Tomb Raider PlayStation 3

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1279 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    I was really enjoying this until a part where I had to fight my way through a rusted shanty town near a downed helocopter.Then the game devolved into a standard 3rd person shooter for a while with waves of enemies(on a lost and oh so mysterious isle)and it all went downhill from there and I lost interest within the hour.Maybe it returned to the high points of the adventure but I'll never know.
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    7
    Lara Croft is back and with her a lot of dismembering, assaulting and fighting. This game has no balance whatsoever between exploration and fighting sessions. All elements are pretty well done, but they don't mix the right way.
    What is left is an uncanny experience that could have been much better with a little tweaking. This reboot is an easy game with some exploring, a lot of shooting
    Lara Croft is back and with her a lot of dismembering, assaulting and fighting. This game has no balance whatsoever between exploration and fighting sessions. All elements are pretty well done, but they don't mix the right way.
    What is left is an uncanny experience that could have been much better with a little tweaking. This reboot is an easy game with some exploring, a lot of shooting and some of the most recognizable graphics of this generation.
    You'll have fun playing it, that's for sure, but you could end up wondering what might have been. And that would have been easy to achieve with a more careful treatment of combat sections.
    Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    If you were to were to watch just the shooting segments, it's a clone of Uncharted (just with more brutal ways to kill). Though the game does not play like third-person shooter, there's far more exploration, platforming, and quiet moments to take in. The tombs are rather sparse and very easy, but the open world hubs can be challenging. They are very busy with lots of things to do andIf you were to were to watch just the shooting segments, it's a clone of Uncharted (just with more brutal ways to kill). Though the game does not play like third-person shooter, there's far more exploration, platforming, and quiet moments to take in. The tombs are rather sparse and very easy, but the open world hubs can be challenging. They are very busy with lots of things to do and places to explore, so they are not at all linear. They story is not awful, but it's nothing to get excited over; it's pretty basic. The gear items and the RPG system is fun, they make for a more tailored experience.
    ---
    There's many places to use your rope arrows to create zip lines or pull movable objects, blast barricades with your shotgun to access new areas, use the climbing axe to scale cliff faces, and things to set on fire for items or XP, etc.
    ---
    If you rush through just the story missions, then it will be a short game. If you take breaks to discover new areas and search for items in the expansive hubs, then it might take you about 20-25 hours to get a 100% completion for the single player (including beating the story).
    ---
    It's a great game. For being a AAA title, it's very fulfilling without being too cinematic (like Uncharted) and strikes a nice balance between a mainstream game and a classic Tomb Raider title.
    Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    7
    This game has so many explosions you would think you were watching a Michael Bay film. I'll let you decide if that is a good thing or not. This particular Tomb Raider puts exploration on that back burner and focuses on cinematic set pieces full of daring jumps and big explosions. While everything is executed very well, I miss those exploration elements that cause you to stop and think.This game has so many explosions you would think you were watching a Michael Bay film. I'll let you decide if that is a good thing or not. This particular Tomb Raider puts exploration on that back burner and focuses on cinematic set pieces full of daring jumps and big explosions. While everything is executed very well, I miss those exploration elements that cause you to stop and think. They do present themselves a few times but these moments are rare. The combat is enjoyable and better than any previous Tomb Raider but still starts to wear thin about half way through the game. Even with the generic combat and lack of exploration, the interesting story and strong visuals should be enough to keep you playing through to the end. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    6
    Where I to judge this game solely on the single player, I would say this: Tomb Raider 2013 is a worthy prequel to both the character and the series. Sadly, the multiplayer mode hangs around this game's neck like a rotting albatross, and it has tarnished my lasting opinion of the title.

    My advice to you all is not to touch the multiplayer unless you are desperate to get the Platinum;
    Where I to judge this game solely on the single player, I would say this: Tomb Raider 2013 is a worthy prequel to both the character and the series. Sadly, the multiplayer mode hangs around this game's neck like a rotting albatross, and it has tarnished my lasting opinion of the title.

    My advice to you all is not to touch the multiplayer unless you are desperate to get the Platinum; this is a single player game, and you should treat it as such.

    On the merits of the single player, there are plenty. The combat is satisfying, the exploration is fun, the puzzles and platforming are challenging enough without feeling unfair or frustrating. Lara's character development is quite difficult to watch sometimes, but it feels good to see her grow into this tough, warrior-adventurer heroine.

    Tomb Raider 2013 is a must-buy for any Tomb Raider fan who has been left feeling lacklustre after Underworld and its ilk. For people new to the franchise it could be a good starting point. It's just a shame they wasted so much time and effort on that crappy multiplayer; without that, I'd likely give the game a 7 or 8.
    Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    Highly overrated game. It's just a poor mans uncharted. Graphics are stunning, and for the first hour or so the game play is fairly enjoyable. But then it's just Lara vs about 20 guys over and over, with the developers seemingly running out of creative ideas for these set pieces other than throw in a couple more baddies or giving them better weapons. The strategy is same and repetitiveHighly overrated game. It's just a poor mans uncharted. Graphics are stunning, and for the first hour or so the game play is fairly enjoyable. But then it's just Lara vs about 20 guys over and over, with the developers seemingly running out of creative ideas for these set pieces other than throw in a couple more baddies or giving them better weapons. The strategy is same and repetitive through out, little to no variation of how to approach each set piece. Bravo to those that finished the game, because boredom sets in about a third of the way through when puzzles and platforming become minimal and replaced with mind numbing boring duck and cover shooting that has been done to death on this generation of consoles. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2013
    5
    Tomb Raider is indicative of modern gaming these days, and while that in itself is hardly a criticism, it does commit the same glaring and obvious issues as games from this generation. For instance: (a) Too much focus on quick time events. (b) Simplistic puzzles (Puzzles were a halmark of the the first Tomb Raider games, yet here... they're simple and merely a time-sink) (c) Less emphasisTomb Raider is indicative of modern gaming these days, and while that in itself is hardly a criticism, it does commit the same glaring and obvious issues as games from this generation. For instance: (a) Too much focus on quick time events. (b) Simplistic puzzles (Puzzles were a halmark of the the first Tomb Raider games, yet here... they're simple and merely a time-sink) (c) Less emphasis on exploration and tomb raiding (d) cardboard characters and one dimensional villains (can we please move away from this lazy writing) (e) lazy writing. Expand
  8. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    Enjoyable and over-the-top take on the Tomb Raider franchise, essentially taking the mechanics of Uncharted and putting Lara Croft back into her rightful place as the poster-child for relic hunting in video-games. Final act is a highlight but the final boss is disappointing.
  9. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    It's Uncharted with a girl. Which could be fine --unless you were looking forward to raiding tombs. Fans of quicktime events and enemies to gun-down are in for a treat. (for a "girl-becomes-a-women" origins-shtick, she sure murders a lot). Now, If you wanted to solve puzzles and again raid-tombs, then well...
  10. Nov 13, 2016
    7
    It's not as spectacular as Uncharted. The optional puzzles tombs were small rooms with simple and straightforward crude tasks to "solve". For example there was a balance plank as one puzzle and it simply required the player to collect a few heavy objects to tip the balance. Most of the puzzles were like that.

    I did not encounter the classic dual pistols (Tomb Raider classic). I'm not
    It's not as spectacular as Uncharted. The optional puzzles tombs were small rooms with simple and straightforward crude tasks to "solve". For example there was a balance plank as one puzzle and it simply required the player to collect a few heavy objects to tip the balance. Most of the puzzles were like that.

    I did not encounter the classic dual pistols (Tomb Raider classic). I'm not even sure there were fights with animals like bears and wolves. Instead, the game copies Uncharted's gun fights, as if those were ever the positive feature in that game.

    Tomb Raider 2013's setting is mostly exciting because it uses a foreign culture to build something 'fantastic', but apart from the controls and the time spent between gun fights, the game feels very much 'on-rails' in an automatic continuation of Uncharted's adventures. With less spectacular levels and more focus on gameplay.

    The online multiplayer is inactive ('dead') and has a reputation for being tacked-on and mediocre.
    Expand
  11. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    Tomb Raider needed to grow up, and I liked what they've done with the character, although the story itself is fairly bland and generic. The pre-rendered cutscene at the games beginning is ugly as well. It's a little too "AAA"-influenced by other games, but I liked the puzzles.
  12. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    Tomb Raider shows off its team's technical strengths and provides adequate gameplay. Every single point of my review goes toward the craftsmanship involved, which left the same sort of impression on me as a sturdy wooden chair or endtable. It has shape, polish, and function, and fits right in with the other well-constructed action games of its ilk. But then, it gets weird. It gets really,Tomb Raider shows off its team's technical strengths and provides adequate gameplay. Every single point of my review goes toward the craftsmanship involved, which left the same sort of impression on me as a sturdy wooden chair or endtable. It has shape, polish, and function, and fits right in with the other well-constructed action games of its ilk. But then, it gets weird. It gets really, really weird. It gets weird enough to knock off more points than a videogame story should/ Not since Lifetime's worst-rated films have I cringed through such uncomfortable, pedantic, pandering female-empowerment-exploitation schlock. Not content with mediocrity, the plot clashes against its gameplay, employing torture porn and revenge-killings as the only means of character development. Lara Croft, a plucky young girl on an innocent adventure, has to shoot through hundreds of specifically male strangers to grow into a strong woman, yelping like a pornstar every minute of the way as she's beaten, stabbed, eviscerated, crushed, drowned, shot, impaled, burned alive, eaten, gored, and otherwise violated by everything. Thanks to the genre setpieces, Lara seems to like these beatings so much that she goes out of her way to get more, crossing deadly terrain when everyone else clearly uses safer means. She stops her bizarre thrill-slaughter only long enough to whimper her insecurities and angst over piles of dead bodies. This wannabe blockbuster script slathers itself greasily on top of a standard yet solid game, deforming Tomb Raider into a jarring, uneven, and unsettling experience. Just don't. Expand
  13. Jun 21, 2013
    6
    Wants to be Uncharted so bad it's gelling it's hair and making (horrible) attempts at wise cracking jokes all the while failing to realize that no-one is gonna out do Naughty Dog at making an Uncharted game. Not a horrible game but it's not really good either. I kept getting lost, story was lackluster, didn't give two about the one dimensional characters (including Lara) and the combatWants to be Uncharted so bad it's gelling it's hair and making (horrible) attempts at wise cracking jokes all the while failing to realize that no-one is gonna out do Naughty Dog at making an Uncharted game. Not a horrible game but it's not really good either. I kept getting lost, story was lackluster, didn't give two about the one dimensional characters (including Lara) and the combat was soooo basic. The graphics are nice though, I'll give it that. Expand
  14. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    Tomb Raider follows the story of Lara Croft as her ship becomes shipwrecked due to an unforeseeable storm. Lara believes that something is strange about the island, that they did just land there by accident. Her crew members, be they betray or work with Lara are all very well made with good voice acting. Unfortunately Lara is the only character you can really feel for throughout theTomb Raider follows the story of Lara Croft as her ship becomes shipwrecked due to an unforeseeable storm. Lara believes that something is strange about the island, that they did just land there by accident. Her crew members, be they betray or work with Lara are all very well made with good voice acting. Unfortunately Lara is the only character you can really feel for throughout the campaign.
    It's called 'Tomb Raider' for a reason, but yet there are only 8 tombs to be found throughout the island. They are all well created and designed in their own manner still. In this sense it should really be called 'Lara Croft', as the story revolves around her and her surviving friends and not at all on the optional tombs.
    The gameplay to be found here is similar to that of Naughty Dog's Uncharted series, and is well implemented. Great graphics make this game stand out more than most this year.
    Unfortunately, the story is quite the let down towards the end, making you do running errands. And in my opinion is quite the drag to finish.
    There are collectables to be found, Relics, GPS Caches and Documents along with area specific challenges.
    In my opinion there is no replay value either as the only reason I went back into the campaign was to get the remaining collectables for an easy enough gold.
    The multiplayer in the ame is also similar to that of Uncharted, with four modes and multiple maps.
    A very good game, with a multiplayer which isn't that fun to play and an ending that let me down.
    Expand
  15. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    It freezed on me at the beginning (when Lara climbed an airplane)...
    I am scared to go further and face another freez...
    HATE GAMES THAT FREEZES ON ME

    but its Tomb Raider game, and I love Lara...
  16. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Tomb Raider is the reboot of the popular series dating back to the PS1 days. This reboot tells the story of how Lara Croft became the tomb raider she has been known for. The story has some balance issues, it tries to be cinematic like a movie and also tries to tell a dark, realistic tale. Besides Lara, the other characters lack development and interest. The game play balances well on theTomb Raider is the reboot of the popular series dating back to the PS1 days. This reboot tells the story of how Lara Croft became the tomb raider she has been known for. The story has some balance issues, it tries to be cinematic like a movie and also tries to tell a dark, realistic tale. Besides Lara, the other characters lack development and interest. The game play balances well on the other hand, being cinematic and also "sort-of" open world. It also has a metroid/castlevania feel as certain sections are blocked off because you do not have the necessary equipment to get passed it. The multiplayer is bad, tacked on, and completely unnecessary. Only having 4 game modes and none of them are unique or fun in any way. I did not enjoy the story or care for the characters, but the game play is really fun, even though the multiplayer should have not even come with the game. Expand
  17. Apr 14, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed playing through the new Tomb Raider but a lot like most games that are coming out today, it doesn't warrant a replay. Now if my BioShock: Infinite review says anything, it's that story means a lot to me and there really was no story here, at least not an interesting one. And although I wanted to see Laura succeed, I didn't really care about any of the others that were along forI enjoyed playing through the new Tomb Raider but a lot like most games that are coming out today, it doesn't warrant a replay. Now if my BioShock: Infinite review says anything, it's that story means a lot to me and there really was no story here, at least not an interesting one. And although I wanted to see Laura succeed, I didn't really care about any of the others that were along for the journey. In terms of game play, it's much like any other 3rd person shooter, there's nothing new or challenging thrown your way. The weapons you get and customize are your expected weapons and it's meh. With that being said, it is a fun play through but it doesn't feel like Tomb Raider. There are tombs that you find and get some loot out of it but they're so easy to find. On top of that, they're so easy to complete. I expected something difficult from the olden days but I guess now that's really asking a lot. The boss battle (if you could call it that) was extremely disappointing. If memory serves it was another QTE that was easily beaten (clearly not a memorable experience). Lastly on the negatives, I am all for collectibles like with the audio logs in BioShock, etc. This game goes the same route but under delivers in the fact that I just had no interest in finding them and got nothing out of them when I did. They tried to advance the story but the story was never very strong and it ended up falling off. Additionally without finding the little collectible things I was able to fully upgrade my weapons and skills quickly. Why collect stuff when my character is already godly? What they did get right was Lara's character. Much like Elizabeth from BioShock, I really cared for her and wanted to make sure she would get through this treacherous island alive. The developers certainly didn't turn down the brutal deaths you could experience and I really tried my best to avoid seeing Lara impaled or crushed. Overall, for me, this came to be like GOW: Ascension. I really do not think it was worth the full price but it did intrigue me to keep an eye on Lara's future adventures. Expand
  18. Mar 6, 2013
    5
    The storyline of this game is quite interesting. Especially at the beginning of the game, when you are crawling through some tunnels, the skulls of dead people are laying around, creepy stuff brings excitement. The idea of upgrading weapons and skills is also quite good. The speed of the game is high, so when you are playing the main story, you shouldn't get bored. Shooting is quiteThe storyline of this game is quite interesting. Especially at the beginning of the game, when you are crawling through some tunnels, the skulls of dead people are laying around, creepy stuff brings excitement. The idea of upgrading weapons and skills is also quite good. The speed of the game is high, so when you are playing the main story, you shouldn't get bored. Shooting is quite interesting, well made and sometimes hard. Graphics are amazing, all the details are astonishing and well implemented in to the game. And that is it. Now the bad... The game has to many cutscenes. There is no freedom of your movements. Lara croft slows down the tempo any time she wants, she starts to crawl when there's enemy nearby and so on and so fourth. The game is very short!!! It took me 4 or 5 hours to complete the main story!!! Seriously? Even in tomb raider: legends you had to spend more time in order to complete the game (which was the shortest game of all). Also, talking about main story, all you have to do is go ahead. I mean Lara doesn't do anything special, she just goes front and everything is exploding and somehow she survives. In previous games, even in the legend you had to do something special, or to scout the area, now you are just going straight ahead, shooting guys, Of course there are some puzzles, but basically it's a joke. Now! WHERE IS WATER? Why Lara Croft dies when she hits water? Tomb raider underworld had great missions in the water. This is a game for people who haven't played tomb raider, but the true fan will be definitely disappointed. P.S Tomb raider: the last Revelation (tomb raider 4). it took me a month to complete. That was a huge adventure and when I completed the game, I was really proud of myself. I don't understand why the games like: assassin's creed 3, tomb raider, became so short and so easy... With no puzzles or thinking. Brainless stupid adventures. Very disappointed. I give 5 only because of storyline, graphics, and the tempo of the game. Expand
  19. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    My first TR. Graphics (that sunset is amazing) and gameplay are great, but I expected so much more from the plot. In Far Cry 3 or Red Dead Redemption I felt inside the game, the depth of scenarios and characters made me enjoy every minute of playing, even days after I finished them I kept thinking about the cool stories. Here Lara is the only one who doesn't look superficial and I sawMy first TR. Graphics (that sunset is amazing) and gameplay are great, but I expected so much more from the plot. In Far Cry 3 or Red Dead Redemption I felt inside the game, the depth of scenarios and characters made me enjoy every minute of playing, even days after I finished them I kept thinking about the cool stories. Here Lara is the only one who doesn't look superficial and I saw almost nothing of the Yamatai. It's great to play, and I don`t know the other Tomb Raiders, but I expected more. Expand
  20. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    To start this off, I've never played any Tomb Raider game before, nor do I really enjoy games like it. But this game was just a bore. Lara was just a terrible character, never before have I not cared so much about a MC. It seems like she goes out of her way to get injured by something that could be easily avoided. Several times through out the game she has a chance to kill theTo start this off, I've never played any Tomb Raider game before, nor do I really enjoy games like it. But this game was just a bore. Lara was just a terrible character, never before have I not cared so much about a MC. It seems like she goes out of her way to get injured by something that could be easily avoided. Several times through out the game she has a chance to kill the antagonist, but she doesn't. This may be because it's a video game, but she doesn't even attempt to do it. She also moves like a snail whenever going through almost any dark area which gets very annoying. The gameplay was alright at best. I was playing on hard, but nothing could kill me besides enemies with machine guns. The enemies with machine guns were only annoying because they had the ability to stun lock you. Every other enemy posed almost no threat to you. The upgrade system was okay, all you really needed to upgrade was the machine gun and the bow because they were vastly superior to any other weapon. The multiplayer wasn't great, though I only played around 5 rounds of it. They include collectibles in the game which are near impossible to miss since you have bat-man vision which highlights them through walls if you get a certain upgrade. Tombs weren't very fun to explore since Lara moves at an unbearable speed to get into and out of them. There is no challenge in this game at all. The puzzles are all incredibly easy, almost disappointing. Overall, this game is okay. It's bearable if you don't pay attention to the story at all. This game isn't worth the $60, but it is a nice time-waster so it'd be decent to rent. Expand
  21. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    Tomb raider is not bad at all, it looks amazing and the gameplay is good even if it adopts the duck and cover approach to gaming. Lara our well known heroine is taken back to her youth and the game shows here progression into a hardened explorer, but this progression isn't as good as Far Cry 3. Unfortunately this game loses that Tomb Raider feel. With the introduction of Lara's 'spiderTomb raider is not bad at all, it looks amazing and the gameplay is good even if it adopts the duck and cover approach to gaming. Lara our well known heroine is taken back to her youth and the game shows here progression into a hardened explorer, but this progression isn't as good as Far Cry 3. Unfortunately this game loses that Tomb Raider feel. With the introduction of Lara's 'spider sense' it took all the frustration and anger I had for all the other Tomb Raiders and I missed it! In previous games you could sometimes be stuck in one room for hours trying to work out how the hell to get out, in this installation your lucky to spend more than 5 minutes in one of the well created stunning rooms or section and I feel it's a shame. I understand that they are trying to take the games in a new direction but why? We have games like this but we don't have games like the old tomb raiders, there was that lack of "what the hell" no levels where there is a random dinosaur or visiting area 51 this game is taking itself a little but too serious. I remember playing Tomb Raider underworld, the first level you started and underwater and just had to work it out, Tomb Raider like many modern games hold you by the had and make sure you can't possibly make a mistake and that's unfortunate I feel compelled to blame modern games but I will try not to (even though I kinda have), the creators have perhaps been playing to much drake? Over all good solid game but bring back more puzzles and perhaps dinosaurs? Expand
  22. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    Good game overall with a few details keeping it from being a great game. Compared to the tomb raiders of yore, this feels like the How-to-be-Lara version. Your hand is held through the majority of the game, whether it's the prompt style combat or the 1-2-3 puzzles. I remember getting stumped so bad in previous tomb raiders, that I would give up in frustration. After conversing with my nerdGood game overall with a few details keeping it from being a great game. Compared to the tomb raiders of yore, this feels like the How-to-be-Lara version. Your hand is held through the majority of the game, whether it's the prompt style combat or the 1-2-3 puzzles. I remember getting stumped so bad in previous tomb raiders, that I would give up in frustration. After conversing with my nerd friends, (back then I rarely did the online cheat thing dial-up in the projects...) I would eventually come back with a solution, feeling good that I met the challenge. The story mixed with hidden documents found all over the island I have to admit kept me on edge. I kept doing the scooby-doo-murder-mystery thing, accusing everybody of being a bad guy in disguise, lol. Lara's character acting screams noobie Croft I loved it perfect for her origin story. Sadly, the other characters were less compelling.

    Not sure about replay value multiplayer? I'm uncomfortable with this. Past experiences with single player games all of a sudden going multi were never good ones... Let's see: Fable III, GTA IV, ME3 (omgwhy?T_T@#%%$)... This is not the Tomb Raider I was expecting but, I'm satisfied.
    Expand
  23. Mar 27, 2013
    7
    Looks great, and is basically sound from a technical point of view, but if you have played any of the Uncharted games you will experience major déjà vu. All of the survival elements that were talked up in the pre-release hype have been removed, leaving us with a linear, nice looking shooter. The puzzles are extremely basic, the combat is clunky at times and there is very little replayLooks great, and is basically sound from a technical point of view, but if you have played any of the Uncharted games you will experience major déjà vu. All of the survival elements that were talked up in the pre-release hype have been removed, leaving us with a linear, nice looking shooter. The puzzles are extremely basic, the combat is clunky at times and there is very little replay value. Fun, but not as amazing as everyone is claiming. Expand
  24. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    I just finished Tomb Raider and felt like I had to write something about the game as I feel I disagree with a lot of the gaming websites positive reviews. My experience was really all over the place with Tomb Raider, I felt the game had little to no identity of its own. Tomb Raider is like playing Uncharted, Assassins Creed & Arkham City all in one. The game play itself is nothing newI just finished Tomb Raider and felt like I had to write something about the game as I feel I disagree with a lot of the gaming websites positive reviews. My experience was really all over the place with Tomb Raider, I felt the game had little to no identity of its own. Tomb Raider is like playing Uncharted, Assassins Creed & Arkham City all in one. The game play itself is nothing new although there can still be a few fun moments in this game. Raking up head shots with the bow and arrow was a highlight, I used this for the majority of the game and found some of the other weapon options fairly pointless until very late in the game. Being a big fan of the both Tomb Raider and the Uncharted series I was really excited for the release of this game and it was disappointing that for the majority of the game I felt like I just wanted it to be over. Unfortunately they made Lara a whining cry baby who moans and makes painful noises when you do basically about anything in this game, apparently this is to show her emotional side and her struggle but instead just gets really annoying. Tomb Raider has a dull story line filled with unmemorable characters who add no substance to the experience what so ever. The majority of the characters are only introduced to you for a few seconds leaving you with no attachment or understanding of their characters at all. So when one dies, you seriously couldn't care less. Another thing that irritated me with this game is Lara’s face… It may as well have had no eyes or mouth on it at all, it remains plain and expressionless for the entire game and any close ups leave you wondering why they didn't put more detail into the main character.

    It may sound like it but I didn't really have that bad a time with this game, I just wish they had put more emphasis on the storyline, It just left me feeling like I wasn't doing anything with purpose in the game and instead was just jumping around from ledge to ledge picking up bits of wood to upgrade my weapons. If you are however into picking up lots of useless stuff in games, this one is for you. The tomb puzzles were fun but could have been a bit more complicated and longer.

    Again I just felt like the game was lacking its own identity, I can see how people would enjoy this game but it just wasn't for me. If you can borrow it over buying, I’d go for that option.
    Expand
  25. Mar 18, 2013
    6
    This Game really brought me back to the older games with the bizarre Story line, but they defiinitely have taken the tomb out of the raider, there was just a sheer lack of them old tomb experiences which we all experienced in the previous games
  26. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    Tomb Raider doesn't take any risks, and the story failed to draw me in, but the varied gameplay that mixes exploring, puzzle solving, and action was enough to keep me hooked. Worth a rental, at the very least.
  27. Mar 21, 2013
    7
    The new TR is a fast paced, polished AAA title that's very enjoyable. Sure it's a change from the original TR games but it's an origin story so it's supposed to be different. The combat is fun and the bow is a cracker. My only complaints would be the puzzles and bosses are a little too easy and there is no challenge in the climbing sections. Best played on hard.
  28. Mar 27, 2013
    6
    By now we’ve learned to ignore the hype about up-and-coming games, no matter how much we want to believe that they are going to be the greatest thing we’ve ever played.
    As an ardent Tomb Raider fan who’s played them all since 1996 (and that one I’ve played I and II and over and I’m still playing) I really, really hoped it was going to live up to that hype. After all it had received
    By now we’ve learned to ignore the hype about up-and-coming games, no matter how much we want to believe that they are going to be the greatest thing we’ve ever played.
    As an ardent Tomb Raider fan who’s played them all since 1996 (and that one I’ve played I and II and over and I’m still playing) I really, really hoped it was going to live up to that hype. After all it had received numerous awards at the E3, although I’ve never really understood what rating an unfinished game is all about.
    The first hour of play felt like a straightforward 3rd person shooter with top-notch graphics yet irritating characterisation and lousy voice acting. There was also the issue of QTE scenes wiggle stick, mash button, escape bad guy etc. I thought ‘OK this is the first hour, they have to move the narrative along, get us onto the island and start exploring,’ besides, the cut scenes were pretty enough. Just as long as they didn’t overpower the rest of the game...
    And then you arrive on the island and take control of Lara for real. It’s definitely one of the best-realized, amazing vistas you could wish for in a Tomb Raider; forests, sea, mountains, hilltop villages, huge imposing cliff faces… it all looks amazing and you just know that once you’ve got your teeth under the skin of it and started digging around that this will be the greatest Raider ever.
    And like so many things in life it’s the tantalizing expectation of what’s to come that is the real buzz. And that was true. As soon as I started to play in earnest the house of cards began to crumble. What began was one of the most linear, blatant, hand-held, easy and disappointing games I’ve played.
    The QTE scenes kept on coming admittedly often to link ‘levels’ together but they seemed to be there all the time.
    If you cherished the puzzles in any previous Tomb Raiders be warned: they are virtually optional in the 2013 incarnation. As are the tombs.
    Yep, the tombs themselves are optional –and to call them tombs (and indeed to call this Tomb Raider) is deceptive.
    This is an out-and-out action title with really, really nice scenery. Lots of shooting with the emphasis on, er, more shooting. The option to employ strategy (what weapons to choose) is largely negligible and the other option being stealth unless blatantly directed otherwise -is usually redundant.
    You are given paths through the mountains, a forest, a shantytown, caves and everything else you would expect loads of potential but it is just one cutscene followed by a shootout with more and more waves of goons and then the music stops and it all goes quiet. You restock ammo, mooch about a bit and then move towards the next cutscene for more of the same.
    What is left over after you deduct what has ironically been stolen from the Unchartered series (which itself owes much to Lara’s earlier outings) is little worth talking about. In fact, where I’d previously thought of Nathan Drake’s trilogy as a kind of Tomb Raider Lite, I now found myself hankering after some of Nathan and Sully’s wit as opposed to the mithering displayed by Croft & co in this outing.
    The plot in Tomb Raider 2013 is, well, OK but are we really supposed to care about the fortunes of a bunch of potty-mouthed numpties who’ve crashed their boat (seriously, swears in a Tomb Raider?)? No, we are concerned about the fortunes of Lara Croft raiding tombs is a very personal thing right? And to keep dragging the narrative back to the cast of Dawson’s Creek with all their various issues was distracting and tiresome. I quickly found the voice acting for Lara really irritating as well, with her wistful gravelly ‘it’s so sad’ waffle every time she discovered a Japanese cup in a shed.
    And, man, was there a lot of Japanese trinket discovery to be had, yet despite my earlier whingeing about no exploring, all of the discoveries in the game felt so easy and contrived. They were in crates clearly visible most of the time and who cares anyway? There were so many, and with zero consequence. It didn’t really add to anything unless you found a weapon part or a bit more salvage to enable you to upgrade your weapons. And because the combat was so easy, who gives a it all seemed so superfluous. That really sums a lot of Tomb Raider up apart from the clearly discoverable hidden tomb section, I cannot think of anywhere that I actually had to consider my next move. It was painfully simple if it had been called ‘Boat Crashed Chumps in Trouble’, it would have been a graphically superior, decent enough action title 8/10 for sure.
    But this is supposed to be Tomb Raider. It has all the right ingredients- big, mysterious island, Lost (tv series) vibe, great graphics, finally a decent control system including decent combat controls etc so why does it leave me so cold?
    Expand
  29. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    Overall a great game. As pointed out by a previous reviewer it is a little heavy on the women empowerment subscript (no female enemies esp). It makes up for that in truly amazing and heart pounding moments.
  30. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    This game was a let down for me but it still was fun. In tomb raider i could not care less about any other character except lara the game play got repetitive and there are way to many quick time events that i wish did not exist in the first place but besides that Tomb Raider is a solid game with fun puzzles platforming mediocre shooting and amazing story and voice acting
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    90
    This reboot of the series not only surpassed my expectations, but it is easily one of the best games I have played in a long time. If you're like me and love story driven games that offer a great gaming experience then Tomb Raider is definitely for you.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 3, 2013
    90
    There’s no denying Tomb Raider is a heavily influenced work, both mechanically and aesthetically (its nods to Neil Marshall’s The Descent are so happy to be there at one point Lara even re-enacts the “girlrising-out-of-sea-of-blood” scene). While it offers nothing wholly original, its salvaged parts combine to produce an experience that is consistently better than anything its own heroes have produced. [April 2013, p70]
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    Despite occasional dissonance between narrative and game mechanics, Tomb Raider is a highly polished, highly accomplished reboot. Kudos, Crystal Dynamics. [Issue#235]