Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thor: The Video Game will take players through a spectacular, epic-scale original third-person adventure for which Matt Fraction, the Eisner Award-winning writer and lead Thor comic book author served as story consultant. In the game, Thor battles through the numerous worlds of NorseThor: The Video Game will take players through a spectacular, epic-scale original third-person adventure for which Matt Fraction, the Eisner Award-winning writer and lead Thor comic book author served as story consultant. In the game, Thor battles through the numerous worlds of Norse mythology that span realms ranging from primal worlds of fire and ice to extraordinary planets inhabited by Frost Giants and Trolls to save Asgard, the capital city of the Norse Gods. Thor must overcome monstrous foes lifted from the pages of the comics including Ulik, Ymir, and Surtur, as well as other monstrous denizens. Players will wield the iconic Mjolnir, Thor’s legendary hammer, to fight enemies on an immense scale while controlling the elemental storm powers of lightning, thunder, and wind to vanquish enemies. As Thor earns Valor points through his exploits, players can acquire new abilities, powers, and weapon upgrades. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 35
  2. Negative: 27 out of 35
  1. May 10, 2011
    75
    Combat is satisfying and engaging.
  2. May 5, 2011
    59
    Thor is a very basic game made only for fans of the film.
  3. May 17, 2011
    48
    Due to the bad graphics and the loveless setting with poor details, Thor has dug his grave itself.
  4. May 10, 2011
    40
    Thor for the 360 and PS3 is a sub-par God of War clone that does a surface-level job of replicating what makes that kind of game work, while missing the point of what works on any kind of deeper level. If you like that style of game, play either that series or any other games like it that have been mentioned. The lack of polish here makes it impossible to recommend as a purchase at any price, although if you must rent it, go with the 360 version since it lacks a mandatory 3GB install. If the movie's fresh in your mind and you want a fun Thor game to play, try out the 8-bit throwback on Marvel's site, or use him in Marvel vs. Capcom 3.
  5. 30
    Thor: God of Thunder is a game to avoid.
  6. May 10, 2011
    30
    Thor: God of Thunder looks terrible, plays poorly, and was obviously rushed out to market with no fine-tuning whatsoever. Considering that the DS version is so much better by comparison (along with the vastly superior free Flash title from Marvel Studios), I'm saddened that this game had to ever exist.
  7. Jun 4, 2011
    11
    Thor is one of the worst superhero games ever made, which is really saying something, and it's a truly epic travesty. [July 2011, p.95]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Certainly it is not a masterpiece. But anger is useless against this game. I's not extraordinary, but it gets the job done nicely. In myCertainly it is not a masterpiece. But anger is useless against this game. I's not extraordinary, but it gets the job done nicely. In my opinion is a bit boring, but it's still pretty funny. My vote is very high, so as to balance the other reviews. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    This game has a very unfair reputation. It's not a true 9 or 10 game by any means. I'm giving it a 9 based on the amount of fun I have withThis game has a very unfair reputation. It's not a true 9 or 10 game by any means. I'm giving it a 9 based on the amount of fun I have with the game. The lack of polish alone is what seems to be the biggest culprit with all the bad reviews. Underneath the very inconsistent graphics, is some engaging and fun combat. It just takes some time to get used to the timing of the controls. Many people mention the comparisons to GOW games. I loved GOW3, and I had nearly the same amount of fun with this game. It's unfair to compare the two games in any way other than the style of combat. GOW 3 wins every category. But, Thor is still a fun game despite the ugly (at times) graphics, occasional glitches, and the very unfortunate lack of testing the developers had regarding the last couple of chapters of the game. (Hint: manual save prior to the Defending Asgard chapter) Pick this game up on the cheap, and don't give up after the first couple of chapters. It takes some time to get warmed up. Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    Decent game with fun combat not up there with the likes of arkham city as far a super hero games go but as a movie tie in and a action brawlerDecent game with fun combat not up there with the likes of arkham city as far a super hero games go but as a movie tie in and a action brawler it can hold its head up high, if you like the character and mythology and action games in general you will enjoy this. Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews they are misguided and from some jaded gamers. Only major complaint would be that they never really took advantage of Thor's flight ability the game for the most part remains firmly planted on the ground Expand
  4. May 13, 2011
    5
    All the doom and gloom the previous Marvel Games have brought like Iron man 1 & 2,seem to have cast this genre in stone...Whilst using theAll the doom and gloom the previous Marvel Games have brought like Iron man 1 & 2,seem to have cast this genre in stone...Whilst using the same engine as The last Wolverine game(which wasnt half bad)This does have some fiddly issues but sound is fine & its well worth a rental as Some of the challenges are worth getting your teeth into...Its not as bad Ironman just not as good as Wolverines last outing..But still i gave it a go Collapse
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    4
    When I first bought this game, I thought, hey the PS3 version must be better than the wii or Nintendo versions of the game. I was ripped off.When I first bought this game, I thought, hey the PS3 version must be better than the wii or Nintendo versions of the game. I was ripped off. I knew this when I got a bit into the game, not adequate to PS3 standard graphics, I easily became confused, and once I had to redo a level because I didn't have enough of one ability. With all these things taken in to account, I knew this was below standard, so I sort of had to force myself to play. I eventually stopped this, though. Overall, 3.5/10 Expand