Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    The fourth episode of Telltale's The Walking Dead game series delivers in the same way the others did: telling a great, emotional story and offering the player some really tough choices along the way. If you've enjoyed the previous outings, you shouldn't allow yourself to miss out on this one.
  2. 90
    The most eerie and unnerving episode yet, Around Every Corner leaves you on the edge of your seat thinking "please don't let it end now." Just like a great TV show's penultimate episode, it sets up what should be an emotionally explosive conclusion.
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    85
    As if you need further proof that episodic games can enhance the experience in terms of dramatic and narrative value. I can't wait for the finale.
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    84
    Around Every Corner finest asset may be also its least conspicuous; three second vignettes proceeding a horrific events. The rule of thirds is applied, deliberate lighting techniques are employed, and each scene is framed exceptionally well. In each case it's a still shot, but it might as well be a soliloquy. These are Around Every Corner's signature moments, and witnessing them is your fateful pleasure. Beyond that the narrative doesn't move quite as much as in previous episodes, but it's tough to say The Walking Dead spinning its wheels in lieu of a grand finale.
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    83
    Episode 4 builds to a promising series finale, and the writers make sure that the emotional toll of every decision and horrifying experience plagues your psyche. In that, it succeeds by properly laying down all the groundwork for Episode 5. The episode starts off slow, but by the end, lights fire in a worthy cliffhanger. I'm still thinking about it, and it doesn't get much better than that.
  6. With only one further episode to come, you feel like the gravity of your decisions is magnified given what's sure to be a blockbuster finale. [Christmas 2012, p.109]
  7. Oct 17, 2012
    80
    It's got some nice simple puzzle sequences, some shootouts, and a truck full of drama. Let's just hope the final chapter doesn't take forever to come out.
  8. Oct 9, 2012
    75
    Episode 4 is fun, but the events that stand out all come in the final few minutes.
  9. Oct 10, 2012
    70
    It also seems like the developers have painted themselves into a corner, having loaded the first three episodes with so much tragedy and death that we're left stranded with a bunch of strangers in episode four. With that said, it is still impossible to put this game down, and the stage has been set for the story of Lee and Clementine to come to a fitting, tragic conclusion.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    Great episode!!! The story was great in this episode! I had a few scares as well! also I noticed techinically they improved the lighting visual effects. Walking dead the game is back! Cant wait till episode 5!!! Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    A stunning episode, but let me get this straight: this episode is about zombie action, except the last ten minutes. But the way the episode ends, with no trailer, would make anyone nervous and excited to know what happens next. Full Review »
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    1
    This is easily the weakest episode so far. The only good parts are in the last 15 minutes. So if you want to play through two hours of nothing happening then enjoy. I would recommend waiting until episode 5 comes out and playing them together since you learn NOTHING new about the story. I was very disappointed. I had such high hopes, and then they threw in this filler episode to waste time. Boring! I kept expecting a big twist, but it never came. Everything was predictable and boring. Even when moments started to seem intense and got you wondering what was going to happen, it would be squashed a few seconds later with something boring. As I said before, wait until the last episode comes out and treat 4 & 5 as one "super" episode. This was a disgrace. Full Review »