Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    Simply put, The Walking Dead from Telltale Games is a shining example of what interactive media should be. If you miss out on this, you are missing out on one of the greatest works of art of our generation.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    95
    Moving into 2013, people will reference the series over and over as the benchmark for story-telling in games. And historically, it will stand as the game that reinvented or at least repopularized adventure games.
  3. There's a ton of dialogue to be heard and choices to made and even though they won't impact the story all that much – it has a fixed ending – The Walking Dead's story shines and delivers one of the best game-endings we've ever seen. And that's all what matters here. [January 2013, p.96]
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    We've gotten quite emotionally invested into the characters of this great videogame series and now Telltale delivers a worthy pay-off. You won't forget this anytime soon, we promise - and neither will you regret a purchase.
  5. 90
    Episode 5 beautifully wraps up a season of spectacular, emotionally deep, and memorable chapters. The Walking Dead is one of the best downloadable games of all time and, given the way No Time Left made me feel, it would be unfair for me to ask for a better conclusion.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    85
    Character drama has rarely been better in the gaming medium, and it most definitely deserves a spot on your hard drive.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    85
    Telltale's episodic love letter to zombies remains one of the most memorable gaming experiences of the year. Telltale has already announced it is working on Season Two, and No Time Left beautifully wraps up the story of these last several episodes while teasing things to come. No Time Left isn't a "happily ever after" affair, but it feels like a dark and stormy intro to another exciting chapter.
  8. An emotive gut punch that takes rusty shears to the heartstrings. [Jan 2013, p.111]
  9. Nov 21, 2012
    75
    The story veered off track in the last episode, losing a fair bit of steam after the introduction of an offputting new plot device--and the whole thing comes to a halt in this brief final act that lacks the devastating impact of the earlier episodes, despite more than a few heartbreaking moments.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 4DI
    Nov 21, 2012
    10
    What can I say? I'm speechless.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Don't wanna spoil anything for anyone who is going to purchase or is thinking of purchasing this. This final conclusion pretty much summarises the highs of the series as a whole. The pacing is just right and the acting for the most part is spot on. There are few games that shock me or connect with me emotionally but The Walling Dead not just in this episode but as an entire series has been great to experience. This is one of the strongest episodes,particular as it doesn't have nearly as many bugs as some of the other episodes and while at some moments you might think that would have been more logical? The game carefully intertwines with your previous decisions to deliver a climax not too fuelled on being the next Michael Bay film but about human nature and looking after those you care about. I rarely give 10's and I would rather give 9.5 but on this metacritic scale its closer to 10 than 9 - The best chapter in the entire series in my opinion. Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    All in all, Episode 5 is the best episode in the series, and the series itself is easily Game of the Year for me. No game has made me feel so connected to the characters. This is definitely the shortest chapter in the series, and there is almost little to no puzzle solving, but who cares? The story outshines everything in this episode. Absolutely EVERYTHING. Even the technical hiccups that originally plagued the game. If you haven't already, BUY THE GAME. And prepare for a treat if you haven't seen any episode gameplay on youtube that is based on the game. Full Review »