Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    100
    Blacklist's multiple methods of enemy engagement brings Ubisoft's grizzled veteran spy to an outstanding new frontier, giving players the best game in the franchise's history.
  2. Once the game gets going, the recipe seems to have remained unaltered. There is no one who moves through the shadows and hugs the walls like Sam Fisher. But the levels in Blacklist are more varied than the empty office spaces and busy army bases you have come to expect from the franchise. [September p.54]
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    Blacklist is the most complete game of the franchise. The enemy A.I., agility in the actions and all the weapons and gadgets are the perfect support for a proposal of espionage. In addition, the integration of cooperative and competitive multiplayer is total, with a really clever solution that seals an adventure for lovers of action and stealth.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    The equipment helps boost Blacklist’s gameplay to highpoints in the tense moments when quick thinking gets you out of a jam.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    91
    It’s a rarity when a title delivers engrossing, compelling, varied and highly replayable gameplay in both its single and multiplayer elements. Splinter Cell: Blacklist is such a manner of beast and other than a few graphical inconsistencies it remains one of the most solid all-around combat experiences I’ve snuck around behind and embedded my knife into.
  6. 90
    Splinter Cell: Blacklist is the pinnacle of stealth action gaming and easily the best Splinter Cell outing to date.
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    90
    Blacklist returns Splinter Cell to flagship franchise status, no matter how crowded Ubisoft's portfolio has gotten during Sam's shore leave.
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    87
    The stealth genre gets some much needed reinvigoration.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    As a die hard Splinter Cell fan, I was very skeptic about how this game would turn out to be honest. I bought it, but I still came to agree with myself that Ubisoft is just beating a dead horse. Boy, was I wrong. This is one of the most ambitious and one of the most, if not the best installment of the franchise. The visuals are superb; the shading, the lighting effects are just wonderful. The cinematic scenes, although not the best this year, are up to par with the gameplay graphics unlike with the previous installments. The game is quite lengthy too. The main campaign gives you tons of hours and even when you're done with it, you have a handful of side missions to complete. There are three different approaches; Ghost, Panther and Assault which add an amount of replay value. The plot is also great, featuring one of the most interesting and most diabolical villains in the history of this franchise. The voice acting in general is good. Although Eric Johnson never succeeds over Michael Ironside when comes to portraying Sam as he is supposed to be, he does manage to give us a depiction of a fearless leader and skilled tactician. Ubisoft also brought back the group dynamic atmosphere back from Chaos Theory. We have a better insight on Sam's new relationship with Grim, his best friend Vic, his daughter Sarah and his former nemesis Kobin. Briggs, the new character, serves as the rookie who often makes mistakes while Charlie serves as the group clown. The only major flaw I must point is the difficulty. The game's rookie, normal and realistic difficulty settings hold your hands up until the end. The perfectionist, although offers more challenge than the previous still doesn't bring back the challenge we in the legacy games.

    Overall, Blacklist is that kind of game that manages to please both; the fans and the gamers who play it for the first time. It's a definitely must buy.

    9.8/10.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    2
    Diabolical. Further destruction of the franchise, forcing action even on Perfectionist mode. It's sickening to see a franchise destroyed this way, while also receiving good ratings. I'm not sure if the average reviewer has never played any Splinter Cell game before Double Agent, or if they're just fine with a third-person Stealth game becoming a first-person action game for a mission, or gunning down people from the air. If you have low standards, and like the average gritty shooter, then sure; you may enjoy this. If you wanted an actual Stealth game, or even a game with a few elements of Stealth that also offered a challenge? This game is not it.
    Wait for the Thief reboot. Oh, wait, no, that's dead too.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. One great game! The whole Machinima team thinks you should bye this game, but we give this a 9/10! But you should so buy this amazing game, we love it and you will to! Full Review »