Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    100
    Thomas Was Alone gives an all-encompassing experience that’s nestled inside a marvelously crafted world of stories, friends, and jumping.
  2. This puzzle platformer may sport some the most dull looking characters we have ever seen in a videogame. But you just can not help but care for these small little blocks because of the game's very well designed mechanics and great storytelling. [June 2013, p.90]
  3. Thomas Was Alone comes together into something more than the sum of its multiple simplistic parts. [July 2013, p79]
  4. May 9, 2013
    70
    Thomas Was Alone is an engrossing puzzle platformer that introduces some believable and appealing characters, but the experience is disappointingly short-lived and lacks challenge. You will finish the core campaign wanting more, so it's nice that there's an additional DLC expansion available – but it's a shame that the add-on isn't included as part of the primary package.
  5. May 8, 2013
    83
    It is a great puzzle and platform game, but overall, it's a great story that lies behind a bunch of rectangles that happen to be some AI.
  6. 80
    Thomas Was Alone might not be a flashy, adrenaline pumping action-fest, but it is everything that I love about quirky PSN games.
  7. May 7, 2013
    90
    Thomas Was Alone is a minimalist platform about jumping and friendship, a gently challenging puzzle game and a perfect story that makes you care about characters that are nothing more than coloured rectangles. It's quite a masterpiece.
  8. 70
    A short but sweet addictive platformer and puzzler, don't be put off by the simplistic graphics.
  9. May 1, 2013
    70
    No one would mistake Thomas Was Alone for a AAA release, but don’t hold its relatively short length and abstract graphics against it. The game plays to its strength with clever puzzles and cleverer writing. Once you get to really know these mild-mannered cubes, you’ll want to follow their adventure all the way to the end.
  10. May 1, 2013
    80
    Between the jokes, the writing and the soundtrack — which alternates between dissonant scratches and transcendent melodies per each scene — it hooked into my emotions.
  11. May 1, 2013
    80
    Admittedly, the platforming mechanics occasionally feel too simple for their own good, but the narrative and gameplay weave together so seamlessly that the game becomes greater than the sum of its parts. Its little blocks have heart, and that gave me a reason to see things through to the end.
  12. May 1, 2013
    90
    While a few technical hiccups do occasionally spoil the party – there’s a touch of latency in the jumping controls and the odd little bug that makes matters a touch confusing – there’s so little to fault in Bithell’s striking debut. This is a game to admire, to enjoy and evangelise; a thoroughly English slice of indie magic that is every bit as accomplished as anything with a budget and a team. If this truly is the year of the indie, then long may it continue.
  13. May 1, 2013
    80
    It's an original, and when something has personality, the flaws become quirks; even, in a way, essential. Thomas Was Alone, needless to say, has a whole lot of personality.
  14. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    The key word in the Thomas Was Alone for me is "was." I really hope more people find and download this gem, because it's totally worth the effort. In many ways it's a lot like a good book, where when you're done, you feel slightly alone having experienced it.
  15. All you need do is have a taste for platformers and a love of good stories.
  16. Apr 28, 2013
    75
    In the transition to consoles, sharper controls empower you in ways that the stodgy keyboard wasn't able to, removing the slight frustrations entirely. Furthermore, there's downloadable content for those who don't want this journey to end.
  17. Apr 28, 2013
    80
    At its core, Thomas Was Alone is a celebration of the differences between people, and as a celebration its puzzles are far more concerned with offering a hurdle to overcome rather than obstacles to fail. It's a subtle difference, but an important one.
  18. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    It may add up to less than the sum of its parts but in terms of storytelling and presentation this indie favourite has much to teach mega budget retail games.
  19. Apr 22, 2013
    90
    When the curtain finally closed on Thomas Was Alone, I couldn’t help but feel touched. Despite being two-dimensional in appearance, the game’s cast of characters exuded more personality and depth than that of some games propped up by millions of dollars of development funding.
  20. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Thomas Was Alone does an incredible thing: it makes you care about characters that are nothing more than coloured rectangles.
  21. A winning piece of minimalist game design that manages to do a lot with a little in an industry which far too frequently achieves the exact opposite, and it deserves much praise for that.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Thomas Was Alone is a must own for PS Vita and PS3 owners. Its price is small and the 100 levels will keep you engaged for about 4-5 hours.Thomas Was Alone is a must own for PS Vita and PS3 owners. Its price is small and the 100 levels will keep you engaged for about 4-5 hours. Each character gets their moment in the spotlight and I never felt robbed of anyone’s impact on the story. The in-game narrator and soundtrack help flesh out its perfect presentation and other games in this genre could learn a lot from it. Simple platforming and fun puzzles make sure you're never going to rage quit the game and miss something important to the story. This is the type of game that makes me proud to be a gamer. It makes me feel good that I can connect with a red rectangle named Thomas and cringe and cheer as his hopes and fears come true.  Thomas Was Alone is a story about friendship and adversity but I got something much deeper from it about human self-reflection and how people can connect with anything.  I realize now that Thomas was not alone, Thomas was with me. Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a superb game!! Interlocked with its intriguing story line is a phenomenal puzzle game that gets better every second. The gameThis game is a superb game!! Interlocked with its intriguing story line is a phenomenal puzzle game that gets better every second. The game has a great twist and the character's are very interesting. This, tied in with the fantastic narrating makes for a beautiful game. Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    1
    The only point this game gets from me is for narration; everything else is a bit empty.
    Puzzles are trivial and boring. Story is dull.
    As a
    The only point this game gets from me is for narration; everything else is a bit empty.
    Puzzles are trivial and boring. Story is dull.
    As a whole, game made me feel like wasting time.
    Full Review »