Tomb Raider PlayStation 3

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1280 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    5
    First there was the original Tomb Raider with kinda scary atmosphere and enemies clever and somewhat challenging puzzles and jumping sections and overall interesting gameplay, it gradually went to and then Uncharted appeared taking large portions of the original Tomb Raider assets and dumbing them down for the wider audience. So its not so weird that the new Tomb Raider game with itsFirst there was the original Tomb Raider with kinda scary atmosphere and enemies clever and somewhat challenging puzzles and jumping sections and overall interesting gameplay, it gradually went to and then Uncharted appeared taking large portions of the original Tomb Raider assets and dumbing them down for the wider audience. So its not so weird that the new Tomb Raider game with its overblown budget that was supposed to appeal to that wide audience looks and plays so much like Uncharted and it not a surprise that it is overhyped generic linear spectacle with a female heroine that has a fit about killing one poor dear but doesn't mind killing hundreds of people, effectively throwing her supposedly dramatic character arc out of the window. And where did she even learn to shoot in the first place? Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2015
    6
    I've just finished the game, and i realized my expectations where too high, the A.I. is dumb as hell and there is so little exploration for a game about... Exploration, the game play is just ok, but it feel like it was imported from a template, is very generic. To be honest i didn't like the original tomb raider from the ps1 and i never finished (or played more that a couple of hours) anyI've just finished the game, and i realized my expectations where too high, the A.I. is dumb as hell and there is so little exploration for a game about... Exploration, the game play is just ok, but it feel like it was imported from a template, is very generic. To be honest i didn't like the original tomb raider from the ps1 and i never finished (or played more that a couple of hours) any game of the series, but this was so "whatever", it's not the game i expected. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2014
    7
    Even though I don't agree with some of the big scores for Tomb Raider I felt it was a nice experience. Although the playing online was not the best I kept playing do to the pretty good story they had in the campaign. Although the main reason I felt it was not that amazing was (in my opinion) the game play did not feel smooth and the gun play felt like a peashooter even though they wereEven though I don't agree with some of the big scores for Tomb Raider I felt it was a nice experience. Although the playing online was not the best I kept playing do to the pretty good story they had in the campaign. Although the main reason I felt it was not that amazing was (in my opinion) the game play did not feel smooth and the gun play felt like a peashooter even though they were weapons that were made on the spot. The game play never felt satisfying to me enough. The leveling system never appealed to me and felt lopsided to specific skills instead of exploring new tactics. If you like the IP of Tomb Raider then I do recommend buying it for PS4 or the cheaper last gen console version or just wait for the sequel to released. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2014
    7
    I wanted to like this game a little bit more, I really wanted, but something in this game doesn't "click" with me. Amazing graphics, amazing atmosphere, amazing voice acting and amazing soundtrack. The gameplay also is vastly improved from previous games. The logical puzzles are far more easy to figure out, but there's too much shooting and too little exploration or jumping puzzles. AndI wanted to like this game a little bit more, I really wanted, but something in this game doesn't "click" with me. Amazing graphics, amazing atmosphere, amazing voice acting and amazing soundtrack. The gameplay also is vastly improved from previous games. The logical puzzles are far more easy to figure out, but there's too much shooting and too little exploration or jumping puzzles. And the story, although gritty, it just feels... bland. The characters are empty, with the exception of Lara. The campaign is too short and the multiplayer is BORING. No way it's a bad game, it's just... not exactly there. It wants to be so much more, but it falls short. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2014
    7
    The story leaves much to be desired.

    The combat forces you to play a certain way or you will die.

    The voice acting is quite bad.

    It looks good and feels good but that's not enough for me.
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    I just finished Tomb Raider and felt like I had to write something about the game as I feel I disagree with a lot of the gaming websites positive reviews. My experience was really all over the place with Tomb Raider, I felt the game had little to no identity of its own. Tomb Raider is like playing Uncharted, Assassins Creed & Arkham City all in one. The game play itself is nothing newI just finished Tomb Raider and felt like I had to write something about the game as I feel I disagree with a lot of the gaming websites positive reviews. My experience was really all over the place with Tomb Raider, I felt the game had little to no identity of its own. Tomb Raider is like playing Uncharted, Assassins Creed & Arkham City all in one. The game play itself is nothing new although there can still be a few fun moments in this game. Raking up head shots with the bow and arrow was a highlight, I used this for the majority of the game and found some of the other weapon options fairly pointless until very late in the game. Being a big fan of the both Tomb Raider and the Uncharted series I was really excited for the release of this game and it was disappointing that for the majority of the game I felt like I just wanted it to be over. Unfortunately they made Lara a whining cry baby who moans and makes painful noises when you do basically about anything in this game, apparently this is to show her emotional side and her struggle but instead just gets really annoying. Tomb Raider has a dull story line filled with unmemorable characters who add no substance to the experience what so ever. The majority of the characters are only introduced to you for a few seconds leaving you with no attachment or understanding of their characters at all. So when one dies, you seriously couldn't care less. Another thing that irritated me with this game is Lara’s face… It may as well have had no eyes or mouth on it at all, it remains plain and expressionless for the entire game and any close ups leave you wondering why they didn't put more detail into the main character.

    It may sound like it but I didn't really have that bad a time with this game, I just wish they had put more emphasis on the storyline, It just left me feeling like I wasn't doing anything with purpose in the game and instead was just jumping around from ledge to ledge picking up bits of wood to upgrade my weapons. If you are however into picking up lots of useless stuff in games, this one is for you. The tomb puzzles were fun but could have been a bit more complicated and longer.

    Again I just felt like the game was lacking its own identity, I can see how people would enjoy this game but it just wasn't for me. If you can borrow it over buying, I’d go for that option.
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    Tomb Raider shows off its team's technical strengths and provides adequate gameplay. Every single point of my review goes toward the craftsmanship involved, which left the same sort of impression on me as a sturdy wooden chair or endtable. It has shape, polish, and function, and fits right in with the other well-constructed action games of its ilk. But then, it gets weird. It gets really,Tomb Raider shows off its team's technical strengths and provides adequate gameplay. Every single point of my review goes toward the craftsmanship involved, which left the same sort of impression on me as a sturdy wooden chair or endtable. It has shape, polish, and function, and fits right in with the other well-constructed action games of its ilk. But then, it gets weird. It gets really, really weird. It gets weird enough to knock off more points than a videogame story should/ Not since Lifetime's worst-rated films have I cringed through such uncomfortable, pedantic, pandering female-empowerment-exploitation schlock. Not content with mediocrity, the plot clashes against its gameplay, employing torture porn and revenge-killings as the only means of character development. Lara Croft, a plucky young girl on an innocent adventure, has to shoot through hundreds of specifically male strangers to grow into a strong woman, yelping like a pornstar every minute of the way as she's beaten, stabbed, eviscerated, crushed, drowned, shot, impaled, burned alive, eaten, gored, and otherwise violated by everything. Thanks to the genre setpieces, Lara seems to like these beatings so much that she goes out of her way to get more, crossing deadly terrain when everyone else clearly uses safer means. She stops her bizarre thrill-slaughter only long enough to whimper her insecurities and angst over piles of dead bodies. This wannabe blockbuster script slathers itself greasily on top of a standard yet solid game, deforming Tomb Raider into a jarring, uneven, and unsettling experience. Just don't. Expand
  8. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    Highly overrated game. It's just a poor mans uncharted. Graphics are stunning, and for the first hour or so the game play is fairly enjoyable. But then it's just Lara vs about 20 guys over and over, with the developers seemingly running out of creative ideas for these set pieces other than throw in a couple more baddies or giving them better weapons. The strategy is same and repetitiveHighly overrated game. It's just a poor mans uncharted. Graphics are stunning, and for the first hour or so the game play is fairly enjoyable. But then it's just Lara vs about 20 guys over and over, with the developers seemingly running out of creative ideas for these set pieces other than throw in a couple more baddies or giving them better weapons. The strategy is same and repetitive through out, little to no variation of how to approach each set piece. Bravo to those that finished the game, because boredom sets in about a third of the way through when puzzles and platforming become minimal and replaced with mind numbing boring duck and cover shooting that has been done to death on this generation of consoles. Expand
  9. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    I should point out before I start that my score is lower for this game then I expected it to be. I had high expectations since the critic reviews for this game were so positive and unfortunately, I feel a bit let down. This game is very good but I just didn't enjoy it as much as many did. Firstly, I feel like it is too similar to Uncharted. There are action set pieces everywhere, youI should point out before I start that my score is lower for this game then I expected it to be. I had high expectations since the critic reviews for this game were so positive and unfortunately, I feel a bit let down. This game is very good but I just didn't enjoy it as much as many did. Firstly, I feel like it is too similar to Uncharted. There are action set pieces everywhere, you slaughter more enemies then you could possibly count and there is even a supernatural element. Perhaps I was comparing it to Uncharted too much but I think the similarities are too frequent and obvious to be ignored. Lara and Drake are extremely similar, they both have a superhuman jump length, both are capable of taking extreme pain and both are capable of taking on 100s of enemies. The difference is that whereas Uncharted is more lighthearted and fun, Tomb Raider is being much darker and serious which I think lets it down. I could love Uncharted for all of its flaws because it doesn't take itself too seriously., one of these being pain tolerance. Lara goes through hell in the first 5 minutes of the game after surviving a shipwreck, fire, being impaled, attacked by animals and numerous falls but I can't accept this like a could in Uncharted because one of the main plot points is about Lara becoming a survivor on this island. The island made her stronger emotionally yes, but when trying to tell a mature story with someone who is almost invulnerable from the start who should be dead, it becomes difficult to accept.

    The gameplay itself is fine though, with lots of variety, weapon upgrades and really fun puzzles. I just think that It doesn't suit the story well, or more the story doesn't suit the gameplay well.
    Expand
  10. May 25, 2013
    5
    This game might have it´s moments but so does Unchartad which is much better in my opinion. Tomb Raider has stolen so much game mechanics and level design from Uncharted you could think it´s the same series. How can the reviewers miss that it´s obvious if they ever bothered to play Uncharted.
  11. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    It's Uncharted with a girl. Which could be fine --unless you were looking forward to raiding tombs. Fans of quicktime events and enemies to gun-down are in for a treat. (for a "girl-becomes-a-women" origins-shtick, she sure murders a lot). Now, If you wanted to solve puzzles and again raid-tombs, then well...
  12. Mar 18, 2013
    6
    This Game really brought me back to the older games with the bizarre Story line, but they defiinitely have taken the tomb out of the raider, there was just a sheer lack of them old tomb experiences which we all experienced in the previous games
  13. Mar 9, 2013
    5
    Tomb Raider is indicative of modern gaming these days, and while that in itself is hardly a criticism, it does commit the same glaring and obvious issues as games from this generation. For instance: (a) Too much focus on quick time events. (b) Simplistic puzzles (Puzzles were a halmark of the the first Tomb Raider games, yet here... they're simple and merely a time-sink) (c) Less emphasisTomb Raider is indicative of modern gaming these days, and while that in itself is hardly a criticism, it does commit the same glaring and obvious issues as games from this generation. For instance: (a) Too much focus on quick time events. (b) Simplistic puzzles (Puzzles were a halmark of the the first Tomb Raider games, yet here... they're simple and merely a time-sink) (c) Less emphasis on exploration and tomb raiding (d) cardboard characters and one dimensional villains (can we please move away from this lazy writing) (e) lazy writing. Expand
  14. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    To start this off, I've never played any Tomb Raider game before, nor do I really enjoy games like it. But this game was just a bore. Lara was just a terrible character, never before have I not cared so much about a MC. It seems like she goes out of her way to get injured by something that could be easily avoided. Several times through out the game she has a chance to kill theTo start this off, I've never played any Tomb Raider game before, nor do I really enjoy games like it. But this game was just a bore. Lara was just a terrible character, never before have I not cared so much about a MC. It seems like she goes out of her way to get injured by something that could be easily avoided. Several times through out the game she has a chance to kill the antagonist, but she doesn't. This may be because it's a video game, but she doesn't even attempt to do it. She also moves like a snail whenever going through almost any dark area which gets very annoying. The gameplay was alright at best. I was playing on hard, but nothing could kill me besides enemies with machine guns. The enemies with machine guns were only annoying because they had the ability to stun lock you. Every other enemy posed almost no threat to you. The upgrade system was okay, all you really needed to upgrade was the machine gun and the bow because they were vastly superior to any other weapon. The multiplayer wasn't great, though I only played around 5 rounds of it. They include collectibles in the game which are near impossible to miss since you have bat-man vision which highlights them through walls if you get a certain upgrade. Tombs weren't very fun to explore since Lara moves at an unbearable speed to get into and out of them. There is no challenge in this game at all. The puzzles are all incredibly easy, almost disappointing. Overall, this game is okay. It's bearable if you don't pay attention to the story at all. This game isn't worth the $60, but it is a nice time-waster so it'd be decent to rent. Expand
  15. Jun 21, 2013
    6
    Wants to be Uncharted so bad it's gelling it's hair and making (horrible) attempts at wise cracking jokes all the while failing to realize that no-one is gonna out do Naughty Dog at making an Uncharted game. Not a horrible game but it's not really good either. I kept getting lost, story was lackluster, didn't give two about the one dimensional characters (including Lara) and the combatWants to be Uncharted so bad it's gelling it's hair and making (horrible) attempts at wise cracking jokes all the while failing to realize that no-one is gonna out do Naughty Dog at making an Uncharted game. Not a horrible game but it's not really good either. I kept getting lost, story was lackluster, didn't give two about the one dimensional characters (including Lara) and the combat was soooo basic. The graphics are nice though, I'll give it that. Expand
  16. Mar 6, 2013
    5
    The storyline of this game is quite interesting. Especially at the beginning of the game, when you are crawling through some tunnels, the skulls of dead people are laying around, creepy stuff brings excitement. The idea of upgrading weapons and skills is also quite good. The speed of the game is high, so when you are playing the main story, you shouldn't get bored. Shooting is quiteThe storyline of this game is quite interesting. Especially at the beginning of the game, when you are crawling through some tunnels, the skulls of dead people are laying around, creepy stuff brings excitement. The idea of upgrading weapons and skills is also quite good. The speed of the game is high, so when you are playing the main story, you shouldn't get bored. Shooting is quite interesting, well made and sometimes hard. Graphics are amazing, all the details are astonishing and well implemented in to the game. And that is it. Now the bad... The game has to many cutscenes. There is no freedom of your movements. Lara croft slows down the tempo any time she wants, she starts to crawl when there's enemy nearby and so on and so fourth. The game is very short!!! It took me 4 or 5 hours to complete the main story!!! Seriously? Even in tomb raider: legends you had to spend more time in order to complete the game (which was the shortest game of all). Also, talking about main story, all you have to do is go ahead. I mean Lara doesn't do anything special, she just goes front and everything is exploding and somehow she survives. In previous games, even in the legend you had to do something special, or to scout the area, now you are just going straight ahead, shooting guys, Of course there are some puzzles, but basically it's a joke. Now! WHERE IS WATER? Why Lara Croft dies when she hits water? Tomb raider underworld had great missions in the water. This is a game for people who haven't played tomb raider, but the true fan will be definitely disappointed. P.S Tomb raider: the last Revelation (tomb raider 4). it took me a month to complete. That was a huge adventure and when I completed the game, I was really proud of myself. I don't understand why the games like: assassin's creed 3, tomb raider, became so short and so easy... With no puzzles or thinking. Brainless stupid adventures. Very disappointed. I give 5 only because of storyline, graphics, and the tempo of the game. Expand
  17. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    If you were to were to watch just the shooting segments, it's a clone of Uncharted (just with more brutal ways to kill). Though the game does not play like third-person shooter, there's far more exploration, platforming, and quiet moments to take in. The tombs are rather sparse and very easy, but the open world hubs can be challenging. They are very busy with lots of things to do andIf you were to were to watch just the shooting segments, it's a clone of Uncharted (just with more brutal ways to kill). Though the game does not play like third-person shooter, there's far more exploration, platforming, and quiet moments to take in. The tombs are rather sparse and very easy, but the open world hubs can be challenging. They are very busy with lots of things to do and places to explore, so they are not at all linear. They story is not awful, but it's nothing to get excited over; it's pretty basic. The gear items and the RPG system is fun, they make for a more tailored experience.
    ---
    There's many places to use your rope arrows to create zip lines or pull movable objects, blast barricades with your shotgun to access new areas, use the climbing axe to scale cliff faces, and things to set on fire for items or XP, etc.
    ---
    If you rush through just the story missions, then it will be a short game. If you take breaks to discover new areas and search for items in the expansive hubs, then it might take you about 20-25 hours to get a 100% completion for the single player (including beating the story).
    ---
    It's a great game. For being a AAA title, it's very fulfilling without being too cinematic (like Uncharted) and strikes a nice balance between a mainstream game and a classic Tomb Raider title.
    Expand
  18. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    It freezed on me at the beginning (when Lara climbed an airplane)...
    I am scared to go further and face another freez...
    HATE GAMES THAT FREEZES ON ME

    but its Tomb Raider game, and I love Lara...
  19. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    Tomb raider is not bad at all, it looks amazing and the gameplay is good even if it adopts the duck and cover approach to gaming. Lara our well known heroine is taken back to her youth and the game shows here progression into a hardened explorer, but this progression isn't as good as Far Cry 3. Unfortunately this game loses that Tomb Raider feel. With the introduction of Lara's 'spiderTomb raider is not bad at all, it looks amazing and the gameplay is good even if it adopts the duck and cover approach to gaming. Lara our well known heroine is taken back to her youth and the game shows here progression into a hardened explorer, but this progression isn't as good as Far Cry 3. Unfortunately this game loses that Tomb Raider feel. With the introduction of Lara's 'spider sense' it took all the frustration and anger I had for all the other Tomb Raiders and I missed it! In previous games you could sometimes be stuck in one room for hours trying to work out how the hell to get out, in this installation your lucky to spend more than 5 minutes in one of the well created stunning rooms or section and I feel it's a shame. I understand that they are trying to take the games in a new direction but why? We have games like this but we don't have games like the old tomb raiders, there was that lack of "what the hell" no levels where there is a random dinosaur or visiting area 51 this game is taking itself a little but too serious. I remember playing Tomb Raider underworld, the first level you started and underwater and just had to work it out, Tomb Raider like many modern games hold you by the had and make sure you can't possibly make a mistake and that's unfortunate I feel compelled to blame modern games but I will try not to (even though I kinda have), the creators have perhaps been playing to much drake? Over all good solid game but bring back more puzzles and perhaps dinosaurs? Expand
  20. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    Good game overall with a few details keeping it from being a great game. Compared to the tomb raiders of yore, this feels like the How-to-be-Lara version. Your hand is held through the majority of the game, whether it's the prompt style combat or the 1-2-3 puzzles. I remember getting stumped so bad in previous tomb raiders, that I would give up in frustration. After conversing with my nerdGood game overall with a few details keeping it from being a great game. Compared to the tomb raiders of yore, this feels like the How-to-be-Lara version. Your hand is held through the majority of the game, whether it's the prompt style combat or the 1-2-3 puzzles. I remember getting stumped so bad in previous tomb raiders, that I would give up in frustration. After conversing with my nerd friends, (back then I rarely did the online cheat thing dial-up in the projects...) I would eventually come back with a solution, feeling good that I met the challenge. The story mixed with hidden documents found all over the island I have to admit kept me on edge. I kept doing the scooby-doo-murder-mystery thing, accusing everybody of being a bad guy in disguise, lol. Lara's character acting screams noobie Croft I loved it perfect for her origin story. Sadly, the other characters were less compelling.

    Not sure about replay value multiplayer? I'm uncomfortable with this. Past experiences with single player games all of a sudden going multi were never good ones... Let's see: Fable III, GTA IV, ME3 (omgwhy?T_T@#%%$)... This is not the Tomb Raider I was expecting but, I'm satisfied.
    Expand
  21. Mar 21, 2013
    7
    The new TR is a fast paced, polished AAA title that's very enjoyable. Sure it's a change from the original TR games but it's an origin story so it's supposed to be different. The combat is fun and the bow is a cracker. My only complaints would be the puzzles and bosses are a little too easy and there is no challenge in the climbing sections. Best played on hard.
  22. Mar 27, 2013
    6
    By now we’ve learned to ignore the hype about up-and-coming games, no matter how much we want to believe that they are going to be the greatest thing we’ve ever played.
    As an ardent Tomb Raider fan who’s played them all since 1996 (and that one I’ve played I and II and over and I’m still playing) I really, really hoped it was going to live up to that hype. After all it had received
    By now we’ve learned to ignore the hype about up-and-coming games, no matter how much we want to believe that they are going to be the greatest thing we’ve ever played.
    As an ardent Tomb Raider fan who’s played them all since 1996 (and that one I’ve played I and II and over and I’m still playing) I really, really hoped it was going to live up to that hype. After all it had received numerous awards at the E3, although I’ve never really understood what rating an unfinished game is all about.
    The first hour of play felt like a straightforward 3rd person shooter with top-notch graphics yet irritating characterisation and lousy voice acting. There was also the issue of QTE scenes wiggle stick, mash button, escape bad guy etc. I thought ‘OK this is the first hour, they have to move the narrative along, get us onto the island and start exploring,’ besides, the cut scenes were pretty enough. Just as long as they didn’t overpower the rest of the game...
    And then you arrive on the island and take control of Lara for real. It’s definitely one of the best-realized, amazing vistas you could wish for in a Tomb Raider; forests, sea, mountains, hilltop villages, huge imposing cliff faces… it all looks amazing and you just know that once you’ve got your teeth under the skin of it and started digging around that this will be the greatest Raider ever.
    And like so many things in life it’s the tantalizing expectation of what’s to come that is the real buzz. And that was true. As soon as I started to play in earnest the house of cards began to crumble. What began was one of the most linear, blatant, hand-held, easy and disappointing games I’ve played.
    The QTE scenes kept on coming admittedly often to link ‘levels’ together but they seemed to be there all the time.
    If you cherished the puzzles in any previous Tomb Raiders be warned: they are virtually optional in the 2013 incarnation. As are the tombs.
    Yep, the tombs themselves are optional –and to call them tombs (and indeed to call this Tomb Raider) is deceptive.
    This is an out-and-out action title with really, really nice scenery. Lots of shooting with the emphasis on, er, more shooting. The option to employ strategy (what weapons to choose) is largely negligible and the other option being stealth unless blatantly directed otherwise -is usually redundant.
    You are given paths through the mountains, a forest, a shantytown, caves and everything else you would expect loads of potential but it is just one cutscene followed by a shootout with more and more waves of goons and then the music stops and it all goes quiet. You restock ammo, mooch about a bit and then move towards the next cutscene for more of the same.
    What is left over after you deduct what has ironically been stolen from the Unchartered series (which itself owes much to Lara’s earlier outings) is little worth talking about. In fact, where I’d previously thought of Nathan Drake’s trilogy as a kind of Tomb Raider Lite, I now found myself hankering after some of Nathan and Sully’s wit as opposed to the mithering displayed by Croft & co in this outing.
    The plot in Tomb Raider 2013 is, well, OK but are we really supposed to care about the fortunes of a bunch of potty-mouthed numpties who’ve crashed their boat (seriously, swears in a Tomb Raider?)? No, we are concerned about the fortunes of Lara Croft raiding tombs is a very personal thing right? And to keep dragging the narrative back to the cast of Dawson’s Creek with all their various issues was distracting and tiresome. I quickly found the voice acting for Lara really irritating as well, with her wistful gravelly ‘it’s so sad’ waffle every time she discovered a Japanese cup in a shed.
    And, man, was there a lot of Japanese trinket discovery to be had, yet despite my earlier whingeing about no exploring, all of the discoveries in the game felt so easy and contrived. They were in crates clearly visible most of the time and who cares anyway? There were so many, and with zero consequence. It didn’t really add to anything unless you found a weapon part or a bit more salvage to enable you to upgrade your weapons. And because the combat was so easy, who gives a it all seemed so superfluous. That really sums a lot of Tomb Raider up apart from the clearly discoverable hidden tomb section, I cannot think of anywhere that I actually had to consider my next move. It was painfully simple if it had been called ‘Boat Crashed Chumps in Trouble’, it would have been a graphically superior, decent enough action title 8/10 for sure.
    But this is supposed to be Tomb Raider. It has all the right ingredients- big, mysterious island, Lost (tv series) vibe, great graphics, finally a decent control system including decent combat controls etc so why does it leave me so cold?
    Expand
  23. Apr 3, 2013
    5
    This game is alright but not that good, that's really all I can say about this game. Great graphics, great gameplay the WORST multiplayer on this planet! What the hell Square Enix
  24. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    mo um fã de Uncharted die-hard eu posso facilmente dizer que este jogo um jogo a ter em conta e para se vangloriar. Crystal Dynamics tem feito um grande trabalho em termos de narrativa e, especialmente, gameplay, com o arco e flecha de ser um prazer de usar. a vez da Naughty Dog agora, espero que se eles liberam Uncharted 4 terão a Tomb Raider normal ter de topo.
  25. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    I was really enjoying this until a part where I had to fight my way through a rusted shanty town near a downed helocopter.Then the game devolved into a standard 3rd person shooter for a while with waves of enemies(on a lost and oh so mysterious isle)and it all went downhill from there and I lost interest within the hour.Maybe it returned to the high points of the adventure but I'll never know.
  26. Jul 24, 2013
    7
    Lara Croft is back and with her a lot of dismembering, assaulting and fighting. This game has no balance whatsoever between exploration and fighting sessions. All elements are pretty well done, but they don't mix the right way.
    What is left is an uncanny experience that could have been much better with a little tweaking. This reboot is an easy game with some exploring, a lot of shooting
    Lara Croft is back and with her a lot of dismembering, assaulting and fighting. This game has no balance whatsoever between exploration and fighting sessions. All elements are pretty well done, but they don't mix the right way.
    What is left is an uncanny experience that could have been much better with a little tweaking. This reboot is an easy game with some exploring, a lot of shooting and some of the most recognizable graphics of this generation.
    You'll have fun playing it, that's for sure, but you could end up wondering what might have been. And that would have been easy to achieve with a more careful treatment of combat sections.
    Expand
  27. Apr 4, 2013
    7
    This game has so many explosions you would think you were watching a Michael Bay film. I'll let you decide if that is a good thing or not. This particular Tomb Raider puts exploration on that back burner and focuses on cinematic set pieces full of daring jumps and big explosions. While everything is executed very well, I miss those exploration elements that cause you to stop and think.This game has so many explosions you would think you were watching a Michael Bay film. I'll let you decide if that is a good thing or not. This particular Tomb Raider puts exploration on that back burner and focuses on cinematic set pieces full of daring jumps and big explosions. While everything is executed very well, I miss those exploration elements that cause you to stop and think. They do present themselves a few times but these moments are rare. The combat is enjoyable and better than any previous Tomb Raider but still starts to wear thin about half way through the game. Even with the generic combat and lack of exploration, the interesting story and strong visuals should be enough to keep you playing through to the end. Expand
  28. Apr 27, 2013
    6
    Where I to judge this game solely on the single player, I would say this: Tomb Raider 2013 is a worthy prequel to both the character and the series. Sadly, the multiplayer mode hangs around this game's neck like a rotting albatross, and it has tarnished my lasting opinion of the title.

    My advice to you all is not to touch the multiplayer unless you are desperate to get the Platinum;
    Where I to judge this game solely on the single player, I would say this: Tomb Raider 2013 is a worthy prequel to both the character and the series. Sadly, the multiplayer mode hangs around this game's neck like a rotting albatross, and it has tarnished my lasting opinion of the title.

    My advice to you all is not to touch the multiplayer unless you are desperate to get the Platinum; this is a single player game, and you should treat it as such.

    On the merits of the single player, there are plenty. The combat is satisfying, the exploration is fun, the puzzles and platforming are challenging enough without feeling unfair or frustrating. Lara's character development is quite difficult to watch sometimes, but it feels good to see her grow into this tough, warrior-adventurer heroine.

    Tomb Raider 2013 is a must-buy for any Tomb Raider fan who has been left feeling lacklustre after Underworld and its ilk. For people new to the franchise it could be a good starting point. It's just a shame they wasted so much time and effort on that crappy multiplayer; without that, I'd likely give the game a 7 or 8.
    Expand
  29. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    Enjoyable and over-the-top take on the Tomb Raider franchise, essentially taking the mechanics of Uncharted and putting Lara Croft back into her rightful place as the poster-child for relic hunting in video-games. Final act is a highlight but the final boss is disappointing.
  30. Nov 13, 2016
    7
    It's not as spectacular as Uncharted. The optional puzzles tombs were small rooms with simple and straightforward crude tasks to "solve". For example there was a balance plank as one puzzle and it simply required the player to collect a few heavy objects to tip the balance. Most of the puzzles were like that.

    I did not encounter the classic dual pistols (Tomb Raider classic). I'm not
    It's not as spectacular as Uncharted. The optional puzzles tombs were small rooms with simple and straightforward crude tasks to "solve". For example there was a balance plank as one puzzle and it simply required the player to collect a few heavy objects to tip the balance. Most of the puzzles were like that.

    I did not encounter the classic dual pistols (Tomb Raider classic). I'm not even sure there were fights with animals like bears and wolves. Instead, the game copies Uncharted's gun fights, as if those were ever the positive feature in that game.

    Tomb Raider 2013's setting is mostly exciting because it uses a foreign culture to build something 'fantastic', but apart from the controls and the time spent between gun fights, the game feels very much 'on-rails' in an automatic continuation of Uncharted's adventures. With less spectacular levels and more focus on gameplay.

    The online multiplayer is inactive ('dead') and has a reputation for being tacked-on and mediocre.
    Expand
  31. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    I think people are becoming too liberal with 10/10 scores because if you've ever played a Tomb Raider game before, then you'll know that this is not it. The Tomb Raider of 2013 will be forever remembered for catering for the masses and giving the audience what they assume we want which in short are recycled broken game mechanics, set pieces, quick time events and shooting. There isI think people are becoming too liberal with 10/10 scores because if you've ever played a Tomb Raider game before, then you'll know that this is not it. The Tomb Raider of 2013 will be forever remembered for catering for the masses and giving the audience what they assume we want which in short are recycled broken game mechanics, set pieces, quick time events and shooting. There is nothing remotely satisfying about this game and considering how high the review scores have been, makes me wonder if they were really playing this at all. I have found absolutely no resemblance to anything positive they have mentioned in any review I've seen, with the exception of the graphics. Crystal Dynamics have previously done a stellar job of the series but now I think their creativity has been stunted and all we'll get from here on out is more hum drum Joe Bloggs bull ****

    http://whatispaulplaying.wordpress.com/2013/03/07/review-tomb-raider/#more-1197
    Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    90
    This reboot of the series not only surpassed my expectations, but it is easily one of the best games I have played in a long time. If you're like me and love story driven games that offer a great gaming experience then Tomb Raider is definitely for you.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 3, 2013
    90
    There’s no denying Tomb Raider is a heavily influenced work, both mechanically and aesthetically (its nods to Neil Marshall’s The Descent are so happy to be there at one point Lara even re-enacts the “girlrising-out-of-sea-of-blood” scene). While it offers nothing wholly original, its salvaged parts combine to produce an experience that is consistently better than anything its own heroes have produced. [April 2013, p70]
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    Despite occasional dissonance between narrative and game mechanics, Tomb Raider is a highly polished, highly accomplished reboot. Kudos, Crystal Dynamics. [Issue#235]