Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 533 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a worldBased on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    This is a sad game that will weigh heavy on you long after you've completed it--it even wrung some honest tears out of me on a couple of occasions. But you'll suffer through the emotional swings because they're ultimately worth it. No matter how depressing, gut-wrenching, or flat-out horrifying The Walking Dead gets, you will want--nay, need--to finish it. It's just that good.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    93
    The Walking Dead: The Game is like a coloring book: we each have the same black and white sketch, but it's up to us to fill it in as we see fit. The relationships I've built, the emotions I've felt, the choices I've made – that's what makes The Walking Dead: The Game so endearing.
  3. May 27, 2013
    92
    A gaming experience that is truly unlike any other, The Walking Dead should be required playing for anyone who considers themselves a fan of our favourite medium. [Issue#231, p.76]
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead is a phenomenal title that will live long in the memory of anyone who experiences it.
  5. Believable dialogue from rounded characters who behave as you'd expect real people to. [Feb 2013, p.106]
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    90
    It deserves it as well, because The Walking Dead is a great game, one that truly pushes what can be done with a video game narrative that cannot be done in film or TV.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 88
  2. Negative: 11 out of 88
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    For 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful waysFor 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful ways to engross a player, but imagine if all films fit under the category of fun? We wouldn't have films like Schindler's List, Hurt Locker, Apocalypse Now, and the Godfather. Our medium has never had our own Citizen Kane, or it's own Godfather. Until now. If Spec Ops: The Line was the Apocalypse now of gaming, and Skyrim is the Lord of the Rings, The Walking Dead is the Dead Alive, and even that isn't doing it justice, as Dead Alive is the best zombie film ever. Look past the glitches, and we have a near perfect game. The puzzles are tricky and take a fair bit of though, the art style is the best use of cell-shading I've seen, the characters are well-written and have arcs, its atmosphere is very tense, and you have the urge to play it to the very end once you've picked it up. The episodes themselves were quite short, 3 hours at best, but the retail release actually makes it seem like one coherent game, instead of playing parts of a game months apart. Actions have consequences. The littlest choice has the hugest effect at the end of your game. Talk to another person who played this game and, most likely, his outcome would of been entirely different. All of this makes the Walking Dead compulsively playable, but not fun. It's not about the thrills of killing zombies, this game focuses on the realtionships between characters in a zombie apocalypse scenario, and makes you see how ordinary people can get along (and indeed fall out) in this scenario. Play it because you like Telltale, play it because you love zombies, play it because you love point and click adventure games, play it because you love substantial choice in games, play it because it's cheap, play it because you're sick of Halo, the bottom line remains the same: DO NOT MISS THE WALKING DEAD. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Can you really become close with characters in a game? The Walking Dead proves yes. The beautiful comic style art with the honesty of theCan you really become close with characters in a game? The Walking Dead proves yes. The beautiful comic style art with the honesty of the characters you know and develop relationships with make this game superb. The relationship you develop with Clementine and others, as well as fighting your way through the apocalypse makes this game fantastic. Despite the story, the overall good RPG elements are questioned because the majority of the game is decisions. Although I think it is an almost perfect blend it is no doubt the introduction of a barrage of actually playable console RPGs. So play this game, it brings out things inside you one wouldn't think a game couldn't bring out. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Captures the essence of The Walking Dead Comic Book perfectly!

    This game is truly a masterpiece. The Walking Dead has fantastic gameplay
    Captures the essence of The Walking Dead Comic Book perfectly!

    This game is truly a masterpiece. The Walking Dead has fantastic gameplay that relies on the player choices moreso than anything else and the game benefits from this as there are many heart-pounding sections that require quick thinking or else the Zombies kill one of your extremeley likeable comrades!

    These characters are even better written than they are in the TV Show and engage the player into their unique back stories that are inextricably linked to the present events. Everything feels right; not a single objective in the game seems pointless. Character development here is one of the best in this medium as each character goes through their own grim, adult and realistic arcs that are very intriguing - It sucks you in right from the get-go.

    The graphics are perfect! Brings the comic books to life better than anything else (I really wish the TV Series followed up on this style as it actually resembles the source material.)

    Overall, a true modern masterpiece and a perfect representation of The Walking Dead by Telltale Games. The Zombie genre has never been better!
    Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Clementine. I could end any article on that name and all who have played the game would nod in agreement. I can start off by telling you that Clementine. I could end any article on that name and all who have played the game would nod in agreement. I can start off by telling you that I have never cried while playing a video game before and I was tearing up, fighting the tears back during the last few moments of the season. I’m even feeling a bit choked up now, this proof of a tale being told correctly.
    You can forget about its solid gameplay, intelligent artistic direction that appeals to both the comic book and television show lovers, and even the phenomenal voice acting that drives the belief home. This game centers around characters; your relationships.
    Originally, I was enticed simply by this awesomely immersive universe of a zombie-ridden planet, but in the end I was wholly invested in being this little girl’s guardian and I’d be damned if anything happened to Clementine. It’s raw emotion. TellTale grabs you and drags you through the muck of anxiety, depression and helplessness, and you’ll love it. This episodic ends with your head in your hands and only leaves you wanting more.
    Honestly, if you haven’t played this game, I don’t care if zombies aren’t your thing or whatever horrible excuse you have for not playing this yet is, go pick up this game. And Journey, but this first.
    Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Just a heads up I have played all 5 episodes of The Walking Dead, but I downloaded them off of Playstation Network, so this isn't a review ofJust a heads up I have played all 5 episodes of The Walking Dead, but I downloaded them off of Playstation Network, so this isn't a review of this disc set, it's a review of what I think of all 5 episodes as a whole and the score you see is an average of the score I gave to each individual episode. To learn more about each episode individually please read my reviews of them. Telltale Games has created a masterpiece, it's emotional, intense, dark, and an excellent addition to the Walking Dead universe. In this game your tasked with two things, protecting a little girl and making decisions that will effect every step of your journey until the credits roll and your adventure ends. The story is excellently written and ties in perfectly with the comic book universe. It's filled with moments that will stick with you long after you've played it and characters you care about. The only complaint I really have with the game are it's technical issues. The Walking Dead: A Telltale Games Series is one the best games of the year and if you haven't played it yet you really need to. It's nothing less than a true masterpiece. Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    Ethical drama that excels both as game and as story. Not scary at all. Puzzles are very basic with the exception of two or three problems. TheEthical drama that excels both as game and as story. Not scary at all. Puzzles are very basic with the exception of two or three problems. The good thing is you don't get stuck, and can keep it flowing as a story. The themes in the game are of psychological, social, ethical character, and if you've studied these themes they can seem a bit basic and textbook-like in the game. But it's all tailored to the story to make it feel practical and contextual. And that works so well! Characters are very memorable and distinctive and fill out different roles very well. I usually mix up names of members of big casts, but these characters each were so well presented that I recognized every name, and still remember most of them a few days later. I was scared to lose them not just because I cared about them but because they were useful in the gameplay and all destinies seemed interwoven. There's not a 'bad' episode, they are all equally worth playing, but personally I thought episode 2 and 5 had the most thematic weight to them. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    It baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and itsIt baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and its linearity and weak gameplay are really off-putting. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews