Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final episode of a five-part "season" set in Robert Kirkman’s zombie apocalypse.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    Simply put, The Walking Dead from Telltale Games is a shining example of what interactive media should be. If you miss out on this, you are missing out on one of the greatest works of art of our generation.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    95
    Moving into 2013, people will reference the series over and over as the benchmark for story-telling in games. And historically, it will stand as the game that reinvented or at least repopularized adventure games.
  3. 90
    Episode 5 beautifully wraps up a season of spectacular, emotionally deep, and memorable chapters. The Walking Dead is one of the best downloadable games of all time and, given the way No Time Left made me feel, it would be unfair for me to ask for a better conclusion.
  4. There's a ton of dialogue to be heard and choices to made and even though they won't impact the story all that much – it has a fixed ending – The Walking Dead's story shines and delivers one of the best game-endings we've ever seen. And that's all what matters here. [January 2013, p.96]
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    85
    Telltale's episodic love letter to zombies remains one of the most memorable gaming experiences of the year. Telltale has already announced it is working on Season Two, and No Time Left beautifully wraps up the story of these last several episodes while teasing things to come. No Time Left isn't a "happily ever after" affair, but it feels like a dark and stormy intro to another exciting chapter.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    85
    Character drama has rarely been better in the gaming medium, and it most definitely deserves a spot on your hard drive.
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    75
    The story veered off track in the last episode, losing a fair bit of steam after the introduction of an offputting new plot device--and the whole thing comes to a halt in this brief final act that lacks the devastating impact of the earlier episodes, despite more than a few heartbreaking moments.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. TGR
    Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This game defines a generation. Beautiful, incredible, and moving. The Walking Dead Episode 5 not only tops all the other episodes but tops any game I have ever played. I spend 95% of my day watching movies and playing games. I have never cried until now. The Walking Dead is the most emotional game i'v ever played. Telltale has created one of the greatest games ever. When we move on to the coming years Telltale's The Walking Dead will be seen as the game that made history for interactive games and adventure games. If you don't play this game you are missing out on one of the greatest gaming experiences ever. So go download this game now. Oh, and don't forget those tissues! Trust me, you'll need them. Collapse
  2. 4DI
    Nov 21, 2012
    10
    What can I say? I'm speechless.
  3. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    The most emotionally involving game I've ever played. The final chapter in this brilliant game is filled with reflection, guilt, anger, and despair. All of the game's shortcomings are completely wiped out by the amazing story and how damn effective it is at making you really care about the characters. Everyone owes it to themselves to play through the whole game. In a gaming world filled with mindless action, The Walking Dead really shows that games can be emotionally powerful. Let's hope this trend continues. This is Game of the Year for me. No other game EVER has made me tear up, or even come close. And this game did. 10 out of 10. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    There is nothing to say about this Episode. Just go and play it. It is just a well deserved 10!

    And with season two almost upon us. I
    cannot even wait to see what Telltale have in store for us! Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I've been at loss of words for hours after finishing this game, but I finally brought myself together and wrote this review, so let's get down with it. In a time where gaming is full of games with no feelings, no heart, this game comes and changes everything, redefines gaming itself. The way you get attached to every single one of the survivors, plus the amazing story-telling, beautiful visual style and incredible performances, make up for one of gaming's finest experiences. I don't want to spoil anything for anyone, so if you haven't played this game yet, do yourself a favor and don't miss out on this amazing game. Mark my words, gaming will never be the same after this game, a game that is going to be talked about for years to come. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    The final episode of the season is here, and it's a powerful one. It's emotional, tense, and depressing, and has some of the most interesting/cool choices to make. The puzzles and action take back seat and aren't really that prominent. This episode is more about reflecting on the choices you made as Lee and giving you intense and emotional moments. I am extremely proud to say that the glitches that have been in every episode so far are not here. I enjoyed the episode a lot but I am dissappointed with the ending of this episode, the screen just fades to black and your booted to the credits which you have to sit through in order to see a decent ending, but it's more of a "wait for season 2" ending that leaves a lot of unanswered questions about characters fates than a conclusion that will keep us satisfied until TellTale releases season 2. still it's one heck of an episode and just like always I can't wait to see what comes next. Bring on season 2. Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2013
    6
    Wow, I would say this was one of the best experiences of it's type that can be had in regards to Zombie fiction. What a fleshed out heart-wrench, and there were many instances of my mouth hitting the floor for the utter brutality contained within. I will say bravo, the artists and designers deserve the 10's on this one. I would say that the only thing that holds back mine is the glitches that made the game unplayable at time, and just flat out ruined some of the most suspenseful portions of the game. Stuttering, stalling and lagging. Holy God. In multiple occasions I lost the ability to make a choice of speech due to the glitches. I wish this would have been more polished on the BR Disc release. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews