The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct Image
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound andTerminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound and smell. As Daryl, players will need to tread carefully throughout each new area they explore. Once discovered, it doesn’t take much to attract an unstoppable horde of undead walkers, so every threat needs to be assessed, and every situation analyzed. Players will have to choose between whether to stay and fight while risking a gruesome death or using stealth to avoid the undead. No place is truly safe for Daryl as he makes his way through the Georgia countryside in this new, post-apocalyptic world. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 13 out of 14
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    55
    Survival Instinct left me feeling empty. It’s less of a story arc and more of a montage of “Here’s what Daryl and Merle did before Season One.” Unfortunately, technical problems and frustrating design decisions prevent its one redeeming feature — the survival gameplay — from reaching its potential.
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    45
    It’s boilerplate first-person shooter mechanics paired with dated visuals and cool ideas that never develop into cool experiences.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Aug 25, 2013
    40
    You can send out fellow survivors on scavenging missions, the downside of this is that they can fail or , even worse, die. Unfortunately the number of goods they collect is so abysmal you won't care if they make it back or not. [May 2013, p.88]
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    30
    What could have been a great game has turned out to be the exact opposite: a rushed effort, supported with ugly graphics and boring gameplay. Granted, Michael Rooker and Norman Reedus' voice acting is pitch perfect, but that's hardly worth spending fifty dollars for... isn't it?
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2013
    30
    This game tries to ride with the same horse as Telltale. Although the names are identical, the games themselves are just the opposite of one another. This is utter garbage in every single meter. Steer away. [May 2013]
  6. May 7, 2013
    30
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is an appalling, unpolished mess. Gameplay is dull and buggy, there’s very little attempt at a plot, the characters are unlikeable, and bar a couple of interesting mechanics, everything feels rushed and dated. The likenesses and voices are accurate, with Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker reprising their roles as Daryl and Merle respectively, but that isn’t enough to rescue this abomination from the shallow grave of wretchedness that it has dug for itself.
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    20
    As awful as Survival Instinct is mechanically, the really depressing thing about it is that it offers no meaningful information or commentary on the characters it revolves around. Yes, Daryl and Merle's lives are a bit more fleshed out, but nothing you learn is anything you couldn't have gone the rest of your life not knowing.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 51
  2. Negative: 24 out of 51
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Got this game first thing today at gamestop and its all I hoped it would be, the game is amazing! I have played for about three hours now andGot this game first thing today at gamestop and its all I hoped it would be, the game is amazing! I have played for about three hours now and I can't put it down! Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Ok... I've been playing this game for a day now. Yes. It is a rushed licensed game. There is no doubt about that. But I feel as thoughOk... I've been playing this game for a day now. Yes. It is a rushed licensed game. There is no doubt about that. But I feel as though Terminal Reality chose to focus less on graphics and more on gameplay which is where the game shines. You absolutely have to play the game stealthily. If you fire your gun, Walkers will just make your day very bad. It has great atmosphere. The sound is great too. But I feel as though Terminal Reality could of tried harder with the dialogue. Still, Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker both deliver their line with that redneckish gusto that we have come to enjoy from the show. The game falls apart in the graphics department. The graphics would be excusable if the framerate was fine, but it is not. The game chugs in places (mostly in darker areas). But I honestly enjoy this game so I will give it a 8. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    7
    It wasn't everything i wanted from my favourite show becoming a game however despite all of its flaw to which there are a few i still had aIt wasn't everything i wanted from my favourite show becoming a game however despite all of its flaw to which there are a few i still had a lot fun with it and who doesn't want to be daryl dixon. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    This game is an average take trying to cash in on a above average show. If it wasnt titled The walking Dead it wouldnt even sell. I lovedThis game is an average take trying to cash in on a above average show. If it wasnt titled The walking Dead it wouldnt even sell. I loved the show and the comic series but this game does nothing to enhance the series. The only things that gives feel to the series is killing zombies and the main characters are from the tv series. The rest is just average crap. You cant shoot through chain link fences, no actual driving, maps are recycled, missions are just tacked on, lol at gas conservation and supply hunting. I went through the whole game with melee weapons which are superior to the guns. There is no reward for playing this game. Best advice play the Tell Tale version of the Walking Dead. For a real zombie shooter play left for dead 2. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    3
    Look, I honestly had 2nd thoughts about even taking time to write this...

    The game does something good, and thats puts you in a land thats
    Look, I honestly had 2nd thoughts about even taking time to write this...

    The game does something good, and thats puts you in a land thats The Walking Dead. After that its just content thrown into the game. I cant say anything else good about it.

    I'd say I had a good time taking my anger out on the zombies for the money I wasted on the game, But That was only when the ZOMBIES ACTUALLY CARED TO COME NEAR ME. I guess when the Zombie Apocalypse happens where all gonna be safe cause the zombies are gonna be interested in destroying fences then eating us.
    Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    The graphics would be something I'd amire... However, I can't considering the fact the game was released THIS YEAR. The tiresome gameplay, andThe graphics would be something I'd amire... However, I can't considering the fact the game was released THIS YEAR. The tiresome gameplay, and old DOS graphics make the game feel like a parody of The Walking Dead, not just a plain licensed videogame. Games don't get much more exausting and unpolished as this one is. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    Ok guys just have a look at the profiles of those who wrote positive reviews on this piece of crap. Either they are brand new users who justOk guys just have a look at the profiles of those who wrote positive reviews on this piece of crap. Either they are brand new users who just happen to rate this game a 10 or they just give 10's to everything. People like that are paid by the companies who make the games. It's a kind of trend on internet. Companies hire people so they can write as many positive reviews as possible about their products and write negative reviews about the products of others. They are especially numerous when it comes down to video games. These guys are a cancer to internet purity! Also, this game is terrible, my buddy who is a huge fan of Walking Dead GAVE the game to me today because he was so disappointed... Need I say more?! Now I'm stuck with this thing and I will try to resell it to the used video games store for 10 bucks... Wish me luck! Expand

See all 51 User Reviews