Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 21, 2012
    90
    It's fascinating to see how The Walking Dead, as a mainly dialog-based Point & Click adventure game, manages to be more subtle than "interactive movie" productions like Heavy Rain. It's a little like if Telltale set out to produce the best possible zombie game, but with the lowest body count ever. They understood that the power of the original material of The Walking Dead was not in the undead, but in the humans.
  2. May 2, 2012
    90
    The scope of the storytelling in The Walking Dead video game is almost never attempted in downloadable games, let alone executed this successfully. This is a top-flight narrative, and an excellent example of episodic gaming done right.
  3. May 15, 2012
    87
    An exciting first episode for what will hopefully - and after playing this game probably - be a great series. It captures that particular style we've come to know and love from the comics and manages to expand on the already satisfying story of the TV-series. A must-play for The Walking Dead fans.
  4. 90
    A New Day proves to be Telltale Games' best outing in the adventure genre in recent memory--if not, ever. This is episodic gaming done right, and just like The Walking Dead TV show, we can't wait for the next episode.
  5. Jul 2, 2012
    88
    A New Day embraces this concept and allows the player to revel in its characters and their conversations, and in doing so even manages to grant the player legitimate agency over the suspected protagonist. And, yeah, it's a hell of a good ride.
  6. Jun 17, 2012
    89
    This is the first episode of five but tremendous value and well worth the cash. [Issue#219, p.81]
  7. Jun 5, 2012
    90
    Tense beyond belief, beautifully bloody and perfectly paced, A New Day is an affordable piece of interactive brilliance. [July 2012, p.103]
  8. The first leg of what promises to be an emotionally jarring five-part journey delivers a very different and refreshing take on zombie apocalypse survival. [July 2012, p.83]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. May 11, 2012
    10
    It's about time interactive dramas make a stand in gaming. The walking Dead is a great title oozing with potential. Not only does the firstIt's about time interactive dramas make a stand in gaming. The walking Dead is a great title oozing with potential. Not only does the first episode delivers, it hypes up the following episodes. Full Review »
  2. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    First off, I just want to say that people should stop comparing this to Heavy Rain, they might be both interactive drama, but they are of aFirst off, I just want to say that people should stop comparing this to Heavy Rain, they might be both interactive drama, but they are of a different genre. I'm very sure that Zombie Apocalypse and Serial Killer are two very different plots requiring a different approach to implementation. It's just not fair to the respective games and presents a bias. Now on to the game:

    This really is a masterpiece. It's the no nonsense "Walking Dead" suspense and drama that I've come to love from the TV series. Now, I haven't gone through the comics yet but based on the overall experience going through the game, given what I've seen from the TV series, I was simply blown away. The way conversations and decisions were made and implemented really does make you "feel" for the characters in their zombie apocalypse world. I believe the story was very well written and also intertwines with the comic books and the TV series, which the Walking Dead fan-boys will surely love. The graphics are unpretentious yet amazing, the characters come to life with their own quirks and expressions. The sound gets the job done and is very appropriate for a scene and really lifts the emotional context. The controls are simple and responsive. The replay value is very good, given you really want to see the consequences of your every response and actions. The price is also amazing, it gives people the option to just spend $5 to try the first episode or buy all episodes as a bundle for a discounted price of S20 and receive the content as soon as they hit the digital shelves. I give this game a perfect score as it takes the zombie apocalypse theme to a new perspective in such style and excellent presentation. We really need more of these games.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    As a huge fan of the show, but someone who's not familiar with the comic book (no comic book store in my area) I was dying to get the game andAs a huge fan of the show, but someone who's not familiar with the comic book (no comic book store in my area) I was dying to get the game and looked forward to finding out about the comics, but was a little worried, now that I've played it I'm dying for more episodes to come out, it's fantastic the story, characters, and moments are all epic, it's not action centered like other zombie games such as the Dead Rising series or Dead Island as it's more focused on story and characters, but you will get to some "Walkers", and the story changes based on your choices, I started a second play-through and I'm surprised to see how my choices affected how the story played out, it's like the game is part RPG which is fine with me because that is my favorite game genre, and even though it's the first episode your faced with some really tough decisions to make and to add to the tension you only have a few seconds to make them, I'm dying to see how my choices will affect the other episodes, it's a blast to play and if your a Walking dead fan whether the TV show or comic book you'll love this, even if your not familiar with either I highly recommend, it's outstanding, fantastic, and a must download especially at the low price of $5.00, so as you can tell I really recommend a purchase of this awesome downloadable game. Full Review »