Tomb Raider PlayStation 3

Tomb Raider Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1253 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    If you love videogames you’ve got to play this game.
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    91
    It is a superb action game that brings a new emotional dimension to one of gaming's most enduring icons, and repositions her alongside Nathan Drake at the top of gaming's action-hero heirachy.
  3. 90
    It is a symbiosis of elements from the old titles and a lot of Uncharted. As such, free-form exploration, puzzles and tombs to raid meet big-screen action and frenzied shootouts. It could be a great way into the future for Lara, one you couldn't really picture before. For now, this really works.
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    Despite occasional dissonance between narrative and game mechanics, Tomb Raider is a highly polished, highly accomplished reboot. Kudos, Crystal Dynamics. [Issue#235]
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    89
    It's exactly what this franchise needed: A modern-day wake-up call that revamps an outdated character and gives us a role model of whom this industry can be proud. Our pride - however misplaced it may have been before - no longer resides in Lara Croft's chest. The setting is excellent, the character's transformation is emotional and effective, the control and combat is rock solid, and the pacing and variety is top-notch. They could've done more with the ideas they present and the multiplayer is lacking but beyond that, this one is a can't-miss for all serious gamers out there.
  6. 85
    It sets the character up for an amazing sequel and improved multiplayer on next-gen platforms. There’s a whole lot of island to cover and tons of killer action on the way. Set-pieces are astounding and really push the player forward with intense visuals.
  7. Mar 4, 2013
    60
    Tomb Raider is trying to tell Lara’s origin story in a mature fashion, and it somewhat succeeds by depicting the island as an organic living being, and making sure Lara is a believable character with great performances by actress Camilla Luddington. The rest of the game is less impressive, with the sheer amount of jarring enemies, stale combat and tacked on multiplayer.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 284
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    This is a awesome reboot of Tomb Raider! Now we have a more human Lara, more realistic story context and a great "hero journey"! I'm aThis is a awesome reboot of Tomb Raider! Now we have a more human Lara, more realistic story context and a great "hero journey"! I'm a Uncharted and Lost die-hard fan, I love mythology, mysteries, puzzles and rpg, so this Tomb Raider is one of the best games I ever played in my life. I hope they make many many sequels! Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is the new standard for tomb raider. The atmosphere is amazing. Great story so Far( i am 5 hours in) The gameplay is great. And for theThis is the new standard for tomb raider. The atmosphere is amazing. Great story so Far( i am 5 hours in) The gameplay is great. And for the first time in a long Time i truly care about lara. And if She lives or dies. The only cons are the multiplayer feels of uncharted lite. But the cover system is great. I love being as stealthy as I can be. I am very much looking forward for tomb raider 2. lol. Don't let this one pass you by!!!! Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    It's like they have entered my mind and gave me the game I always wanted. In my honest opinion, this is an ALMOST perfect game. Think of it asIt's like they have entered my mind and gave me the game I always wanted. In my honest opinion, this is an ALMOST perfect game. Think of it as Uncharted meets Far Cry 3 and you'll get a picture of what a great gaming experience this new birth of the TR franchise means. Lara is younger, very much younger, trailing the path to become the famous explorer. She is not confident, she's learning, she's suffering, gradually becoming the fearsome leonesse she'll eventually be. This game gives you everything. Stunning graphics, fluid gameplay, strong atmosphere, movie-like moments of tension, small bits of RPG (like leveling up and upgrading) and a big island to explore (FILLED with collectibles, by the way). I JUST CAN'T PUT THIS GAME DOWN. You know when you are playing a game and you keep feeling sorry that each hour you put in means it will eventually end? I don't want this game to end. It is THAT good. Although this is just March, in a year with a lot of promising releases, I already think Tomb Raider is one of the games of the year (if not THE game). Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    As a die-hard Uncharted fan I can easily say that this game is a game to be reckoned with and to boast about. Crystal Dynamics has done aAs a die-hard Uncharted fan I can easily say that this game is a game to be reckoned with and to boast about. Crystal Dynamics has done a great job in terms of storytelling and especially gameplay, with the bow and arrow being a pleasure to use. It's Naughty Dog's turn now, hopefully if they release Uncharted 4 they will have the Tomb Raider standard to have to top. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    The new tomb raider is a very good action game with a sprinkle of exploration and puzzle solving. I would say 75% action and 25% puzzle andThe new tomb raider is a very good action game with a sprinkle of exploration and puzzle solving. I would say 75% action and 25% puzzle and exploration. Its similar to the uncharted series and that isn't necessarily a bad thing because I like the uncharted series however I bought this hoping to play classic tomb raider not uncharted. I loved all the original ps1 tomb raiders with their very high difficulty and massive levels that would take literally hours to figure out. The original tomb raiders were 80% puzzle solving and exploration and 20% action....(if even that much action). Here lies the problem for me. The new tomb raider is very good but not at all like the originals and to be honest after playing it i took the disk out and went on to psn and downloaded the old tomb raiders for a replay because oddly enough this really made me want to play them again and best of all is that i never managed to beat tomb raider 3. Now thats what I call a tomb raider, a rock hard challenge with serious consequences if you fail. I think you know where im going with this so if you like uncharted you will like the new tomb raider but if you want massive difficult levels to get lost in you wont get it with this reboot. overall a very good action game with great graphics that will satisfy new customers and also old fans who feel the old tomb raiders had their day. I on the other hand am gonna be having far more fun playing tomb raider 3 for the foreseeable future while the world enjoys this reboot. Each to their own I guess. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    This is good games, the graphics are beautiful, the puzzles are stimulating, and the story was thrilling till the end. It was amazing seeingThis is good games, the graphics are beautiful, the puzzles are stimulating, and the story was thrilling till the end. It was amazing seeing how Lara changed throughout the game. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    The multiplayer of this game is soo poor I want to kill myself, There was so much Lag on Console versions and it was not consistent, it hadThe multiplayer of this game is soo poor I want to kill myself, There was so much Lag on Console versions and it was not consistent, it had bugs glitches, the campaign was very short too, it felt too lack lust and i wish it could've been more but the replay value just died as there were many latency and server lagging within the multiplayer! Expand

See all 284 User Reviews