Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    100
    Blacklist's multiple methods of enemy engagement brings Ubisoft's grizzled veteran spy to an outstanding new frontier, giving players the best game in the franchise's history.
  2. Once the game gets going, the recipe seems to have remained unaltered. There is no one who moves through the shadows and hugs the walls like Sam Fisher. But the levels in Blacklist are more varied than the empty office spaces and busy army bases you have come to expect from the franchise. [September p.54]
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    Blacklist is the most complete game of the franchise. The enemy A.I., agility in the actions and all the weapons and gadgets are the perfect support for a proposal of espionage. In addition, the integration of cooperative and competitive multiplayer is total, with a really clever solution that seals an adventure for lovers of action and stealth.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    The equipment helps boost Blacklist’s gameplay to highpoints in the tense moments when quick thinking gets you out of a jam.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    91
    It’s a rarity when a title delivers engrossing, compelling, varied and highly replayable gameplay in both its single and multiplayer elements. Splinter Cell: Blacklist is such a manner of beast and other than a few graphical inconsistencies it remains one of the most solid all-around combat experiences I’ve snuck around behind and embedded my knife into.
  6. 90
    Splinter Cell: Blacklist is the pinnacle of stealth action gaming and easily the best Splinter Cell outing to date.
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    90
    Blacklist returns Splinter Cell to flagship franchise status, no matter how crowded Ubisoft's portfolio has gotten during Sam's shore leave.
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    87
    The stealth genre gets some much needed reinvigoration.
  9. Aug 19, 2013
    86
    The story is engaging, the characters have a sense of depth to them I enjoy, and the stealth action rivals, if not surpasses, the most recent Metal Gear entry. All in all, this is a game designed for players who bide their time before sneaking behind an enemy and sending them on to the great beyond.
  10. Aug 28, 2013
    85
    Sam Fisher returns to the PlayStation 3 and we are inclined to celebrate his comeback. The story and its characters are interesting, the missions are varied, and the amount of playing styles available to the player is truly satisfying. The multiplayer is an added bonus. Visually, however, the game isn't that strong, with a couple of technical flaws spoiling the fun. None of them are gamebreaking though, so you should just get over it and buy the game if you're interested.
  11. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    Splinter Cell: Blacklist wanted to go back to basics. By throwing a handful of RPG elements into the games, Ubisoft signs a great Splinter Cell that in spite of some faults, is a rightful heir to the franchise. Without revolutionizing the genre, it should seduce without trouble any lover of the genre or any fan of infiltration games. Powered with a powerful scenario and a well known graphics engine, Tom Clancy's franchise hands back a clean work without revolution but with enough evolutions to please the gamers.
  12. Aug 14, 2013
    84
    In spite of its uninspiring story, Splinter Cell: Blacklist creates a sense of urgency that few games can match. It gives you the tools — the guns, the high-tech devices, the goggles — to accomplish your mission and then lets you use them as you see fit.
  13. Sep 5, 2013
    83
    All in all, this is a pretty great entry in the series for Splinter Cell.
  14. Aug 23, 2013
    83
    Sam Fisher's latest is a treat, and quite possibly the most complete and robust Splinter Cell experience to date. It's not without some flaws of course, and I do wonder if it will be re-released on PS4/X1 in the next several months, but fans of the franchise should take note and suit up.
  15. Oct 5, 2013
    82
    Blacklist suffers from the fact that it's way too tempting to shoot your way out of a tough situation. The incentive to sneak is mostly missing and the cramped level design doesn't help. Still, Blacklist has some pretty fun levels and nice free-form gameplay. [Sept 2013]
  16. Oct 8, 2013
    80
    Sam Fisher is officially back. Blacklist may suffer from a cliched story and some finicky controls, but this is still stealth at it's absolute finest.
  17. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    It’s big, bold and a bit silly at times but for a silky action adventure that will give you more than you put in then you shouldn’t look much further.
  18. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    A ludicrous story and some gameplay missteps still don't stop Blacklist from being a truly enjoyable stealth sandbox. [Nov 2013, p.52]
  19. At the end of the day, though, Splinter Cell Blacklist is all about thwarting evil doers within the veil of shadows and in that it excels exponentially. With an enjoyable globe-trotting campaign and a robust multiplayer offering, we’re glad Sam has re-entered the Sony spotlight. [October 2013, p72]
  20. Aug 30, 2013
    80
    The game is caught between providing a hard stealth experience while reaching for a larger audience and it's a testament to Ubisoft's efforts that they pulled it off.
  21. Aug 19, 2013
    80
    Splinter Cell: Blacklist is a good experience, challenging and with quite enough content to last in time.
  22. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    It might not have the most imaginative of plots and the delivery of that narrative is just okay but it’s not supposed to be anything too deep – it’s a summer blockbuster. In those terms, Splinter Cell: Blacklist succeeds at every turn thanks to Ubisoft Toronto’s impressive balancing of stealth and action that is, as yet, unmatched in this genre.
  23. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Blacklist makes it fun to fly solo, but it's when you join others that the stealth action really heats up.
  24. Sam’s learned new tricks, gained an almighty toybox and feels righteously superhuman to control, but spreads himself thin in an effort to impress.
  25. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    The good news is, if you're up for some cooperative stealth and mercenary antics, Splinter Cell: Blacklist is right up your alley. If all you desire is more Sam Fisher action, however, you may come away feeling a little shortchanged.
  26. Sep 25, 2013
    71
    Next time Ubisoft: more focus on stealth and, please, better checkpointing. [Issue#235, p.72]
  27. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    There’s no passion in this game, no risk, no surprises. It’s a product developed by skilled specialists, not by visionaries. It offers decent fun but does not leave a mark. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.52]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 263 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    As a die hard Splinter Cell fan, I was very skeptic about how this game would turn out to be honest. I bought it, but I still came to agreeAs a die hard Splinter Cell fan, I was very skeptic about how this game would turn out to be honest. I bought it, but I still came to agree with myself that Ubisoft is just beating a dead horse. Boy, was I wrong. This is one of the most ambitious and one of the most, if not the best installment of the franchise. The visuals are superb; the shading, the lighting effects are just wonderful. The cinematic scenes, although not the best this year, are up to par with the gameplay graphics unlike with the previous installments. The game is quite lengthy too. The main campaign gives you tons of hours and even when you're done with it, you have a handful of side missions to complete. There are three different approaches; Ghost, Panther and Assault which add an amount of replay value. The plot is also great, featuring one of the most interesting and most diabolical villains in the history of this franchise. The voice acting in general is good. Although Eric Johnson never succeeds over Michael Ironside when comes to portraying Sam as he is supposed to be, he does manage to give us a depiction of a fearless leader and skilled tactician. Ubisoft also brought back the group dynamic atmosphere back from Chaos Theory. We have a better insight on Sam's new relationship with Grim, his best friend Vic, his daughter Sarah and his former nemesis Kobin. Briggs, the new character, serves as the rookie who often makes mistakes while Charlie serves as the group clown. The only major flaw I must point is the difficulty. The game's rookie, normal and realistic difficulty settings hold your hands up until the end. The perfectionist, although offers more challenge than the previous still doesn't bring back the challenge we in the legacy games.

    Overall, Blacklist is that kind of game that manages to please both; the fans and the gamers who play it for the first time. It's a definitely must buy.

    9.8/10.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. One great game! The whole Machinima team thinks you should bye this game, but we give this a 9/10! But you should so buy this amazing game, we love it and you will to! Full Review »
  3. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    I've never been much of a Splinter Cell fan. I played the first game and found it inferior to Metal Gear Solid. Well, several years have past,I've never been much of a Splinter Cell fan. I played the first game and found it inferior to Metal Gear Solid. Well, several years have past, and Kojima has gone bat crazy, while this franchise had gotten a LOT better. For me, this is what Guns of the Patriots should have been.

    Overall, great game. Highly enjoyable for third-person stealth.
    Full Review »