Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The United States maintains a military presence in two thirds of countries around the world. This doesn't sit well with a syndicate of rogue nations which initiates a terror protocol designated as the Blacklist - a deadly countdown of escalating terrorist attacks on American interests. Sam Fisher is the leader of the newly formed 4th Echelon unit: a clandestine unit that answers directly to the President of the United States. Sam and his team have to hunt down these terrorists by any means necessary, and put a stop to the Blacklist countdown before it reaches zero. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    100
    Blacklist's multiple methods of enemy engagement brings Ubisoft's grizzled veteran spy to an outstanding new frontier, giving players the best game in the franchise's history.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    The equipment helps boost Blacklist’s gameplay to highpoints in the tense moments when quick thinking gets you out of a jam.
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    90
    Blacklist returns Splinter Cell to flagship franchise status, no matter how crowded Ubisoft's portfolio has gotten during Sam's shore leave.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    83
    Sam Fisher's latest is a treat, and quite possibly the most complete and robust Splinter Cell experience to date. It's not without some flaws of course, and I do wonder if it will be re-released on PS4/X1 in the next several months, but fans of the franchise should take note and suit up.
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    It’s big, bold and a bit silly at times but for a silky action adventure that will give you more than you put in then you shouldn’t look much further.
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    80
    The game is caught between providing a hard stealth experience while reaching for a larger audience and it's a testament to Ubisoft's efforts that they pulled it off.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    There’s no passion in this game, no risk, no surprises. It’s a product developed by skilled specialists, not by visionaries. It offers decent fun but does not leave a mark. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.52]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    As a die hard Splinter Cell fan, I was very skeptic about how this game would turn out to be honest. I bought it, but I still came to agree with myself that Ubisoft is just beating a dead horse. Boy, was I wrong. This is one of the most ambitious and one of the most, if not the best installment of the franchise. The visuals are superb; the shading, the lighting effects are just wonderful. The cinematic scenes, although not the best this year, are up to par with the gameplay graphics unlike with the previous installments. The game is quite lengthy too. The main campaign gives you tons of hours and even when you're done with it, you have a handful of side missions to complete. There are three different approaches; Ghost, Panther and Assault which add an amount of replay value. The plot is also great, featuring one of the most interesting and most diabolical villains in the history of this franchise. The voice acting in general is good. Although Eric Johnson never succeeds over Michael Ironside when comes to portraying Sam as he is supposed to be, he does manage to give us a depiction of a fearless leader and skilled tactician. Ubisoft also brought back the group dynamic atmosphere back from Chaos Theory. We have a better insight on Sam's new relationship with Grim, his best friend Vic, his daughter Sarah and his former nemesis Kobin. Briggs, the new character, serves as the rookie who often makes mistakes while Charlie serves as the group clown. The only major flaw I must point is the difficulty. The game's rookie, normal and realistic difficulty settings hold your hands up until the end. The perfectionist, although offers more challenge than the previous still doesn't bring back the challenge we in the legacy games.

    Overall, Blacklist is that kind of game that manages to please both; the fans and the gamers who play it for the first time. It's a definitely must buy.

    9.8/10.
    Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One great game! The whole Machinima team thinks you should bye this game, but we give this a 9/10! But you should so buy this amazing game, we love it and you will to! Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    As someone new to this series I was expecting a fair bit. I had been told that it was "the ultimate stealth game". In some ways it lives up to this, it definitely made me feel like a badass spy plenty of the time, but there were also times I was left frustrated after carefully lining up the reticule on an enemy's head, ready to take them out when suddenly the shot would miss. I found this inaccurate reticule very annoying and found myself often using the mark and execute "win" button when taking out enemy's. unfortunately this game also had extremely sub par graphics, especially on faces which is pretty unacceptable for a game coming out at the end of this cycle of consoles. Despite these issues lots of the time I found myself feeling like a badass, shooting out the lights with my silenced pistol and then proceeding to take out everyone in the room without being noticed. This game also features a fantastic multiplayer with online and split screen co-op which allows for endless amounts of fun with friends along with spies vs mercs which provides plenty of tension. If you are looking for a great stealth game that makes you feel like a badass then this is one of the best you will find but don't be surprised if you find yourself frustrated sometimes! Collapse
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Sound: Bad voice acting, no more Ironside. I can’t get used to the new Sam it just doesn’t feel like
    Sam Fisher anymore. Grim sounds too
    Canadian, not sure what she’s supposed to be in the game. Enemy patrols sometimes continuously repeat the same thing over and over again based on a dog barking (when he’s sniffing the player out). No memorable themes except for when Sam is talking to Sarah on the phone, which is still out of place, because the game is not believable. 5.

    Graphics: The game has some good graphics although some of the character designs seem out of place. They look good with the new face capture but since when is Sam’s best buddy young? Vic looked older in Conviction; also Sam Fisher looks much different than in the previous installments, he looks much worse. The environments look amazing, and the lighting is near perfect, as well as the level design. 8.

    Gameplay: Amazing stealth game, this really brings back the old Chaos Theory feel. There’s some new equipment, and a load out that is free for the player to select based on how the player will execute the mission; Ghost, Assault, or Panther. There are different pathways throughout each level, and different ways of taking down the enemies. Best thing of all, the multiplayer! Spies VS Mercs are back. Spies VS Mercs feels more on rails but it still does an amazing job of actually giving the player a fun, and innovative gameplay. This is definitely a Splinter Cell game that will not disappoint on the gameplay aspect. 10.

    Story: The game doesn’t do a good job on presenting the new characters, and it seems all is just added on too quickly for how the series has progressed compared to the previous installments. Suddenly Sam somehow has a history with these characters. The games story is not memorable either, it’s your basic terrorist wanna be story. The best thing about this game’s story is that it feels like Mass Effect because Sam now has his own plane, and its explore-able in a similar fashion to Shepard’s Normandy (just not as big). With that said, the game did start off strong with the threat of the engineers, but it still felt like a typical 24 episode. Sam Fisher needs his own memorable story, something that helps him stand for himself. Double Agent did a good job of showing Sam’s character, and shocked even some fans like myself. Sam needs his story to be fresh and more about himself, like how Solid Snake/Big Boss has developed. Sorry about the rant but that’s the truth. This game has an average typical story. 7

    Replay Value: I gave a lot of categories negatives but still this game has great replay value. The co-op is fun, the single player is fun at least one play through, and the multiplayer can lead to endless great times. I can recommend this game to any stealth fan, and to Splinter Cell fans, even though there is some disappointment. 10.

    Overall Score: 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    I've never been much of a Splinter Cell fan. I played the first game and found it inferior to Metal Gear Solid. Well, several years have past, and Kojima has gone bat crazy, while this franchise had gotten a LOT better. For me, this is what Guns of the Patriots should have been.

    Overall, great game. Highly enjoyable for third-person stealth.
    Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    The game is fantastic. Not an epic though. I liked it and I liked the game play. But I hated the quality.
    The game is full of glitches and
    bugs. Typical Ubisoft crap sense AC III. Even after 2 patches the game still suffer from annoying bugs.
    The game play is awesome. Cool weapons and upgrades. You get to upgrade whatever you want very early in the game. In fact you can upgrade your HQ once you got some money which you can earn very easily from MP sessions.
    Coop is cool if you played with cool players. You gut 4 missions which must be played with a team mate. All others can be done solo. which I really liked.
    The story is typical American fight against terrorist crap. But it's still fine.
    Here are my list of bugs which I found in one game play session:
    Am I the only one who gets tons of glitches/bugs?
    1) Abandoned City Coop mission on Realistic and Perfectionist difficulties glitches on last objective: After dying first time enemies stop spawning after first wave. Very very annoying to do all the missions to glitch at the end.
    2) Crossbow glitch. I'm sure I hit none heavy target with Sleeping Gas. Still he still standing shooting at me. It happens a lot.
    3) Swiss embassy laptop glitch: the laptop not spawn. I to abandon the mission then start again. Restart the missions didn't get it spawn.
    4) HVT bag and tag: during coop missions sometimes the player character just keep crouching over the HVT for couple of seconds then starts to capture. Actually I had to move the left stick. This very annoying as I get shot with another enemy because I'm slow.
    5) Some enemies directly get hostile when calling them for distraction. Although they were totally none suspicious when being distracted.
    6) Occasionally enemies be invincible you shoot at them and they don't die.

    This is 7 because Ubisoft quality doesn't deserve better than this.
    Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    Do not be persuaded by the pro-blacklist "stealth revisionists". Those who are willing to make compromises to prolong the life of the stealth genre, if it can even be called stealth in a few years. Revisionism is dangerous, our precious stealth genre will only detract more & more from stealth & water the genre down, turning into nothing but an action game with gadgets.

    The game's most disgusting feature is the "win" button, which lets the player kill every single thing in an area with the press of a button, usually without getting detected as well, the player even does this while running.

    As if that was not enough, the game adds in alternate pathways which lets the player avoid combat, which the game calls "Stealth" or "Ghost". Pure insult.

    Some people may argue that the game can be played like chaos theory or sar but when you look at it, any game can, & blacklist certainly wasn't designed to be played that way. Imagine trying to play a Call Of Duty game like Chaos Theory, sneaking around & knifing people in the back. It would not work at all.

    If you have any love for this series left, then please, do not purchase the game, don't encourage ubisoft to release more nonsense in the franchise. Air strike's, win buttons, & head on cover shooting has no place in Splinter Cell. Give this game a 0 & spread the message.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews