge to play it to the very end once you've picked it up. The episodes themselves were quite short, 3 hours at best, but the retail release actually makes it seem like one coherent game, instead of playing parts of a game months apart. Actions have consequences. The littlest choice has the hugest effect at the end of your game. Talk to another person who played this game and, most likely, his outcome would of been entirely different. All of this makes the Walking Dead compulsively playable, but not fun. It's not about the thrills of killing zombies, this game focuses on the realtionships between characters in a zombie apocalypse scenario, and makes you see how ordinary people can get along (and indeed fall out) in this scenario. Play it because you like Telltale, play it because you love zombies, play it because you love point and click adventure games, play it because you love substantial choice in games, play it because it's cheap, play it because you're sick of Halo, the bottom line remains the same: DO NOT MISS THE WALKING DEAD. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    I am speechless , i really don't understand how is it even possible for me to care so much about some fictional characters . Great dialoguesI am speechless , i really don't understand how is it even possible for me to care so much about some fictional characters . Great dialogues , awesome atmosphere , this game feels like an amazing journey . What makes this game what it really is today though is the fact that your in-game decisions will change the way the plot unfolds and even when you are very confident that you've made the right decision you still kind of doubt it deep in your heart . To sum up i recommend this game to anyone that is willing to pay close attention to the dialogue of this game and appreciate it for what it is , what i mean by that is that if killing waves of zombies with countless of weapons is what you are looking for , just don't go for this game Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    What is there to say about this game, that hasn't already been said? The story telling is top notch, one of the best tales all of gaming hasWhat is there to say about this game, that hasn't already been said? The story telling is top notch, one of the best tales all of gaming has to offer. Never before have I been so involved and cared so much about the characters in a story in this medium, or any other before it. The gameplay is equally compelling. Point and click fans will no doubt love it, and even my friends who are normally all about action and multiplayer can't help but love it. There is more then enough action, even if it is normally displayed as a QTE or quick time event, to keep you on your toes. You'll never know when something may pop out and attack, and you'll need to fight your way out of an awful situation. Honestly, if you haven't played this game yet, do it. It's as necessary a foot note in the story telling of video games as the great classics of film. Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    It is amazing how such simple gameplay can make such a tense experience the story is told excellently and the comic book style is surprisinglyIt is amazing how such simple gameplay can make such a tense experience the story is told excellently and the comic book style is surprisingly well done. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    The Walking Dead gathers everything from entertainment & emotion. It had its ups and downs and maybe the time limit bothered me every now andThe Walking Dead gathers everything from entertainment & emotion. It had its ups and downs and maybe the time limit bothered me every now and then, but the role-playing elements keeps your attention towards the screen. One of the most unique games I've ever played. Thank you Telltale Games. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    Season one of The Walking Dead games is a true cinematic experience with great comic book style graphics, a very touching story, and theSeason one of The Walking Dead games is a true cinematic experience with great comic book style graphics, a very touching story, and the mechanic of having every small decision affect the story. Just keep in mind that one of the chapters is kind of boring and there are some de-syncing glitches here and there. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    It baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and itsIt baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and its linearity and weak gameplay are really off-putting. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews