Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 460 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    This is a sad game that will weigh heavy on you long after you've completed it--it even wrung some honest tears out of me on a couple of occasions. But you'll suffer through the emotional swings because they're ultimately worth it. No matter how depressing, gut-wrenching, or flat-out horrifying The Walking Dead gets, you will want--nay, need--to finish it. It's just that good.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    93
    The Walking Dead: The Game is like a coloring book: we each have the same black and white sketch, but it's up to us to fill it in as we see fit. The relationships I've built, the emotions I've felt, the choices I've made – that's what makes The Walking Dead: The Game so endearing.
  3. May 27, 2013
    92
    A gaming experience that is truly unlike any other, The Walking Dead should be required playing for anyone who considers themselves a fan of our favourite medium. [Issue#231, p.76]
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead is a phenomenal title that will live long in the memory of anyone who experiences it.
  5. Believable dialogue from rounded characters who behave as you'd expect real people to. [Feb 2013, p.106]
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    90
    It deserves it as well, because The Walking Dead is a great game, one that truly pushes what can be done with a video game narrative that cannot be done in film or TV.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    For 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful ways to engross a player, but imagine if all films fit under the category of fun? We wouldn't have films like Schindler's List, Hurt Locker, Apocalypse Now, and the Godfather. Our medium has never had our own Citizen Kane, or it's own Godfather. Until now. If Spec Ops: The Line was the Apocalypse now of gaming, and Skyrim is the Lord of the Rings, The Walking Dead is the Dead Alive, and even that isn't doing it justice, as Dead Alive is the best zombie film ever. Look past the glitches, and we have a near perfect game. The puzzles are tricky and take a fair bit of though, the art style is the best use of cell-shading I've seen, the characters are well-written and have arcs, its atmosphere is very tense, and you have the urge to play it to the very end once you've picked it up. The episodes themselves were quite short, 3 hours at best, but the retail release actually makes it seem like one coherent game, instead of playing parts of a game months apart. Actions have consequences. The littlest choice has the hugest effect at the end of your game. Talk to another person who played this game and, most likely, his outcome would of been entirely different. All of this makes the Walking Dead compulsively playable, but not fun. It's not about the thrills of killing zombies, this game focuses on the realtionships between characters in a zombie apocalypse scenario, and makes you see how ordinary people can get along (and indeed fall out) in this scenario. Play it because you like Telltale, play it because you love zombies, play it because you love point and click adventure games, play it because you love substantial choice in games, play it because it's cheap, play it because you're sick of Halo, the bottom line remains the same: DO NOT MISS THE WALKING DEAD. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Definitely an unique experience in the gaming realm. Often times great story telling is hindered in games by gameplay, especially of the RPG grind variety. That is of course assuming a great story is even in a game or if it is simply getting by on gameplay.

    The Walking Dead moves fast and the story never lets up. While one would assume it would be more like a traditional puzzle adventure game it does not play that way. The narrative is not slowed down. Like another great game this year, 'Journey' the story and feelings invoked stay with you long after the game is finished.

    I find it odd that Heavy Rain is often compared to this. I gave HR two hours, but it never really got past monotony. There could have been a good story, but no one I knew ever got to it. The Walking Dead does not require investment time before it gets good, it simply is good from start to finish.

    Few games I would describe as a must play for a gamer. This one is a must play.
    Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the most immersive I have ever had the privilege to play. Although it doesn't feature revolutionary technology and graphics, the most appealing factor is the story and the characters. Presented to us in the form of a TV show with consistent episode releases, The Walking Dead is so cleverly written and performed by voice actors that you become so attached to the characters. You begin to care so much that you are very often given a choice that will affect who lives and who dies, which is the closest to being in control that a gamer could ever be. I fell in love with the characters and story, with so many twists and turns, and I didn't want the experience to end. The level of choice and interaction with the game is splendid, giving a new perspective to point-and-click games. This game is a benchmark in gaming and deserves to become an inspiration to others in the industry. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    I just love Walking dead - the comic book, the TV-series and the game. However considering TellTales Walking Dead a game might be to go a step to far, but not in a bad way. I consider TellTales Walking Dead series more like a “live” storybook where I as a “player” get to choose the outcome. And it’s a great story, well worth to “play through” – A real emotional roller coaster! Expand
  5. May 17, 2013
    9
    Telltale's The Walking Dead is a poor 'game' but an excellent experience. The plot, dialogue and characterizations are currently unparalleled within gaming. These characters live and breath just as much as the ones on the HBO TV series. The choices that you make in the game feel really profound and you find yourself fretting over almost every one. There is literally nothing negative to say about The Walking Dead as a story telling tool. It's awesome. Likewise, the graphics and sound do their job perfectly. Particularly impressive are the facial animations, which along with the phenomenal voice acting, really help to immerse the player in the game's world. The only time The Walking Dead hits rocky territory is when it turns back into a 'game'. The controls during the action scenes are quite clumsy and can lead to frustration, especially when you have to repeatedly replay sections. That totally yanks me out of the world and spoils parts of the game for me. Nether-the-less, The Walking Dead is a harrowing, intense and unforgettable ride. Do not miss it. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    When it comes to this game, there are two kinds of people. The ones who are absolutely endeared by the storytelling and the others who are disgruntled by the repetitive gameplay. I am very positive about this game but I do note the lack of diversity. To start off, the storytelling is amazing. The characters are very real and you either want to care for them or really hate them. The relationship between Lee and Clemetine is the big thing but other characters are well brought out too. The separate episodes idea was a genius move for telltale. They would leave gamers constantly in anxious for the next installment. This is a highly emotional game, and don't be ashamed for shedding a few tears. Next, the gameplay is your basic click and interact type. However, you also have to interact with the characters. Make them trust you when your reputation really sucks. Although a bit repetitive, your choices really do matter. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    It baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and its linearity and weak gameplay are really off-putting. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews