Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 35
  2. Negative: 27 out of 35
  1. May 17, 2011
    48
    Due to the bad graphics and the loveless setting with poor details, Thor has dug his grave itself.
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    45
    Thor: God of Thunder is a reminder to players of how licensed titles can be quite lackluster. Bad sound balancing, unresponsive controls, and less than mediocre graphics make for a game that feels like it was released prematurely.
  3. 45
    Thor would have been a lot better with some more time and resources at hand. The problems of the game are plentiful and while some are forgivable considering what the game is, it still doesn't add up to a product worthy of Thor's prestige.
  4. May 6, 2011
    45
    Sega's flavorless texture work spoils what could otherwise have been a visually exciting game. It's hard to recommend God of Thunder to even the most ardent of Thor fans. If you're looking for another Thor experience after seeing the film and paging through the character's 50 years worth of comic history, this game won't satisfy you.
  5. May 23, 2011
    43
    A typical game based upon a movie. A few elements are good, but most of the game is pure crap. Thor: God of Thunder does have a lot of strange bugs and doesn't look very well, the audio is also very poor and the game has big troubles with the framerate. Probably only for the diehard fans.
  6. Jun 6, 2011
    41
    Disjointed, numbing, vexing, joyless, and dull, Thor: God of Thunder is the quintessential action movie video game adaptation.
  7. Everything works and it will kill a few hours, but only in a rubber-necking, see-where-it-goes kind of way. [July 2011, p.103]
  8. After the last two Iron Man games we're honestly not even sure why anybody bothered. [July 2011 p.83]
  9. May 16, 2011
    40
    Ultimately it's really just disappointing.
  10. May 10, 2011
    40
    Thor for the 360 and PS3 is a sub-par God of War clone that does a surface-level job of replicating what makes that kind of game work, while missing the point of what works on any kind of deeper level. If you like that style of game, play either that series or any other games like it that have been mentioned. The lack of polish here makes it impossible to recommend as a purchase at any price, although if you must rent it, go with the 360 version since it lacks a mandatory 3GB install. If the movie's fresh in your mind and you want a fun Thor game to play, try out the 8-bit throwback on Marvel's site, or use him in Marvel vs. Capcom 3.
  11. May 10, 2011
    40
    Repetition, repetition, repetition.
  12. Jun 26, 2011
    38
    You'll find no joy in smiting these pitiful excuses for minions. [Issue#206, p.88]
  13. May 5, 2011
    35
    It's just a complete waste of recycled ideas. Not even suitable to the most die hard fans.
  14. 30
    Thor: God of Thunder is a game to avoid.
  15. May 17, 2011
    30
    Liquid Entertainment has got to have a good explanation to this extremely dull and boring game. A lot of dark clouds, but no sparks.
  16. May 16, 2011
    30
    In all honesty if I hadn't have been playing it for review I wouldn't have finished it.
  17. May 10, 2011
    30
    If I haven't made my point excruciatingly clear by now, let me be very blunt -- do not play this game. It's plodding and dull, and isn't even fun in an unintentional way. Just stay away.
  18. May 10, 2011
    30
    Thor: God of Thunder looks terrible, plays poorly, and was obviously rushed out to market with no fine-tuning whatsoever. Considering that the DS version is so much better by comparison (along with the vastly superior free Flash title from Marvel Studios), I'm saddened that this game had to ever exist.
  19. May 10, 2011
    30
    For those of us living in the now, it's joyless tat and should be smashed with hammers. Big ones.
  20. May 7, 2011
    25
    The miserable camera system often zooms in too close to see what you're doing, or makes it impossible to see a necessary location without moving.
  21. Thor: God of Thunder sins often and hugely, but its primary offense to man is its indifference to the subject matter. [July 2011, p.83]
  22. May 24, 2011
    20
    Don't play Thor: God of Thunder. Please, for the love of the Norse gods.
  23. May 21, 2011
    20
    We hate to say it but there is just no upside to this game. From the storyline down to the bad gameplay, everything is simply terrible. God of Thunder is a challenging game though, however, this is because of all the glitches that will make your life impossible.
  24. May 10, 2011
    20
    Absolutely awful in every way.
  25. Apr 30, 2011
    20
    Thor is a prime example of the worst possible adaptations of movie blockbusters into video games. It's poor, painfully ugly, and barely playable, thanks to rigid animations and a complete lack of ideas.
  26. Jun 4, 2011
    11
    Thor is one of the worst superhero games ever made, which is really saying something, and it's a truly epic travesty. [July 2011, p.95]
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Certainly it is not a masterpiece. But anger is useless against this game. I's not extraordinary, but it gets the job done nicely. In my opinion is a bit boring, but it's still pretty funny. My vote is very high, so as to balance the other reviews. Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2011
    5
    All the doom and gloom the previous Marvel Games have brought like Iron man 1 & 2,seem to have cast this genre in stone...Whilst using the same engine as The last Wolverine game(which wasnt half bad)This does have some fiddly issues but sound is fine & its well worth a rental as Some of the challenges are worth getting your teeth into...Its not as bad Ironman just not as good as Wolverines last outing..But still i gave it a go Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    This game has a very unfair reputation. It's not a true 9 or 10 game by any means. I'm giving it a 9 based on the amount of fun I have with the game. The lack of polish alone is what seems to be the biggest culprit with all the bad reviews. Underneath the very inconsistent graphics, is some engaging and fun combat. It just takes some time to get used to the timing of the controls. Many people mention the comparisons to GOW games. I loved GOW3, and I had nearly the same amount of fun with this game. It's unfair to compare the two games in any way other than the style of combat. GOW 3 wins every category. But, Thor is still a fun game despite the ugly (at times) graphics, occasional glitches, and the very unfortunate lack of testing the developers had regarding the last couple of chapters of the game. (Hint: manual save prior to the Defending Asgard chapter) Pick this game up on the cheap, and don't give up after the first couple of chapters. It takes some time to get warmed up. Full Review »