User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 154
  2. Negative: 32 out of 154

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. anthonyg
    Dec 1, 2008
    8
    First of all there is NO way this game deserves a 0-yes, there are camera issues but not bad enough to warrant a zero. This is a beautiful looking and fun addition to the Tomb Raider series.True, it doesn't move the series forward in any dramatic way (like the upcoming Prince of Persia) but it is a solid effort---i would say an 8.5---a little too short but there is downloadable First of all there is NO way this game deserves a 0-yes, there are camera issues but not bad enough to warrant a zero. This is a beautiful looking and fun addition to the Tomb Raider series.True, it doesn't move the series forward in any dramatic way (like the upcoming Prince of Persia) but it is a solid effort---i would say an 8.5---a little too short but there is downloadable content to look forward to---this is a fun game if you are a fan of the series or even for newcomers. Expand
  2. May 14, 2012
    8
    Tomb raider underworld is the last part of a "trilogy" started by Crystal Dynamics with Legend. I loved ths game even though it has its faults. Back then when it debuted, I was amazed by the graphics, not because it was realistic, but because after a long time I was getting the same feeling I had with the earlier installements. Each environment has its charm and stands out on its own. ITomb raider underworld is the last part of a "trilogy" started by Crystal Dynamics with Legend. I loved ths game even though it has its faults. Back then when it debuted, I was amazed by the graphics, not because it was realistic, but because after a long time I was getting the same feeling I had with the earlier installements. Each environment has its charm and stands out on its own. I didn't have the feeling of walking a corridor like I had in Legend, I explored, I solved puzzles, I climbed walls like in a proper tomb raider game. Combat mechanic is lacking though, action takes a back seat, in fact there aren't any "boss fights". I never understood why limiting the arsenal to just two weapons, i prefer the older, unrealistic way. Plot-wise the game creates a big set up, but the payoff is.. well it's not satisfying, the biggest problem is that they got stuck in the annoying:"missing mother" storyline, They could explore more the dynamic between some of the characters. Overall this game is a step in the right direction, even though it might become challenging in some areas, checkpoints make the experience less annoying. Good game, it should be cheap by now so give it a try. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    The last-best-real tomb raider!It has almost everything,grand puzzles,great platforming,"open" areas to explore,good story and superb voice acting.Camera is still a bit tricky and the combat is nothing special but nothing is annoying enough to take out from this tomb raider experience!
  4. MariaC
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    The camera can sometimes be a challenge, but don't be fooled by the incompetent players and reviewers. The controls are fine and this game is in no way too difficult. It seems these days people have forgotten how to play games and expect everything to be presented to them on a gold platter. With the exception of the mediocre combat (which is still entertaining) there is isn't a The camera can sometimes be a challenge, but don't be fooled by the incompetent players and reviewers. The controls are fine and this game is in no way too difficult. It seems these days people have forgotten how to play games and expect everything to be presented to them on a gold platter. With the exception of the mediocre combat (which is still entertaining) there is isn't a single dull moment, and many OMG moments follow in rapid succession while going through this beautiful game. Forget about the comparisons to a certain game, this is what Tomb Raider has always been about, and it does is extremely well! Expand
  5. ashmenu
    Jan 17, 2009
    8
    I didn't finished it but for the moment i like it a lot. huge and beautifully designed levels, had the same feeling as in the first one or in shadow of colossus, fellin of loneliness and littleness... that's what i wanted from tr, the essence, a trip to misterious reality-like monuments and even if the story or cinematics look stupid, it's good.
  6. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    (About the PC version)
    This Graphics are just unbelievable. I have a lot of games in my PC, most of them are much more recent than Tomb Raider Underworld. But no one matches Underworld Graphics. The graphics are so good that sometimes it's hard to pay attention in gameplay. You just stay and watch, watch, watch. And it's so light. The problem of the game is rush storyline, and we can't
    (About the PC version)
    This Graphics are just unbelievable. I have a lot of games in my PC, most of them are much more recent than Tomb Raider Underworld. But no one matches Underworld Graphics. The graphics are so good that sometimes it's hard to pay attention in gameplay. You just stay and watch, watch, watch. And it's so light. The problem of the game is rush storyline, and we can't absorb Lara's personality and empathize with her. The jump system sometimes is annoying, and don't obey you. Even with perfect jumps, and even when you have absolutely sure it won't miss.... the jump fails and you watch Lara die. If you like loneliness exploring game. Solitude, and drool over scenarios, sound, atmosphere. You can't miss this game. It's awesome.
    Expand
  7. JVC
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    The story ties everything nicely and focuses on putting Lara back to the core of Tomb Raider: exploration. Her skills are great and controls well, without looking abnormally superhuman. Her acting and personality is maintained, as what was started with Crystal Dynamics. Graphics look top-notch and the little details blow your mind. The way she gets her clothes wet, the way she gets soiled The story ties everything nicely and focuses on putting Lara back to the core of Tomb Raider: exploration. Her skills are great and controls well, without looking abnormally superhuman. Her acting and personality is maintained, as what was started with Crystal Dynamics. Graphics look top-notch and the little details blow your mind. The way she gets her clothes wet, the way she gets soiled after exploring, the way she movies especially whilst free-climbing, it all looks great. Music is top as usual, with ambient sounds that flourish at the right moments. Gunplay can be improved but its not really the focus of the game, is it? Lara indeed needs to update herself but staying as she is isn't necessarily a bad thing. Tomb Raider has that quaint experience that reminds me of old games, executed in today's technology. Expand
  8. DaveJ
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    Amazing game, beautiful graphics, stunning sound, loads of OMG moments. buy it
  9. Dr.Ghettoblaster
    Jun 15, 2009
    9
    The game does have OCCASIONAL camera and bug/glitches....but I will say these are a very small minority in the game and the media has blown them up to be huge when in reality they're not. The game was awesome and I loved TR 1, 2, Legend, Anniversary, and now Underworld.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. While it doesn’t propel the series forward to new heights, Underground is certainly an exciting and challenging Tomb Raider game worthy of Lady Croft’s sizeable talents.
  2. The more I played the game, the more frustrated I got with the camera, controls, and collision detection. Had those technical issues been resolved, Eidos would've had a great game on their hands.
  3. I still don’t understand how Lara can use her guns underwater or why she insists on kicking priceless vase’s, but niggles aside Tomb Raider Underworld is actually pretty fun in places. It’s just a shame that this so called update was is so horrendously out of date in comparison to something like Uncharted which trounces Underworld at every turn.