Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 259 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The United States maintains a military presence in two thirds of countries around the world. This doesn't sit well with a syndicate of rogue nations which initiates a terror protocol designated as the Blacklist - a deadly countdown of escalating terrorist attacks on American interests. Sam Fisher is the leader of the newly formed 4th Echelon unit: a clandestine unit that answers directly to the President of the United States. Sam and his team have to hunt down these terrorists by any means necessary, and put a stop to the Blacklist countdown before it reaches zero. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    100
    Blacklist's multiple methods of enemy engagement brings Ubisoft's grizzled veteran spy to an outstanding new frontier, giving players the best game in the franchise's history.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    The equipment helps boost Blacklist’s gameplay to highpoints in the tense moments when quick thinking gets you out of a jam.
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    90
    Blacklist returns Splinter Cell to flagship franchise status, no matter how crowded Ubisoft's portfolio has gotten during Sam's shore leave.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    83
    Sam Fisher's latest is a treat, and quite possibly the most complete and robust Splinter Cell experience to date. It's not without some flaws of course, and I do wonder if it will be re-released on PS4/X1 in the next several months, but fans of the franchise should take note and suit up.
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    It’s big, bold and a bit silly at times but for a silky action adventure that will give you more than you put in then you shouldn’t look much further.
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    80
    The game is caught between providing a hard stealth experience while reaching for a larger audience and it's a testament to Ubisoft's efforts that they pulled it off.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    There’s no passion in this game, no risk, no surprises. It’s a product developed by skilled specialists, not by visionaries. It offers decent fun but does not leave a mark. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.52]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    As a die hard Splinter Cell fan, I was very skeptic about how this game would turn out to be honest. I bought it, but I still came to agree with myself that Ubisoft is just beating a dead horse. Boy, was I wrong. This is one of the most ambitious and one of the most, if not the best installment of the franchise. The visuals are superb; the shading, the lighting effects are just wonderful. The cinematic scenes, although not the best this year, are up to par with the gameplay graphics unlike with the previous installments. The game is quite lengthy too. The main campaign gives you tons of hours and even when you're done with it, you have a handful of side missions to complete. There are three different approaches; Ghost, Panther and Assault which add an amount of replay value. The plot is also great, featuring one of the most interesting and most diabolical villains in the history of this franchise. The voice acting in general is good. Although Eric Johnson never succeeds over Michael Ironside when comes to portraying Sam as he is supposed to be, he does manage to give us a depiction of a fearless leader and skilled tactician. Ubisoft also brought back the group dynamic atmosphere back from Chaos Theory. We have a better insight on Sam's new relationship with Grim, his best friend Vic, his daughter Sarah and his former nemesis Kobin. Briggs, the new character, serves as the rookie who often makes mistakes while Charlie serves as the group clown. The only major flaw I must point is the difficulty. The game's rookie, normal and realistic difficulty settings hold your hands up until the end. The perfectionist, although offers more challenge than the previous still doesn't bring back the challenge we in the legacy games.

    Overall, Blacklist is that kind of game that manages to please both; the fans and the gamers who play it for the first time. It's a definitely must buy.

    9.8/10.
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    This is a masterpiece! Very well-made, very nice voice acting, graphics, sound, awesome gameplay and a really decent multiplayer, that isn't better because just a few people play nowadays. But the Campaing is 10/10, the co-op missions is really cool to play with a friend on a counch, and the Multiplayer I give a 9/10, as we don't have a 9.5, i will mark 10/10 to help the average user score because the dumb guys that give a zero without reason.

    Finally a good Splinter Cell, back to origins, I really enjoy this game. Buy It! hehe
    Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2014
    9
    This game rocks! I have played so so so many PS3 games and I'm close to making the switch to PS4. I thought that I had played every last (exceptional) PS3 game there was. Then I played this and I LOVE it! I can't believe it took me so long, because I love Ubisoft. If you like the stealth gameplay in Assassin's Creed and Watch Dogs, then you will love this game, because it has a lot of the same gameplay elements. I usually only play open-world-sandbox games, so it takes a special kind of linear game to keep me interested. Ubisoft makes this game feel nonlinear in a way. With all of the side missions and collectibles. Each level is beautifully designed with several routes to take. I see a lot of replay value for me. --- I played one splitscreen coop game with my girl, and it was one of the funnest coop gameplay I've ever had. And I see us getting way better. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    A new twist on an old favorite. Love the new tweaks. The base being the airplane that could travel to wherever you needed it to be was awesome. Very low damage threshold made it challenging but fair Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    This is the best in the series since Chaos Theory,though the forced action is annoying.I was enjoying the side missions until I realised that they were way too few and far between.The story was a standard,boring and somewhat convoluted terrorism plot and therefore all too easily forgettable.(far,far too many games do the same thing) Nonetheless,I did enjoy it,despite the fact that the Honey Badger seemed like the only useful rifle in the entire game.Also,I barely used the 'win' button but it did come in really handy once or twice so I didn't have an issue with it being in the game.All in all,Blacklist is a decent game but should really ditch the forced action crap. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    The game is fantastic. Not an epic though. I liked it and I liked the game play. But I hated the quality.
    The game is full of glitches and
    bugs. Typical Ubisoft crap sense AC III. Even after 2 patches the game still suffer from annoying bugs.
    The game play is awesome. Cool weapons and upgrades. You get to upgrade whatever you want very early in the game. In fact you can upgrade your HQ once you got some money which you can earn very easily from MP sessions.
    Coop is cool if you played with cool players. You gut 4 missions which must be played with a team mate. All others can be done solo. which I really liked.
    The story is typical American fight against terrorist crap. But it's still fine.
    Here are my list of bugs which I found in one game play session:
    Am I the only one who gets tons of glitches/bugs?
    1) Abandoned City Coop mission on Realistic and Perfectionist difficulties glitches on last objective: After dying first time enemies stop spawning after first wave. Very very annoying to do all the missions to glitch at the end.
    2) Crossbow glitch. I'm sure I hit none heavy target with Sleeping Gas. Still he still standing shooting at me. It happens a lot.
    3) Swiss embassy laptop glitch: the laptop not spawn. I to abandon the mission then start again. Restart the missions didn't get it spawn.
    4) HVT bag and tag: during coop missions sometimes the player character just keep crouching over the HVT for couple of seconds then starts to capture. Actually I had to move the left stick. This very annoying as I get shot with another enemy because I'm slow.
    5) Some enemies directly get hostile when calling them for distraction. Although they were totally none suspicious when being distracted.
    6) Occasionally enemies be invincible you shoot at them and they don't die.

    This is 7 because Ubisoft quality doesn't deserve better than this.
    Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    Do not be persuaded by the pro-blacklist "stealth revisionists". Those who are willing to make compromises to prolong the life of the stealth genre, if it can even be called stealth in a few years. Revisionism is dangerous, our precious stealth genre will only detract more & more from stealth & water the genre down, turning into nothing but an action game with gadgets.

    The game's most disgusting feature is the "win" button, which lets the player kill every single thing in an area with the press of a button, usually without getting detected as well, the player even does this while running.

    As if that was not enough, the game adds in alternate pathways which lets the player avoid combat, which the game calls "Stealth" or "Ghost". Pure insult.

    Some people may argue that the game can be played like chaos theory or sar but when you look at it, any game can, & blacklist certainly wasn't designed to be played that way. Imagine trying to play a Call Of Duty game like Chaos Theory, sneaking around & knifing people in the back. It would not work at all.

    If you have any love for this series left, then please, do not purchase the game, don't encourage ubisoft to release more nonsense in the franchise. Air strike's, win buttons, & head on cover shooting has no place in Splinter Cell. Give this game a 0 & spread the message.
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews