User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 127

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Outstanding! You should probably watch the show before getting into the game, but either way the plot and the gameplay are soooooooooooooooooooooooooo good!
  2. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    This game is just amazing... The story is brilliant. Playing from episode 1 and finally just now getting ep 5... This is a great ending to the series. I feel slightly cheated from how short this chapter is, but the story makes up for it. Would buy again!
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    The final episode of the season is here, and it's a powerful one. It's emotional, tense, and depressing, and has some of the most interesting/cool choices to make. The puzzles and action take back seat and aren't really that prominent. This episode is more about reflecting on the choices you made as Lee and giving you intense and emotional moments. I am extremely proud to say that the glitches that have been in every episode so far are not here. I enjoyed the episode a lot but I am dissappointed with the ending of this episode, the screen just fades to black and your booted to the credits which you have to sit through in order to see a decent ending, but it's more of a "wait for season 2" ending that leaves a lot of unanswered questions about characters fates than a conclusion that will keep us satisfied until TellTale releases season 2. still it's one heck of an episode and just like always I can't wait to see what comes next. Bring on season 2. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    There is nothing to say about this Episode. Just go and play it. It is just a well deserved 10!

    And with season two almost upon us. I cannot even wait to see what Telltale have in store for us!
  5. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Even though this is the shortest of the series it is definitely the best. At the end you are confronted with just about every decision you have made. Although I didn't cry at the end I was very moved by the whole story.
  6. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    The most emotionally involving game I've ever played. The final chapter in this brilliant game is filled with reflection, guilt, anger, and despair. All of the game's shortcomings are completely wiped out by the amazing story and how damn effective it is at making you really care about the characters. Everyone owes it to themselves to play through the whole game. In a gaming world filled with mindless action, The Walking Dead really shows that games can be emotionally powerful. Let's hope this trend continues. This is Game of the Year for me. No other game EVER has made me tear up, or even come close. And this game did. 10 out of 10. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Don't wanna spoil anything for anyone who is going to purchase or is thinking of purchasing this. This final conclusion pretty much summarises the highs of the series as a whole. The pacing is just right and the acting for the most part is spot on. There are few games that shock me or connect with me emotionally but The Walling Dead not just in this episode but as an entire series has been great to experience. This is one of the strongest episodes,particular as it doesn't have nearly as many bugs as some of the other episodes and while at some moments you might think that would have been more logical? The game carefully intertwines with your previous decisions to deliver a climax not too fuelled on being the next Michael Bay film but about human nature and looking after those you care about. I rarely give 10's and I would rather give 9.5 but on this metacritic scale its closer to 10 than 9 - The best chapter in the entire series in my opinion. Expand
  8. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    The series started a little bit on the slow side, and some of the characters were just too pointless, but, any mistake in plot or hiccup in the technical department is all but forgiven in episode 5. It's easily the most emotionally driven episode in the series, and the action and music involved is phenomenal for a game of its kind. I was a skeptic on this genre coming into it, but after finishing season 1, I simply can't wait for season 2. It'll have a lot to live up to from the season 1 finale. Expand
  9. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    The highlight of the gaming year for me. Enjoyed every game in the series and was just blown away by the emotional impact it left me with at the end. While sad and grim, from a gaming experience, this was one of the best from a storytelling standpoint. A must play for everyone!
  10. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    What an epic conclusion to an epic series. In my top 3 games of the year. I thought I was going to cry during the final scene. Wouldn't have minded waiting a couple of extra weeks for them to create more content as I do think (at around a quarter of the length of the others) it represents poor value for money when compared to the other episodes. For this reason, I give it 9.5. I hope season 2 can live up to the huge expectations that will surely be placed on it after all the GOTY's it will scoop. On a side note, the characterisations are so good that when me and the gf watch the series, we comment how bland they are compared to the game. Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Unbelievable... Amazing... Say whatever the hell you want, this is the GOTY. Period. Best story ever, best characters ever, and most importantly, a shocking yet amazing conclusion. Im buying season 2 without hesitating.
  12. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I've been at loss of words for hours after finishing this game, but I finally brought myself together and wrote this review, so let's get down with it. In a time where gaming is full of games with no feelings, no heart, this game comes and changes everything, redefines gaming itself. The way you get attached to every single one of the survivors, plus the amazing story-telling, beautiful visual style and incredible performances, make up for one of gaming's finest experiences. I don't want to spoil anything for anyone, so if you haven't played this game yet, do yourself a favor and don't miss out on this amazing game. Mark my words, gaming will never be the same after this game, a game that is going to be talked about for years to come. Collapse
  13. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    All in all, Episode 5 is the best episode in the series, and the series itself is easily Game of the Year for me. No game has made me feel so connected to the characters. This is definitely the shortest chapter in the series, and there is almost little to no puzzle solving, but who cares? The story outshines everything in this episode. Absolutely EVERYTHING. Even the technical hiccups that originally plagued the game. If you haven't already, BUY THE GAME. And prepare for a treat if you haven't seen any episode gameplay on youtube that is based on the game. Expand
  14. 4DI
    Nov 21, 2012
    10
    What can I say? I'm speechless.
  15. TGR
    Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This game defines a generation. Beautiful, incredible, and moving. The Walking Dead Episode 5 not only tops all the other episodes but tops any game I have ever played. I spend 95% of my day watching movies and playing games. I have never cried until now. The Walking Dead is the most emotional game i'v ever played. Telltale has created one of the greatest games ever. When we move on to the coming years Telltale's The Walking Dead will be seen as the game that made history for interactive games and adventure games. If you don't play this game you are missing out on one of the greatest gaming experiences ever. So go download this game now. Oh, and don't forget those tissues! Trust me, you'll need them. Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    One of the most moving games I've ever played. Actually, this IS the most moving game, or rather an experience, a powerful, wonderful experience. Episode 5 is absolutely brilliant, this is the best episode in the whole series, and The Walking Dead is one of the best games of 2012. Every minute is filled with action or emotions - both equally powerful. I have just finished the game and I don't know what to say. Maybe... Just two short words: play it. Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This is the best game this year!!! And beats a lot of other games out there, it is nothing like you played before its so unique in its own different way. Perfect score for me, an absolute MASTERPIECE!!! Its Game of the Year for sure.
  18. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    Game of the Year, has undoubtedly been the best in the story mode as you take your own decisions. An epic finale and confusing, but do not explain how Clementine left town. So medium graphics quality resemble a comic drawing and unlike other zombie games this does reflect what would happen in real life as alteration, worry and fear.
  19. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    This game! Ohhh this game! What can be said about it that hasn't already been said? This game not only surpasses the television show (which I love btw) in awesomeness, it surpasses almost every other video game out there right now in awesomeness. Can't wait until the new ones start coming out next year. And i'll admit it, I cried like a freaking baby at the end.
  20. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    the game is amaizing, but they could do better like adding multiple endings.
    all the choices and headache, blood and tears, left or right, live or die, coffee or tea, but no matter what you do or choose the ending will remain the same.
  21. Nov 22, 2012
    0
    I've been at loss of words for hours after finishing this game, but I finally brought myself together and wrote this review, so let's get down with it. In a time where gaming is full of games with no feelings, no heart, this game comes and changes everything, redefines gaming itself. The way you get attached to every single one of the survivors, plus the amazing story-telling, beautiful visual style and incredible performances, make up for one of gaming's finest experiences. I don't want to spoil anything for anyone, so if you haven't played this game yet, do yourself a favor and don't miss out on this amazing game. Mark my words, gaming will never be the same after this game, a game that is going to be talked about for years to come. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. An emotive gut punch that takes rusty shears to the heartstrings. [Jan 2013, p.111]
  2. There's a ton of dialogue to be heard and choices to made and even though they won't impact the story all that much – it has a fixed ending – The Walking Dead's story shines and delivers one of the best game-endings we've ever seen. And that's all what matters here. [January 2013, p.96]
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    We've gotten quite emotionally invested into the characters of this great videogame series and now Telltale delivers a worthy pay-off. You won't forget this anytime soon, we promise - and neither will you regret a purchase.