Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 7, 2012
    90
    For the raw, skittish tension of the decisions you make? The Walking Dead is unmatched. [Issue#221, p.79]
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    Episode 2 is an experience that is completely different to anything you can find on the PS3, if you've already bought Episode 1 then there's no doubt you'll pick this up, if you haven't, then now is the perfect time.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    Technically, this game isn't superb. Luckily, every other aspect of The Walking Dead Episode 2: Starved for Help is. Bloody action, though choices and a great story with well-developed characters make this well worth your while.
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    85
    It's definitely a different experience than the first episode (including its additional technical issues), but that's what I want out of episodic content.
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    85
    The stellar writing and character development continues at a superior level, and the decisions the game asks you to make are gut-wrenching.
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    84
    Starved for Help continues to explore the moral ambiguity of a post-society world, albeit focusing more on the human threat this time around. There is a narrow margin between right and wrong, and forcing the player to genuinely question what to do or how to act in virtual environment is a remarkable accomplishment.
  7. It's also more predictable, with fewer affecting decisions than the first part, but that's not to say that you won't umm and ahh over what to do on multiple occasions. This is still an excellent piece of narrative-driven gaming, where you grow attached to the cast and enjoy/endure the consequences of your actions. It's where Heavy Rain meets the zombie apocalypse, and that should be enough to sell anybody.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    Well done for 2 episode.... Everything perfect.. just release date for europe .... Waaaaay to late ... Thats why peoples giving lots ofWell done for 2 episode.... Everything perfect.. just release date for europe .... Waaaaay to late ... Thats why peoples giving lots of negative votes... Try to release it at same time in all countries and it will be much better Collapse
  2. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Great game, great story, great cell shaded graphics. Seriously guys! What do you expect from a $5 game? Seriously people complaining about aGreat game, great story, great cell shaded graphics. Seriously guys! What do you expect from a $5 game? Seriously people complaining about a $5 game have issues. Its awesome and the characters you can really adapt to. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Better than episode one. The story continues as survivors search for food. A lot of quality plot to be seen here. Choices made in episode oneBetter than episode one. The story continues as survivors search for food. A lot of quality plot to be seen here. Choices made in episode one effect the episode and allows the player mulitple playthroughs. The best $5 you can spend. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game, in some ways its even better than the first episode. Tell-tale games have made a real gem here, and if you are a fan of theFantastic game, in some ways its even better than the first episode. Tell-tale games have made a real gem here, and if you are a fan of the TV show, then you will definitely like this game. No great game mechanics, no great graphics (though they are linked to the comics) just a fantastic story with great player choice sections. Every players story is likely to be slightly different, and (like the TV show) there are often sections in the game that require you to make tough choices, real tough. The rations section at the start of this episode shows a great example of this. For £4 per episode, this is a no brainer. Its way less than most games on the market today, and is a lot better than most. If you are looking for an action packed shoot-em-up, then this is not for you, if you are looking for a great story, that really makes you connect with the characters and the hard choices that need to be made, then get this game! Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    As many people have mentioned, after being said the walking dead series were
    To be released monthly, the long wait for episode 2 ruined the
    As many people have mentioned, after being said the walking dead series were
    To be released monthly, the long wait for episode 2 ruined the sort of flow between the first and second episode that I imagined. However, regardless of the wait my excitement continued to grow until the day of the release. Nonetheless, it boils down to the individual game itself, which was why I was pleased that is the same as episode one, the comical graphics and the voice acting were both Perfect yet there were times the game froze for a split second leaving voice syncing of until after the scene. Nevertheless the choices although feel a bit less this time round, again mattered. There were times when I stressed about what to do yet continued to question myself for an answer as episode 2 perfectly delivers the emotions of the story. If you got episode 1 or love a game with emotions and attachment, start with one so you can get 2! Few technical issues stop it from being a full 10.
    Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    Granted it's a bit late, but you know what? It was actually kinda worth it, while it seems like some choices I made in Ep1 has been "changed",Granted it's a bit late, but you know what? It was actually kinda worth it, while it seems like some choices I made in Ep1 has been "changed", it was pretty much a good continuation, some twists you'll see coming miles away and some you won't, depending on how much you're able to piece together. Although even though I saw most of it coming, it's still the emotional side of it all that really gets you, some choices I had to make in a second, others I had to think long and hard on, all with pretty serious consequences. Although it's not really impressive from a technical standpoint, but that doesn't really matter, I'm really sold on the characters and really getting into it, doing what I would do in the same situation. I may never have experienced the golden age of point and click games, but I sure am glad I got my eyes on this and I'll be sure to follow it, heck I've paid for the season pass so I don't have much choice, hehe... Anyway, I give it an 8/10, while it was very good, it's really the technical problems that holds it back with the fact that it seemed to have changed some of my earlier choices. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2012
    0
    The plot should have expanded and the characters should develop. This is not the case. It should be slow paced yes. But TellTale Games areThe plot should have expanded and the characters should develop. This is not the case. It should be slow paced yes. But TellTale Games are taking this to the far extreme. A poor second episode. My hopes for the 3rd episode is very low. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews