User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 11 out of 19

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    This game has a very unfair reputation. It's not a true 9 or 10 game by any means. I'm giving it a 9 based on the amount of fun I have with the game. The lack of polish alone is what seems to be the biggest culprit with all the bad reviews. Underneath the very inconsistent graphics, is some engaging and fun combat. It just takes some time to get used to the timing of the controls.This game has a very unfair reputation. It's not a true 9 or 10 game by any means. I'm giving it a 9 based on the amount of fun I have with the game. The lack of polish alone is what seems to be the biggest culprit with all the bad reviews. Underneath the very inconsistent graphics, is some engaging and fun combat. It just takes some time to get used to the timing of the controls. Many people mention the comparisons to GOW games. I loved GOW3, and I had nearly the same amount of fun with this game. It's unfair to compare the two games in any way other than the style of combat. GOW 3 wins every category. But, Thor is still a fun game despite the ugly (at times) graphics, occasional glitches, and the very unfortunate lack of testing the developers had regarding the last couple of chapters of the game. (Hint: manual save prior to the Defending Asgard chapter) Pick this game up on the cheap, and don't give up after the first couple of chapters. It takes some time to get warmed up. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    4
    When I first bought this game, I thought, hey the PS3 version must be better than the wii or Nintendo versions of the game. I was ripped off. I knew this when I got a bit into the game, not adequate to PS3 standard graphics, I easily became confused, and once I had to redo a level because I didn't have enough of one ability. With all these things taken in to account, I knew this was belowWhen I first bought this game, I thought, hey the PS3 version must be better than the wii or Nintendo versions of the game. I was ripped off. I knew this when I got a bit into the game, not adequate to PS3 standard graphics, I easily became confused, and once I had to redo a level because I didn't have enough of one ability. With all these things taken in to account, I knew this was below standard, so I sort of had to force myself to play. I eventually stopped this, though. Overall, 3.5/10 Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    Decent game with fun combat not up there with the likes of arkham city as far a super hero games go but as a movie tie in and a action brawler it can hold its head up high, if you like the character and mythology and action games in general you will enjoy this. Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews they are misguided and from some jaded gamers. Only major complaint would be thatDecent game with fun combat not up there with the likes of arkham city as far a super hero games go but as a movie tie in and a action brawler it can hold its head up high, if you like the character and mythology and action games in general you will enjoy this. Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews they are misguided and from some jaded gamers. Only major complaint would be that they never really took advantage of Thor's flight ability the game for the most part remains firmly planted on the ground Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Certainly it is not a masterpiece. But anger is useless against this game. I's not extraordinary, but it gets the job done nicely. In my opinion is a bit boring, but it's still pretty funny. My vote is very high, so as to balance the other reviews.
  5. May 13, 2011
    5
    All the doom and gloom the previous Marvel Games have brought like Iron man 1 & 2,seem to have cast this genre in stone...Whilst using the same engine as The last Wolverine game(which wasnt half bad)This does have some fiddly issues but sound is fine & its well worth a rental as Some of the challenges are worth getting your teeth into...Its not as bad Ironman just not as good as WolverinesAll the doom and gloom the previous Marvel Games have brought like Iron man 1 & 2,seem to have cast this genre in stone...Whilst using the same engine as The last Wolverine game(which wasnt half bad)This does have some fiddly issues but sound is fine & its well worth a rental as Some of the challenges are worth getting your teeth into...Its not as bad Ironman just not as good as Wolverines last outing..But still i gave it a go Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2012
    0
    Certainly it is not a masterpiece. But anger is useless against this game. I's not extraordinary, but it gets the job done nicely. In my opinion is a bit boring, but it's still pretty funny. My vote is very high, so as to balance the other reviews.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 35
  2. Negative: 27 out of 35
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    45
    Thor: God of Thunder is a reminder to players of how licensed titles can be quite lackluster. Bad sound balancing, unresponsive controls, and less than mediocre graphics make for a game that feels like it was released prematurely.
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    38
    You'll find no joy in smiting these pitiful excuses for minions. [Issue#206, p.88]
  3. Everything works and it will kill a few hours, but only in a rubber-necking, see-where-it-goes kind of way. [July 2011, p.103]