Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 40
  2. Negative: 26 out of 40
  1. 75
    A trope-demolishing RPG that tries to be bold and creative by paying homage to 80s classic Japanese animation.
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    70
    Time and Eternity may not be as polished as other Japanese RPG titles but it does give the player a standard experience that for the majority of the time, I enjoyed. It definitely could have been better as it stays in the safe zone, rather than try to challenge the current genre.
  3. The good looks of most JRPGs will be in some way anime-influenced, but Time and Eternity is flat-out anime that you play. With that comes the often cringe-worthy plotting of the latterday art form, too.[September 2013, p77]
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    60
    Time and Eternity is a roleplaying game focused, mainly, towards the Japanese market. On one hand, its plot is entertaining, but not a very complex one; on the other hand, it offers a wide variety of secondary missions and different unlockable elements that will prolong the game's life. Although visually interesting, the plain and sometimes badly designed scenarios will overshadow the overall impression. And it will be released only in English.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    60
    Considering the fact that there are many more JRPG choices out there (of much greater quality) for the same price, it is virtually impossible to recommend anyone spend their gaming dollars on this twenty-some-odd hour game that will only annoy and disappoint them.
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    58
    A so-so JRPG with neat ideas and a unique graphical conception but it also has lots of technical problems and annoying battles too.
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    56
    I can't recommend Time and Eternity, but I’m not sorry I played it either. The whole experience was like looking back through a chipped lens at some of the good, and much of the bad that was anime and RPGs in the 80s.
  8. Jul 16, 2013
    55
    ImageEpoch attempts to try something quite different with the Japanese RPG genre, and while a lot of the game suffers from missteps, poor gameplay decisions, and terrible writing, Time and Eternity’s anime-come-to-life visual style makes it an experience that feels unlike anything that’s been released in recent memory.
  9. Sep 19, 2013
    50
    Time equals money, and Time and Eternity is not worth either.
  10. Sep 1, 2013
    50
    Even if you're the most die-hard of RPG fans, there's no reason to bother with Time and Eternity.
  11. Aug 27, 2013
    50
    Time and Eternity, despite the promises, it's bland and uninspired. The game lacks everything that an RPG needs.
  12. Good-looking but with simple repetitive combat, there's not enough on offer here to back up the potential of its two-girls-one-game premise. [Sept 2013, p.89]
  13. Jul 21, 2013
    50
    We had high hopes for Time and Eternity, but the game was ultimately a disappointing experience. The pros: the soundtrack's great, the gameplay's pretty elaborate, the story s interesting and the 2D-sprites are beautiful. The cons: the combat's rather stupid, the 3D-world is mediocre, the voice-acting's awful and the environments keep repeating themselves. It's a nice attempt at a JRPG, but there are a lot of better alternatives out there.
  14. Jul 1, 2013
    50
    More money and more time would have helped this game to become something better. Still there are some good ideas that a certain audience will indeed enjoy.
  15. Jun 27, 2013
    48
    Once again, Imageepoch had several fresh ideas but it didn't put those ideas into effect. Time and Eternity could have been an innovative and visually stunning jRPG, instead it's just an inconsistent, shallow and unpolished one.
  16. Looking at just some still images from the game, you would have to be blind, not to call it beautiful. However once you see it in motion, you realize that producing manga or anime is not the same as making a game. The lively animations do not match with the static backgrounds. [September p.86]
  17. Jul 5, 2013
    47
    This may look like a playable anime, but the mechanics are miles away from Ni no Kuni or Tales of Graces . Character, quest and leveldesign are uninspired, the battles are primitive and the plot… Well, it has half naked women…
  18. Jul 22, 2013
    45
    Some very good writing bumps up the score for this one, but the lazy gameplay decisions make finishing the game a chore.
  19. Jul 16, 2013
    45
    Time and Eternity is a game of great ambitions, but due to some rather poor design choices and budget restraints, it manages to achieve almost nothing it sets out to do. I’m sorry NISA (you know I love you), but it seems you picked a stinker this time around.
  20. Jul 17, 2013
    44
    Maybe Imageepoch just wanted to experiment. I can’t fault them for that, and they certainly had guts in putting this game together. NIS America, too, for bringing it overseas. I’m only sorry that the concept and effort didn’t come together into a cohesive whole.
  21. Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Rather than the suave, impressive chat-up line it could so easily have been, Time and Eternity instead sashays up to feminism and blurts ‘I like your boobs’ like Seth Rogen’s menacing delivery in Donnie Darko. It could be a misjudged line but it’s not attractive and it’s not funny. It’s just plain creepy.
  22. Jul 26, 2013
    40
    Boring story with a prepubescent side goal of trying to get up skirts and wet t-shirt shots of the main lead, who actually deserves a better fate than this repetitive junk. I want to go back in time the 25+ hours I gave this game and swiftly take it back.
  23. Jul 24, 2013
    40
    Sadly, while the game does have its fun moments here and there, the game breaks apart with monotonous and predicable combat, boring side quests and poor pacing. It’s one for the hardcore fans, but even then, I’m not sure how well they can admire this.
  24. Jul 16, 2013
    40
    Compared to Imageepoch's decent track record of niche RPGs, Time and Eternity is a resounding disappointment. And that's compounded by the game’s promising 2D visual concept falling short. As there is nothing especially remarkable with the game's world exploration, battles, or anything else for that matter, the only audience that would appreciate Time and Eternity is the one that buys anything publisher NIS America releases. Even then, this one's a hard sale.
  25. Jun 27, 2013
    40
    The game is a decent JRPG, good enough to be played if you are a big fan of the genre. Unfortunately it’s also ruined by a lot of technical problems such as a poor graphics and terrible animations. And the combat system is overly simplistic and boring. A pity because, since the game shows some very good ideas.
  26. Jun 26, 2013
    38
    Time & Eternity is by far one of the worst RPGs I have ever played, and even when accounting for different tastes, I cannot recommend it to anyone. At best, a select few may enjoy the game's sense of humor, but I'm convinced that the gameplay is so broken that almost anyone will regret purchasing this game.
  27. Sep 2, 2013
    36
    Jarring banality. [Oct 2013, p.77]
  28. Jul 19, 2013
    35
    If you want to experience a beautiful anime-style role-playing game, you have many other choices, like the recent Ni no Kuni. It's best to leave Time and Eternity on the store shelves forevermore.
  29. Jul 15, 2013
    35
    Time and Eternity is a wasted opportunity. The premise of a Japanese role-playing game that looks and feels like an interactive anime is a sound one. But this game is anything but sound. A vapid story, obnoxious characters, and heaps of unrealized potential awaits those that fall for Time and Eternity's glossy veneer.
  30. Nov 11, 2013
    30
    Its story amounts to little more than misfired jokes about an obnoxious perv trying to look up as many skirts as possible.
  31. Aug 25, 2013
    30
    Time and Eternity's veneer is gorgeous, but style doesn't trump substance—and the substance here leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Toki and Towa may love Zach the Alleged Protagonist, but I sure don't.
  32. Aug 18, 2013
    30
    Graphical issues, lazy design, broken mechanics, dull combat, vulgar dialogue, and a loathsome main character are all bundled together in Time and Eternity, resulting in a particularly uncomfortable and unenjoyable JRPG. If you're looking for dynamic battles, gorgeous visuals, and a decent yarn, pick up Tales of Xillia or Ni No Kuni instead. Just trust us on this one.
  33. Jul 30, 2013
    30
    Structurally it’s a mess, with most missions playing out as grind-fests through dull-as-dishwater locales, and with the kind of misogynistic portrayal of supposedly-strong female characters that gives the genre a bad name, this is the very worst that JRPGs have to offer, and we can only recommend that you divorce yourself from any thoughts of shelling out your hard-earned cash on it.
  34. Jul 19, 2013
    30
    Time and Eternity feels as empty and pointless as its shallow male protagonist's classless advances. It's a chore to play and a failure to its genre influences. I never felt like I had control over my characters, and I didn't really care, thanks to the focus on creepy sex talk. To put it simply, Time and Eternity is an embarrassment.
  35. Jul 12, 2013
    30
    Only try out Time and Eternity when someone offers you money in exchange for playing it, or if you want to see what happens when a development studio doesn’t do any kind of QA testing. For no other reason should you waste your time playing it.
  36. 20
    There is very little in Time and Eternity to warrant paying full or even half price to try out.
  37. Jul 10, 2013
    20
    This clumsy attempt at RPG matchmaking throws together a super-casual dating simulation with a sluggish battle system, framing the whole thing with a story that never stops wobbling between the serious and lecherous.
  38. Jul 10, 2013
    20
    I implore you to avoid this game at all costs, and play just about anything else on the market with the joy in your heart that you aren’t playing Time and Eternity.
  39. Jun 24, 2013
    20
    Time and Eternity is utterly embarrassing in so many ways that I do question how much it will hurt NISA's overall image.
  40. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    If you see this game on the shelf, don’t touch it, don’t even look at it. You would have much more fun spending your money on a dentist appointment.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    0
    Time and Eternity is not a good game. It is not worth renting, borrowing from a friend, and most of all, it's not worth buying. Time andTime and Eternity is not a good game. It is not worth renting, borrowing from a friend, and most of all, it's not worth buying. Time and Eternity is an example of high ambitions and a complete and utter inability to follow through.

    Let's start with the writing. T&E takes its character archetypes and dialogue from the very worst of any harem anime you'll see. Our "hero", Zack, is your typical perverted, stupid, hot-blooded protagonist who spends most of his time yelling about how much he wants to see the female cast naked. Shortly into the game he's forced into the body of the perverted animal mascot, and this becomes combined with a number of absurd slapstick animations. The heroines, Toki and Towa, are as bland an uninteresting as they get, with Toki being the plucky, hopeful standard heroine and Towa the tough, angry girl. The side characters range from one-dimensional jokes to what coming from any developer other than ImageEpoch I would assume to be satire. The story makes no attempt to be interesting even if the premise is just barely original, and the plot of the game quickly takes a back-seat to your harem's moe-moe antics.

    The "HD animation", the main draw of the game for many people, is quite simply terrible. A screenshot or two will look good, as the images themselves aren't bad quality, but the animations are very poorly done, more resembling an eighth-grade Powerpoint presentation than any anime made in the last several years. Animations are repeated incessantly at rapid-speed; characters folding and unfolding their arms and crossing and uncrossing their legs as though they desperately need a toilet trip or a straightjacket wrapped around them. The animations are also choppy, and there is no attempt at lip-synching made here, with characters simply flapping their mouths endlessly to important lines of spoken dialogue like "Huh?" and "...".

    The soundtrack has a few great tracks, such as the battle themes, but for the most part the music is downright annoying, giving the impression that Yuzo Koshiro simply couldn't be bothered anymore. The voice acting is outright bad; and I'm not even referring to NISA's dub of the game. Despite a great cast, the Japanese voice actors have delivered some of the most painfully uninspired and weak performances of their careers, and this isn't helped by the game's horrible, choppy presentation.

    Now, the gameplay. If anyone played ImageEpoch's earlier Black Rock Shooter on the PSP, T&E's battle system should seem familiar. Much like BRS, you stand in place while enemies move towards you or attack from afar. You can shoot them, jump closer and use a knife, dodge, or guard attacks, and use special skills and items in battle. In BRS, the battles were fast, fluid, and responsive. In T&E however, battles are slow, clunky, tedious and suffer from frequent slowdown and frame drops. Controls are frequently unresponsive, either in your character continuing to shoot after letting go of the button, or not dodging when you hit it. These issues are made even worse by the lack of any kind of cancel function present in the time I played, leaving battles a frustrating mess when most enemies will begin and end an attack animation in the time it takes Towa or Toki to shoot a single bullet. Add onto this a cluttered, ugly battle user interface and every enemy wearing out its welcome with a great deal more HP than any mook has any right to have, and there is nothing enjoyable about the battles.

    To top it off, the game is buggy, and lacks basic features, like a pause button. When in any cutscenes, dialogue advances automatically, and the game cannot be paused. There is no reason for this when the animation merely consists of a few stock scenes repeated over and over, but it's clearly too much for ImageEpoch to handle, as skipping any line of dialogue will cause the characters to start flying across the screen, glitching in and out of different animations while trying to remember where they were supposed to be placed. This is a feat easily achieved over and over with just a single skip, and it leaves one wondering if the game was ever tested at all.

    In closing, there is simply nothing of value to be found anywhere in Time & Eternity. The game is a complete mess, in every aspect, and it's a wonder why NISA ever decided to inflict this travesty upon the west in the first place.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    3
    So I bought this game without the highest hopes. Although most JRPG's aren't great games, they are usually quite entertaining. This game rightSo I bought this game without the highest hopes. Although most JRPG's aren't great games, they are usually quite entertaining. This game right here was atrocious. I tried to like it it, I really did but I just couldn't.
    The graphics look great, and that's probably the strongest point of the game. Although the animation in itself was jarring and felt awkward, especially when moving through an area, Toki/Towa's running animation was just terrible.

    Another major letdown was the voiceovers, they seemed bland with no emotion. And the lip syncing was way off with the mouth visibly moving even though the voiceovers had finished. The gameplay itself was also very clunky and hard to use, pressing the dodge button didn't work more often then not, leaving it a gamble to try and dodge the attacks.

    The story wasn't great, but I wasn't expecting some grand epic amazing story when I started the game.
    All in all I give this game a three, it's not broken and it works, and I think that's the only thing it has going for it right now, so if your reading this, buy it at your own risk.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Well, I thought this game will be REALLY big disappoint For some fans it is. But is it the worst thing? (see Mindjack) No! It's not! I willWell, I thought this game will be REALLY big disappoint For some fans it is. But is it the worst thing? (see Mindjack) No! It's not! I will say one thing. Do you like japanese games? Do you enjoy it? Then, buy it! Now, later, but if you really into these games, you'll enjoy it. Haters, go home, you're drunk.
    PS. I like japanese games.
    Full Review »