The Walking Dead: A Telltale Games Series Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 398 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    This is a sad game that will weigh heavy on you long after you've completed it--it even wrung some honest tears out of me on a couple of occasions. But you'll suffer through the emotional swings because they're ultimately worth it. No matter how depressing, gut-wrenching, or flat-out horrifying The Walking Dead gets, you will want--nay, need--to finish it. It's just that good.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    93
    The Walking Dead: The Game is like a coloring book: we each have the same black and white sketch, but it's up to us to fill it in as we see fit. The relationships I've built, the emotions I've felt, the choices I've made – that's what makes The Walking Dead: The Game so endearing.
  3. May 27, 2013
    92
    A gaming experience that is truly unlike any other, The Walking Dead should be required playing for anyone who considers themselves a fan of our favourite medium. [Issue#231, p.76]
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead is a phenomenal title that will live long in the memory of anyone who experiences it.
  5. Believable dialogue from rounded characters who behave as you'd expect real people to. [Feb 2013, p.106]
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    90
    It deserves it as well, because The Walking Dead is a great game, one that truly pushes what can be done with a video game narrative that cannot be done in film or TV.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 73
  2. Negative: 8 out of 73
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    For 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful ways to engross a player, but imagine if all films fit under the category of fun? We wouldn't have films like Schindler's List, Hurt Locker, Apocalypse Now, and the Godfather. Our medium has never had our own Citizen Kane, or it's own Godfather. Until now. If Spec Ops: The Line was the Apocalypse now of gaming, and Skyrim is the Lord of the Rings, The Walking Dead is the Dead Alive, and even that isn't doing it justice, as Dead Alive is the best zombie film ever. Look past the glitches, and we have a near perfect game. The puzzles are tricky and take a fair bit of though, the art style is the best use of cell-shading I've seen, the characters are well-written and have arcs, its atmosphere is very tense, and you have the urge to play it to the very end once you've picked it up. The episodes themselves were quite short, 3 hours at best, but the retail release actually makes it seem like one coherent game, instead of playing parts of a game months apart. Actions have consequences. The littlest choice has the hugest effect at the end of your game. Talk to another person who played this game and, most likely, his outcome would of been entirely different. All of this makes the Walking Dead compulsively playable, but not fun. It's not about the thrills of killing zombies, this game focuses on the realtionships between characters in a zombie apocalypse scenario, and makes you see how ordinary people can get along (and indeed fall out) in this scenario. Play it because you like Telltale, play it because you love zombies, play it because you love point and click adventure games, play it because you love substantial choice in games, play it because it's cheap, play it because you're sick of Halo, the bottom line remains the same: DO NOT MISS THE WALKING DEAD. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    A game unlike any other I've ever played! It has amazingly simple gameplay, a top-notch storyline, and some of the best characters you will ever see in gaming. The best part about the game is that my story will be different from anybody else's. The possibilities about how your tale will unfold are endless. My hat's off to Telltale! Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    What is there to say about this game, that hasn't already been said? The story telling is top notch, one of the best tales all of gaming has to offer. Never before have I been so involved and cared so much about the characters in a story in this medium, or any other before it. The gameplay is equally compelling. Point and click fans will no doubt love it, and even my friends who are normally all about action and multiplayer can't help but love it. There is more then enough action, even if it is normally displayed as a QTE or quick time event, to keep you on your toes. You'll never know when something may pop out and attack, and you'll need to fight your way out of an awful situation. Honestly, if you haven't played this game yet, do it. It's as necessary a foot note in the story telling of video games as the great classics of film. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    I just love Walking dead - the comic book, the TV-series and the game. However considering TellTales Walking Dead a game might be to go a step to far, but not in a bad way. I consider TellTales Walking Dead series more like a “live” storybook where I as a “player” get to choose the outcome. And it’s a great story, well worth to “play through” – A real emotional roller coaster! Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Just a heads up I have played all 5 episodes of The Walking Dead, but I downloaded them off of Playstation Network, so this isn't a review of this disc set, it's a review of what I think of all 5 episodes as a whole and the score you see is an average of the score I gave to each individual episode. To learn more about each episode individually please read my reviews of them. Telltale Games has created a masterpiece, it's emotional, intense, dark, and an excellent addition to the Walking Dead universe. In this game your tasked with two things, protecting a little girl and making decisions that will effect every step of your journey until the credits roll and your adventure ends. The story is excellently written and ties in perfectly with the comic book universe. It's filled with moments that will stick with you long after you've played it and characters you care about. The only complaint I really have with the game are it's technical issues. The Walking Dead: A Telltale Games Series is one the best games of the year and if you haven't played it yet you really need to. It's nothing less than a true masterpiece. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2013
    8
    I liked this game quite a bit, however the replay value is close to none. It's supposed to "change the story depending on your choices" but, frankly, its seems far to linear to even make that claim. The quite should be "make choices to marginally change the story"

    Despite the almost outright lay about that, its a good linear game, cool story, worth the money, but be clear, its a linear game, period.
    Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    It baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and its linearity and weak gameplay are really off-putting. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews