User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 144
  2. Negative: 32 out of 144

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    4
    This game takes one step forward and two giant leaps back. I'll get the positive things out of the way first, the grappling hook behaves much better than previous games, the graphics are quite good (when still) and there are some genuinely clever puzzles to be solved. Now for the bad stuff... the camera almost never wants to cooperate with you, the frame rate stutters frequently, the controls for the platforming segments are clumsy and broken, the combat is still terrible (as it was in previous games) put all those things together and you have one bad game. Despite pretty graphics and clever puzzles, the poor execution of the other gameplay elements prevented me from enjoying this game. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    6
    This review is late is I only replayed the game recently. So many bugs, even after the updates. Its a decent game, but I feel its hardly representative of a true Tomb Raider adventure. Then again, neither was Angel of Darkness. If you want an easy Platinum, go ahead and play this game, but its very frustrating because of the numerous bugs that they STILL have not fixed since its release. Not its not awful, but saying its a great game is a little biased. They could have done more with the story, characters, and, if you are not looking for treasure, this game can be finished in 5 hours. Buy it in the trilogy or buy it cheap. That way you DO get your money's worth. Expand
  3. May 14, 2012
    8
    Tomb raider underworld is the last part of a "trilogy" started by Crystal Dynamics with Legend. I loved ths game even though it has its faults. Back then when it debuted, I was amazed by the graphics, not because it was realistic, but because after a long time I was getting the same feeling I had with the earlier installements. Each environment has its charm and stands out on its own. I didn't have the feeling of walking a corridor like I had in Legend, I explored, I solved puzzles, I climbed walls like in a proper tomb raider game. Combat mechanic is lacking though, action takes a back seat, in fact there aren't any "boss fights". I never understood why limiting the arsenal to just two weapons, i prefer the older, unrealistic way. Plot-wise the game creates a big set up, but the payoff is.. well it's not satisfying, the biggest problem is that they got stuck in the annoying:"missing mother" storyline, They could explore more the dynamic between some of the characters. Overall this game is a step in the right direction, even though it might become challenging in some areas, checkpoints make the experience less annoying. Good game, it should be cheap by now so give it a try. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    The last-best-real tomb raider!It has almost everything,grand puzzles,great platforming,"open" areas to explore,good story and superb voice acting.Camera is still a bit tricky and the combat is nothing special but nothing is annoying enough to take out from this tomb raider experience!
  5. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    (About the PC version)
    This Graphics are just unbelievable. I have a lot of games in my PC, most of them are much more recent than Tomb Raider Underworld. But no one matches Underworld Graphics. The graphics are so good that sometimes it's hard to pay attention in gameplay. You just stay and watch, watch, watch. And it's so light. The problem of the game is rush storyline, and we can't
    absorb Lara's personality and empathize with her. The jump system sometimes is annoying, and don't obey you. Even with perfect jumps, and even when you have absolutely sure it won't miss.... the jump fails and you watch Lara die. If you like loneliness exploring game. Solitude, and drool over scenarios, sound, atmosphere. You can't miss this game. It's awesome. Expand
  6. FDM
    Jul 22, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bom jogo. Recomendo para quem gostou dos 2 últimos jogos da série. Possui gráficos medianos em relação as pessoas e monstros que aparecem porem os senários são magníficos. Dão um show a parte, principalmente quando se está em locais onde há predominância de florestas, rios, mares, que são super detalhados. A Câmera as vezes atrapalha mas nada que um bom comando nos analógicos e após uns minutos que possa fazer acostumar com os problemas ali apresentados. Então, está ai, recomendado para todos que gostaram dos jogos anteriores da serie. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    It's a direct sequel to Legend. The storyline has improved from mediocre to average. The gameplay stays roughly the same as Legend & Anniversary with a few new bells and whistles. Visuals and music are excellent. The game feels darker and edgier. Not as fun as Legend.
  8. Apr 28, 2014
    4
    This game would be perfect... if it didn't have as much puzzles. i HATE puzzles. on the other hand, the combat is really fun, and the new ' hanging and shooting' mechanic is great. All that is bad is the puzzles. I can't really say much else.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. While it doesn’t propel the series forward to new heights, Underground is certainly an exciting and challenging Tomb Raider game worthy of Lady Croft’s sizeable talents.
  2. The more I played the game, the more frustrated I got with the camera, controls, and collision detection. Had those technical issues been resolved, Eidos would've had a great game on their hands.
  3. I still don’t understand how Lara can use her guns underwater or why she insists on kicking priceless vase’s, but niggles aside Tomb Raider Underworld is actually pretty fun in places. It’s just a shame that this so called update was is so horrendously out of date in comparison to something like Uncharted which trounces Underworld at every turn.