Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Classic Trilogy HD Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This compilation includes Splinter Cell, Splinter Cell Pandora, and Splinter Cell Chaos Theory.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Oct 10, 2011
    86
    The original Splinter Cell games are classic, and it's nice to see Ubisoft give them the HD treatment. While not as complete as I was hoping for, this Trilogy is still a great addition addition to your collection.
  2. Play UK
    Nov 27, 2011
    78
    The lack of multiplayer is disappointing. [Issue#210, p.92]
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    76
    Whether you go to whole-hog and play in 3D, or your budget only extends to 2D, the games are all largely the same as when they were originally released - only brighter and sharper.
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    65
    A slapdash production with lousy visuals and no multiplayer.
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    65
    If you can forgive the exclusion of online, this trilogy is still more than worth picking up if you have fond memories. Chaos Theory still stands up as one of the best games of last gen, and the other two are nice for nostalgia if nothing else.
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    63
    If you had high hopes for this trilogy, do yourself a favor and save your money for the next Splinter Cell release.
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    50
    This collection just feels like a quick cash grab aimed at people who have never played a Splinter Cell game before. This collection may appeal to the hardcore Splinter Cell fans but outside of pleasing diehard fans, these games could be completely unmissed.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    These were some of the hottest games of its time, remember that the versions were the best PC and X-Box, and the PS2 and Gamecube versionsThese were some of the hottest games of its time, remember that the versions were the best PC and X-Box, and the PS2 and Gamecube versions graphically below.

    Glad to know that these HD versions were made over the PC versions, so I could only play on PS2 in the past, I can take advantage of these masterpieces in their best quality at last!
    Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    I give it a 10! Yes it's overrated, but it's based on the fun value. And it's sentimental as I'm a huge fan of the first three games on PC. IfI give it a 10! Yes it's overrated, but it's based on the fun value. And it's sentimental as I'm a huge fan of the first three games on PC. If you're like me, don't worry about the average ratings, you'll love playing Sam on your wide screen TV with a gamepad, especially Chaos Theory which I found graphically beautiful (almost as nowadays standards) with a very good frame rate.

    As much as I liked playing again SC 1, I can't say that Pandora Tomorrow aged very well, though. It does have some frame rate issues, and I didn't play it to the end as I was too much frustrated by ta Sam that feel so underpowered compared to its enemies. Because of this, I should have rated it lower, but, ah... No way! :-)
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2016
    8
    One of many HD collections that came out in the last years but was this one took seriously by the studio or even wanted by the public ?One of many HD collections that came out in the last years but was this one took seriously by the studio or even wanted by the public ?

    Technically this is a bad remaster with almost 0 improvement on the original games. They worked perfectly but the main point of a remaster should be to take advantage of the new hardware.

    Gameplay wise Splinter Cell was always meant to be the challenger of Metal Gear Solid on infiltration and it succeeded in this goal, of course sometime the IA is a bit dumb like in all infiltration game but that's normal if not it wouldn't be that much entertaining. You can clearly see the evolution of the franchise through those 3 episodes, they're all good but Chaos Theory is a true gem with a refined formula. Too bad they chose a more action focused direction for the following games.

    Concerning the story it's realistic geo-politics in the body of a true special agent and it has nothing to envy to a saga like Mission Impossible. To finish the three games you can count between 10 to 12 hours for each game so it makes for a total around 35 hours which is very correct.

    So in conclusion the original games are very good and if you didn't play them, specially Chaos Theory, and like spy stuff you should definitively buy this collection but the quality of the remaster doesn't add enough value if you already played them.
    Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    7
    Although it would have been nice to have had a full facelift for this trilogy, the graphics look good in HD regardless. Its sort of cool toAlthough it would have been nice to have had a full facelift for this trilogy, the graphics look good in HD regardless. Its sort of cool to have the Splinter Cell games as originally intended actually, warts and all. I tried playing these games on my Wii recently on a big TV and it was an almost unplayable experience. This PS3 trilogy makes the graphics good enough to where you can actually play the damn games lol. Although these games aren't as fast and frantic and newer PS3 and 360 games, I'd still recommend them as a classic slice of stealth action gameplay. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    While it's obvious that not a lot of care was put into updating the graphics and making it HD especially with the first two, and the frameWhile it's obvious that not a lot of care was put into updating the graphics and making it HD especially with the first two, and the frame rate drops as well. But still the gameplay holds up really well today as it's still just as fun as ever to sneak in the shadows and stalk on your prey unseen. Throw in some trophies support and 3D for thoes who have the tv and you have good collection of a great series. But the omission of double agent and the fact you can get all 4 on ps2/xbox for a lot cheaper is a factor to keep in mind. Expand
  6. May 12, 2012
    6
    Certainly a lot of value in these three games - that said, the remastering could have been better. I encountered frame-rate problems on theCertainly a lot of value in these three games - that said, the remastering could have been better. I encountered frame-rate problems on the first two titles to the point where it was close to unplayable - due to the developer's decision to do them in a resolution of 1080p, instead of 720p such as the third title, which would have been more sufficient. The narrative on all of the games were lackluster as well, and I found some of the endings to come out of nowhere, leaving me unsatisfied when compared to my excitement leading up to them. After a while the plot and the gameplay became quite repetitive as well, with few new gameplay elements. I also found myself using the Night Vision goggles most of the time because it was impossible to see anything otherwise due to the dark level-design that surrounded me. Moreover, all of the cutscenes were of poor quality, and although they got better for each game, it was obvious the developers tried to cover up the lack of detail in the animation by darkening everything - half the time I could hardly tell what was happening visually. Furthermore, the audio had its share of issues, whereas I couldn't hear the dialogue a lot of the time because the music or ambience was so overpowering - on some of the games this was not adjustable in the options either. And at certain points I was on the verge of having a heart attack upon setting of mines in the game, even more so than Deus Ex: Human Revolution, because the volume was at least twice as high than the rest of the audio production. All in all a decent collection, and great for those such as myself who had yet to play the games in their entirety. That said, there were a lot of missed opportunities with this collection, and Ubisoft could have done so much more. Compared to other PS3 remasters in recent memory, this felt quite subpar. Collapse
  7. May 18, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.