Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a worldBased on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead features a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive in it. Assume the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    This is a sad game that will weigh heavy on you long after you've completed it--it even wrung some honest tears out of me on a couple of occasions. But you'll suffer through the emotional swings because they're ultimately worth it. No matter how depressing, gut-wrenching, or flat-out horrifying The Walking Dead gets, you will want--nay, need--to finish it. It's just that good.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    93
    The Walking Dead: The Game is like a coloring book: we each have the same black and white sketch, but it's up to us to fill it in as we see fit. The relationships I've built, the emotions I've felt, the choices I've made – that's what makes The Walking Dead: The Game so endearing.
  3. May 27, 2013
    92
    A gaming experience that is truly unlike any other, The Walking Dead should be required playing for anyone who considers themselves a fan of our favourite medium. [Issue#231, p.76]
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead is a phenomenal title that will live long in the memory of anyone who experiences it.
  5. Believable dialogue from rounded characters who behave as you'd expect real people to. [Feb 2013, p.106]
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    90
    It deserves it as well, because The Walking Dead is a great game, one that truly pushes what can be done with a video game narrative that cannot be done in film or TV.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 89
  2. Negative: 11 out of 89
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    For 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful waysFor 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful ways to engross a player, but imagine if all films fit under the category of fun? We wouldn't have films like Schindler's List, Hurt Locker, Apocalypse Now, and the Godfather. Our medium has never had our own Citizen Kane, or it's own Godfather. Until now. If Spec Ops: The Line was the Apocalypse now of gaming, and Skyrim is the Lord of the Rings, The Walking Dead is the Dead Alive, and even that isn't doing it justice, as Dead Alive is the best zombie film ever. Look past the glitches, and we have a near perfect game. The puzzles are tricky and take a fair bit of though, the art style is the best use of cell-shading I've seen, the characters are well-written and have arcs, its atmosphere is very tense, and you have the urge to play it to the very end once you've picked it up. The episodes themselves were quite short, 3 hours at best, but the retail release actually makes it seem like one coherent game, instead of playing parts of a game months apart. Actions have consequences. The littlest choice has the hugest effect at the end of your game. Talk to another person who played this game and, most likely, his outcome would of been entirely different. All of this makes the Walking Dead compulsively playable, but not fun. It's not about the thrills of killing zombies, this game focuses on the realtionships between characters in a zombie apocalypse scenario, and makes you see how ordinary people can get along (and indeed fall out) in this scenario. Play it because you like Telltale, play it because you love zombies, play it because you love point and click adventure games, play it because you love substantial choice in games, play it because it's cheap, play it because you're sick of Halo, the bottom line remains the same: DO NOT MISS THE WALKING DEAD. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Awesome game, Awesome story Great gameplay
    One of the best game i played since Heavy rain story wise and probably best zombie story game as
    Awesome game, Awesome story Great gameplay
    One of the best game i played since Heavy rain story wise and probably best zombie story game as compared to other zombie games
    Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Captures the essence of The Walking Dead Comic Book perfectly!

    This game is truly a masterpiece. The Walking Dead has fantastic gameplay
    Captures the essence of The Walking Dead Comic Book perfectly!

    This game is truly a masterpiece. The Walking Dead has fantastic gameplay that relies on the player choices moreso than anything else and the game benefits from this as there are many heart-pounding sections that require quick thinking or else the Zombies kill one of your extremeley likeable comrades!

    These characters are even better written than they are in the TV Show and engage the player into their unique back stories that are inextricably linked to the present events. Everything feels right; not a single objective in the game seems pointless. Character development here is one of the best in this medium as each character goes through their own grim, adult and realistic arcs that are very intriguing - It sucks you in right from the get-go.

    The graphics are perfect! Brings the comic books to life better than anything else (I really wish the TV Series followed up on this style as it actually resembles the source material.)

    Overall, a true modern masterpiece and a perfect representation of The Walking Dead by Telltale Games. The Zombie genre has never been better!
    Expand
  4. May 17, 2013
    9
    Telltale's The Walking Dead is a poor 'game' but an excellent experience. The plot, dialogue and characterizations are currently unparalleledTelltale's The Walking Dead is a poor 'game' but an excellent experience. The plot, dialogue and characterizations are currently unparalleled within gaming. These characters live and breath just as much as the ones on the HBO TV series. The choices that you make in the game feel really profound and you find yourself fretting over almost every one. There is literally nothing negative to say about The Walking Dead as a story telling tool. It's awesome. Likewise, the graphics and sound do their job perfectly. Particularly impressive are the facial animations, which along with the phenomenal voice acting, really help to immerse the player in the game's world. The only time The Walking Dead hits rocky territory is when it turns back into a 'game'. The controls during the action scenes are quite clumsy and can lead to frustration, especially when you have to repeatedly replay sections. That totally yanks me out of the world and spoils parts of the game for me. Nether-the-less, The Walking Dead is a harrowing, intense and unforgettable ride. Do not miss it. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    this game may not be another call of duty shoot em up but it does have so much emotion and mind boggling choices that make you look at yourthis game may not be another call of duty shoot em up but it does have so much emotion and mind boggling choices that make you look at your inner self. i cannot wait for season two. this also comes in number 2 for games of 2012 for me Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    Entretenido, atrapante y en general muy bueno pero el 8 es porque me falto jugabilidad... si me esfuerzo podría contar las veces que toque elEntretenido, atrapante y en general muy bueno pero el 8 es porque me falto jugabilidad... si me esfuerzo podría contar las veces que toque el control de la PS3, no creo que hayan sido mas de 40 ni tampoco mas de 10 los enfrentamientos con zombies... Fiel al comic y a la serie en todo caso, TWD no se trata de matar zombies, sino de evitarlos. Aun así me falto jugabilidad, la historia: 10 de 10 !! Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    It baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and itsIt baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and its linearity and weak gameplay are really off-putting. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews