Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. The good vastly outstrips the bad: it looks great, it sounds great, it controls great, the experience is solid, the depth is outstanding, the intricacy of the abilities, gadgets, and level design is stellar, and yes, there is online multiplayer. It's a little anemic, but the PS3 version does have the benefit of a few added maps.
  2. A step in the right direction for the series. Although there aren't many significant changes to the gameplay, the game still feels more exhilarating and more immersive because of the improved visuals, better storyline, lack of darkness, and the moral choices Sam if forced to make.
  3. It's not the easiest game for newcomers to approach (the tutorial's dreadful), but even stealth virgins will see the light after an hour or so in the dark, and probably ought to add another mark to the score. Make ours a double.
  4. Splinter Cell makes a solid debut on the PlayStation 3 by delivering more of its signature stealth action gameplay along with its unique multiplayer modes.
  5. 80
    I'm a little jaded, having a serious case of déjà vu with this game, but rest assured that those of you without an Xbox 360 are in for a treat. Double Agent is pretty darn bad-ass, and has a flurry of water-cooler gaming moments that will make you smile sadistically.
  6. The only significant new features in this version are Sixaxis control in some of the mini-games, two new multiplayer levels and a female spy skin for multiplayer. Double Agent is a little predictable as we’ve seen many similar puzzles in the prequels. However, there are some memorable new set pieces and a greater focus on storyline.
  7. Pelit (Finland)
    80
    Plays pretty much the same as on the Xbox 360 or PC, which means the story is non-existent but the stealth action works well. The only real problem with the PS3 version is the unresponsive targeting. [June 2007]
  8. 79
    Although I think some glitches and a weak multiplayer mode keeps the title from being an impressive $60 purchase, a solid story, good visuals and awesome gameplay mechanics have me recommending Double Agent to lock-picking fans of the genre.
  9. Play UK
    79
    The foundation of the series proves solid here. [Issue#153, p.70]
  10. Games Master UK
    79
    Sam's been short-changed by yet another average conversion. [Aug 2007, p.85]
  11. 75
    A great game for the PS3, but not a great port.
  12. PSM Magazine
    75
    The whole experience is definitely still good, but undeniably anticlimactic. [July 2007, p.84]
  13. PSM3 Magazine UK
    75
    A decent update to a solid game. [June 2007, p.70]
  14. games(TM)
    70
    A premiere stealth game, but it has lost some of that old charm that made its predecessors so appealing. [Apr 2007, p.129]
  15. Double Agent isn't the next-gen Splinter Cell experience that Ubisoft might want us to believe it is, but it's still a very impressive single and multiplayer experience. Sadly, this experience is considerably better on the Xbox 360, where the visuals and audio are far more polished.
  16. Although the three-dimensional maps are interesting to look at, they aren't very functional. And the small map is even less useful. So you can spend a lot of time running around in circles unless you know exactly where to go.
  17. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    70
    Parachutes fail, chopper pilots die, warheads count down to detonation. All of this makes me wonder, is Sam's heart still in stealth? [June 2007, p.106]
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. May 18, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Full Review »
  2. Feb 11, 2015
    3
    In this game, the problem with the frame rate, 20 fps too little and he always jumps. Many glitches with the character animation (sewn theirIn this game, the problem with the frame rate, 20 fps too little and he always jumps. Many glitches with the character animation (sewn their mouths npc) and much more. No one is willing to play it, much less buy Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    3
    Let me just say, I played the original Splinter Cell and Conviction before this. They were both sooooo much better than this rubbish.Let me just say, I played the original Splinter Cell and Conviction before this. They were both sooooo much better than this rubbish. Seriously, how do they expect you to find your way around in this game? The 3D maps are useless, and there is no way of telling where you are meant to be going, not even which direction. Stealth is a challenge, I get that. It was that way in the original; but PLEASE. If you're going to make stealth so hard then implement controls that allow for easier shooting. Honestly it's so hard to aim your controller may as well be upside-down. The time limits on the missions are another problem. I completed the assault course in the terrorist base five minutes under the time limit. he objective was to report back to some guy. So I went to find him. He was in a restricted area that I DIED if I went into. So I had to wait five minutes for him to get back to the assault course, and guess what his advice was? "Next time try to be quicker." The game was BUGGED so I could not complete the course ahead of time. This is yet another example of a developer releasing a game before it is finished just because of fan pressure. STOP DOING THIS! Now I am off the play The Last of Us, a FINISHED stealth game. Full Review »