Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 263 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The United States maintains a military presence in two thirds of countries around the world. This doesn't sit well with a syndicate of rogue nations which initiates a terror protocol designated as the Blacklist - a deadly countdown of escalating terrorist attacks on American interests. SamThe United States maintains a military presence in two thirds of countries around the world. This doesn't sit well with a syndicate of rogue nations which initiates a terror protocol designated as the Blacklist - a deadly countdown of escalating terrorist attacks on American interests. Sam Fisher is the leader of the newly formed 4th Echelon unit: a clandestine unit that answers directly to the President of the United States. Sam and his team have to hunt down these terrorists by any means necessary, and put a stop to the Blacklist countdown before it reaches zero. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    100
    Blacklist's multiple methods of enemy engagement brings Ubisoft's grizzled veteran spy to an outstanding new frontier, giving players the best game in the franchise's history.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    The equipment helps boost Blacklist’s gameplay to highpoints in the tense moments when quick thinking gets you out of a jam.
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    90
    Blacklist returns Splinter Cell to flagship franchise status, no matter how crowded Ubisoft's portfolio has gotten during Sam's shore leave.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    83
    Sam Fisher's latest is a treat, and quite possibly the most complete and robust Splinter Cell experience to date. It's not without some flaws of course, and I do wonder if it will be re-released on PS4/X1 in the next several months, but fans of the franchise should take note and suit up.
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    It’s big, bold and a bit silly at times but for a silky action adventure that will give you more than you put in then you shouldn’t look much further.
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    80
    The game is caught between providing a hard stealth experience while reaching for a larger audience and it's a testament to Ubisoft's efforts that they pulled it off.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    There’s no passion in this game, no risk, no surprises. It’s a product developed by skilled specialists, not by visionaries. It offers decent fun but does not leave a mark. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.52]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    As a die hard Splinter Cell fan, I was very skeptic about how this game would turn out to be honest. I bought it, but I still came to agreeAs a die hard Splinter Cell fan, I was very skeptic about how this game would turn out to be honest. I bought it, but I still came to agree with myself that Ubisoft is just beating a dead horse. Boy, was I wrong. This is one of the most ambitious and one of the most, if not the best installment of the franchise. The visuals are superb; the shading, the lighting effects are just wonderful. The cinematic scenes, although not the best this year, are up to par with the gameplay graphics unlike with the previous installments. The game is quite lengthy too. The main campaign gives you tons of hours and even when you're done with it, you have a handful of side missions to complete. There are three different approaches; Ghost, Panther and Assault which add an amount of replay value. The plot is also great, featuring one of the most interesting and most diabolical villains in the history of this franchise. The voice acting in general is good. Although Eric Johnson never succeeds over Michael Ironside when comes to portraying Sam as he is supposed to be, he does manage to give us a depiction of a fearless leader and skilled tactician. Ubisoft also brought back the group dynamic atmosphere back from Chaos Theory. We have a better insight on Sam's new relationship with Grim, his best friend Vic, his daughter Sarah and his former nemesis Kobin. Briggs, the new character, serves as the rookie who often makes mistakes while Charlie serves as the group clown. The only major flaw I must point is the difficulty. The game's rookie, normal and realistic difficulty settings hold your hands up until the end. The perfectionist, although offers more challenge than the previous still doesn't bring back the challenge we in the legacy games.

    Overall, Blacklist is that kind of game that manages to please both; the fans and the gamers who play it for the first time. It's a definitely must buy.

    9.8/10.
    Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    I'm a huge fan of series and have played all the previous instalments (although I never finished Pandora Tomorrow). It's a shame Ironside isI'm a huge fan of series and have played all the previous instalments (although I never finished Pandora Tomorrow). It's a shame Ironside is gone but the new guy does a good job. The story is another Splinter Cell escapade of terrorists wishing to bring down the Western World etc. The missions are memorable and lots of fun whilst being instantly replay-able. The gameplay combines the precision of Chaos Theory with the speed of Conviction and it works wonderfully. I didn't overly enjoy Conviction but the changes they implemented in that game make total sense in Blacklist. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2014
    9
    A great entrant into the Splinter Cell universe. Yes, its a shame Michael Ironside has departed the role, but the replacement does a fineA great entrant into the Splinter Cell universe. Yes, its a shame Michael Ironside has departed the role, but the replacement does a fine job. There is a bit of image tear, but one gets the feeling the game is graphically at the limits of "last gen" capability. Its hard to fault Blacklist. It's a realistic gritty action stealth title with major replayability. I'm not a fan of forced multiplayer with Briggs' 4E missions, and the rest of the 4E missions feel kinda tacked on and not overly relevant to the story of the Engineers. They do however help mix up pacing and gameplay. Blacklist is better than Double Agent and Conviction and honestly I cannot wait for the next instalment. 9/10 Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    The first Splinter Cell game I have ever played but it won't be the last. Haven't played much of campaign yet but so far so good.The first Splinter Cell game I have ever played but it won't be the last. Haven't played much of campaign yet but so far so good. Interesting missions, wave missions were especially entertaining considering you can go about them stealthy or guns blazing. Lots of gadgets and guns for variety and the multiplayer is a welcome break from the Call of Duty crap. When they make one for PS4 I'll be buying it. So far it has held my interest more than The Last of Us. Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    New to the series, I did not know what to expect from Splinter Cell. What I received was a great third person stealth game with more than justNew to the series, I did not know what to expect from Splinter Cell. What I received was a great third person stealth game with more than just a single player campaign. The main campaign is fun and the settings are varied and interesting. However, it is not the story that shines in Blacklist. It is the expansive co-op and multiplayer elements along with a campaign with great replayability that make Blacklist a great game. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    This game is just good enough to be in the collection of any action or stealth fan. When Blacklist is firing on all cylinders it is a amazingThis game is just good enough to be in the collection of any action or stealth fan. When Blacklist is firing on all cylinders it is a amazing game. Level design allows your choice of execution, which was lacking in recent past Splinter Cell's. However, you will send too much time in campaign with boring UAV strikes and long sections of platforming. The co-op and multiplayer are the real stars of the game. Spies v Merc is great tension and co-op is satisfying when 2 people are mic'ed up. There is plenty of gadget and weapons to play with, and high scores to earn in 1 of 3 categories. You can even challenge your friends to high scores and speed runs. The biggest surprise of this game is all the replay value. Every mission has 3 side quests to complete for bonuses. If your on the fence, SC:BL is a great bargain bin find. Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    Do not be persuaded by the pro-blacklist "stealth revisionists". Those who are willing to make compromises to prolong the life of the stealthDo not be persuaded by the pro-blacklist "stealth revisionists". Those who are willing to make compromises to prolong the life of the stealth genre, if it can even be called stealth in a few years. Revisionism is dangerous, our precious stealth genre will only detract more & more from stealth & water the genre down, turning into nothing but an action game with gadgets.

    The game's most disgusting feature is the "win" button, which lets the player kill every single thing in an area with the press of a button, usually without getting detected as well, the player even does this while running.

    As if that was not enough, the game adds in alternate pathways which lets the player avoid combat, which the game calls "Stealth" or "Ghost". Pure insult.

    Some people may argue that the game can be played like chaos theory or sar but when you look at it, any game can, & blacklist certainly wasn't designed to be played that way. Imagine trying to play a Call Of Duty game like Chaos Theory, sneaking around & knifing people in the back. It would not work at all.

    If you have any love for this series left, then please, do not purchase the game, don't encourage ubisoft to release more nonsense in the franchise. Air strike's, win buttons, & head on cover shooting has no place in Splinter Cell. Give this game a 0 & spread the message.
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews