Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 532 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a worldBased on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    This is a sad game that will weigh heavy on you long after you've completed it--it even wrung some honest tears out of me on a couple of occasions. But you'll suffer through the emotional swings because they're ultimately worth it. No matter how depressing, gut-wrenching, or flat-out horrifying The Walking Dead gets, you will want--nay, need--to finish it. It's just that good.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    93
    The Walking Dead: The Game is like a coloring book: we each have the same black and white sketch, but it's up to us to fill it in as we see fit. The relationships I've built, the emotions I've felt, the choices I've made – that's what makes The Walking Dead: The Game so endearing.
  3. May 27, 2013
    92
    A gaming experience that is truly unlike any other, The Walking Dead should be required playing for anyone who considers themselves a fan of our favourite medium. [Issue#231, p.76]
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead is a phenomenal title that will live long in the memory of anyone who experiences it.
  5. Believable dialogue from rounded characters who behave as you'd expect real people to. [Feb 2013, p.106]
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    90
    It deserves it as well, because The Walking Dead is a great game, one that truly pushes what can be done with a video game narrative that cannot be done in film or TV.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 88
  2. Negative: 11 out of 88
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    For 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful waysFor 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful ways to engross a player, but imagine if all films fit under the category of fun? We wouldn't have films like Schindler's List, Hurt Locker, Apocalypse Now, and the Godfather. Our medium has never had our own Citizen Kane, or it's own Godfather. Until now. If Spec Ops: The Line was the Apocalypse now of gaming, and Skyrim is the Lord of the Rings, The Walking Dead is the Dead Alive, and even that isn't doing it justice, as Dead Alive is the best zombie film ever. Look past the glitches, and we have a near perfect game. The puzzles are tricky and take a fair bit of though, the art style is the best use of cell-shading I've seen, the characters are well-written and have arcs, its atmosphere is very tense, and you have the urge to play it to the very end once you've picked it up. The episodes themselves were quite short, 3 hours at best, but the retail release actually makes it seem like one coherent game, instead of playing parts of a game months apart. Actions have consequences. The littlest choice has the hugest effect at the end of your game. Talk to another person who played this game and, most likely, his outcome would of been entirely different. All of this makes the Walking Dead compulsively playable, but not fun. It's not about the thrills of killing zombies, this game focuses on the realtionships between characters in a zombie apocalypse scenario, and makes you see how ordinary people can get along (and indeed fall out) in this scenario. Play it because you like Telltale, play it because you love zombies, play it because you love point and click adventure games, play it because you love substantial choice in games, play it because it's cheap, play it because you're sick of Halo, the bottom line remains the same: DO NOT MISS THE WALKING DEAD. Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    It's riveting stuff. Emotionally powerful and breathlessly suspenseful, it does what all the best games out there do: it leaves you wantingIt's riveting stuff. Emotionally powerful and breathlessly suspenseful, it does what all the best games out there do: it leaves you wanting more. In a great, great way. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Definitely an unique experience in the gaming realm. Often times great story telling is hindered in games by gameplay, especially of the RPGDefinitely an unique experience in the gaming realm. Often times great story telling is hindered in games by gameplay, especially of the RPG grind variety. That is of course assuming a great story is even in a game or if it is simply getting by on gameplay.

    The Walking Dead moves fast and the story never lets up. While one would assume it would be more like a traditional puzzle adventure game it does not play that way. The narrative is not slowed down. Like another great game this year, 'Journey' the story and feelings invoked stay with you long after the game is finished.

    I find it odd that Heavy Rain is often compared to this. I gave HR two hours, but it never really got past monotony. There could have been a good story, but no one I knew ever got to it. The Walking Dead does not require investment time before it gets good, it simply is good from start to finish.

    Few games I would describe as a must play for a gamer. This one is a must play.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Telltale's The Walking Dead (TWD) is an emotional experience like no other and a breath of fresh air in the industry. It's an adult experienceTelltale's The Walking Dead (TWD) is an emotional experience like no other and a breath of fresh air in the industry. It's an adult experience that will leave you with tears in your eyes in some parts.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: This is where the game shines. It starts with a slow pace which is kept throughout the game. This slow pace gives you the opportunity to develop your thoughts and feelings about the characters which is exactly what Telltale wants so that you feel the sense of loss when you're forced to make (tough) decisions. Genius!
    PRESENTATION: Phenomenal! The sets are beautiful with the cell shading. Music is never played too loud so that you can stay immersed on the post-apocalyptic world that you're in.
    GAMEPLAY: My major issue with the game. Although it served me throughout the game and never ruined my experience the controls are a bit clumsy and fail many times especially in the action sequences. Not that there are many but it's kind of annoying to try and make an action and it doesn't respond.
    TWD is an emotional ride that will blow you away. And if you're a fan of the TV show like me it will let you prolong the experience in a different story arc.
    Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    I just love Walking dead - the comic book, the TV-series and the game. However considering TellTales Walking Dead a game might be to go a stepI just love Walking dead - the comic book, the TV-series and the game. However considering TellTales Walking Dead a game might be to go a step to far, but not in a bad way. I consider TellTales Walking Dead series more like a “live” storybook where I as a “player” get to choose the outcome. And it’s a great story, well worth to “play through” – A real emotional roller coaster! Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2014
    8
    The best way to describe the Walking Dead Season One is as an elaborate choose your own adventure story. There is some action, though it'sThe best way to describe the Walking Dead Season One is as an elaborate choose your own adventure story. There is some action, though it's relatively simple to make it through. The power of the game lies in its narrative and the characters you spend your journey with. The story is powerful and gripping, with decent replay value for a story driven, fairly linear game with limited action.

    The presentation for the game is decent. The graphics are cell shaded and look hand drawn, a style I enjoy myself but know some people do not . The character models don't quite move right, leaving you from ever being sucked into the game, but the graphics are not the point. The sound effects and voice acting are top notch. The cast does a great job from beginning to end with even the peripheral characters you run into doing an excellent job.

    The gameplay is simplistic, but you get what you expect. The game centers around the choices you make and how they affect your character, Lee, and the group he is with. There isn't a lot of combat, and the game feel cumbersome when you move away from areas that aren't focused on conversation and choices. If you're looking for a game with solid gameplay you're probably better off just moving on.

    As mentioned before the game's story is where it shines. To go into details would give spoilers, but the story is riveting and revolves around the choices you make. The characters are diverse and interesting. They make you want to care about what happens to them. For a story driven game there is decent replay value as I've made it through the game on three separate occasions without it feeling burdensome, but the game is short which helps it not feel drawn out.

    The one real gripe I have with the game, aside from the clunky feel to the game when in "action" oriented sequences, is how most of the choices don't really matter. The second time I went through the game I intentionally tried to make different choices to see what happened, and to be totally honest the game forced me down the same path I had taken the first time a lot, taking away the illusion that my choices mattered. What was going to happen was going to happen, and knowing that took away my feeling of agency in the game.

    The Walking Dead Season One is a solid, story driven game that will suck you in. If you've played the game before and feel the itch to play it again I would recommend renting the game due to its short length and relative ease. If you're looking to play it for the first time I would still recommend renting it, but if the only options are buy it or not play it it's worth buying at its lower than the average game price.
    Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    It baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and itsIt baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and its linearity and weak gameplay are really off-putting. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews