User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 142

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    I don't think any game has ever toyed with my emotions as much as this one has. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll want to punch Lilly in her god damned face.
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    It's brilliant, I'm not going to bother with my usual pandering, just buy the damn thing and get on with it. The characters, the narrative and the influence will deliver all the thrills and excitement of any of the best survival horror flicks you can think of; with the added bonus of putting you in charge of how it plays it. With controller firmly welded to my hands, I eagerly await the next episode. (So hurry it up, won't you?) Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    While the previous installments were both great, Long Road Ahead still manages to set the bar even higher. Despite one slightly frustrating shooting sequence and a slight setback due to a glitch, this episode is easily the best so far. It may not carry the same thrills as the previous, but instead forces you to accept the most tragic losses the group has witnessed, made only more painful by the fact that you're powerless to prevent them. And most important, it does an exceptional job of illustrating the effects that the bleak world is having on the survivors. If you haven't played these games yet, you're doing yourself a colossal disservice. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Call me crazy or weird but as I play these episodes I find myself caring more and more about these characters and their fates, and in this episode I watched a lot of the characters I cared about die which both shocked and saddened me. No other episode thus far has made me question the choices I've made as much as this one has, so much so that I need, not want, to see if I can change characters fates or not. It's much more emotional than other episodes as it hits close to home a lot. Sadness, depression and fear are all throughout this episode, so much so in fact that whenever things start to look decent for the cast something comes along and makes things even worse for them. The gameplay has made a lot of improvements this go around, the puzzles have never been better and I believe there are more of them this time. Last episode was action packed, and while there is less action than last episode it's just as intense. I got in a gun fight with bandits, and smashed and shot the brains out of some zombies, oops I mean Walkers XD. As far as issues go it's got some weird glitches, and the occasionally goofy/bad voice acting, but even with these flaws Telltale has delivered another fantastic Walking Dead experience, and makes the wait for the next episode unbearable. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Things really went crazy in this episode. As food and paranoia becomes a serious issue, the people around you that you trust are now in a situation worse than ever before. Drama, death, chaos and unthinkable things will happen. This episode builds upon the two already amazing episodes before it. It tells a story that captured me and the characters around me made it feel almost real. Telltale games have a masterpiece right here and it's getting better and better by each episode Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    A disturbing, yet amazing, episode. Stunning voice acting, amazing story. You just get more and more excited for the next episode. Amazing job, Tell Tale.
  7. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    Out of all of the games I have ever played, this game by far tops the list for the best story. Though the game is a bit linear, it doesn't make a difference because you are always wanting more and it just hooks you right in! Don't listen to the other reviews because most people do not understand that this game is supposed to look and play like it does, most of the bad reviews on here are because this game is a hit or a miss, though 99% of the time it is a hit! I give this game the title: BEST STORY EVER!!! Expand
  8. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Honestly, if this doesn't deserve an almost perfect review, then I don't know what does. The story is literally incredible. Every 5 minutes something you completely don't expect happens. Everything is right. There's so much to write about the game, but simply put... it has to be the best I've ever played. If you expect to play this episode over two, maybe three days, it's not gonna happen. You're going to be glued to the seat until the very end. The only thing that stopped me from giving it 10/10 is the fact that it's so short. I easily could've been playing this for 6 hours non stop. Great overall. Expand
  9. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Originality: This is where this game shines. The plot of this game is one of the most captivating plots that I have ever seen in any game and on any platform. The writing and story-telling in this game is nothing short of spectacular. I can not wait for the next episode. Flare/Appeal: Story-driven game. Point and click adventure. Overall: If you like story-driven games and don't much care about quality game-play, this game is for you. This game is like an interactive TV series. I don't remember being this hooked to anything since the first season of "Lost." Expand
  10. 4DI
    Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Every episode is colossal compared to its preceding episode. And man.... this episode actually made me pause, to think and rethink my choices. The voice acting is top notch. The script is surprising and slick.
    Sprinkled with some fun easter eggs, and you might be seeing a GOTY edition!
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    86
    The first sign of weakness in the otherwise excellent series. [Issue#223, p.87]
  2. When we say "we", we mean "we" and not "you", because every player up until now has built up different relationships with different characters through the many choices they have had to make. This time your companionship will leave the motel by train. [October 2012, p.78]
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    85
    As good as the previous ones, especially story-wise. I can't help feeling disappointed by the amount of glitches and badly executed lip syncs though.