User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 183

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    3
    Let's just say that because this game isn't as bad as we thought, doesn't give us an excuse to fool ourselves into thinking this game is decent. We all know the graphics were lackluster in this game, so I will move through that point fast. The graphics are a little better than a ps2 game, maybe early this generation of consoles. The backgrounds looks better than the walkers(only 3 different types) and humans in the game. However, the locations in this game are very generic and boring. Here a few points that I want to hit in this review: As you will notice early on in the game is the combat. While using the knife, you basically have to slap the zombie in the face 4 times causing them to fly backwards as stiff as a board. Later on in the game some melee weapons will allow you to one-hit kill a walker in mediocre style. The knife stealth kill animation is nice at first when you sneak up on walkers, however it gets boring and actually hinders your ability to fight in some aspects. While this animation unfolds, there is no way to stop it, so walkers from all sides of you can hit you while you perform this move. Nevertheless, it would have been nice if they created animations for stealth kills with other weapons, but they didn't. Other weapons can been found such as shotguns, rifles, pistols, a crossbow(of course), axes, bats and other weapons. However, guns usually are the secondary weapon of choice and all guns act the same(since you can only shoot the zombies in the head to kill them). Creating too much noise will cause zombies to come find you(sometimes). That brings me to my next point...the zombie AI. In some situations, the AI is spot on. If you make a noise, they will find you, investigate or they will see you from yards away and confront you. Other times, you can shoot their friend right next to them and they might walk the other way. Also, they cannot reach you if you stand on top of a car or in a train car, giving you the chance to pick them off one by one. This unpredictable nature of the zombies can make the game too easy. Other times, zombies will spawn behind you and overrun you quickly. In this case, there is a real-time event when a zombie grabs you, where you have to line the button up to the zombies head(while pressing it), this in turn puts you one on one with a zombie(in a crowd) and allows you to kill them in one hit. In many cases, it is easier to use this real-time event to your advantage and pick zombies off one by one while fighting a horde. Another way in which this game disappoints is the traveling sequences(staring at a map much of the time), it all gets too predictable over the course of the game. I really wish they allowed you actually drive the vehicle. You can choose three routes(text based choices), which include highways(conserves the most gas). Each of the three choices gives you the chances of finding supplies and breaking down. If you break down, the game will bring you on a side mission to fight a horde of zombies and receive gas and supplies. Again, this gets old after a while. I agree that the inventory works pretty well, where you only have a set amount of space for weapons and supplies. However, collecting the same weapons and supplies over and over(such as energy drinks for health), drags the game down. The voice acting in this game is actually one of the things that shines. Norman and Mike really seem like they put a lot into these roles and make the game bearable. Without those two, the game wouldn't even be worth mentioning. The other survivors do a pretty good job at supporting them, albeit the story is lackluster. One other positive about this game are the survivors. The aspect of having a team and allowing survivors to help you find supplies is a great idea. However, a lot of times the survivors only find 1/3 of what you would find on your own. In most cases the reward isn't that great, but might make a difference when your close to running out of bullets. My final point has to do with the reason many people have bought the game. As a prequel to TWD show, explaining how Daryl got his crossbow. To tell you the truth, I expected an Excalibur moment. Yet, I was very underwhelmed at the point he received his crossbow. I will not go into too much depth, but it was basically like "Oh, ok that's how he got it...that sucked." I feel as though the walking dead's name was sold out here. There was so much source material to make this game great, but it just seems rushed. Also, Merle and Daryl without co-op? What a waste! I really wanted to like this game, since I am a big Walking Dead fan, but it was a 6-7 hour let down. I would say this game is not worth more than $20, if that. There is no game ending glitches that I have noticed yet, but there is nothing special about this game. This game is nothing more than a half-finished disappointment. Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Got this game first thing today at gamestop and its all I hoped it would be, the game is amazing! I have played for about three hours now and I can't put it down!
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    I picked this game up this morning as soon as game stop was open. So that means i have spent about 2.5 hours with it. I will say that i was a little surprised. To to a tv tie in it was much better then i thought. All the cries about the graphics are not wrong, but maybe thats why they knocked 10buck off its price. All the cries about the game play however are wrong, I find it very good. Gun play is tight, and movement is on par with any other FPS with a little peeking around walls to make the sneaking a little better. Now the melee is not half bad you have a quick kill from behind a grapple if you get grabbed and a light/heavy attack. Different weapons will swing faster/slower but also push zombies back different distances. I would put the melee a cut about games like skyrim and fallout because of the grapple and quick kills. Voice acting is nice also, but the NPC fall a little flat when compared to the voice of Daryle and his brother.

    Over all i would give it an 8
    but this is from a huge walking dead fan, so if i step back and act like its just another game that might drop to a 7
    Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    2
    this game is very disappointing. no co-op and no online. second rate graphics, zombie AI is very simple. the game drags on and the story is very light. the game had so much potential but it looks like it was thrown together in 6 months. this game has little depth and killing zombies has never been this boring. go out and buy the telltale game of the walking dead or left 4 dead. this game is horrible crap. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    0
    Anyone who is writing reviews saying that this game is great is totally lying to you or work for Activision/Terminal Velocity. We played this at the gamestop store and it reminded us of a really poorly designed free ipad game. The graphics are on par with a PS1 bargain bin game. The gameplay is atrocious. Zombies mechanically move about the screen and disappear into the air after you defeat them. For a system as powerful as the PS3 to have enemies disappear after you defeat them is just lazy on the part of the programmers. Sure they will probably sucker quite a lot of fans of the series to buy the trite garbage, but give it a month at least because it will be $19.99 or less. This game really should have been $9.99 on the Play Station Network, the other $40 probably is going to licensing of the Walking Dead product. Ugh and if you do decide to play this garbage, just wait for the ending....its truly pathetic. If you dont believe me, the Youtube reviews of this game speak for itself. Im not lying Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    3
    This game is pretty awful. Very frustrating game. No Co-op makes it even worse. C'mon, what were they thinking? Game takes forever to load. Zombies are much quicker on this game than on the tv show. missions are boring. finding it very hard to continue playing.. Don't waste your money. It's not $49.99 for no reason.
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    Ok I'm now changing my review for this game to an 8.5. Sure it doesn't look or play like something you'd expect for our times but this one is a hell of a lot of fun. At times I can just wander around doing whatever and BOOM a zombie. The scares are here but it's what you make if it. This game really takes me back to the good old days of playing video games with this fun and scary style. If you're a fan of zombies or just good old fashioned having fun and bringing back the memories you should get this for sure. Expand
  8. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. I have never played a game that made me actually feel like I was surviving the zombie apocalypse like this game does! Yes, the graphics are outdated but the gameplay delivers. Plus, its only 50 bucks so its not like they tried to make it appear to be some huge blockbuster...it is what it is and that is zombie apocalypse gameplay superior to any seen yet on consoles!
  9. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Ok... I've been playing this game for a day now. Yes. It is a rushed licensed game. There is no doubt about that. But I feel as though Terminal Reality chose to focus less on graphics and more on gameplay which is where the game shines. You absolutely have to play the game stealthily. If you fire your gun, Walkers will just make your day very bad. It has great atmosphere. The sound is great too. But I feel as though Terminal Reality could of tried harder with the dialogue. Still, Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker both deliver their line with that redneckish gusto that we have come to enjoy from the show. The game falls apart in the graphics department. The graphics would be excusable if the framerate was fine, but it is not. The game chugs in places (mostly in darker areas). But I honestly enjoy this game so I will give it a 8. Expand
  10. Mar 27, 2013
    6
    The Walking Dead is a successful comic that has since been adapted to AMC's hit TV show of the same name. The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct focuses on a character who is exclusive to the TV show called Daryl Dixon and is currently a fan favourite. Daryl Dixon started out as a racist redneck who only cared for his own survival, since the second and third series of the TV show, the character has changed a lot and has attracted a large number of fans.

    The game is a prequel to the show and you start out by learning what happened during Daryl's early days during the undead scourge. While there aren't any amazing revelations, you do get a bit more information about the characters and there are some characters that get referenced in passing.

    The good things about this game include a solid combat engine and a range of weapons to choose from. While the combat is not quite as good as Dead Island, you can reliably take down Walkers with stealth attacks and later get stronger weapons.

    Each melee weapon is different from the speedy but weak hammer to the heavy and slow sledgehammer that can take down walkers in a single hit. In terms of guns you have pistols, shotguns, rifle and of course Daryl's trusty crossbow. You'll want to use the crossbow as much as you can to kill walkers silently and retrieve your crossbow bolts.

    Silence is important because walkers pick up on sound a lot. One way you can draw walkers away is by throwing a bottle or a flare in the opposite direction, when they charge towards the noise you slip past them the other way.

    As you progress through the game you'll want to pick up food rations, weapons, ammunition and fuel. Fuel is important for making your way across the map on the road sections. Some of these sections will give you a choice, do you move the car stuck on the road or take an alternative route?

    One great feature of the game is the survivor management. As you progress in the game, you get access to different survivors. You can only pick up a certain number of survivors, based on the size of your vehicle. While you may sometimes want to save everyone, ultimately you sometimes have to choose a location and hope for the best. Some survivors are also only found on the random encounters and so can be overlooked. It's worth helping them survive since you get a bonus at the end of the game.

    Sadly it's not all non-stop fun and there are a few bad points about this game. This game is relentlessly hard, with no difficulty select screen. This means that if you're not careful, you will die many times until you learn how to move around properly and what areas are dangerous to be in. You can sometimes get away from walkers in buildings, but often you can get trapped and face an early demise.

    Another gripe with many people is the game length. At most, the campaign mode can be completed in around 5-8 hours. In other games this isn't such a major problem, but since there is no multiplayer or co-operative modes of any kind, it's a big big problem. The ending is also a bit of a let down as it doesn't really fill in any gaps or explain anything of importance.

    If you have the option of getting Dead Island then I would suggest that you try that game out first, as it's fairly cheap. Otherwise you could potentially get this game but I would say you should get it cheap, simply because of it's length and problems. It's still pretty fun at times though.
    Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2013
    0
    I thought this game is sandbox or something similar to Dead island but i was wrong. You are placed in small zone running around searching for supplies while killing zombies. Not sure if its a bug but sometimes shotguns dont attract much zombies compared to Crossbow. But anyways Ps2 graphics.. animation is horrible, takes ages to kill zombies, even stealth around means nothing.
  12. Mar 20, 2013
    6
    With graphics more at home on a Playstation 2, The Walking Dead SI plays like most first person shooters you've ever played. The casting of Reedus and Rooker add immensely to the atmosphere, and the stark landscape, littered with debris, is appropriate, but this would be a better rental than purchase. One thing I found early in playing (can anyone verify this?), is that there seems to be no save function while in mid mission. If you die, it revives you at the last checkpoint, but if you want to quit, the game starts at the beginning of the mission, so you have to play it through from the beginning. Anyone else find that? Expand
  13. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    The graphics would be something I'd amire... However, I can't considering the fact the game was released THIS YEAR. The tiresome gameplay, and old DOS graphics make the game feel like a parody of The Walking Dead, not just a plain licensed videogame. Games don't get much more exausting and unpolished as this one is.
  14. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    Good but Disappointing is how I feel about The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct. I think the main reason that this game has failed is because of Activision, when I first heard the a game based on AMC's The Walking Dead was coming out I was thrilled! Then I saw it was about Daryl (Probably my favorite character) I was even happier! Then...I saw who it was published by...Activision...Then I had a bad feeling, they are the crash grabbers of the gaming industry, but I remained optimistic, I mean coming from the guys for made Ghostbusters, BloodRayne and the somewhat entertaining Kinect: Star Wars it couldn't be that bad. So as the year of 2012 went by...well AMC's The Walking Dead: The Video Game became The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct and that was all we heard from the game in 2012. Then in January 2013 it resurfaced to tell the world that in March 2013 in would release to the masses. With as little advertising as it had been given...my hopes for a great game were slowly diminishing. So here we and The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct has been released to the world. So here is my review.

    Survival Instinct is an Survival/Action FPS set before the event's of the shows first season and tells the tale of what Daryl and Merle (Both Voiced by their TV counter parts Norman Reedus and Micheal Rooker) did before and eventually how they ended up in Atlanta. There's a story there but unfortunately not a very strong one which isn't great because The Walking Dead is known for good story telling. Gameplay-wise Survival Instinct has some really good concepts in place but it's sloppy execution brings it down, the whole survival element works well, scavenging for food, weapons, ammo and fuel, It's nice that you actually have to find these things. Fuel is vital to the game because you travel round in vehicles, which of course require fuel, so while you are scavenging so are also looking out for fuel. The survivors element is a big part of the game but is one of the most under-explored. You'll find people in the places you travel to and the mini-hubs you use to scavenge in. You usually take them in once you give them food or they'll just join you on your travels. They even have their own specialties and traits like some are stealthy and others tough, some prefer melee weapons and others guns. You can send them out on runs while you are out in the main areas, they can search for either food, fuel or ammo. When you send them out their is a chance for them to never come back, so for you to increase the chance of them returning equip them with their preferred traits and send out more than one out at a time. There will also come a time when you need to dismiss them if you find too many at a time but this is where it starts to lack, you dismiss them with a simple press out the X button and that is that, no cut-scene to see them off or beg for you to take them back, nothing. There's also the on the road scavenging where you can stop off at places like suburbs, gas stations, farm houses and other places and search for gas and supplies. There's also the chance that'll you'll break down in these areas and have to repair your vehicle by looking for car parts. On the actual gameplay side it works well, it combines stealth combat, melee combat and gun play, the way to play the game is more up close and personal because firearms make the most noise and rightly so, you should use your guns as a last resort unless you have a good amount of ammo to burn. With melee weapons you have your basic swing and power attack, it's better that you combine both you achieve maximum effectiveness, for example you should strike first with a simple swing and then follow up with a power strike. The graphics is where the game the game lacks most but I'm not judging the game on it, they are last years graphics, they aren't terrible but they just seem dated for this year. On the character model side Daryl and Merle look the best but other than that you'll be seeing variants of the same people and zombies...a lot. In the end most people will end up looking like each other with different hair style and colours. There is a lot of invisible walls in the game too, it restricts the game a hell of a lot and you can't go to places that you should be able to go. The last thing I wanna mention is the ending, the ending is left on a low note, plus it seems like a cliffhanger ending that set's up for a sequel? I dunno. In the end The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is an enjoyable experience but lacks in the places where it should shine. There are so many good element's in this game that a few more months in a development could of improved on those areas but I expect Activision gave them a deadline and they did the best they could in the time they had. Personally I can see why the game is getting hate but I personally still enjoyed the game, It's The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct!
    Expand
  15. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    This game is an average take trying to cash in on a above average show. If it wasnt titled The walking Dead it wouldnt even sell. I loved the show and the comic series but this game does nothing to enhance the series. The only things that gives feel to the series is killing zombies and the main characters are from the tv series. The rest is just average crap. You cant shoot through chain link fences, no actual driving, maps are recycled, missions are just tacked on, lol at gas conservation and supply hunting. I went through the whole game with melee weapons which are superior to the guns. There is no reward for playing this game. Best advice play the Tell Tale version of the Walking Dead. For a real zombie shooter play left for dead 2. Collapse
  16. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    Let me start off by saying that i am a huge Walking Dead fan!! I absolutely love the show and the telltale game but that being said, dissapointing is really the only word i can use to describe this game. It had so much potential and could have been so much better!
  17. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    I had really high expectations for this game since it was the second game based on the show we all know and love the walking dead, unfortunately this is not even close to be as good as the one from telltale.
    The gameplay gets boring after about an hour because you are always doing the same things over and over even if it's killing zombies with the same bad animations or if it's doing side
    missions, the story was not the worst i have seen but it was way too short and the ending was terrible.
    But it's not only the gameplay and story that's rushed and dull, the graphics can be compared to something made in 2005.
    And added to all that one of the main characters is almost never in the game!
    Do not buy this game if where expecting a long and good story with survival elements!
    Expand
  18. Apr 26, 2013
    3
    Look, I honestly had 2nd thoughts about even taking time to write this...

    The game does something good, and thats puts you in a land thats The Walking Dead. After that its just content thrown into the game. I cant say anything else good about it.

    I'd say I had a good time taking my anger out on the zombies for the money I wasted on the game, But That was only when the ZOMBIES
    ACTUALLY CARED TO COME NEAR ME. I guess when the Zombie Apocalypse happens where all gonna be safe cause the zombies are gonna be interested in destroying fences then eating us. Expand
  19. Mar 21, 2013
    5
    While it's not a good game I wouldn't exactly call it a cash in, as it's clear that developer Terminal Reality did try to make a good game. Unfortunately they didn't succeed. The evidence that they did actually try is in the games features. As far as presentation goes the game suffers. Graphics are ugly, dated, and really do look like they belong on the PS2. The sound ins't much better, voice acting is generally pretty good and the fact that they got Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker to reprise their roles from the TV show is a great addition. But even their performances leave something to be desired. The story is decent but falls flat in the end as it never really does anything exciting. There are some moments that will bring a smile to any fans face, but their aren't enough of them. One moment the developers kept mentioning was how the game was gong to show you how Daryl received his crossbow, calling it "a big excalibur like moment". Well they lied, you do eventually get Daryl's crossbow, but it's just Merle giving it back. It lacks what I was expecting to be a pretty big moment. Speaking of Merle I was disappointed with how little he was in the game. So the story and presentation fall short, and unfortunately so does the gameplay. It's a first-person survival game. You'll have to manage supplies and survivors; scavenging for things like fuel to keep your car running and sending your group out on supply runs that they may not come back from. There's a surprising amount of player choice put in the game. You have to choose which survivors go with you, as there is only so much room in your vehicle. Speaking of vehicles, which are necessary in order to get to your next objective, you have to choose between vehicles that can either carry more supplies or survivors. On your way between missions your car could break down or run out of gas, or you could come across a road event. These optional events can give you access to new supplies, but can also get you eaten by walkers. You also have to choose which path you want to take to get to these missions, sometimes you can even choose between two different levels to play-through increasing replay value. This all sounds great, and it is in theory, but it's the core gameplay that brings the whole experience down. It's just not much fun to play, and can be down right tedious at times. Levels have you relying on stealth rather then you running-and-gunning your way through them. As a matter of a fact shooting guns will get you killed because it attracts tons of walkers to you so you have to rely on melee combat, but unfortunately melee combat is crappy. It takes to many hits to kill a walker, and while your hitting them they just stand there and take it. It's stupid, tedious, and boring. While shooting is generally not the focus, there are sections that practically require you to use guns because they send swarms of walkers after you. These sections are frustrating because the game puts a focus on avoiding large groups of walkers, and when they throw you in the middle of a small herd it can lead to a lot of cheap deaths. I could go on and on about how much Terminal Reality tried to make a good game but didn't succeed, but I think you get the point. It's worth a rental for Walking Dead just to see what it has to offer, but in the end it's a disappointing game that isn't worth your money or The Walking Dead name. Expand
  20. May 4, 2013
    6
    I don't understand why all the hate. I mean, the game is far, FAR from being good but, by all means, it's as bad as it appears when you see all these bad reviews. It's not very polished and it does fell rushed but I honestly found it very interesting, challenging and tense. It preserves a strong TWD atmosphere and you really feel that you need to fight to survive. Unlike other games, this one is not about killing as many zombies as you can but, basically, surviving them. You are always poorly armed, fed and prepared and really need to think every step if you want to end a chapter alive. Additionally, the game brings a very interesting mini-game which is travelling: you have to manage and decide what road to take and who to take with. It is an ugly game, a poorly crafted game, but it really gives a simulation of surviving a zombie outbreak. It's not a good game, I give you that. But it's not a bad one either. Expand
  21. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, i actually like this game. While the graphics are not the best, nor the worst, the game is very good and i like that you get to see the Dixon brothers, since this is based on the show while the one from TellTale is based more on the comics. I can recommend this to every zombie fan and every Walking Dead fan.
  22. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    i been waiting for this game to come out and i thought awesome but i played it i said wtf this was most worst game i played it made duke nukem forever better. this tiresome zombie all look the same they used basically 6 zombies type used them as repeat clone them nothing more i wish i never preorder this game myself i am going to return it no fooling this 6 hours worth of rubbish the graphics suck they should of made better job of it. actors doing brothers where good dont mind them cause they rule on the walking dead show they should took them alot of time just scrap the entire game re do it from scratch would been better then this.............

    The no co op the no online multilayer they gave us herd mode which rubbish enough sand box less then sandbox less room to battle em


    ending suck it ended no real ending just goes to black and rolling credits return this game that it
    Expand
  23. Apr 8, 2013
    3
    Not even the most die hard fans of the series will find anything remotely enjoyable in this broken and boring game. If you want to play a good Walking Dead game, play the game made by Telltale. You'll get your money's worth and then some with that game.
  24. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    Ok guys just have a look at the profiles of those who wrote positive reviews on this piece of crap. Either they are brand new users who just happen to rate this game a 10 or they just give 10's to everything. People like that are paid by the companies who make the games. It's a kind of trend on internet. Companies hire people so they can write as many positive reviews as possible about their products and write negative reviews about the products of others. They are especially numerous when it comes down to video games. These guys are a cancer to internet purity! Also, this game is terrible, my buddy who is a huge fan of Walking Dead GAVE the game to me today because he was so disappointed... Need I say more?! Now I'm stuck with this thing and I will try to resell it to the used video games store for 10 bucks... Wish me luck! Expand
  25. Apr 2, 2013
    2
    Probably not as bad as it originally seems to be, but still... Worst game you've played in a long time. Every idea is badly implemented. Technically it's laughable and it gets a "2" and not a "0-1" because of some good ideas (not their execution) and some jump scares.
  26. Apr 7, 2013
    1
    Honestly this game is just as bad as I thought I was going to be when they said it wasn't going to be Dixon-Coop Online.
    I was dreaming of the day where me and my best friend could be the Dixon brothers and explore the walking dead land's for gas, food, and other essentials and have a true survival game.
    Well that all fell apart when they announced this was single player only, so I
    didn't buy it. Instead I went to my friend's house who happened to buy it and tried about an hour and a half of the gameplay.
    Overall the graphics aren't great, probably a 4/10 for me.
    Story is okay, but lacks in certain areas, I gave it a 6/10.
    The worse part? The controls. I gave them a 1/10, I really don't think Terminal/Activison thought about how they set these controls up. They are absolutely horrifying and downright disgusting.
    I'm honestly being fair giving it a 1/10, because the controls just killed it for me and made me not even care about the other sides of the game.
    (I also thought it was too short and the traveling aspect and gas collection was done poorly.)
    Expand
  27. May 11, 2013
    6
    It isn't good or excellent, it's just not as bad as some say and can even be fun at times, I've seen a lot worse movie licensed games, this one at least isn't one of them.
  28. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Good game, not revolutionary but not bad. Doesn't deserve a 10 but it's definitely at least a solid 7. It's high points are that it includes Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker, and it's survival elements. Graphics and combat could have benefited from extra development time.
  29. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I am giving a 9 cause yes, THE GRAPHIC ARE A BIT OUT-DATED. Now that is out of the way we can get into the great things about the game. First being hunting zombies while they are hunting you. I go so many eerie thrills when a horde was on my heels. Second being the sense of realism, outside of the scavenging. You are not a superhero so going against a horde with a melee weapon is suicide and firing guns really only help if you are on your way out due to how many more walkers it will draw in. the third being the sense of choice, from who you save to what weapons you give out. I am still torn that a gave my uncle a lead pipe so he could gather supplies, just to have him lose it to the winds when he turn into a zombie. This is a great game as long as you don't expect it to be left 4 dead and play it by The Walking Dead's zombie rule-set, case in point. Expand
  30. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    The only thing that makes this game bad is the graphics but I didnt buy this game for the graphics I bought it for the story and I love zombie games. I'm guessing they had a low budget to create this game because it was $50 so I understand that the graphics would be out dated. The game play is good, not great but good enough for me, this game would be game of the year IF the graphics were like tomb raider or far cry. Some people scored this game a ZERO but that is not what it deserves I think 5 at the least. The music is nice and scary at times and my heart gets slow and fast when I enter a dark room because the music is awsome lol. But If you love the AMC walking dead tv series then this is the game you should get just because of the story. If you have a job then $50 should be like spending nothing. Expand
  31. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    If you don't go into this game with the idea that it is going to be a triple A title, and just want to have fun, you're going to have a good time. Fans of The Walking Dead will enjoy the backstory of the Dixon bothers all the while going against the hordes of the undead. Graphically the game will disappoint everyone, but you can tell that Terminal Reality spent a majority of the production time on the gameplay mechanics instead. The stealth gameplay feels pretty natural, I love the stealth knife kills. It does seem odd at first how you take down a walker with melee in a one on one confrontation, but the game would be a bit too easy if you could just stab every walker in the brain when you encounter it. Gun play feels decent enough, and is something you want to avoid using because normally it will attract a horde of hungry walkers. The part I was looking forward to the least, micro-managing your group of survivors, is done well enough. Nice way to get some bonus gear, but it seems like a bit of an after thought and you never end up caring for these characters. All in all if you have your expectations in check and go in with an open mind, there is a lot to enjoy for the discounted price tag. Expand
  32. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    Overall the game is pretty good. yes it does have some glitches and it was rushed out before it was to me complete and ready to ship out. I gave it a 7/10 because of the following: 1. it was a little on the short side 2. the survivors you encounter have little to no personality 3. the story was meh. Even with these faults I still found the good in the game, with a little polish and a different dev. and publisher (maybe like Ubisoft or EA) the next Walking Dead game will probably be good. I would only recommend this for people who are die hard fans and don't care what they get themselves into and get it for at least $20 $30 price range. Expand
  33. Mar 23, 2013
    1
    It's just another FPS, i mean, i love the tv series, the comics and the game they made first was awesome, but this! They could have called this "Call of Duty: Zombies", i won't say anything about the grafics cause i don't really care, but calling this "Survival Instict" is pretty idiot cause there are no elements who make this a survivor game and it doesn't even rappresent how an apocalipse could be, i mean, is more realistic L4D2... Expand
  34. Mar 25, 2013
    2
    An exercise in apathy, almost and mediocrity, The Walking Dead Survival Instinct fails in nearly every regard as a video game. And it sure as hell does it's damnedest to fail in the few areas where it nearly excels.
  35. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    In my opinion it's a quite good game! I like the story behind it and the scary zombies. But it's too expensive and they could have done more. But it isn't as bad as everybody says.
  36. Mar 28, 2013
    4
    This is far from being the best zombie game out there for PS3. The "Survival It-Stinks" response from many critics is not unfounded. It'll break it down into pros and cons.

    Pros:
    +The zombies are loyal to the TV show. There's no Bullies or Spitters or whatever kind of roided up zombies are in other games these days.
    +The idea of choosing various paths looks good on paper, yet
    barely competently pulled off in the game.
    +The game discourages you from firing guns since using them only draws more walkers to you.
    +Norman Reedus and Michale Rooker reprise their roles from the TV series.

    Cons:
    -Things get repetitious very quickly. By the third hour of playing this game, you'll be less than motivated to keep playing.
    -No incentive to kill zombies, due to no pick-ups from killing zombies nor any kind of leveling up system.
    -The grapple system when zombies are in your face is shaky, sucking at your health in no time or you end up being stuck in a conga line of zombies one after another grappling you.
    -The environments of the road levels frequently repeat. One instance had me stopping two times for two different items, yet it took place at the same diner area.
    -Little variety in the weapons and distraction items don't work as well as they should.
    -The graphics are PS2 quality, as if the game was in development back in the early 2000's.
    -The ending is one of the stupidest endings I've ever seen save yourself the trouble and watch it on Youtube.
    -$60 is a ridiculous price for a game that you can beat in less than seven hours, as well as no replay value.

    If you have a FPS zombie-killing fix you need to satiate, go with anyone of the following games: Dead Island, Left 4 Dead, or Zombie Island of Dr. Ned for Borderlands.

    For a better story, go with Telltale's Walking Dead game.

    If you feel the needs to be a zombie game completest, wait for this title to drop to 20 bucks which is what it should've sold for in the first place.
    Expand
  37. Apr 25, 2013
    6
    It's certainly not the cutting edge of gaming technology, but not every game needs to be. The graphics are lacking, the enemy AI is completely wonky and the missions aren't as varied as most shooters at least try to be these days, but for some odd reason that doesn't bother me. It's certainly not the worst game i've played this year Cough Cough**Devil May Cry** but it was entertaining enough for me to not feel like a total wasted purchase. I suspect hardcore fans of the show will get more pleasure out of this than anybody. Taste is in the eye of the beholder, and while this won't be a GOTY contender by any stretch of the imagination, still a decent enough use of the license with excellent voice acting from Norman Reedus who captures his character perfectly and nice overall feel of the same universe the show tries to capture. Expand
  38. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    This game isn't worth the money at all. I bought this game because i thought it was as good as the original "The Walking Dead" game but NO, it wasn't as half as good. I was just disappointed because of how mediocre Therminal Reality's work was, i mean graphic(horrible),gameplay(annoying and boring) and story(will never exceed the TV series). The game itself just feels totally uncompleted(ideas were good, however) and begs me to kill myself. What ever you do do NOT buy it! Expand
  39. Jul 8, 2013
    0
    I can some this game up in a few words. Completely and utterly horrible. I don't know what the developers were thinking when they made this game if they were thinking at all!
  40. Aug 21, 2013
    7
    It wasn't everything i wanted from my favourite show becoming a game however despite all of its flaw to which there are a few i still had a lot fun with it and who doesn't want to be daryl dixon.
  41. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    I am going to review this game in point form +Prolouge to the show +A fairly new style of gameplay +fun weapons +somewhat scary -Outdated graphics -fetch this get that -headshots only -if you run for to long he stops and cries -short,left me like thats it? -story? what story? i dont recall a story!(story besides being based on show sucks). But really this game does deserve some hate but not as much as it gets people come on. I give it a 6.7 Expand
  42. Sep 23, 2013
    2
    Wow is this a bad game. The graphics are bad, clunky gameplay/stealth mechanics, same exact places that you have to stop to if your car dies. The characters are really bad and after they got me what I needed I kicked them to the curb and left them for the walkers. There are almost no good things about this game. At least the game makes you use stealth(that is also pretty bad).
  43. Sep 29, 2013
    3
    Un compañero del colegio me prestó este juego porque, según él, estaba muy bueno. Mi reacción: uno de los peores juegos que he jugado jamás, si bien me gusta mucho la serie "The Walking Dead" éste título es una vergüenza total: pésima jugabilidad, gráficos malísimos, no hay un desarrollo que valga la pena; en general: injugable. Prefiero jugar "The Walking Dead: The Game", aunque no lo he jugado se ve venir que es todo lo opuesto a esta PORQUERÍA. Expand
  44. Dec 10, 2013
    1
    I really hopeful for best when i buy this game during Halloween PSN Sale, Gameplay is Worst part since Zombies keep attacking non stop, Story is only good part
    Gameplay: 0/10
    Story: 7/10
    Total: 1/10
  45. Dec 22, 2013
    7
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is good only for one group of people: fans of the series. If you are a fan, especially one of Daryl Dixon, this is a recommendable experience. If not, do not waste your money.
  46. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    This game is an average take trying to cash in on a above average show. If it wasnt titled The walking Dead it wouldnt even sell. I loved the show and the comic series but this game does nothing to enhance the series. The only things that gives feel to the series is killing zombies and the main characters are from the tv series. The rest is just average crap. You cant shoot through chain link fences, no actual driving, maps are recycled, missions are just tacked on, lol at gas conservation and supply hunting. I went through the whole game with melee weapons which are superior to the guns. There is no reward for playing this game. Best advice play the Tell Tale version of the Walking Dead. For a real zombie shooter play left for dead 2. Collapse
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 13 out of 14
  1. You can send out fellow survivors on scavenging missions, the downside of this is that they can fail or , even worse, die. Unfortunately the number of goods they collect is so abysmal you won't care if they make it back or not. [May 2013, p.88]
  2. May 27, 2013
    20
    Genuinely one of the worst games we've ever played. [Issue#231, p.74]
  3. It almost feels as though developer Terminal Reality ran out of money, right on the home stretch. If only the game was shot in the head long before it ever got to that point. [June 2013, p79]