• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A hunting game for the PlayStation 3 is finally here! The story takes place in the year 20XX, where you are an animal fighting for survival in the deserted city of Tokyo which was once a lively metropolis. At times, you can be a Pomeranian who has given up a domesticated life for its independence, be a racehorse on a mission to find fellow competitors or even be a lion, the king of all beasts, seeking the warmth of home. You can choose to be a carnivore or herbivore, to survive alone or as part of a herb. You must hunt all the animals in sight for your own survival. See what challenges await you... Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Sep 26, 2012
    100
    I definitely feel like if you own a PS3, then you owe it to yourself to check out Tokyo Jungle. It's a game that is almost literally a diamond in the rough, with some so-so visuals and lackluster presentation that doesn't instantly grab the casual observer, but if you manage to sit down with the game for a half hour or so, I think you'll find yourself hooked.
  2. Sep 13, 2012
    85
    The lack of polish in some areas and questionable design decisions in others can overshadow Tokyo Jungle's moments of brilliance. As I finished the story, however, I realized I couldn't stop smiling: It knows how absurd it is, but it doesn't care. The developers takes the ridiculous concept and runs with it all the way, mainstream tastes be damned. That's something you really have to admire.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    Tokyo Jungle is exactly the sort of unconventional project that I live for, so it's easy to forgive its issues; the low-end production values, two extremely ill-conceived stealth missions that don't suit the mechanics, and a few boss fights that were more frustrating than fun. Although irritating, none were dealbreakers-just be prepared to restart a few missions here and there.
  4. Sep 14, 2012
    75
    Tokyo Jungle is not the typical adventure game you might expect: it has great ideas and an engaging playability, but it lacks polish and suffers from a very basic graphic department.
  5. Anyone craving a fresh take on the stealth-action genre should sniff this one out. [Dec 2012, p.83]
  6. Sep 14, 2012
    70
    Tokyo Jungle is an interesting wild-life simulator in a post-apocalyptic Tokyo, void of humans. Choosing one of the many animal races available, the race is on to take over territories, form a flock and survive the dangers of the urban jungle. It's a nice concept that unfortunately falls a bit flat due to its inherent repetitiveness – eat food, procreate, eat more food, take over more territories. But in smaller doses, it will deliver unique and interesting experiences.
  7. 30
    Fun quickly fades when trying to actually go through the game, with the experience being dragged down by the crazy inconsistencies of its own world, sloppy multiplayer, disgraceful graphics, annoying music, an overdose of repetition, and too many smaller glitches to count.

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This is one of those rare gems that, for all its minor imperfections, is just so damn fun and unique that I can't help but love it and keep coming back for more. Descriptions really don't do this game justice, in fact, they might confuse you even more, but the core of the game is a survival action RPG - with animals. You roam the overgrown human-less city as one of many types of animals, fight and breed and equip them for better survival. There are unlockable story modes for different animals, but the real fun is in survival mode, where you see how far you can take a species up the ranks and brave all the other animals and environmental hazzards for generations. Chicks, dogs, bears, lions, elephans, cows, ostriches and many more.

    It's tough to rate a game that has nothing relatively close to compare it to, so I've based my rating on the fun factor and amount of content. You could make some minor improvements, but nothing worth up to 10% of the score, in my opinion - a perfect 10. Go play this game.
    Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    I was really surprised by this game. Originally, everything I saw and read about it gave me the impression that it wasn't my type of game. I didn't like the graphics and the mechanics seemed simple and repetitive. In a way, this is still true but I found the addictive formula in the randomized challenges every time you start a new game (with saved previous accomplishments like unlocking other animals). Every animal has it's own strengths and weaknesses that really change the way you move around this image of future Tokyo. It's like a roguelike real-time animal sim. Although it's not perfect, I think it's a brilliant game because of the smaller details that make it well worth the money ($15 NA PSN). It just feels fun to play and there probably isn't any video or review that can really do it justice because it's a pretty unique and unexpected style of game. I know I won't be done with it until every animal is unlocked and even then, I will have plenty of reasons to go back thanks to the new challenges in each playthrough. It's not perfect, but I think it's an unique entertaining experience that any PS3 owner won't want to miss. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This game deserves respect, but why?While not having a spectacular graphics like any PS3 game what else calls me and caught my attention is to see how a simple game can be innovative and fun without having super graphics.Tokyo Jungle for me and for always going to be bizarre and weird but this game showed that we can have fun even without beautiful graphics 15 $ many well-spent. Collapse
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    A weird but fun and interesting simple game. Never followed it or even watched the trailers, so I went and bought it. No remorse here and it's awesome! Why 8? There may be some flaws in this game but it's not that big of deal. Also, I'm strict when it comes to rating, so yeah. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    This game is simple, fun, and addicting. There is a lot of content, with around 50 animals to play as (including dlc), random challenges in survival mode, collectable archive pieces that unlock the story missions, and even a couch co-op mode. The graphics could definitely be better, and gameplay can get monotonous when sticking with one species, but for the price, this is a unique game that should be played. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    Gameplay - 10/10. Graphics - 7/10. Sound - 6/10. Overall - 7.7/10. This game was a real surprise, and it
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    6
    (TL;DR: Recommended if the concept appeals to you.) I usually finish main missions before I write a review, but Tokyo Jungle's campaign is locked behind a huge 'survival' map that you have to replay more than a dozen times to unlock every 'act'... short stories all set on the very same map. Granted, the map is huge (although linear) and the acts use locations well. So far, I've unlocked and played five 'acts', and the repetition of the map makes me doubt if I'll want to unlock the rest.

    The also unlockable animals and costumes keep variation above tolerable, but apart from the distinction between herbivores and carnivores they play similarly. The game is more action-brawler than stealth. More roguelike than platformer, but it has elements from many genres mixed together. Overall, I think it's above average, especially if you've had enough of 'standard' action games.

    It doesn't have online multiplayer. It doesn't have an epic atmosphere, which could have been achieved by a continuous campaign and a more interactive 'Tokyo'. But when it works, it plays like a (post)modern Japanese arcade game with many variables thrown into play, and that's what I recommend about it.

    UPDATE: The campaign proved to be fairly varied, and the fourteen 'acts' did not bore me at any point. It got pretty epic too. It remains questionable whether even reaching the campaign is worth the repeated map. If the game's concept sounds awesome to you, it's recommended. If not, still a good game. Just not super compelling.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers