User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 141
  2. Negative: 29 out of 141

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    Just finished campaign and yes it's short but after playing multi I have see now where they put all their effort. A must buy game especially if u like gears of war and cod.
  2. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been hearing about the story being short but i think this game focus's on Multiplayer like how Starhawk did so i'm not complaining cause the Multiplayer is really solid even though i had one problem but that was pretty much it, haven't encountered the problem in a while. Anyway, if you're looking for a game that has a pretty fun multiplayer, GRFS is one of those games.
  3. May 23, 2012
    10
    It's just a amazing game. Although the graphic is not that good. but i enjoy the customize system and the superb coop. Also the multiplayer has a lot of fun.
  4. May 22, 2012
    10
    Awesome game. One wish I really do have is team deathmatch and the ability to change game options like pistols only or snipers only.. Game is perfect otherwise
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    The best games this year are getting their behinds kicked in the dirt by most critics and users. Unrrated games are always my cup of tea. When most people don't like it, i do like it. Therefore i just give a 10 to boost the score up. Realistic score would be a 9 from my side. When certain console gamers are nagging about graphics, go buy a good pc then. On my plasma tv, Future Soldier looks very good. Graphics look a little bit like the Frostbite engine from Battlefield 3.

    A decent not so easy 10 hour single-player experience plus slick online mp and co-op missions, make Future Soldier a worthwhile package. The soundtrack is also very good.
    The online mp is not as tactical as you should expect, because you can still run, camp and shoot like it's a COD. (but Future Soldier is more difficult)
    But ofcourse i've played a lot of Red Orchestra 1 and 2 where teamwork is more present.
    But compared to previous Ghost Recon and Rainbow Six games, Future Soldier is more arcade shooting with some little tactical portion in the game-play.
    In other words, Ubisoft tried to find a balance so they can compete with all recent shooters.
    In my opinion, they succeeded and still kept it true to the Ghost Recon franchise.

    Just like Max Payne 3, it´s not a groundbreaking shooter.
    But it´s entertaining with some replay-value attached to it.
    Expand
  6. May 26, 2012
    10
    Best tps since a very long time. Graphics are awsome, maybe the engine is not top notch but the overall feeling is great. Lighting and sfx deserve a special award. Campaign is well paced, multiplayer is fun and more challenging (way more than any cod or bf) and guerilla is is a bonus but an amazing one. I didn't play the previous ghost recon but now I'm waiting for the next one. Hope you'll enjoy this game as I do! Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    This game is good and its not short, play it on elite and it will take you EVEN longer!! So many trolling out there giving hate to this fantastic game. Also @ IAMABOSS, how did you finish it in hours? That is just stupid thing to write. Graphics are not that great as I didn't expect its a great mind thinking game.
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    By far the best FPS I have ever played. Nice graphics for the game, a very good story, perfect voice dialogues, very detailed weapons in story mode and multiplayer mode. Even though there are not as many levels in the game without the ad-on's, the levels are really made good. Not just a run and gun game, but you actually have to play tactical with or without a team if you decide to. An overall perfect way to put together a FPS. Compared to most FPS stories Ghost Recon has a good story and it actually takes some time unless you play on EASY. Also if you are looking for a game that is offline multiplayer, there is a nice co-op mode you can enjoy. Expand
  9. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    My favorite war game. Tom Clancy always makes the best and most realistic games. Online is the most realistic online shooting you can expirience. Thanks ubisoft
  10. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    I like the coop campaign. I think the graphics in spots are excellent, like the water scenes, Russian Cargo ship. Takes team work to survive and there are slow mo scenes that can be frustrating because it forces you into a perspective. My one gripe is the game is too easy. They need a crushing mode to really push players. I love the cover system and gun play. A player can obsess over gun combinations. Wish the sound was like Battlefield 3 and the explosions had more to them. Fire should burn players and there should be a friendly fire mode on Elite setting. My mic would occasionally not be heard by other players and can only be restored by re-invite to game. Game is fun. Have not tried the wave mode yet. If you like coop, this game is fun. Expand
  11. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    I think that fans of Ghost Recon brand should carefully read the announcement of games that have with this brand something in common. So that later, they have an unjustified claim to all but not to themselves.

    The game has an interesting single mode, with a storyline built a lot better that the last few Call of Duty put together. Each mission is different and requires a different
    approach, and the whole is approximately 10 to 12 hours of play. Enough? I think that is enough.

    Multiplayer has a few extra game modes, including co-operation and guerilla (the equivalent Horde in Gears of War).

    Graphically, it is not ideal, but is a solid 7/10 by today's standards.

    Good game, fast and tactical (if I wanted something slower, I would choose chess, which I recommend some :)).
    Expand
  12. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    A solid Title from the start.I wasn't a fan of the advanced war fighter series so I came into this title with some concerns.however ghost recon future soldier is my Favorite shooter to grace my PS3 in a very long time.now the single player is short and should be used as a training ground for the amazing multiplayer portion since that part shines like a star.a must buy for any shooter fan.
  13. May 24, 2012
    9
    There are some key differences between this game and the Advanced Warfighter series. But for everything they took away, they have added at least two new cool features, it seems! I saw where someone else on here said that 12 missions is a short game. They obviously have never played Rogue Warrior! Twelve Missions is a gracious offering compared to many of the other games that have come out over the past couple of years. I agree that 18 missions would have been a lot better, but 12 is still acceptable in my humble opinion. Also, the weapon customization is the most realistic I've ever seen in a video game to date. Most gamers out there probably never even new that weapons contained gas systems. The only reason I knew is because I've served my country as a United States Marine. The game also allows you to do a basic field strip of each weapon. It isn't COMPLETE, but it is still more complete than any other game I've ever seen. This level of detail shows that the Tom Clancy franchise cares about delivering an authentic game to their customers. And this is very noteworthy when you think about the lack of attention other franchises give to theirs. These graphics are AWESOME. If you wish to see this for yourself, see my channel on You Tube: http://www.youtube.com/gaming4jesus . I have not yet played multiplayer. But after I do, I will be sure to update this review. So far, I feel the game deserves no less than a 9. Anyone who has rated the game less than an 8 obviously does not know a good game when they play it. Expand
  14. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier was a great experience for me , The Story Mode Was Fully Of Action & The MultiPlayer Was Very Nice So If U Want a Smart Shooter Game After BF3 Choose Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier
  15. May 23, 2012
    9
    I played the campaign for about two hours last night and I loved it. I think some people were going into it expecting the best shooter game ever made, and while that's not the case with Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier, I came away quite impressed. The length of the campaign doesn't bother me, because most shooter games have short campaigns. What I like about this game is that it gives you challenges, so it adds to the replay value of it. I know I won't mind going back and playing the missions over again. I haven't even touched the multiplayer yet, but I'm sure it's going to be great. The biggest thing for me, however, was seeing if this shooter would end up glitchy like Battlefield or Call of Duty. Which it isn't. The controls are very smooth, your character will go into cover when you press the button, there's no lag time between commands and actions. It doesn't freeze like Battlefield did while playing that campaign. The graphics are really amazing (I have a 40" LCD HDTV 60hz Samsung, so that makes it even better). I'm not sure on how negative people will be about this game, but in my opinion, it beats Call of Duty, Battlefield and Medal of Honor... so if it beats those, I must give it at least a 9. Expand
  16. May 25, 2012
    9
    This review is for the Multiplayer which ultimately decides replay value. Simply put, it's absolutely great, the best TPS I've seen since the legendary Black Hawk Down. Skilled gamers will love this because Assault, Recon, and Engineer classes must strategically work together as a team to complete objectives. Noob tubers and fraggers beware, you will no longer be able to run and simply grenade people, winning in this game requires actual skill, strategy, and use of all the cool tools and mods available. The different soldier classes are particularly well done, assault soldiers are heavily armored front line troops. Engineers have all the right gadgets for intel. collection which can help decide the match. Scouts are the ultimate snipers with superb camo and claymore mines. The incendiary, anti-armor, and guided "smart-ammo" bring further satisfaction to skilled players and despite what some people here are saying graphics are actually quite good and you have to account for value of the entire experience. Some of the maps are very well laid out and moving effects give them a realistic feel. Now the only down points I felt were above average wait times in game lobbies which I hope Ubisoft will rectify with updates. Other than this it's a great experience if you know how to work strategically as a team making use of all the awesome tools and weaponry at your disposal. GRFS definitely won't disappoint especially with the superb replay value. Expand
  17. May 29, 2012
    9
    A third of the way through the campaign, been pretty impressed overall. The gameplay is fantastic, and the graphics are very good as well (except for the cutscenes which are poor). The online multiplayer is where this game shines though. Huge amounts of unlockables and game types that are interesting and fun. Being a huge fan of Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2, i must say this is definitely a permanent replacement and lives up to the Tom Clancy name. Expand
  18. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    It's not the best game but it's pretty good. A good journey good story different to all the origanls but in this case not bad and a different ending.
  19. May 28, 2012
    8
    Yes, this game looks dated and the campaign feels added on. But this games multiplayer is where all the fun is to be had. It is the most tactical online shooter I have played, and very challenging. I think if people can overlook the short comings of this game, they will find a very enjoyable third person shooter, with fantastic customization.
  20. May 22, 2012
    8
    Im a huge fan of tom clancy, R6V2 was one of my favs so obviously very excited for this game, wasnt very impressed w/ the beta but nothing would deter me from a clancy title.. I have been playing since midnight and its about 7 am and from what i have expd so far, well the game is solid by way of fluid controls, smooth frame rates and decent visuals. The campaign is lacking , the story is just like many others in this genre, catch the bad guy and get the weapons but its not a bad thing, just nothing fresh or groundbreaking.. Tons of weapon mods in the campaign as well as multiplayer, and i love tinkering with the custom pieces .. also during the campaign there are challenges within each mission i.e. shoot 10 guys in prone, well these challenges add replay value as well as neat unlocks. guerilla mode is like a horde mode , waves and co-op. Very nice addition to what is already a game which features co-op for just about anything including campaign. I love the cloaking, stealth approach but sometimes it is a bit too predictable.. Ghost team (a.i) are not controllable as in graw or R6V2 , only a "sync" shot is avail.. I could see how fun campaign missions would be in co-op fashion but as far as ghost team well there is no "connection", they are just there. They are very helpful and do get into correct positions etc but i just wish i could order them to throw a sensor or frag, take point and so on but in any event this game is solid, not much to talk about because it doesnt really do anything groundbreaking and obviously because of the sheer amount of mil shooters its hard to "break through" and do something which hasnt been done already but what recon future soldier does do is keep the 3rd person strategic shooter genre alive,so if you ae worried it would be influenced to morph into a more "commercial" game and be call of dutied well its not and overall its worth playing, i picked up this and dogma and im very happy with them both.. There are a bunch of modes and replay value in this game, visuals can look very very good at times and the soundtrack is my fav, gunfire and pings.. solid 8 for ghost. Expand
  21. Jun 7, 2012
    8
    Ghost recon future soldier,although a totally different game from the one shown in the 2010,2011,trailers. Actually turned out to be a pretty good game although its left, its control a squad tactics behind and youre squad now automatically back you up leaving you just the command to tell them which enemies to shoot and you cannot switch between classes but use the gunsmith to arm and customise a vast array of weapons makes the campaign endlessly replayable just to see if you can get thru just using a pistol or other weapons of youre choice. some people say the campaign is short but it depends how you play if you play stealth and try the in mission challenges it will take you over 10hours. 6 to 8hours if you just run and gun and dont bother about 100% mission completion scores.Over-all the campaign is highly enjoyable there can be the occasional bug but nothing major although the graphics do look outdated due to the long production time. Co-op is available for campaign mode but there is no matchmaking so you need people on your freinds list to join up with to actually play campaign co-op and the seperate guerila co-op horde mode, waves of enemies. guerilla mode actually seemed a bit too easy when playing with 4 people even on elite. And a bad mistake was you cannot use youre customised gunsmith weapons in guerilla co op, and are limited to default weapon drops. Multi-player is now vastly improved from the beta. and highly enjoyable and it will take a fair few hours to reach rank 50 and unlock the final class, basically a spare soldier you can kit out with any set up you want. there are a few issues that will more than likely be fixed mic. v.o.i.p comms can be dodgy in a match and has a tendancy to cut out mid game, and the occasional lost connection which most online games suffer from. If you like more tactical and realistic online wargames ghost recon is worth trying. Best new feature Gunsmith is a great way to customise and test youre guns before you use them. Expand
  22. May 30, 2012
    8
    You know what, this is a decent game. It doesn't do much different in terms of gameplay aside from the future technology and some of the places you can really tell that some have more detail than others, but gameplay is very solid and very fun. I did like the multi and i thought it was fun, especially with a group of friends. Planning out everything and thinking up tactics was surprisingly fun and it was hilarious just watching our plan fold out and just fail completely. I normally do not do this, but the multi pushed this up from a 7 to an 8 for me. Recommended Expand
  23. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    The concept is great, and this game is definitely designed to be played with a friend,but seriously, the graphics, especially when it comes to defining a face are poor, but that's just being picky.
    I seriously enjoyed this game playing with friends, and is a fun tactical style shooter. If you think CoD is the be all and end all of gaming then i suggest you miss this as all you will do is
    complain. Expand
  24. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    Uninteresting story and dated graphics in the cutscenes but looks very cool in the gameplay. My favourite feature is the gunsmith. It makes all the difference. Decent campaign and engaging (excellent in fact) multiplayer. Both thumbs up!
  25. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    When this game was announced i was really exited, i had to wait 2 years to finally buy it. When i started the game i was ready for a 3rd Person Shooter/COD/fast paced type of game. It turned out to be the opposite, it is a Stealth/fast paced at times/ get cought and your as good as dead kind of game, and i actually liked the way it turned out to be like. It is a hybrid of two different genres, stealth and action. Expand
  26. May 30, 2012
    7
    Hm, well this is interesting. I'm torn between my respect for the previous Ghost Recon titles ( Which Future Soldier all but desecrated ) and the thrilling, if unevenly paced, action of this new injection to the franchise. Let's toss it up, shall we? Is this game in any way the master class some naive minded journalists had been hoping for? Ha is it f***, but it is enjoyable. It's a little isolated from the days of Advanced Warfighter, and is not nearly as enjoyable, but it has it's own charm. The multiplayer stands out for being able to remain balanced even after you throw invisibility cloaks at games and expect them to not abuse their camping rights, small miracles and all that. The experience and ranking system is a bit odd, particularly the way how it rewards you more experience for planting a camera next to a target than a kill from cover. There's something to be said about the campaign and the voice work, Blum seems to be in everything these days but I'm not complaining, but the overall impact of the single player doesn't stand up in comparison to Advanced Warfighter. But let's forget about AW for a second, and just concentrate on what we've got here. A solid third person title with a balanced set of online components and a campaign which is better than any of the two Gears of War sequels. I'd say that's worth a rent, don't you? Expand
  27. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    The game is a pretty fun third person war shooter. You need to play it on elite to get any kind of a challenge. The sound is great and the gameplay is fine. The game is pretty short so I would not buy this for anything over $20.

    With that said the story is a joke and the cut scenes are terrible. The on going beer theme is ridiculous. The game has was developed with terrible resolution.
    So playing on your 1080p tv will break your heart. But the game was fun for the 8hrs. of game play. Expand
  28. May 28, 2013
    7
    This wasn't the Ghost Recon game I (we) were waiting for, but it's really fun, especially if you're playing with friends in the co-op campaign! The MP is fun as well! Just wish all the stuff we say in the first gameplay preview was in the final product, but I'm happy with what I have.
  29. May 23, 2012
    6
    Wait until it hits the bargain bin, how can they have ruined this franchise? the ps3 port looks like a ps2 game ffs on my led tv the gunplay is not satisfying at all, poor quality all over the park here folks, i would wait until you can pick it up cheap dont waste your money its not worth the full retail price 6/10 from me
  30. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    Fun but brief campaign of twelve linear but replayable missions. Replayable because of how gun customization affects your approach to situations and how challenges incentivize due to additional...challenge. Graphics are ugly and look like a cross between a PS3 launch title and a PS2 HD remake. Performance is fine, though, as the game runs at a stable 30FPS. I have not encountered any debilitating slowdowns. Multiplayer is the meat of this game. Maps are well designed but mostly consist of cramped corridors with a few high vantage points. Very few open areas all in all. Surprisingly enough, this complements the games alternating objective play well which is very similar to Killzone 2 and 3. The classes feel well balanced in general with the exception of the engineer. Situational awareness is a huge factor of success in this game that having almost all the engineers abilities revolve around this play style seems strange. Every team needs at least one to win, and while having too many will have the opposite effect, it's incredibly easy to rack up experience thanks to the game awarding more points for spotting enemies than actually killing them yourself. The game modes are many and varied, the most interesting of which being Decoy. In Decoy, three objectives appear on the map, but only one is the real objective. Neither team knows which objective is real and which is fake. It makes things interesting and unpredictable as teams try to feel things out and react accordingly. One of my few complaints is that the game's unlock system revolves around tokens which you must spend to access cosmetic and more utilitarian upgrades for weapons and equipment. Tokens are the only way you have access to improved optics which are always more accurate than firing from the hip, even when zoomed in or when behind cover. I sincerely hope this game retains a large player base for multiplayer because it deserves it. Expand
  31. May 24, 2012
    6
    Multiplayer is fun imo. Not Ghost Recon though. Graphics REALLY need work, like wtf. Multiplayer is also slightly convoluted. This was a multiplayer review, I'll play the campaign some other time.
  32. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a mixed bag. I wanted to enjoy it, but a game can only come so far. The story centers around a team of ghost looking for the people who killed another team of ghost. It would have been a nice story if it didn't go straight for the "Russian terrorist have a nuke" cliche. Then the story just ends with no sense of payoff after an already lengthy and frustrating last mission. The gameplay is probably the reason you should maybe invest in this game. The team focused co-op will make a great time with friends or if you don't have friends, your AI teammates will be okay. The competitive multiplayer is serviceable a few game modes and unlocks. The graphics look out-dated and there is not much spectacle in the environments. All together Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is tough to recommend. If you enjoy team based third person shooters, then go ahead and give it a shot. But the rest of us can wait until a better game comes.
    6/10
    Expand
  33. May 23, 2012
    6
    Ghost Recon Future Soldier is not that great. The graphics are terrible and looks like an outdated PS3 game or even a PS2 HD remake game...especially the facial animations. The character animations are poor. The lighting effects and textures are hideous. There is no environmental detail. The sound effects are not good. The physics and AI is absolutely awful. This game needed a new graphics engine. The story was poorly written and very lame. The acting was horrible. The character development was very bad. I felt no emotions for these characters. The communication between characters was poorly written. I did not like switching back and forth between third and first person. The controls were ok, but not the greatest setup. The multiplayer is not that great with server lag. Pros: Gadgets, sync shots, futuristic weapons, few fun action sequences. I would recommend buying this when it goes on sale. Not worth the 60 bucks IMO. Battlefield 3 and Max Payne 3 are much better games than this. Expand
  34. Jun 24, 2012
    6
    Amazing game play, but i was honestly expecting more gfx wise from Ubisoft. Connection and voice chat issues on ps3 servers for sure are a annoying problem right now. Once Ubisoft patches the voice chat issue I'll bump my rating up for sure.
  35. Jul 19, 2012
    6
    This is a game that I was really looking forward to, and it let me down in a lot of ways. Firstly, the gameplay is a little rough around the edges. Numerous times I would get stuck behind cover, leading to a frustratingly unnecessary death. Secondly, the story is non-existent. It's run of the mill shooter fare. And last but not least - the ending is garbage. Why, you might ask? There isn't an ending. Basically.

    And I'm not in to multiplayer, so I didn't try it out. It doesn't reflect my score in any way.
    Expand
  36. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    Oh lord, this is just Call of Duty with more bullet damage. I thought there'd be some kinda strategy this time around. But there's the same old tricks: spawn camping, dolphin diving, strafe shooting --irony is that Call of Duty might have more strategy. Tom Clancy games RIP.
  37. Jul 4, 2012
    5
    Bought it..... played it....... got bored within 1 hour... put it back in the box...... never opened it agian...

    Sorry to say its multiplayer is not at the same level as BF3, in fact its not even close... apart from its single player game to the hardcore fans it does not offer anything thats worth getting exited about..
  38. May 2, 2013
    5
    The game is not worth at full price. Not at all. The game is so frustrating to the point where i didn't want to play anymore. Stealth game? Action game? DECIDE DAMNIT. The game itself isn't that hard, but in the stealth sections, if you raise alarm, you'll probably restart from the last checkpoint, but to do that, you must go through a loading screen, and they are SO, DAMN, LONG. Graphics are pretty washed out and bland, especially the cutscenes which looks even WORSE than the actual game. Story... is pretty boring... Here's a secret base, kill some dudes, rescue this guy, rinse and repeat. This game had potential, but it shouldn't have included action gameplay. Take "Mark of the Ninja" for example, that game is near perfect for me, and that's because it was focused on stealth, nothing else. This game is just another modern "realistic" third person shooter with nothing new to it, other than some "gadgets". Don't play this, please. The only thing preventing this from being any worse is the fact that it actually works, and it is fun at few points. Expand
  39. Mar 29, 2013
    5
    This brief overview is catered to those who have enjoyed the previous Ghost Recon games (as well as the Rainbow Six series). I have played every GR game ever made on consoles since they were released on the original Xbox. With this foundation of GR history, I can accurately say that Ghost Recon Future Soldier is a step in the wrong direction for the franchise. The developers decided on a more "fast-paced" style of gameplay, as opposed to the more tradition "slow and cautious" style. They achieved this with a slick new cover movement system and regenerating health, among other things. While a neat idea, the way they carried out these changes ruined the realism of the GR experience. Getting shot in previous GRs was a big deal, and could potentially end your mission. In this game you are practically a tank. I found myself able to just charge the enemy and pepper them with gunfire to get through tough situations. Another tweak is the lack of squad commands. I miss the days when tactical shooters were actually tactical. You no longer have full control over your squad; the commands have been essentially stripped down to only include the new "synch shot" command. It does take some thought to tell my squad who to target and when to shoot, it hardly compares to the old days of flanking, suppressing, and blindsiding the enemy. While the friendly A.I. are highly intelligent and will perform well during engagements (i.e. use cover and get into decent positions), the lack of commands results in almost no tactical element in the game.
    The multiplayer is alright, but once again the unrealistic health makes the game feel catered to a run-and-gun style of play. These are the major changes that affect the game, and I should note that there are many other details (gun customization, the new suppression camera, level design, very frequent cutscenes) that both add to and subtract from the GR authenticity. This it what it boils down to: If you are a GR veteran, I would recommend renting before buying, or wait until it's $20. However don't expect the classic GR experience. And make sure you have plenty of snacks, because the frequent cutscenes that occur in the middle of missions are loooong, and you can't skip those sob's.
    Expand
  40. Sep 24, 2013
    5
    These Ghosts will haunt your dreams. Let's get this over with, there is very little to no stealth element in this game, you will sneak onto a level with your stealth camo and pick off the first couple of enemies with the sync shot. Cool. Then a short while later in almost every level you're forced to go 'guns hot' and eliminate everyone in a shooting gallery-esque segment much like COD. So much for the name 'Ghosts'. It feels to me that Ubisoft/whoever didn't believe this game would sell as a tactical shooter so they turned it into yet another COD clone with a few toys (camo) that quickly become redundant as time and time again you're somehow compromised and have to blast your way out of situations. Sorely disappointed as I imagined this game as 4 Sam Fishers in urban environments. The level design is particularly poor, no freedom, no room to think outside the box and attempt to flank and, even though still cloaked, somehow I discovered by an invisible enemy. Just progress from cover to cover in a straight line killing the shooting gallery soldiers and you'll be fine. Oh and the graphics? Like a polished turd once you see evreything up close

    Sad stuff Ubisoft. This unpolished game was put on the streets like an unwanted child with the hope that a few dollars might stick to it. Just as well I got it for £5 on eBay.
    Expand
  41. Jan 15, 2013
    4
    I'm a big fan of tactical shooter, so my expectation for this game where quite high and was very excited to try it. Unfortunately, it disappointed me, third time that happened with Ubisoft. My low score is based on this, although FS has certainly great qualities and is fun to play. But it's a bad tactical shooter.

    Strangely, I had difficulties to adapt to the controls, and the first
    mission, which in this kind of games is often used as a tutorial, didn't really help me to get a good feel of the game. Events and objectives were not (for me) very clear and often my character got wounded or died without really knowing why, as well as winning missions just happened without doing anything special, and not playing particularly good.

    In the end the solo campaign turned out to be quite straight forward with no real tactical decision. The only order you can give to your teammates is to point out a target: the famous Mark & Execute so cherished by Ubisoft. And yes it does dumbed down the game when compared to previous Ghost Recon titles.

    For the rest, your teammates will play on their own to the point where I decided to do a little experience on the Pakistan mission (veteran difficulty level). In this mission you are caught in middle of heavy fire in the streets of Peshawar, full of cars and civilians. I hid my character behind a car and wait. After a while, my AI teammates cleared the place. So I advanced 20 meters further and again, hid behind a car and wait. Same thing, teammates killed all enemies on sight. So I could continued my little manege until I reached my destination where, guess what, I could complete the main objective!!

    EPIC FAIL!

    What a HUGE disappointment to see that my teammates didn't need me AT ALL . I didn't shoot a single shot nor I gave them ANY order. What's funnier is that I even let an enemy soldier come just behind my back, shooting at me. When I thought I was finally going to die, one of my teammates killed the soldier and healed me! CONCLUSION:
    1) This game plays by itself, doesn't need you, except for some scripted events.
    2) There is no tactics really required (most biggest disappointment)
    3) Mark & Shoot is boring as hell
    4) You feel like you're in a tourist bus with a guide telling you where to shot, and what you missed!
    5) The warhound that you control in some missions is way too powerful and boring as well.
    6) From now on, all Ubisoft action games could be called Splinter Creed Recon.

    If you're looking for a true tactical shooter, this title will probably not fulfilled your expectations.
    Expand
  42. Jun 26, 2012
    4
    A generic military game with no team based strategy besides every once in a while a sync shot. There was no split screen co-op as promised, the camera angle is nauseating at times, the shooting mechanics just doesn't feel right and every mission seems identical to the last, sneak in fight out. I was hoping for a high tech version of rainbow six Vegas and what i got was a call of duty.
  43. Jun 2, 2012
    4
    I played the beta of the multiplayer before buying this as wasn't that impressed, it played like an older version of Battlefield but i liked some of the features and was looking forward to the game. What a mistake. The game itself in the beginning is really good and it brings in different abilities and weapons as you progress through which is nice. The main problem is the main mission is way too short and the by the time you have unlocked all the nice little bits for your weapons you run out of missions to use them in. The missions themselves range from being brilliant to garbage. The beginning and middle of the campaign are great and you get engrossed but the cut-scenes are woeful and look like something lifted from Ghost Recon on the PS2. By the time you get to the end of the game the missions degrade into a straight out firefight with the last mission being really bad. You're supposed to be a ghost yet you choose to go headlong into a big gun battle? And the part where you climb the wall, see the last 2 targets but can't shoot them is so annoying it's untrue. If i can see them i want to shoot them, simple. I didn't bother with the multiplayer as i had played the beta and didn't think much to that tbh, inaccurate and slow are what springs to mind. If you play BBC a lot you know what to expect, this more of the same but worse. Guerilla mode is crap, simple. It has you shooting wave after wave of enemies. What this has to do with being a Ghost Recon is beyond me. Where are the stealth missions, where are the infiltrate missions? Come on Ubisoft, this just smacks of being lazy. To sum up this could have been an awesome game and a nice break from the COD/BBC franchises but Ubisoft have taken a lazy way out and given us a short mission with an average multiplayer and a Guerilla mode that just sucks. As a long time fan of the Clancy series I was really looking forward to this after seeing the trailers but the game is nothing like the trailers. Where are the scene scanning, slo-mo options? Where are the shoulder mounted cannons? Where are the robot turrets? The sniping from miles away? We all know Ubisoft can make a great franchise so what happened here? A bit of time off from Assassins Creed so we'll throw a Clancy title out there?, that's what it seems like. If this is what we can expect quality wise from Ubisoft in the future then i hate to see where Assassins Creed goes. We all know they've made a huge clanger in choosing America as it's next backdrop but if the is is the kind of game Ubisoft think makes a good game god help us. Expand
  44. May 26, 2012
    3
    Have you played this before? Military shooter, piss poor campaign that makes the multiplayer seem great? You are basically a robot who stealthily gets into gunfights, point your squad to do stuff, and try not to notice the horrific graphics and lack of polish. I think you have played this before.
  45. Jun 6, 2012
    3
    This title isn't going to help the franchise. Graphics look like they were made for PS2 with no polish, chunky at times. Very linear compared to older titles I find. Haven't played multi as I was discouraged of this game after only a couple missions and the Guerilla mode ... I miss the good old fire fights and whatnot. Some of the new features that seemed exiting are lacking. So much potential wasted. So I recommend renting it before buying if your thinking of grabbing a copy. That's what I should of done. 3/10 Expand
  46. Jan 23, 2013
    1
    One of the most frustrating games I ever have played on the PS3. Ubisoft did bad work here. Save points are horrible and trying to accomplish anything is simply maddening. Do not buy this game, do not rent it, do not take it for free from someone. You will spend hours doing the same thing over and over again and the mechanics aren't true squad based. The squad goes wherever they want and you are left to target enemies for them to shoot. My main complaint is so often in the game it will not allow you to advance without out being detected, at all. Just maddening and not fun game play. Terrible! Expand
  47. May 22, 2012
    1
    To start off, I finished the campaign in approximately 3 hours. Are you serious Ubisoft? Twelve Missions!? After wishing that the laggy as hell multiplayer could make up for this dissapointment, I knew there was NO WAY the multiplayer could've been any good. Not since it lagged a lot and the maps are so squished. GUN CUSTOMISATION?! This feature didn't live up to my expectations, i wished for more variety. Only 3 scopes was not enough And Guerilla mode. A ripoff CoD's MW3 Spec ops. Not great at all DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! I WARN YOU NOW! Well, at least it's colourful. Expand
  48. Aug 18, 2012
    0
    The game is advertised to be compatible with the PlayStation Move. It is not. If you're looking for an online shooter, you definitely want to avoid this title.
  49. Mar 30, 2013
    0
    I won't list the features in this review as Wikipedia does that nicely already. I will, however, explain my score. My score is based entirely on the fact that the case said that it is "Play Station Move Compatible" and that is clearly NOT the case. I purchased the game specifically for that reason and the claim was completely false. Making clearly false product claims, particularly ones that drastically alter game play, is inexcusable. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    A fun and extremely tactical shooter with teammates that actually aren't idiots…. or that is mostly the case. We can't shake the feeling that the game isn't completely "finished", but that doesn't keep us from giving Ghost Recon: Future Soldier a strong recommendation.
  2. When the dust from the dirty bomb settles, Ghost Recon: Future Soldier looks noticeably grimy and raw in a few spots, but its mission has still been achieved. The visuals can be iffy, but the feeling of being an elite soldier of the future has been faithfully rendered in other ways. The pace is fast, the gadgets are empowering, and your job can shift from shrewd predator puzzles, to battles of attrition fought on a knife's edge. [July 2012 p.72]
  3. Jun 17, 2012
    60
    Provides a decent distraction for a brain that doesn't want to be pressured into thinking at all. [Issue#219, p.73]