User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1149 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    As a die-hard Uncharted fan I can easily say that this game is a game to be reckoned with and to boast about. Crystal Dynamics has done a great job in terms of storytelling and especially gameplay, with the bow and arrow being a pleasure to use. It's Naughty Dog's turn now, hopefully if they release Uncharted 4 they will have the Tomb Raider standard to have to top.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is the new standard for tomb raider. The atmosphere is amazing. Great story so Far( i am 5 hours in) The gameplay is great. And for the first time in a long Time i truly care about lara. And if She lives or dies. The only cons are the multiplayer feels of uncharted lite. But the cover system is great. I love being as stealthy as I can be. I am very much looking forward for tombThis is the new standard for tomb raider. The atmosphere is amazing. Great story so Far( i am 5 hours in) The gameplay is great. And for the first time in a long Time i truly care about lara. And if She lives or dies. The only cons are the multiplayer feels of uncharted lite. But the cover system is great. I love being as stealthy as I can be. I am very much looking forward for tomb raider 2. lol. Don't let this one pass you by!!!! Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    I very much wanted to like this game. I remember playing the first TR game the day that it came out and being blown away by it. This, however, is not a Tomb Raider game. The closest and most succinct description that I can give is that it is Uncharted with breasts and XP. There's some exploration crack that's sprinkled on it, but for the most part here is the bulk of the gameplay:I very much wanted to like this game. I remember playing the first TR game the day that it came out and being blown away by it. This, however, is not a Tomb Raider game. The closest and most succinct description that I can give is that it is Uncharted with breasts and XP. There's some exploration crack that's sprinkled on it, but for the most part here is the bulk of the gameplay:

    Follow a linear path.
    Encounter a group of armed thugs and chest high walls.
    Kill aforementioned thugs.
    Loot.
    Rinse and repeat. The game is mostly set pieces and constantly holds your hand. It comes complete with a win button that you can use to get the game to tell you what to do in case you can't figure it out, which never happens anyway because the way the design is done it's basically got sign posts telling you exactly what to do at every point in the game. Also, I'm about 3/4 of the way through and there has been exactly zero swimming, which would make this the first TR game without swimming. It is also nowhere near as gritty as we were led to believe, nor do you ever really feel vulnerable. The cutscenes and voice acting are well-done generally, but outside of them it's boom headshot time. This isn't a Tomb Raider game. It's barely an action-adventure game. It's mostly just an action game, complete with a heavy melee unit that shows up right on cue. But, for an ACTION game, it's decent. It plays a lot like Spec Ops, but has a more interesting main character, platforming, a less interesting narrative, but better combat. It isn't an awful game. If you LOVED Uncharted, and you KINDA LINKED the previous Tomb Raiders, you might want to check this out. If you came looking for an honest-to-goodness reboot of the Lara Croft franchise, well then I'm afraid I've got bad news for you...
    Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    I should point out before I start that my score is lower for this game then I expected it to be. I had high expectations since the critic reviews for this game were so positive and unfortunately, I feel a bit let down. This game is very good but I just didn't enjoy it as much as many did. Firstly, I feel like it is too similar to Uncharted. There are action set pieces everywhere, youI should point out before I start that my score is lower for this game then I expected it to be. I had high expectations since the critic reviews for this game were so positive and unfortunately, I feel a bit let down. This game is very good but I just didn't enjoy it as much as many did. Firstly, I feel like it is too similar to Uncharted. There are action set pieces everywhere, you slaughter more enemies then you could possibly count and there is even a supernatural element. Perhaps I was comparing it to Uncharted too much but I think the similarities are too frequent and obvious to be ignored. Lara and Drake are extremely similar, they both have a superhuman jump length, both are capable of taking extreme pain and both are capable of taking on 100s of enemies. The difference is that whereas Uncharted is more lighthearted and fun, Tomb Raider is being much darker and serious which I think lets it down. I could love Uncharted for all of its flaws because it doesn't take itself too seriously., one of these being pain tolerance. Lara goes through hell in the first 5 minutes of the game after surviving a shipwreck, fire, being impaled, attacked by animals and numerous falls but I can't accept this like a could in Uncharted because one of the main plot points is about Lara becoming a survivor on this island. The island made her stronger emotionally yes, but when trying to tell a mature story with someone who is almost invulnerable from the start who should be dead, it becomes difficult to accept.

    The gameplay itself is fine though, with lots of variety, weapon upgrades and really fun puzzles. I just think that It doesn't suit the story well, or more the story doesn't suit the gameplay well.
    Expand
  5. May 25, 2013
    5
    This game might have it´s moments but so does Unchartad which is much better in my opinion. Tomb Raider has stolen so much game mechanics and level design from Uncharted you could think it´s the same series. How can the reviewers miss that it´s obvious if they ever bothered to play Uncharted.
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    5
    First there was the original Tomb Raider with kinda scary atmosphere and enemies clever and somewhat challenging puzzles and jumping sections and overall interesting gameplay, it gradually went to and then Uncharted appeared taking large portions of the original Tomb Raider assets and dumbing them down for the wider audience. So its not so weird that the new Tomb Raider game with itsFirst there was the original Tomb Raider with kinda scary atmosphere and enemies clever and somewhat challenging puzzles and jumping sections and overall interesting gameplay, it gradually went to and then Uncharted appeared taking large portions of the original Tomb Raider assets and dumbing them down for the wider audience. So its not so weird that the new Tomb Raider game with its overblown budget that was supposed to appeal to that wide audience looks and plays so much like Uncharted and it not a surprise that it is overhyped generic linear spectacle with a female heroine that has a fit about killing one poor dear but doesn't mind killing hundreds of people, effectively throwing her supposedly dramatic character arc out of the window. And where did she even learn to shoot in the first place? Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    Played this game for a good 4 hours now and i am left with this "meh" feeling. Probably not even going to finish it to be honest. Let me first say that the gameplay is decent for the most part and it has some impressive motion capturing going for it. The graphics and soundtrack are above market standards as well. And that is the best i can say about this game unfortunately.
    The "story",
    Played this game for a good 4 hours now and i am left with this "meh" feeling. Probably not even going to finish it to be honest. Let me first say that the gameplay is decent for the most part and it has some impressive motion capturing going for it. The graphics and soundtrack are above market standards as well. And that is the best i can say about this game unfortunately.
    The "story", if you can even call it that, is a complete dud written by what must be a pretentious high school drop out with a pen. Actually, it is almost insulting the way logic is challenged over and over. For example, Lara is cold, shivering etc, yet i cannot pick up a coat from one of the 30 guys i just murdered? It is full with crap like this, and it will get annoying fast. Heck, the game even starts this stupid by completely impaling Lara trough the gut with a rusty stake-like object, yet she is completely fine for the rest of the game??. And that is just one of the ridiculous injuries she sustained, more, even absurder injuries follow later. The supporting cast is completely forgettable and as two dimensional as rice paper. And then there is "Lara" (or Laura to some cast members who are supposedly her friends, yet cannot pronounce her name right). Lara is as Mary Sue as they come in. A pure cliche turd with a nice set of jugs and a good looking piece of ass, but not much else. Her voice actor is annoying to the point where you just want to turn the voice down altogether after an hour. OOOooh's and AAAaahh's aplenty, but not the kind you would expect from a person in painful survival mode, but rather from a person doing the voice overs in a pornographic film. They also tried to give Lara some humane personalty traits this time around, but it fails so miserably it enters comedy territory. For example, the first guy she shoots causes her to drop to her knees and yell something like "whyyyyyyy!!!!!" but it is done in such a amateur way you cannot help but laugh at this "emotional" performance. Actually, i am not even going to continue this review, it is simply bad. It has some good gameplay here and there (and some horrendous too, quick time events for the lose) so some fun can be had, but for me, a solid 4/10
    Expand
  8. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    I went into this hesitant, mainly because I wanted to see would Crystal Dynamics butcher this franchise, and they haven't! I've enjoyed this game tremendously and cannot wait to see where this series' future will head towards.But for those of you who wish to know why this is a beautiful, well-crafted game, I have compiled sections of mini reviews on each aspect of the game down below.I went into this hesitant, mainly because I wanted to see would Crystal Dynamics butcher this franchise, and they haven't! I've enjoyed this game tremendously and cannot wait to see where this series' future will head towards.But for those of you who wish to know why this is a beautiful, well-crafted game, I have compiled sections of mini reviews on each aspect of the game down below.

    Gameplay: 8/10

    This is where this game really hits it home.Lara begins her journey into survivor-hood with a basic bow and a couple of arrows, but over the course of the game she gets everything from a tactical pistol to a grenade launcher.These weapons can be upgraded giving the bow such things as napalm arrows, (Which do a nasty amount of damage!) but the upgrades come with a cost."Salvage" is your upgrading currency and can be found throughout the island, make sure to scavenge as much as this as you can, because you'll need it! Skill points play a major part in "upgrading Lara" as they allow her to gain cool new moves from the "Brawler" category of skills.These upgrades are done through means of attaining a set amount of xp from completing challenges, killing enemies and so on. Other neat additions to the gameplay is the climbing axe which allows you to traverse high cliffs, and the puzzles,(Albeit mediocre) found all over the island's secret tombs.The gameplay would've gotten a 10/10 from me but the inclusion of Quick-Time Events prevents that, they cause cheap deaths and really added nothing to the game, only detracted from it.

    Story:7.5/10

    For Crystal Dynamics to make Lara a compelling personality and true survivor, they needed an equally compelling story and true experience of a survivor. The trapping of Lara an her friends on an island in the Dragon's Triangle provides just that. Lara really feels like a human in this, when confronted in different situations such as saying sorry to the first deer she's killed to feeling full of sorrow after murdering another person. Seeing Lara undergo the change of an innocent woman, to a dual-wielding badass was truly amazing, although the pacing was quite quick.The motive pushing Lara on, is to rescue her friends from the ever mysterious Mathias and his following of cronies, and to escape from the island engulfed in madness.Lara is without a doubt, the most fleshed out character in the story and apart from Mathias, her best-friend Sam, and father-like figure to Lara, Roth, the supporting characters are essentially a bunch of stereotypes. This is definitely a game that does better in gameplay over story in my opinion.

    Graphics:8/10

    While the graphics aren't up to par with the console's best this gen "Uncharted 3", they're certainly very pretty. There was also no framerate issues with the game for me, which I was surprised with. The island provides elegant scenery with everything from the smallest plant, to the grand snowy cliffs, are done to a high detail. Graphics are usually a bonus to me anyway,they don't make a game in my opinion. So if you are one who favours nice graphics, you might want to give this game a try.

    Sound: 9/10

    Jason Graves certainly composed an excellent soundtrack for this game, and captures the emotions of each scene perfectly, but I felt no track in particular stood out. Each arrow fired, to the howling of wolves are all very crisp and sound life-like. All of this makes for a brilliant and immersive experience in my opinion.

    Overall: 8/10

    Solid campaign, unique gameplay, enough story to keep you enthralled in the game, the score is well done, but where the game really loses credit is the multiplayer. I admit that it is fun to an extent,incredibly inspired by the Uncharted series' multiplayer, but it feels lacklustre.I feel as if the game could've done just fine without it. but hey, I guess it adds some value to it! Amazing experience for me and I'd recommend it to anyone with a thirst for adventure.
    Expand
  9. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    For a game with so much hype surrounding character portrayal the supporting cast is weak. Sassy black chick serves as the critical voice to all the Lara’s concerns over the islands supernatural qualities. Cute Chinese girl functions as a plot device by being kidnapped like that guy who always disappears in The Hangover films. Large framed and even larger hearted Hawaiian guy keepsFor a game with so much hype surrounding character portrayal the supporting cast is weak. Sassy black chick serves as the critical voice to all the Lara’s concerns over the islands supernatural qualities. Cute Chinese girl functions as a plot device by being kidnapped like that guy who always disappears in The Hangover films. Large framed and even larger hearted Hawaiian guy keeps everyone’s spirits up while the island’s indigenous shower them all with fire based projectiles. The supporting cast is a too wide and nobody gets enough screen time or engaging dialogue to make a real presence, the main protagonist included. Lara isn’t well fleshed out either. She displays brief turmoil following her first kill, but she soon goes on to find new and outlandish ways to expose the inner craniums of hundreds more men without showing any further remorse or having the excuse of being drugged up to the eye balls like Far Cry 3’s Jason Brody. The writers attempt to book end the narrative with mournful references to her dead dad, but everything in between reads like the script of your average cookie cutter action flick.

    A lot of the narrative’s credibility has been tied to the portraying of Lara in a vulnerable light, but this doesn’t instantly make for thoughtful characterizing. If someone rewrote Mansfield Park and recast Fanny Price as a busty gun toting whore I doubt it’d be met with such appraisal, or perhaps it would; Pride and Prejudice and Zombies did alright, but I digress. While we’re talking literature, it’s worth mentioning that Tomb Raider attempts to embellish it’s narrative with collectable diaries and documents la Bioshock, but they don’t embellish it so much as contain every scrap of what could have made this story interesting. Additionally they’re so monotonously voiced and lengthy that players are like to harvest them for xp and swiftly move on. In further regard to the vulnerability aspect of Lara, it’s a tone that fails to resonate when she’s brushing off twenty foot drops every few seconds like some sort of human bouncy ball.

    Average writing aside game play isn‘t particularly jaw dropping, not to say that it‘s altogether poor as it functions fluidly, but remains uninspired. The box art is tag lined “A survivor is born” although survival elements are sparse. An opening tutorial has Lara murder and cook Bambi for nourishment. Later a heavily injured Lara has to abandon aggressive modes of combat, instead making use of throw able objects, bow kills and takedowns. However such scenarios were gimmicky and fleeting when instead they could have been more intricate and permanent features.

    More often or not oppurtunities to employ stealth are scripted and conclude with forced fire fights in which players need to hunker down in the same spot to pick off foes from behind cover. You can’t give a player the option to approach combat in their way for so long only to snatch it away. That’s like being invited to a dinner party where the first two courses are comprised of lobster and caviar, but turns out that desserts a massive un-optional sandwich.

    A.I isn’t too intelligent, take out one enemy by yanking him with rope and arrow from a platform and his buddy two feet away will assume they’ve went for a spontaneous paraglide session. Enemies endlessly gravitate towards flammable barrels like they were full of winning lottery tickets and the island’s rigged with more explosives than a Wile. E. Coyote cartoon so combat soon becomes pretty, but stale.

    Environments make impressive use of vertical spaces, but routes for dispatching enemies are persistently linear. Camera angles are occasionally an issue in woodland areas resulting in the player’s view being obscured by more shrubbery than if they were being tea bagged by a tree beard from Lord of the Rings. Woefully enemies can make better use of the vertical spaces than the player during combat and anytime the opportunity to perform impressive manoeuvres arises the game has the nasty habit of cutting to a cinematic or QTE, alarmed that the players satisfaction levels may be spiking.

    Out with combat, tomb raiding is optional activity and when the ’tombs’, read ‘small caves’, are encountered they’re usually preceded by long needless crawls towards an area containing remarkably simple puzzles. The purpose of these is supposedly to give the player a long look at Lara’s arse so there goes you feminist angle.

    The undeniably present lack of free will displayed in the game’s set pieces leads to the theory that it may have been Crystal Dynamic’s wish to produce a Tomb Raider movie. The abundant use of slow motion, cut-aways and the way the screen goes film noir when Lara takes damage would certainly suggest so. This in mind here’s the alternative to buying the game. Watch one of the old Angelina Jolie films with controller in hand and press the trigger every time Lara wastes some guy.
    Expand
  10. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    After years of poor tomb raider games a reboot was well needed. The new gameplay is fun as you can either choose to sneak around killing everyone or go in all guns blazing. The story is interesting and the exploration is fun. The multiplayer is this games only let down but im not going to let it affect my score as any true fan knows tomb raider is a single player game!
  11. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    I just finished Tomb Raider and felt like I had to write something about the game as I feel I disagree with a lot of the gaming websites positive reviews. My experience was really all over the place with Tomb Raider, I felt the game had little to no identity of its own. Tomb Raider is like playing Uncharted, Assassins Creed & Arkham City all in one. The game play itself is nothing newI just finished Tomb Raider and felt like I had to write something about the game as I feel I disagree with a lot of the gaming websites positive reviews. My experience was really all over the place with Tomb Raider, I felt the game had little to no identity of its own. Tomb Raider is like playing Uncharted, Assassins Creed & Arkham City all in one. The game play itself is nothing new although there can still be a few fun moments in this game. Raking up head shots with the bow and arrow was a highlight, I used this for the majority of the game and found some of the other weapon options fairly pointless until very late in the game. Being a big fan of the both Tomb Raider and the Uncharted series I was really excited for the release of this game and it was disappointing that for the majority of the game I felt like I just wanted it to be over. Unfortunately they made Lara a whining cry baby who moans and makes painful noises when you do basically about anything in this game, apparently this is to show her emotional side and her struggle but instead just gets really annoying. Tomb Raider has a dull story line filled with unmemorable characters who add no substance to the experience what so ever. The majority of the characters are only introduced to you for a few seconds leaving you with no attachment or understanding of their characters at all. So when one dies, you seriously couldn't care less. Another thing that irritated me with this game is Lara’s face… It may as well have had no eyes or mouth on it at all, it remains plain and expressionless for the entire game and any close ups leave you wondering why they didn't put more detail into the main character.

    It may sound like it but I didn't really have that bad a time with this game, I just wish they had put more emphasis on the storyline, It just left me feeling like I wasn't doing anything with purpose in the game and instead was just jumping around from ledge to ledge picking up bits of wood to upgrade my weapons. If you are however into picking up lots of useless stuff in games, this one is for you. The tomb puzzles were fun but could have been a bit more complicated and longer.

    Again I just felt like the game was lacking its own identity, I can see how people would enjoy this game but it just wasn't for me. If you can borrow it over buying, I’d go for that option.
    Expand
  12. May 3, 2013
    2
    Tomb Raider has come a long way, and for better or worse I can say I've been with it almost all of the way, having bought every main console game since the first one on release day. Very few people can claim to have been looking forward to this game as much as I was, especially having to look at it every day but being unable to play due to a busy work and school schedule. Unfortunately, asTomb Raider has come a long way, and for better or worse I can say I've been with it almost all of the way, having bought every main console game since the first one on release day. Very few people can claim to have been looking forward to this game as much as I was, especially having to look at it every day but being unable to play due to a busy work and school schedule. Unfortunately, as I had suspected the game is a giant disappointment, not only as a Tomb Raider game, but as a game in general. With today's technology they had the potential to do something truly great, something amazing. Instead, they saw an opportunity capitalize by making an uncharted game and branding it with Tomb Raider and a Lara Croft skin for a few extra sales. It's sad seeing the series decline to this, sure Angel of Darkness was bad but at the very least that game can say it's its own game, this on the other hand can't even claim that. What once had been greatness has been thrown out the window in favor of creating what must have been a desire to compile every tired, overdone, unwelcome, noob friendly trend of modern gaming they could possibly pull out of the last couple years. You name it Tomb Raider 2013 has it, regenerating health, strong focus on cover based shooting mechanics, quick time events, linearity, over the top set pieces, unnecessary catering to nongamers, ect the list goes on. The game also seems very forgetful and insecure with the very entertainment medium in which it is a part of. For a video game, you spend an awful lot of time watching cutscenes, doing/repeating poorly implemented quick time events, dealing with other scripted events, and an underwhelming amount of time being in control of the character of this so called "video game". It doesn't say much for the game that I died tons of times due to stupidly done QTEs and not once during the actual gameplay. The time in which you do actually spend in control playing the game treats you as if you've never played a video game before in your life. The gameplay is paint by the numbers, in some cases literally stopping and telling you exactly what button you need to press and when to press it, the game is even so insecure with itself as to incorporate what amounts to an "instawin" button just incase you happen to be braindead or sleeping and get stuck on any of the simplistic puzzles or lost in the 80% of a line map. Is this what gaming has come to? At this point we're literally regressing back to the days of Sega CD and FMV games, because that's exactly what this game feels like, an FMV game. With the depth of gameplay and complexity of platforming and vastness of levels the original game had 17 years ago, there is absolutely NO excuse for this game to have inferior gameplay, absolutely no excuse, IDC how low standards are today. I remember the original games invoking feelings of excitement and terror, prompting you to hold down that X button extra strong because you were shimmying over an enormous void and one slip would send you plunging down to the ground in a cringe-worthy "crunch" sound. This game has none of that, anything cool that could have been done is done through quick time events instead of gameplay. Seeing all the praise this game gets makes me genuinely worry about where games are heading. Plotting an imaginary line of gameplay regression over the past few years would have believe we'll soon all be playing on the next gen playstation CD. Expand
  13. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Lara Croft is back and the best she's ever been! Since Tomb Raider: Underworld's release, Crystal Dynamics has been hard at work putting together this origin story, and it definitely pays off. An unbelievably unique game in many ways. It is true that some inspiration is taken from modern titles like the Uncharted series, but to be honest, if it hadn't the outcome may well have been aLara Croft is back and the best she's ever been! Since Tomb Raider: Underworld's release, Crystal Dynamics has been hard at work putting together this origin story, and it definitely pays off. An unbelievably unique game in many ways. It is true that some inspiration is taken from modern titles like the Uncharted series, but to be honest, if it hadn't the outcome may well have been a completely different game. I believe Naughty Dog's series gave Tomb Raider the boost it needed to evolve for more mature audiences. The script is brilliantly written by talented Rihanna Pratchett, already having worked on female-driven action games. The gameplay is tense, adrenaline-fuelled action and adventure, with a lot of exploration opportunities. The most important feat Crystal Dynamics has accomplished is that they have created an entirely new, 3-Dimensional Lara Croft who is so much more human. I have yet to complete the game and I must say I am nowhere near disappointed in any way. The over system is unique in such a way that I expect other games to adapt this revolutionary technique in future titles. An absolute must-have! Even if you were not a Tomb Raider fan previously, now is the time to get in on the action.
    NOTE: Having now completed the game, I deducted a point based purely on the multiplayer. Although at times fun, it shows just how rushed and un-evolved it is. The single player may well have been improved with a longer duration.
    Expand
  14. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    Tomb Raider shows off its team's technical strengths and provides adequate gameplay. Every single point of my review goes toward the craftsmanship involved, which left the same sort of impression on me as a sturdy wooden chair or endtable. It has shape, polish, and function, and fits right in with the other well-constructed action games of its ilk. But then, it gets weird. It gets really,Tomb Raider shows off its team's technical strengths and provides adequate gameplay. Every single point of my review goes toward the craftsmanship involved, which left the same sort of impression on me as a sturdy wooden chair or endtable. It has shape, polish, and function, and fits right in with the other well-constructed action games of its ilk. But then, it gets weird. It gets really, really weird. It gets weird enough to knock off more points than a videogame story should/ Not since Lifetime's worst-rated films have I cringed through such uncomfortable, pedantic, pandering female-empowerment-exploitation schlock. Not content with mediocrity, the plot clashes against its gameplay, employing torture porn and revenge-killings as the only means of character development. Lara Croft, a plucky young girl on an innocent adventure, has to shoot through hundreds of specifically male strangers to grow into a strong woman, yelping like a pornstar every minute of the way as she's beaten, stabbed, eviscerated, crushed, drowned, shot, impaled, burned alive, eaten, gored, and otherwise violated by everything. Thanks to the genre setpieces, Lara seems to like these beatings so much that she goes out of her way to get more, crossing deadly terrain when everyone else clearly uses safer means. She stops her bizarre thrill-slaughter only long enough to whimper her insecurities and angst over piles of dead bodies. This wannabe blockbuster script slathers itself greasily on top of a standard yet solid game, deforming Tomb Raider into a jarring, uneven, and unsettling experience. Just don't. Expand
  15. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Just finished the game. One of the best games this gen. If you love Uncharted you'll love this game. The story was cool, the graphics were top notch for a multi platform game. And the setting and set pieces were stunning. I love those asian set pieces like Uncharted 2 also did. Great work Crystal Dynamics keep 'em coming.
  16. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is back and better than ever. What's awesome is that, despite being a reboot, the classic aspects of Tomb Raider that we all know and love is still very much present in this game. There is still a huge emphasis on puzzles, platforming, and exploration. Combat, this time around, is much more prevalent which isn't necessarily a bad thing; it works well, and is seamless. The coverTomb Raider is back and better than ever. What's awesome is that, despite being a reboot, the classic aspects of Tomb Raider that we all know and love is still very much present in this game. There is still a huge emphasis on puzzles, platforming, and exploration. Combat, this time around, is much more prevalent which isn't necessarily a bad thing; it works well, and is seamless. The cover system itself is innovative, eliminating the chunkiness of taking cover that plagues most third person shooters. Instead, Lara blends with environments with ease. The new Lara is a huge improvement over the past iterations. The story is also stronger than the past games which gives us incentive to care about the characters. All in all, an amazing game. It's no wonder that, after 9 games, Lara is considered an icon. She is a legend. Enough said. Expand
  17. May 18, 2013
    4
    I tried so hard to like this game but at the end I couldn't. As amazing the graphics are, it couldn't help save the lack luster story, clunky controls, and the game is far too easy even on the hardest difficulty.
  18. May 12, 2013
    4
    I'm about halfway through Tomb Raider (already, after sitting with it for just a few hours just three times) and I have to tell you, it is boring as all heck.

    First of all there is way too much combat. Tomb Raider is suppose to be an exploration game with some gunplay on the side; it's not suppose to be a shooter. Also, the gameplay is very linear and every five minutes there's another
    I'm about halfway through Tomb Raider (already, after sitting with it for just a few hours just three times) and I have to tell you, it is boring as all heck.

    First of all there is way too much combat. Tomb Raider is suppose to be an exploration game with some gunplay on the side; it's not suppose to be a shooter. Also, the gameplay is very linear and every five minutes there's another cutscene. You never really get to relax and explore the world because you're always on a mission to advance the story, and quite frankly I have no idea what that story is. Lara is on an island with a bunch of bad guys trying to kill her for no apparent reason while her lost friends are communicating with her by radio telling her to go here, go there, do this, do that, so that's what she does. I have no idea what the map even means either.

    Also, if you do not have a fairly large HDTV don't even attempt to play this game; all the text is tiny and blurry and you will have to stop the game and look up every upgrade on the internet to find out what the tiny little blurry letters say. I did manage to finally hook it up to a decent TV and admittedly the graphic are cool but looking around is very choppy and limited so even though it looks realistic it's not a realistic experience. And even on the HDTV it was boring because every five minutes I was in another shooting match with another army of men who wanted to kill me for who knows what reason. And if you die in one of these battles which you are likely to do because you are after all one girl against an army of men throwing dynamite at you and shooting machine guns at you, you'll have to start the entire battle all over again. YAWN.

    I kept asking myself when do I get to climb a pyramid for a couple of hours and actually RAID A TOMB? You explore for at the most five minutes before you find yourself in another long drawn out gun battle or sliding down some collapsing debris ala Uncharted, forced to push a series of buttons in a certain order just to get through another segment of the linear gameplay. YAWN.

    And yes, I understand that this is a prequel and Lara isn't the woman yet that she is in the other games, but come on, enough with the annoying whining and crying. For someone who can slaughter armies of men and go around shooting helpless animals for money and loot (huh?) Lara sure is a bit of a crybaby

    All in all I'm very disappointed with Tomb Raider. I was really looking forward to enjoying playing a traditional Tomb Raider game except with more awesome graphics but instead got a really bad Uncharted rip off. I've played all three Uncharted games and there was nary a dull moment in any of them. I'm only halfway through Tomb Raider and I'm starting to wonder if it's even worth finishing it. I mean I already know what's going to happen next. She's going to climb some more ropes, scale some more walls, kill more men who are rushing at her like maniacs, nearly reach one of her friends before whatever she's standing on collapses making the hour it took to get there completely pointless, and repeat.
    Expand
  19. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed this game immensely. I am a long time Tomb Raider fan and I thought this game was a well needed breath of fresh air. I think Lara has earned back her treasure hunting crown from Nathan Drake (not bashing uncharted, love those games too) as there is plenty to see and explore in Tomb Raider, even after the story ends.
  20. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    Highly overrated game. It's just a poor mans uncharted. Graphics are stunning, and for the first hour or so the game play is fairly enjoyable. But then it's just Lara vs about 20 guys over and over, with the developers seemingly running out of creative ideas for these set pieces other than throw in a couple more baddies or giving them better weapons. The strategy is same and repetitiveHighly overrated game. It's just a poor mans uncharted. Graphics are stunning, and for the first hour or so the game play is fairly enjoyable. But then it's just Lara vs about 20 guys over and over, with the developers seemingly running out of creative ideas for these set pieces other than throw in a couple more baddies or giving them better weapons. The strategy is same and repetitive through out, little to no variation of how to approach each set piece. Bravo to those that finished the game, because boredom sets in about a third of the way through when puzzles and platforming become minimal and replaced with mind numbing boring duck and cover shooting that has been done to death on this generation of consoles. Expand
  21. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    As Tomb Raider was one of the first PS Games I've played in my life, I was really excited for this game, and the result didn't disapoint. Crystal Dinamics made a game that is as fun as addictive, and an epic new beginning for a saga that promises. Tomb Raider is exceptionally great.
    The story introduces us to an innocent Lara and his crew, looking for the lost kingdom of Yamatai. But as
    As Tomb Raider was one of the first PS Games I've played in my life, I was really excited for this game, and the result didn't disapoint. Crystal Dinamics made a game that is as fun as addictive, and an epic new beginning for a saga that promises. Tomb Raider is exceptionally great.
    The story introduces us to an innocent Lara and his crew, looking for the lost kingdom of Yamatai. But as an awful storm sweeps them away to an unknown island, Lara must learn to survive as she is separated from his crew by some cruel inhabitants. The story, though it doesn't seem much of a Tomb Raider game, it's one of the best of the whole Tomb Raider saga, 96' and on. Lara's transformation from an innocent explorer to a survivor is incredible, though sometimes rushed. The relation between Gameplay and Story is not sublime. One time, Lara is hardly trying to open a deer's stomach. One second later, she is killing everything she finds. But such a small detail does not make the story a pain in the butt. Lara will discover the island's past throughout the game and it will catch us into the story as it gets more and more attractive (And more Croft) near the fantabulous ending, whose epicness is hard to describe. The game, also has some characters moments, but the lack of character development make us feel nothing for them. Let's put it this way: Someone dies, but as no background story or large talks with that character were introduced in the game, we hardly feel as Lara does. We just know she is sad, end of the story.
    One thing I have to praise to the game is the fantastic combat system. The problem with all the Tomb Raider games is that the gameplay is wonky, and sort of falls flat. But Tomb Raider enhances in a smooth way, with one of the best cover systems a video game could only wish for. The two signature guns from the previous games has changed for the 21st century most hyped weapon, The Bow. And Boy, is it good! Almost all guns are good here. And by collecting different things we will get two types of points: XP Points and Savage points. The last one is useful to upgrade our guns, and make them more lethal, silent or a chaos machine. The XP points are also important, as we can unlock different Finishes (Some kind of Fatalities) we can practice on our enemies, or even help us find the tons of collectibles that are hidden everywhere in the game. There are so many, that trying to complete the game a 100% without knowing anything will probably take a normal person around 30 hours of gameplay. There are also Optional Tombs filled with medium-difficulty puzzles that are extremely rewarding, but the greatest thing about the game is the "Uncharted" style Summer Blockbuster playable scenes where we have to avoid being crushed by a plain or escape an exploding bridge. The "Booms" and "Pows" of Tomb Raider really make it special.
    Now, one thing they could have copied from the successful Uncharted saga is the multiplayer, which is a little bit disappointing, but still is fun. This is mainly because of clunky servers and low resolution textures, because the map design is great and full of incredible ideas, though poorly executed. The "trap system", for example, seems more to be on your con side than on your favour. But...I don't care! Tomb Raider is not COD,...by that, I mean you don't buy it for the multiplayer. You buy it for the action-packed, exciting, epic and nerve-wracking campaign that lacks of replayability (At least you really like collectibles) but provides hours of fun the fans of the world's sexiest archaeologist needed. Tomb Raider is a 9.3, but as I don't have the authority to put that score, I will award it with a solid 9.
    Expand
  22. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is the perfect game for the end of this generation of video games. Tomb Raider is beautifully made, has great storyline and characters and it is a extremely fun game, from beginning to end. But the real point here is Lara Croft. She is more human than ever and also very charismatic. It's a pleasure to play with a female character that is clever and straight, and is not just a "sexyThis is the perfect game for the end of this generation of video games. Tomb Raider is beautifully made, has great storyline and characters and it is a extremely fun game, from beginning to end. But the real point here is Lara Croft. She is more human than ever and also very charismatic. It's a pleasure to play with a female character that is clever and straight, and is not just a "sexy chic". Definitely is a better character than Nathan Drake from Uncharted and, of course, she is an icon. Just three words: BEST-GAME-EVER. Expand
  23. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I honestly don't know what I'd change about this game. The location is gorgeous, and wholly believable. definitely gives even far cry 3 a run for its money. The new Lara, who has some of the most believable motion capture I've ever seen in a game, gives an impressive amount emotional range and detail. may be the best game performance ever, i can't remember one more intense. Now, mind you,I honestly don't know what I'd change about this game. The location is gorgeous, and wholly believable. definitely gives even far cry 3 a run for its money. The new Lara, who has some of the most believable motion capture I've ever seen in a game, gives an impressive amount emotional range and detail. may be the best game performance ever, i can't remember one more intense. Now, mind you, I love the Uncharted series, but especially when it comes to combat, namely gunplay, this game ANNIHILATES it. This is partially because of the new cover mechanic, and partially because an M rating gives developers more freedom to accurately depict violence. The puzzles are great, as long as you ignore the giveaway hint system, and figure them out on your own. The pacing has adrenaline at a constant high, and have a surprising amount of variation. Story is great, as long as your not easily turned off by a slightly cheesy supporting character or two. All in all, this is the first adventure game that has truly felt like an adventure worth taking. This game game certainly holds the adventure game throne, at least until The Last of Us comes out. Expand
  24. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    This series actually needed reboot, waited in patience and it gets it in a right way, fixing weak aspects of previous games with alive character, interesting story-driven adventure, good combat system. This is a great game which asks you for 2 things only: try it at least for 3 hours and deal with showstopper QTEs (actually, only cinematic-fighting type of them is really annoying, but theyThis series actually needed reboot, waited in patience and it gets it in a right way, fixing weak aspects of previous games with alive character, interesting story-driven adventure, good combat system. This is a great game which asks you for 2 things only: try it at least for 3 hours and deal with showstopper QTEs (actually, only cinematic-fighting type of them is really annoying, but they are not so frequent). Rare puzzles also too easy, but gameplay flow is so nice and joyfully unstoppable so you don't really mention it and keep playing like in childhood till the very end. Expand
  25. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    This is not exactly tomb raider. It feels like Far Cry 3 or Uncharted. Nevertheless, the game is beautifully made, the story is decent, lot of fun fights and not a single glitch. Just do not expect a die-hard tomb raider and you will enjoy the game a lot.
    However, there are parts that are really a let down lot of cinematic action. Often it feels like being back to the laser disk game
    This is not exactly tomb raider. It feels like Far Cry 3 or Uncharted. Nevertheless, the game is beautifully made, the story is decent, lot of fun fights and not a single glitch. Just do not expect a die-hard tomb raider and you will enjoy the game a lot.
    However, there are parts that are really a let down lot of cinematic action. Often it feels like being back to the laser disk game era. Freedom to move, but not real freedom of action. Useless button smashing action to open chest as well as useless RPG-like elements.
    Expand
  26. Mar 30, 2013
    4
    Very disappointing.

    Graphics are very pretty but the game is way to linear with far to many cut scenes. Lots of the encounters just involve following prompts on screen to press triangle, or square, etc and you spend more time watch cut scenes than playing. Then when you do get to play, there's only one route to go it's very very boring. Especially after having just played the brilliant
    Very disappointing.

    Graphics are very pretty but the game is way to linear with far to many cut scenes. Lots of the encounters just involve following prompts on screen to press triangle, or square, etc and you spend more time watch cut scenes than playing. Then when you do get to play, there's only one route to go it's very very boring. Especially after having just played the brilliant Far Cry 3.
    Expand
  27. May 21, 2013
    10
    One of the few games this year that I thoroughly enjoyed playing, especially with the taut storytelling of Lara's origin story by Developer Crystal Dynamics that had me rooting for Lara every step of her way. In addition to the story, the gameplay was fantastic too, very tight and responsive controls in movement (climbing axe was awesome) and while in battle (shooting with the bow andOne of the few games this year that I thoroughly enjoyed playing, especially with the taut storytelling of Lara's origin story by Developer Crystal Dynamics that had me rooting for Lara every step of her way. In addition to the story, the gameplay was fantastic too, very tight and responsive controls in movement (climbing axe was awesome) and while in battle (shooting with the bow and arrows was great fun). As an Uncharted fan, I was impressed with the gorgeous majestic cinematic sequences, they were exciting and one scene near the end to me topped Uncharted, and I'm an Uncharted fan to boot. The single drawback to me was the multiplayer, it's just not as fun. I would have preferred if they had a longer single solo playthrough instead of the weak multiplayer. Highly recommended, and keeping my fingers crossed for a sequel! More of the excellent new Lara Croft, please. Expand
  28. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    Yes it borrows heavily from the mechanics of Uncharted, but it also makes it frankly better and refreshing next to Nathan Drakes arsenal. All the tools Lara has by the end really make you feel like a badass and able to take on anything, but in fun and interesting new ways. I have nothing bad to say about the game other than normal gaming issues and bugs. Also the water is extremelyYes it borrows heavily from the mechanics of Uncharted, but it also makes it frankly better and refreshing next to Nathan Drakes arsenal. All the tools Lara has by the end really make you feel like a badass and able to take on anything, but in fun and interesting new ways. I have nothing bad to say about the game other than normal gaming issues and bugs. Also the water is extremely pixelated. It's weird. Expand
  29. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    This is a great reboot for the Tomb Raider Franchise. I rate it a high 8. Everything in the game is well done. The island is very atmospheric with its awesome weather effects. The controls are solid. Tomb raider takes pretty much something from every triple A franchise before it and implements it into its own design just as well as those franchises did. There's stealth elements thatThis is a great reboot for the Tomb Raider Franchise. I rate it a high 8. Everything in the game is well done. The island is very atmospheric with its awesome weather effects. The controls are solid. Tomb raider takes pretty much something from every triple A franchise before it and implements it into its own design just as well as those franchises did. There's stealth elements that feel like your playing a Splinter Cell game, combat and climbing that feels like Uncharted, bonfires from Dark Souls, brutal kills from Gears of War, etc. Everything is incorporated brilliantly while allowing Tomb Raider to still feel like its own game. The game starts off like the typical action adventure that you have played countless other times, but as you progress further and further into the game, the adventure starts opening up and throwing more variety and twists and turns at you. The game gets better and better as you move further into the adventure. An interesting note to make is that in relation to previous Tomb Raider games, this one is a lot more combat/action oriented than puzzle solving. This helps keep the games pace up, but old fans might be disappointed. The tombs are nowhere as cool as Uncharted's, but still a nice break from all the action. Also, finding the collectibles in the game adds a nice bit of challenge and reward for exploration. The reason, it doesn't get a 9 from me is that it never really does anything totally new or had me saying holy that was awesome! For every cool moment, there usually would be countless annoying deaths that followed which would mess up the feeling of excitement. And that's another big con for the game, there will be parts in this game that will piss the out of you, you will want to hurl your controller at the screen. The game starts off relatively easy to moderately easy but near the end gets annoyingly difficult and sometimes it's difficult to tell where to go or Lara just won't do what you want her to do. But overall, it's a huge accomplishment that the game is able to implement so many different features into its design so well for the first time and I'm looking forward to see what Crystal Dynamics can do with the next game. Expand
  30. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Tomb raider is one of the best game had ever play.The graphics are amazing, the puzzles are like side missions and feels very rewarding to discover the way to its end. I wish a sequel and DLC
  31. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    wow, what an awesome game. the pace is non stop rush. i loved the design because it is made to have fun with also. this tomb raider is different, but none the less great. laura grew on you and she became s likable believable character. it is obvious that the guys who made this tried to make a great game. my opinion is they did. thanks for an awesome game. visually this work waswow, what an awesome game. the pace is non stop rush. i loved the design because it is made to have fun with also. this tomb raider is different, but none the less great. laura grew on you and she became s likable believable character. it is obvious that the guys who made this tried to make a great game. my opinion is they did. thanks for an awesome game. visually this work was perfect. story was great. game design was player friendly. there weren't the excessive amounts of punishing restarts like the old ones if you made a mistake. this game gets my coveted 10. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    90
    This reboot of the series not only surpassed my expectations, but it is easily one of the best games I have played in a long time. If you're like me and love story driven games that offer a great gaming experience then Tomb Raider is definitely for you.
  2. There’s no denying Tomb Raider is a heavily influenced work, both mechanically and aesthetically (its nods to Neil Marshall’s The Descent are so happy to be there at one point Lara even re-enacts the “girlrising-out-of-sea-of-blood” scene). While it offers nothing wholly original, its salvaged parts combine to produce an experience that is consistently better than anything its own heroes have produced. [April 2013, p70]
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    90
    Despite occasional dissonance between narrative and game mechanics, Tomb Raider is a highly polished, highly accomplished reboot. Kudos, Crystal Dynamics. [Issue#235]